Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crowds gathering in Galway

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

road_high wrote: »
    Another attention seeking virtue signalling cllr looking for attention and “outrage” over the same thing this time in cork.
    Has the national psyche decided into such a pathetic state of nothingness that kids out on a street evokes bigger emotions amongst sun than the IRA bombing campaign ever did?
    https://twitter.com/cllrdescahil/status/1310669933110587394?s=21

Gone beyond a joke at this stage let them get on with their lives and have a bit of enjoyment in their lives because they haven't been able to do so for the last 6 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,407 ✭✭✭✭road_high

We certainly don't miss the type of loons who would be supporting the narrative of some in here that's for sure.

So you admit only one opinion and side is being represented in the media then? That’s something I suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭hynesie08

And as keeps being pointed out to you over and over again it is irrelevant how serious if is for people under 24, they can spread it to people who are vulnerable and thats why they need to forget about getting on with life as normal for now, cop the feck on and live within the restrictions.

So what if you can't go to the pub, so what if you cant meet in groups, so what if you cant go to house parties it wont have any impact on you whatsoever, you would swear it was difficult what you are being asked to do.

Wow, the nox character has officially jumped the shark.... Humans don't need human interaction.......

I suppose in noxs case people just get in the way of pints so he can do without them.

• Subscribers Posts: 41,535 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

The Economist
    There (USA), people in their 80s account for less than half of all covid-19 deaths; people in their 40s, 50s and 60s, meanwhile, account for a significantly larger share of those who die. The median covid-19 sufferer in America is a 48-year-old; in Italy it is a 63-year-old.
    Why is America such an outlier? Part of the explanation surely lies in the fact that America has a younger population than Europe does. America’s median age is just 38; Italy’s is 45.

The USA, with a median age of 38, does not appear to have immunity from Coronavirus.

https://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/br/b-cdc/covid-19deathsandcases/
    Over 65s account for almost 92% of confirmed deaths
    88% of deaths there was an underlying condition, the median age of these deaths was 83, the same as that for all deaths

vastly differing stats for ireland as compared to US

sydthebeat wrote: »
    ah jaysus.

there is absolutely NOTHING wrong in those pictures there.
    theyre are actually wearing masks OUTSIDE, are in small groups, i can count 3 distinct groups... and thats in no way a busy scene.

some people are scraping the barrel not for things to give out about.

Of course. These freaks travel around the place looking for things to feed the outrage and twitter machine.
    I wonder did any of the virtue signallers care enough to go and admonish the perceived wrong doing? I doubt it, no twitter likes in that

• Registered Users Posts: 6,015 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

The Economist
    There (USA), people in their 80s account for less than half of all covid-19 deaths; people in their 40s, 50s and 60s, meanwhile, account for a significantly larger share of those who die. The median covid-19 sufferer in America is a 48-year-old; in Italy it is a 63-year-old.
    Why is America such an outlier? Part of the explanation surely lies in the fact that America has a younger population than Europe does. America’s median age is just 38; Italy’s is 45.

The USA, with a median age of 38, does not appear to have immunity from Coronavirus.

The median death age in the USA is 78, the same as the life expectancy.

Why does the median age of the contractor matter? Surley the lower the number the better, given how much more lethal it is for older than younger

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Granadino

As long as it's someone else's elderly relatives who die, those young uns will want to have their parties.

Granadino wrote: »
    As long as it's someone else's elderly relatives who die, those young uns will want to have their parties.

As long as the sun rises and sets people will live their lives- deal with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Its funny because since Covid, the Spanish Arch has been very busy during good weather.
    Galway City centre, especially Shop Street has been thronged every weekend.

No a peep out of people.
    As soon as its students - the Thought Police arrive.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Wow, the nox character has officially jumped the shark.... Humans don't need human interaction.......

I suppose in noxs case people just get in the way of pints so he can do without them.

He's on a Galway page arguing vehemently for the army on the streets using water cannons. Best ignored i think..

So you admit only one opinion and side is being represented in the media then? That’s something I suppose

Would you like different opinions to be expressed on a convicted rapist or murderer?

