Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools closed until February? (part 3)

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭meath4sam

This is a good question. It’s being asked by some of my colleagues too.

That’s exactly what I am asking.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭Danick

ASTI have just saved lives with that decision this evening - the naysayers and teacher haters need to appreciate that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,846 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

This is a good question. It’s being asked by some of my colleagues too.

We'll it doesn't matter anymore as the situation has changed but I thought the other poster posed an interesting question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Positiveways

A shocking example of undermining, discrediting and completely underestimating the public mood that was this kamikaze of reopening the schools for leaving cert students by this beleaguered and out of touch government, who didn't have the guts to consult NPHET on this matter of huge importance. How dear does Leo, who himself is not an ally of trade unions, go criticizing the teacher unions and suggesting that they would slow the process if they were consulted!

I'm astounded that our media here haven't called out those comments from the Tanaiste, such blatant disregard for teachers and students who have been through enormous stress and anxiety over the past year since covid began to take hold in the country.

If this is the approach of the FFG government to criticize undermine and undervalue students and teachers throughout the country, then we should be in horror as a nation. This is the type of provocative language that the likes of Dominic Cummings and Thatcher would engage in, so we should be greatly concerned if we are going down the route of "blame everyone but ourselves" government narrative.

FFS will the government ever show some responsibility for their actions and more humility please. It seems with Meehole, Leo the Leak and a minister for education even more out of her depth then her predecessor, who was also a hopeless minister in charge, then we can forget about accountability and taking ownership for their policies, which leaves an awful lot to be desired.

I have real respect for the ASTI this evening, fair play to them for not buckling under threats and intimidation by the govt. At a time of a national emergency, they have listened to both their members, students and the public at large. They know how serious the covid situation is in the country and its such a shame that our public representatives don't have that the same level of understanding and care for our wonderful and brave teachers who along with the students, have stood up in the face of severe adversity and have battled on despite all the headwinds that faced teachers and schools, which are well known by now including lack of PPE among one example at the beginning of the school term.

Teaching is such a thankless job. I hope that the goodwill shown by the public and the recognition and understanding that they play a huge part in helping in the progression of a student's academic and future career beyond education, will bring some level of comfort to teachers throughout the country this evening and beyond. But they also have good interests at heart and they know the threats posed by covid 19, they know that Minister Foley did a solo run on this, in the hope of blackmailing teachers, staff and students into buying into her pathetic plan.

The scary thing is that her cabinet colleagues went along with this farce of a plan, that now is crumbling like the Roman Empire. Shame on the Minister and her department and that shame goes further beyond that and to a government that haven't got a clue and have completely lost the credibility of the public.

But I leave it on a positive note. The great sacrifices that teachers and students have made in putting all the obstacles of reopening the schools to one side and was one of the success stories of 2020. And while the govt may have turned against you, let me reassure all boards posters who are in the teaching profession, that these sacrifices that you made in the face of this global health crisis, was beyond anything that any politician or pubic representative will ever achieve to their fellow citizens or constituents. That to me is a sign of doing your bit in helping students and the wider society to achieve the start of a return to the normal that we as a country are craving for. You have played your part and no fingerpointing or acrimony from politicians ain't going to change that perception. Well done teachers and students.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,768 ✭✭✭thomas 123

Danick wrote: »
    ASTI have just saved lives with that decision this evening - the naysayers and teacher haters need to appreciate that.

Sad that a private union has to make decisions for our clearly inept Gov.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,846 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

eviltwin wrote: »
    That didn’t take long

The Gov knew full well that the u lions would act like that.

Niw they can say they tried their best and any fallout going g forward can be put down to the unions and not them.

Despite the fact that we all know they were at fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭E36Ross

Darwin wrote: »

Assume its only a matter of time before Special Needs schools are closed aswel?

Really can't see how neither primary or secondary is safe but the more vulnerable special needs schools are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Smacruairi

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    The Gov knew full well that the u lions would act like that.

Niw they can say they tried their best and any fallout going g forward can be put down to the unions and not them.

Despite the fact that we all know they were at fault.

If I had the time I'd just cut a montage of all the headlines, the public reaction, the climb down, all to the soundtrack of josepha Madigans brain dead interview only 3 days ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭Endintheclowns

I'm guessing the special needs schools will follow now.

Foley will have to resign now. Utterly clueless

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

Off all the cluster****s so far during COVID for the government this is probably up there at the top.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 60 ✭✭Follow_ur_lead

Any idea what the delivery mechanism will be for special needs kids? They shouldnt be allowed to remove this vital serivce without a plan to ensure kids to regress and suffer like they did last year.

