Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE: Drivetime with Sarah McInerney & Cormac O hEadhra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,822 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Still puzzled as to why McInerney hasn’t been to the fore questioning the RTE executives, left to the big fella

every time.

hmmmm….. kind of strange if I’m correct….

Anyone else notice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭limnam

Yera she'd usually be hopping off her chair normally for something like this.

Does she attend tub's book club maybe.

Something strange indeed…spits out the words at warp speed and interrupts interviewees when it suits her, but strangely quiet on this issue…. Hmmm……cannot figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,673 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Sarah says she drives a hyundai tucson and enjoys being high up when driving, she asked if it was an suv..

well..

another idiot who thinks she can fool the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,716 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The 82 year old man with the electric bill for over €900 was a strange one, he seems to have no idea how it is so expensive but when he range them Electric Ireland told him it was correct.

Whatever the reason its not right that he had to stop using heat back in Feb when it was still very cold because he couldn't afford it.

others about to be discussed on Claire Byrne now. Apparently 405,000 electricity customers are in arrears (out of total ~2.1m domestic customers in Ireland )

The big fella seems to be in full ‘guffaw mode’.

We already have a ‘c’mere’ and a few ‘hang on a seconds’

Does not bode well for the cringeworthy period. (1654-1700) and (1750-1800).

Trust me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,422 ✭✭✭Tow

An elderly relation of mine got a gas bill of over 13k on their 1st reading after Covid. Their mistake was not calling Joe and/or their local TD. 900 of electricity is easily achieved, i got one for 600 and have gas heating.

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Bed-rotting.

Where is the Brenner when we need him?

Tell you sommit Breener, best thing Mr Bakhurst could do is clear that guffawing clown off the airwaves.

Todays offering was even more contrived and stupid than most.

The Alexa Show 8 nearly ended up in the water butt.

Who are the listeners who think this rubbish is ok on a prime time radio current affairs programme.

Need a liedown here…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

Dreadfully annoying.

Why do they persist with these "funny" slots?

No idea Breener, no idea, however what I think it is is that they are trying to portray McInerney and the Big Lad as

a ‘duo’ , that they are ‘great craic and there is great ‘bants’ between them.

Nothing could be further from the truth especially for the discerning and erudite listener as yourself.

Its false stilted unfunny and listening to that clown guffawing really grinds my gears.

At some stage Breener I will e-mail Mr Bakhurst, a former newsman to find out what goon decided that this enhanced the programme.

It won’t be soon but it will happen..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,742 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Mohat Mogeansai

Bloody awful . Could the auld sod not sit out in the barn with the 47 Weed plants he must be growing and at least be warm

That buffoon went into overdrive there……

One would have thought that given the tragic intro to the programme they might have toned him down.

No such luck….. terrible decision.

Please RTE. Get rid of this guffawing clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,421 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

I unmuted the radio while he was in full form with whoever they were interviewing and listened to about 3 seconds of it before muting it again, unbelievable drivel even by RTÉ's pathetically low standards.

You know its bad when they spent 10 mins bladdering on about Barbie.

Get that guffawing baboon off the radio………

What a clown…..

I predict that the big fella will go into buffoon overdrive very shortly.

The Doomsday Dog is building up a head of steam(Barry Lenihan)

Good lad O’Donnell……. Ripped her out a new one.

The flash-bang didn’t work.

I'm all for stopping TDs when they try to move away from answering the question they were asked but in fairness to O Donnell he was trying to give McInerney an answer but she kept cutting across him.

Its very frustrating as a listener because it makes it nearly impossible to know what either of them are saying.

So am I but McInerney is a very poor interviewer, she tries to smother the interviewee with a barrage of words in an effort to unsettle them, and then won’t let them answer properly.

She tried that with O’Donnell who in fairness kept his head and kept on point and then she signed in an obviously frustrated strop.

The listener certainly, as you rightly point out, didn’t get any information on the issues due to poor interviewing technique

McInerney is from the school of that tiresome old crank Vincent Browne. Where the interview style is to interrupt, harangue, do the odd sigh, and try to leave the interviewee battered and bruised.

It’s why Vincenzo’s show ended up with the panel being some socialist Republican with a set of teeth like a burnt fence, the political and mart correspondent from the Skibereen Eagle, and Paul Murphy.

McInenery would do well to learn about an alternative interview style - see Rachel English, Patrick Kenny, Bryan Dobson for a more subtle and cleverer style that invariably leads to a more rounded and revealing interview.

