Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crowds gathering in Galway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

Russman wrote: »
    No, not have the same social life as before.
    Wasn’t it stated somewhere else in this forum that there has been no increase in suicides this year ? Nearly sure I saw that somewhere.

Suicides are recorded annually rather than weekly or monthly so if you saw it somewhere, the person was talking rubbish.

My personal prediction is for us to hit record rates of suicide over the next 3 years due to our handling of this, but that is to be seen. Hopefully not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Sconsey

Yeah selfish for wanting to not live my life in fear of a virus that has a 0.00055% chance of killing me.

Yes exactly for that reason (excluding the percentages you keep inventing), it's all about you, ergo selfish.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,535 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

my local school allows over 1000 kids out, all at the same time, after school every day.

for at least 30 mins theres a stream of kids all clumped together walking on a 2.0m wide pathway , the vast vast majority with no masks (after wearing them inside all day)

this happens every single school day.

ive no problem at all with a group of late teen early 20s students meeting up outdoors for an evening to socialise.

the time for prescribed action is when they are back at their home meeting family / older people.
    similarly, older people / vulnerable groups need to understand who they are socialising with, and should err on the side of caution when it comes to visiting a house with a college going student.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    About 45% of people are elderly of have underlying conditions . Add in their close family , children , siblings and partners . You probably then have a figure of somewhere in the region of 60-70 % of the population .
    So , you would like all those people to stay in lockdown just so you could go out and not take precautions and be careful etc ?

Just plucked those two figures from your ar*e.

We can remove useless lockdown and still socially distance, wash hands and wear masks. If those were the only messages then we would be a lot better off than this 5 stage, utter nonsense which isnt worth anything.

I'm talking about younger people under the age of 24. Look up the HSE stats 1 person has died from covid under the age of 24.

1/1802 = 0.000554938957% chance of dying from it in Ireland if you're under 24.

The problem arises in them (possibly) infecting others who aren’t as robust or in rude good health like the younger people are.
    Take an example of a family living with granny, grandad or another elderly relative. Or a family member living with an illness like cystic fibrosis. Now their student heads out doing what students do the world over- Partying. The student then headS home for the weekend to get the washing done, recharge the batteries, etc. Imagine if they bring Covid into the house. THAT is what is worrying people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Good lad , you think you are being big and clever dont you ?

I'm sorry but facts don't care about your feelings and the fact of the matter is that one person under the age of 24 has died from the virus so forgive me wanting to get on with my life and no longer live in fear of the virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Righty

My main gripe is that young healthy people are being forced to live like they're not .. the government should put supports in place for vulnerable people to allow them to isolate to prevent them from getting the virus until a vaccine is ready, the rest of us who are healthy should be able to live like normal, get the economy going again and enjoy our youth. It should be the choice of the individual to decide wether or not he/she wants to take the risk

Sconsey wrote: »
    Yes exactly for that reason (excluding the percentages you keep inventing), it's all about you, ergo selfish.

Care to explain what percentages am I inventing?

It's simple maths:

Total deaths in ROI = 1,802

Deaths in people under the age of 24 = 1

1/1,802= 0.000554938957

So there's a 0.00055% chance of someone under the age of 24 dying from the virus.

What percentage have I invented there???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

I'm talking about younger people under the age of 24. Look up the HSE stats 1 person has died from covid under the age of 24.
    1/1802 = 0.000554938957% chance of dying from it in Ireland if you're under 24.
    I can not find the HSE stats. Perhaps you will post a link.
    When the crisis started schools closed, churches closed, pubs closed.
    That reduced the risk to the young, and those previously free to congregate.
    People in nursing homes remained in large confined groups.

It would be interesting to find an analysis of the one million deaths by age.
    Perhaps the Irish population are misinterpreting the age data.
    Old people with fragile health and in confined accommodation suffered the most.
    People congregating in large numbers, assuming they are invincible, could be misinterpreting the statistics, a causality misread.

Care to explain what percentages am I inventing?

It's simple maths:

Total deaths in ROI = 1,802

Deaths in people under the age of 24 = 1

1/1,802= 0.000554938957

So there's a 0.00055% chance of someone under the age of 24 dying from the virus.

What percentage have I invented there???

What are the possibilities of a healthy young person innocently infecting a vulnerable person?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I give not a hoot about young people enjoying themselves outside

The problem arises in them (possibly) infecting others who aren’t as robust or in rude good health like the younger people are.
    Take an example of a family living with granny, grandad or another elderly relative. Or a family member living with an illness like cystic fibrosis. Now their student heads out doing what students do the world over- Partying. The student then headS home for the weekend to get the washing done, recharge the batteries, etc. Imagine if they bring Covid into the house. THAT is what is worrying people.

If the student is that worried about passing it on then don't go out and socialise. As I've said already those that want to continue to live in fear of the virus can stay in a self imposed lockdown and let the rest of us get on with our lives and not live in fear of the virus.

Yeah but then all the people who stay inside will then have terrible FOMO

People congregating in large numbers, assuming they are invincible, could be misinterpreting the statistics, a causality misread.

Stats available here first link on the page.

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/casesinireland/epidemiologyofcovid-19inireland/

Damned if they damned if they don't. I'd be out socialising if I were in their shoes but that's my own perspective on it.

What are the possibilities of a healthy young person innocently infecting a vulnerable person?

Can you tell me? Because I certainly don't know.