There is no place for stupid selfish opinions that are playing down and dismissing the seriousness of the virus and the need for restrictions.
    hynesie08 wrote: »

I haven't been in a pub since early March, all my drinking is done at home. I have interaction with my family and talk with friends on whatsapp etc. Of course it will be great to get out and have a good session with friends when its all over but until then its not a big ask to just have a bit of cop on and stay away.

Your Face wrote: »
    Its funny because since Covid, the Spanish Arch has been very busy during good weather.
    Galway City centre, especially Shop Street has been thronged every weekend.

No a peep out of people.
    As soon as its students - the Thought Police arrive.

And Galway City specifically had one of the lowest local incidence rates in the country heading into the weekend before. It's mad isn't it, considering

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

Care to explain what percentages am I inventing?

It's simple maths:

Total deaths in ROI = 1,802

Deaths in people under the age of 24 = 1

1/1,802= 0.000554938957

So there's a 0.00055% chance of someone under the age of 24 dying from the virus.

What percentage have I invented there???

Again it’s ‘With’ not ‘from’.
    Even the official figures always talk of people who have died with the virus, not from it.
    It’s worth repeating because it’s a fundamental point of how we record deaths.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

This constant line against students needs to end. The over reaction to this has already wrecked their leaving certs, now the media is hell bent on destroying college too. We flattened the curve like good little citizens, and what did the government do to prepare icu’s in the meanwhile. Not much it seems. What did anyone think would happen after lockdown, it’s not rocket science that cases will rise. Cases in the young are good, all that matters is protecting the ill. All of this hype against students is purely to deflect attention away from the failings of our government to prepare the hospitals, and even more so the failings of the nursing homes. All resources should be put to those areas, everyone else needs to carry on. Calling for the army, Jesus Christ - there’s probably plenty of covid in the barracks, and they wouldn’t know it because chances are not a single person there would get ill.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,953 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

No wonder UCD has no pubs around in its residential areas. Well planned by the residents I'd say. They can do what they want on campus, but not anywhere near them. Proper order!

The issue is not young people enjoying themselves and going a bit mad in Fresher's Week, it's the associated ASB that goes with it I suppose. And Galway and Cork and elsewhere, residents are expected to just suck it up even pre Covid. Everyone is entitled to quiet enjoyment of their homes I thought.

But anyway. There is nothing out there to stop this really, so expect more as the weekend approaches. It is what it is, but the immaturity of some of them is a sight to behold. As for infecting elderly relatives or vulnerable, well most of them are in digs or house sharing, it's when they go home to get the washing done at the weekend and a feed of spuds from Mammy or Granny. Well then. That's the blind spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    No one is asking them to stop living their lives just to have some cop on, show personal responsibility, no mass gatherings etc., this deadly affects all ages, their parents should be ashamed

No mass gatherings is a living death when you're young. An open ended, indefinite period of being banned from socialising with constant doom mongering from the media about this lasting another six months is what's pushing so many young people towards the kind of nihilism on display here. I've been saying for weeks that this would be the end result if people weren't shown a light at the end of the tunnel.

When you're that age, you live for meeting large groups of people, strangers and friends alike. It's easy for people with established groups of friends to look down on those just starting out who have no such support networks.

Would you like different opinions to be expressed on a convicted rapist or murderer?

It's called a defence, it's a pretty important part of the legal process.
    There is no place for stupid selfish opinions that are playing down and dismissing the seriousness of the virus and the need for restrictions.

If they're that stupid they'd get shown up pretty quickly, and it might actually help the other side.
    I haven't been in a pub since early March, all my drinking is done at home. I have interaction with my family and talk with friends on whatsapp etc. Of course it will be great to get out and have a good session with friends when its all over but until then its not a big ask to just have a bit of cop on and stay away.

Medal for you, not everyone lives with family, and there's no law against meeting your friends for a coffee or pint.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,504 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Again it’s ‘With’ not ‘from’.
    Even the official figures always talk of people who have died with the virus, not from it.
    It’s worth repeating because it’s a fundamental point of how we record deaths.

That's a point that never gets questioned and I've never actually questioned it myself. The implications are important though, many of these deaths may not be attributable to covid at all and they just happened to have covid at time of dying from something else. In the UK a study from Oxford found at least 1/3rd of official figures died of something else but also had covid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

Granadino wrote: »

we're all going to die it's part of the plan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

I find this pandemic interesting to see how it plays out in people's attitudes. Young people to me would have seemed previously to be very concerned about others, the future etc. A lot would be concerned regarding the homeless, mental health, the environment, housing affordability etc. A very outward looking view on the world.