I listened back there and might have known that O'Donnell was waffling and evading. He is a prince to the King of Waffle, the bould Colm of the Brophies.

She asked him a direct question about Varadkar's promise to deal with energy company's gouging.

He waffled about something else.

She asked him again and he didn't answer just diverted to proposed legislation in the pipeline.🙄

She then asked him directly 'how are we 'going in the right direction' when there has been a sharp drop off in apartment completions in June'

Again he waffled about something else and didn't address the question above.

She actually allowed him to waffle out a list of figures that didn't address the question above and then said 'alright, I will let you go'

From 1.03.00 approx here.

Drivetime Wednesday 26 July 2023 - Drivetime (rte.ie)

Give it a rest Francie, O’Donell cut her a new one…. It happens…..move on buddy.

Rubbish as always Brendi. It’s all there if anyone needs to check.

They probably all know by now though, if it’s a FGer, then new ones will be cut in Brendiworld.

Good lad Francie…. Carry on… the rest of us will exist in the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Cormac interviewed a woman journalist about a programme coming up on RTE TV about landlords getting sex instead of money from tenants. He asked her how common is it. She said "it's more common than people might think". Which conveys exactly zero in the way of useful information. But he did not challenge her.

Could be a useful line for evasive politicians in future, with many possibilites for variation.

I doubt the Colm of the Brophies type of politicians need any help with the patter.

Poor Tomás Gould made a bit of ass of himself today.

Before the big fella went on a guffaw spree.

Is that the SF lad from Cork? Wouldn’t be dealing with top tier talent there, Brendan.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Straight out of the "Yes Minister" guide of useful but meaningless answers

What does it mean if you didn't think about it at all? 😊

Have we to listen to this buffoon on his own today.

Hope he has the sense to tone down the usual ‘guffaw fest’ later on given the opening few minutes reportage.

Could someone get this clown off the radio?

You should probably head down to the local for a few pints and a bet on the nags in Galway, Brendan.

Had a good few already down at the club, Doctor.

what boils my piss on all this Doc is this clown putting someone through the wringer on providing houses for people

while these chancers and grifters rode the taxpayer ragged through abysmal management and let spivs and chavs run the place for them while they supped deeply from the taxpayers trough before they were found out.

The lack of credibility from this lot is off the charts given what has come out from recent events.

Is it any wonder I’m angry with all these chancers.

Say out loud at volume 7 or 8:

‘Alexa, turn off’.

You know you want to.

That’s the easy way out Francis?

Do nothing about these clowns who were headline news for at least three weeks?

I don’t see you ignoring any anti SF threads and just switching off the worn out I-Pad, before settling down for a read of An Poblacht?

Practice what you preach Francis, before you hang yourself out for all to laugh at.

Top lad!!! Don’t put the auld sliced pan on top of yer heed for all to scoff at.

Brendi, you have done nothing but moan about this show. Time to turn it off, RTE are not listening to you. You will do yourself a mischief.

Put Alexa to use old boy, say the magic words.

McInerney batting strongly for the Tubster…… maybe feels the pinch of reality on her collar

Feeney showing his true colours on Drivetime……

• Registered Users Posts: 4,811 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Some lad there on about "hidden gems" in the tourism sector, quoted one place up in Donegal I believe charging €335 per night, minimum stay two nights (I.o.w. We couldn't be bothered cleaning up after ye after one night ye tightwads)... Will I be booking? My arse as Jim Royle might say, might suit Tubbs and the rte crew but not me.... Off Monday for 10 days where my 💶💶 might go a bit further

Heh heh McInerney worrying about RTE not being in a position to “Hold Govt to account”….. very little from her on holding RTE to account.

yeah… keep shovelling taxpayers money into us .. we will spend it!!!

Get off the stage hon.been found out at last.

The worm has turned…..

Does the phrase unbiased presenter' mean anything to you Brendi? All she is doing is being devil's advocate and teasing out both sides of the story, which is what any good presenter will do.

I have heard her take the opposite position with somebody sympathetic to Tubridy on both the radio and television. Would somebody who pretends to know radio not know this and recognise what is going down?

Real radio people can drill down deeper Francis.

Of course we know all that that they must present the ' balanced view"but its the "uhms" and 'eeehs' reactions that tell the real tale Francis.

and there were plenty of those from McInerney.😂