I'm sorry but facts don't care about your feelings and the fact of the matter is that one person under the age of 24 has died from the virus so forgive me wanting to get on with my life and no longer live in fear of the virus.

And as keeps being pointed out to you over and over again it is irrelevant how serious if is for people under 24, they can spread it to people who are vulnerable and thats why they need to forget about getting on with life as normal for now, cop the feck on and live within the restrictions.

So what if you can't go to the pub, so what if you cant meet in groups, so what if you cant go to house parties it wont have any impact on you whatsoever, you would swear it was difficult what you are being asked to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,015 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

You'd think the young were going to miss out when all that's happening is delayed gratification.

They're losing probably 18 months to 2 years of their best years (18-25). Plenty of courses in NUIG are 3 years. Can only imagine how crap that is for anyone starting this year, who'll likely miss out on the two good years before final year study, of what for many us is the best experience of our lives. None of the Interrailing or J1's which are a right of passage either.

The virus likely won't affect them, they didn't cause it, they're the ones losing out the most with jobs etc, and there's massively hypocritical messages coming from a government they likely didn't vote for. I'm a bit uneasy with all the blame being put on young people

• Registered Users Posts: 19,407 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Another attention seeking virtue signalling cllr looking for attention and “outrage” over the same thing this time in cork.
    Has the national psyche decided into such a pathetic state of nothingness that kids out on a street evokes bigger emotions amongst sun than the IRA bombing campaign ever did?
    https://twitter.com/cllrdescahil/status/1310669933110587394?s=21

Better than being a despicable gobsh1te out spreading a serious virus.

All supported by the media hand in glove. Check PJ Coogans hysterical replies to one tweet “this thing kills people”
    Objective journalism is dead in this country and boy do we miss it now

And as keeps being pointed out to you over and over again it is irrelevant how serious if is for people under 24, they can spread it to people who are vulnerable and thats why they need to forget about getting on with life as normal for now, cop the feck on and live within the restrictions.

As I've said already let those who want to get on with their lives and not live in fear of the virus do so and those that want to continue to live in fear of it do so in a self imposed lockdown watching the news 24/7.

You can't dictate how other people should live their lives as much as you want to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

the young people should stand together and say a collective F*** you to these stupid rules.
    It may upset Jedward and their followers but a risk worth taking.

The curtain worriers love a bit of this

road_high wrote: »
    All supported by the media hand in glove. Check PJ Coogans hysterical replies to one tweet “this thing kills people”
    Objective journalism is dead in this country and boy do we miss it now

We certainly don't miss the type of loons who would be supporting the narrative of some in here that's for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

The Economist
    There (USA), people in their 80s account for less than half of all covid-19 deaths; people in their 40s, 50s and 60s, meanwhile, account for a significantly larger share of those who die. The median covid-19 sufferer in America is a 48-year-old; in Italy it is a 63-year-old.
    Why is America such an outlier? Part of the explanation surely lies in the fact that America has a younger population than Europe does. America’s median age is just 38; Italy’s is 45.

The USA, with a median age of 38, does not appear to have immunity from Coronavirus.

the young people should stand together and say a collective F*** you to these stupid rules.
    It may upset Jedward and their followers but a risk worth taking.

I think they are already! They’re voting with their feet and getting on with it, no fuss about it. The control freaks can’t stand it which makes it all the more satisfying.
    They’ll be calling for the armed response unit on the streets next

• Subscribers Posts: 41,535 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

road_high wrote: »
    Another attention seeking virtue signalling cllr looking for attention and “outrage” over the same thing this time in cork.
    Has the national psyche decided into such a pathetic state of nothingness that kids out on a street evokes bigger emotions amongst sun than the IRA bombing campaign ever did?
    https://twitter.com/cllrdescahil/status/1310669933110587394?s=21

ah jaysus.

there is absolutely NOTHING wrong in those pictures there.
    theyre are actually wearing masks OUTSIDE, are in small groups, i can count 3 distinct groups... and thats in no way a busy scene.

some people are scraping the barrel not for things to give out about.

17 people under the age of 44 have died from Covid in Ireland. There have been that many people killed in September alone on Irish roads!

981 of our deaths have been 80 or older, which is 64 percent of deaths. 28 percent of deaths have been people aged between 65-79. That's 92 percent of deaths in people over the age of 65. That group of people are just 13 percent of the general population! We cannot put the country on hold for 13 percent of people who most likely carried an underlying and potentially fatal illness! We also know that covid deaths include cases where the deceased had covid, even if that was not the primary cause of death!

There have been 10409 cases in people between ages 25-44, with 17 deaths. 0.0016 deaths per case in that age range.

Also worth nothing that chronic heart disease was present in 45 percent of deaths. However we also know that annually cardiovascular disease accounts for approximately 10,000 deaths in a normal year. You can do the math on that one, but suffice to say, people are always dying at this rate from cardiovascular disease! It's just now nobody is allowed to die from covid, because, reasons.

It's time to end this nonsense. Elderly can isolate, it wont be hard as they are all not working anyway! Others can take precautions around them. Maybe the government could consider implementing a set time for elderly only shopping.

We can continue to wear masks, socially distance where reasonable and wash hands. But enough of this pathetic doom and fearmongering over what is actually very little.

Statistics obtained from the CSO, the HSE and An Garda Siochana.

Can you tell me? Because I certainly don't know.

In my view, that’s the problem. The fear that young scallywags will infect granny or grandad or another vulnerable family member and not that young are going to develop Covid.