Individual schools, classes, teachers etc will have learned from last year and will I'm sure have the necessary details in plan for each child. It would be totally remiss of them not to have a detailed plan in place.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

I may be wrong but I think that some people here who are posting nasty comments are just frustrated and frightened by the thoughts of online teaching again as parents as you are not sure how to do it.

If that is the case can I ask instead of slagging off teachers use the thread.

I already saw one parent who was unsure of how or what to teach their child and asked for help here and got it, lots of resources.

We are now teaching online that is a fact. So how about if you are unsure about a topic, ask here.

I am not including other teachers but I teach 6th learning support and I dont mind helping people out if they or their children are stuck. If you want to know how to teach something in Maths or a good video to explain a topic, I will do my best to help, give it a go see if it works. I know there is nothingworse than trawling through the internet looking for relevant info.

For example timestables.com gives nice games and also a daily exercise to help kids learn multiplication, they also have similar for fractions and is free to use.

Just a suggestion or I could set up a separate help thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

the kelt wrote: »
    Off all the cluster****s so far during COVID for the government this is probably up there at the top.

I hope this finishes FF. I'm never voting for them again.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,768 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

2 days wasted on this farce when schools cud have been organising full online provision.

Well done government, ye will get something right at some point

• Registered Users Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭C__MC

Jesus Micheal martin you put the country in the ****s in 2011, 10 years later your still doing it

Country a shambles atm

• Registered Users Posts: 8,690 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Darwin wrote: »
    So DES and Foley have thrown in the towel

Oh I am so surprised..... Said no one ever!

This shambles of a government flip-flopping yet again!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Individual schools, classes, teachers etc will have learned from last year and will I'm sure have the necessary details in plan for each child. It would be totally remiss of them not to have a detailed plan in place.
    That is simple not true and shows that unless you have a child with special needs you can not for one minute fathom the difficulties involved!
    Some of the comments ive read here are sickening and completely brush off parents of children wit hspecial needs as selfish which i find disgusting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,751 ✭✭✭mirrorwall14

khalessi wrote: »
    I may be wrong but I think that some people here who are posting nasty comments are just frustrated and frightened by the thoughts of online teaching again as parents as you are not sure how to do it.

I already saw one parent who was unsure of how or what to teach their child and asked for help here and got it, lots of resources.

We are now teaching online that is a fact. So how about if you are unsure about a topic, ask here.

I am not including other teachers but I teach 6th learning support and I dont mind helping people out if they or their children are stuck. If you want to know how to teach something in Maths or a good video to explain a topic, I will do my best to help, give it a go see if it works. I know there is nothingworse than trawling through the internet looking for relevant info.

For example timestables.com gives nice games and also a daily exercise to help kids learn multiplication, they also have similar for fractions and is free to use.

That’s an excellent idea. I’m maths and music second level. Happy to advise and help to the best of my ability

• Registered Users Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭History Queen

I think a thread for this is a brilliant idea. I teach English and History and will gladly help

• Registered Users Posts: 2,768 ✭✭✭thomas 123

JeffKenna wrote: »
    I hope this finishes FF. I'm never voting for them again.

And fg and the Green Party, separate parties, one government.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Lovely idea and much appreciated by this parent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

Lovely, generous idea Khalessi. As a Parent, Thank You to you, Mirrorwall and History Queen.

Eoinbmw wrote: »
    That is simple not true and shows that unless you have a child with special needs you can not for one minute fathom the difficulties involved!
    Some of the comments ive read here are sickening and completely brush off parents of children wit hspecial needs as selfish which i find disgusting!

Hardly brushing off !!!

Schools knew this could happen again and should have explored every possible way of working on line that works with children with special needs. They had months of online with them last year and should be set up to go again this year. If they are not ready, that is shoddy by them.

Don't forget this is Ireland....Ministers don't step down!!

Will she get the boot?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Knine

I hope they tell us soon. Many children with special needs also have underlying disorders. They need SNAs in the classroom & many get buses with other similar children & there are bus escort too. So plenty of contacts as well as their classmates.

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭robfowler78

Whatever anyone thinks of teachers they can’t be blamed for this farce the government have had nearly a year to prepare for this and they have messed it up again. It’s shocking that on most of the areas they have direct responsibility for they seem to be slacking.

Track and trace
    Nursing homes
    Schools
    People coming in and out of the country
    Direct provision

I’m all for locking down when cases rises but they have no other plan what’s so ever.