Now we are seeing something different. A very hard-nosed, tough, inward looking attitude where individual's own life comes above all else, where we are told we just need to get on with things.

From Greta Thunbergs to Waren Buffets or Michael O'Learys in a short space of time.

I find this pandemic interesting to see how it plays out in people's attitudes. Young people to me would have seemed previously to be very concerned about others, the future etc. A lot would be concerned regarding the homeless, mental health, the environment, housing affordability etc. A very outward looking view on the world.

I don't think any of the students ever cared about any of that stuff. It was something to do, and more often than not was done at times when they would have been expected to be at school and such.

I remember a schools protest in Drogheda a year or two ago, against climate change, and the Council later came out giving out about the clean up they had to do afterwards with all the discarded plastic bottles and general litter.

They couldn't give a sh/te.

I don't think any of the students ever cared about any of that stuff. It was something to do, and more often than not was done at times when they would have been expected to be at school and such.

I remember a schools protest in Drogheda a year or two ago, against climate change, and the Council later came out giving out about the clean up they had to do afterwards with all the discarded plastic bottles and general litter.

They couldn't give a sh/te.

I don't think that's fair, they do care, they're just not mature enough to know how to impact the change they want, and that just gives people the stick to beat them with and not listen to what they're saying.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I think they are already! They’re voting with their feet and getting on with it, no fuss about it. The control freaks can’t stand it which makes it all the more satisfying.
    They’ll be calling for the armed response unit on the streets next

It's worse than that.

ARU are part of AGS.

The nutcases are calling for the military to be deployed. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

I did a check on your numbers.
    World population 7,815,142,500
    Deaths from Covid 1,007,716
    Percentage deaths 0.01289% or a 1 in 7,755 chance of death.

Number of Covid cases 33,620,812
    Percentage deaths 2.997% or a 1 in 33.6 chance of death if you get the virus.

If you want to gamble on surviving a 33/1 chance that is your choice.
    And Covid 33/1 shots, unfortunately, die every day.

Haha! Ffs. Another school of NPHET-economics pupil!

How many people have had it without knowing?
    And that’s around the world by the way, seeing as you’re using world figures.

When you discover that, let us know and we’ll take you through the next part of the equation.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,399 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Care to explain what percentages am I inventing?

It's simple maths:

Total deaths in ROI = 1,802

Deaths in people under the age of 24 = 1

1/1,802= 0.000554938957

So there's a 0.00055% chance of someone under the age of 24 dying from the virus.

What percentage have I invented there???

Without getting involved in the rights or wrongs of your overall point, can I just mention that your maths is wrong by a factor of 100? Its actually .055%.

For example if something has a 1 in 50 chance of occurring then clearly its 2% I'm sure we'll agree.
    1/50 (as per your calculation) would be .02 but you then have to multiple by 100 to translate to percentage.

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

Covid19 wrote: »
    I was shocked to see, first hand, the total lack of responsibility shown by the students on the opening night.
    What will it take to get younger folk to view the current crisis more seriously?
    Will loved ones or relatives need to die before they cop on?

https://mobile.twitter.com/EddieHoareFG/status/1310697801211351040

Were you just as shocked to see the BLM protests in Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

risteard7 wrote: »

And 81 of Ireland’s finest and publicly prominent leaders of politics, business and media, together with their plus 1s, in a room (with an open partition!) all for the purposes of networking on the public dime.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭normanoffside

That's a point that never gets questioned and I've never actually questioned it myself. The implications are important though, many of these deaths may not be attributable to covid at all and they just happened to have covid at time of dying from something else. In the UK a study from Oxford found at least 1/3rd of official figures died of something else but also had covid.

The thing that annoys me most is despite the Department of health reporting that x number died with the virus, the press will still report that x number died from the virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Covid19

Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Sconsey

3xh wrote: »
    And 81 of Ireland’s finest and publicly prominent leaders of politics, business and media, together with their plus 1s, in a room (with an open partition!) all for the purposes of networking on the public dime.

You mean were they all disregarding the current restrictions? damn right they were, glad you can see that they all should be lumped in together.