Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Far left want to closedown boards.ie for being racist

• 01-10-2020 10:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Double O Seven

People here on boards have enjoyed the far lefts campaign against Gemma O'Doherty but now the same people who cancelled Gemma, want boards.ie defunded because it's "racist" and because it has a conspiracy theory forum. Be careful what you wish for. https://mobile.twitter.com/DubRentWatch/status/1310901669413216256

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Another example of a useful service taken over by an activist.
    I expect their 5K followers to dwindle if this keeps up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Double O Seven

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

What these muppets want is to close anything that isn't a clear echo chamber and any forum where their politic and general nonsense can be debated and argued against. Mainly because as we've seen in this very forum their arguments tend not to survive much questioning.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭MrsBean

Can you explain how or where that Twitter post you linked to claims boards is racist? I don't see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Double O Seven

MrsBean wrote: »
    Can you explain how or where that Twitter post you linked to claims boards is racist? I don't see it.

See this one https://mobile.twitter.com/DubRentWatch/status/1310914751480946691

• Registered Users Posts: 10,577 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Jesus H Christ does someone want to explain how a discussion forum works with these people?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Am I missing something here?

1 Tweet from a randomer 2 days ago that has amassed the grand total of 2 likes and 1 quote/retweet.

Not exactly pitchforks and torches time..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,832 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

People here on boards have enjoyed the far lefts campaign against Gemma O'Doherty but now the same people who cancelled Gemma, want boards.ie defunded because it's "racist" and because it has a conspiracy theory forum. Be careful what you wish for. https://mobile.twitter.com/DubRentWatch/status/1310901669413216256

Do yourself a favour there and log out of twitter.
    If you have done it your problem is solved and you no longer have to worry to worry about the "Far left" shutting down boards.
    Because apart from this twitter post and your claim that it proves the "far left" is shutting boards down I see no evidence of such.

Ps no one cancelled Gemma, she is regularly in the various forms of media and still doing her racist ****e conspiracy nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,832 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Wibbs wrote: »
    What these muppets want is to close anything that isn't a clear echo chamber and any forum where their politic and general nonsense can be debated and argued against. Mainly because as we've seen in this very forum their arguments tend not to survive much questioning.

When you say these muppets you are referring to the OP or the tweet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

Quin_Dub wrote: »

1 Tweet from a randomer 2 days ago that has amassed the grand total of 2 likes and 1 quote/retweet.

People getting upset about random tweets = snowflakes

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭Roger the cabin boy

Far left want to closedown boards.ie for being racist not being far left.

FTFY.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,839 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The modern left have become the Catholic Church of the 1950s.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Uh oh discussion on a discussion forum - cant be having that

• Registered Users Posts: 26,433 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

He didn't say he wants it closed down

Danzy wrote: »

The modern left don't lock up women and children on an industrial scale and rape them

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

You see anything that anyone on the left thinks is automatically adopted by everyone else on the left. We operate as a hive mind without any ability to have independent thoughts. Once you Google Karl Marx you're looked in for life.

It can be exhausting but there's no way out.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Danzy wrote: »

We have better taste in bread and dresses.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

I'm probably the furthest left person on Boards.ie

I love Boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭TheAsYLuMkeY

They would be better served tackling something like this,

https://www.stormfront.org/forum/index.php

Boards is a nice day out in the park compared to that site.

• Registered Users Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Abel Ruiz

Brian? wrote: »
    You see anything that anyone on the left thinks is automatically adopted by everyone else on the left. We operate as a hive mind without any ability to have independent thoughts. .

But dont you say the same about the other gobshiitess on the right???
    Left and right is american nonsense. Pity it didnt stay there.

Yis are all a big shower of cnuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I'm probably the furthest left person on Boards.ie

I love Boards.

Are you a Stalinist?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,642 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Somebody on twitter said something stupid?

Call the police and start a thread on boards, the sky is falling.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

If your argument is based on
    a.) a single tweet that has 2 likes
    AND/OR
    b.) Suggesting that GO'D is anything other than a racist ghow, and should be litigimised in any form....

then you don't really have much of an argument

Abel Ruiz wrote: »
    But dont you say the same about the other gobshiitess on the right???
    Left and right is american nonsense. Pity it didnt stay there.

Yis are all a big shower of cnuts.

It was actually French nonsense originally

Are you a Stalinist?

No.

There's more to the left than Stalin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

More calls for censorship as usual from the the left. Free speech is under attack like never seen before can't question covid figures or question immigration into the west. 1984 is coming true.

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭gerogerigegege

If your argument is based on
    a.) a single tweet that has 2 likes
    AND/OR
    b.) Suggesting that GO'D is anything other than a racist ghow, and should be litigimised in any form....

then you don't really have much of an argument

She raises very good points. Some off the wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

I keep getting my Left and Right mixed up, which is which again?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 85 ✭✭macpaccrack

Shhhh don't ruin the far right narrative

These lads are complete morons :p:p:p:p

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I keep getting my Left and Right mixed up, which is which again?
    One is right, and the other is wrong