Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Birdie Num Num

darconio wrote: »
    I'm glad we agree on something: the virus is not fatal, we don't die from coronavirus.
    Yet, as soon as somebody dies, is quickly added to the number of "Death by Covid" : yeah I don't get this nonsense either

Oh no we don’t agree on this but I’m sure there are things in life that we do agree on, if that comforts you. ...The virus, like many other viruses is fatal to some and was most definitely fatal to the one person I know that died as a direct result of contracting it.

Apart from within your post, I have never seen the term ‘Death by Covid’ used. I certainly haven’t seen it in any official reporting. ‘Deaths related to COVID-19’ or ‘COVID-19 related deaths’ yes but I think your fantasising otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

rusty cole wrote: »
    absolute ****e comment...what happens if you're traveling on holidays with 3 teenager's??? you and the wife?? a grand added to that?
    What happens if you are a large family and you need to travel for a funeral abroad.

Sure loike you we've plenty to spunk on a "sesh" eh..

The post was typical of the I'm all right Jack brigade.

No idea how these things can effect others who live different lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

Zebra3 wrote: »
    The post was typical of the I'm all right Jack brigade.

No idea how these things can effect others who live different lives.

OP travels abroad once every 3 - 4 years as has posted earlier in like thread IV.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭uli84

So how long is this going to last for this time? 4 months again? 5? I can see my trip to Poland is screwed already since I won’t have the money for the tests both ways, my birthday next month probably screwed too.
    Seeing they are looking into fines for not wearing masks and travelling outside the county I take it it’s not going to end anytime soon

uli84 wrote: »
    So how long is this going to last for this time? 4 months again? 5?
    Seeing they are looking into fines for not wearing masks and travelling outside the county I take it it’s not going to end anytime soon

Plenty will tell you it's just until the vaccine becomes available.

Just don't expect any questions you ask about the mythical vaccine to be answered.

uli84 wrote: »
    So how long is this going to last for this time? 4 months again? 5?

They can look into fines alright. Doesnt mean that fines will be actually incurred...

The whole "you get a fine if you leave your county" assumes 60 - 90 % + chance of people in those counties have covid and "spreading it" should they go to another county.

Which is idiotic.

And should fine arise, can just take them to court.

They cant say "its a national emergency" when less than 1 person per day has died with covid since July......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Dionaibh

sonofenoch wrote: »
    The fine system for not wearing a mask how exactly is that enforced? I have no problem wearing one going into a premises but how exactly does it work ...............they don't have the power to detain a person and wait for the guards to arrive, nobody in their right mind is going to wait around and get a spot fine

I don't understand the muzzle fine. I thought there was a long list of exemptions there and that people can either say they're exempt or show a card to say they're exempt. Is that not the case?

194 people with Covid-19 are being treated in Irish hospitals

The number of people being treated in hospital for Covid-19 is now at its highest in more than 4 months.

194 people are now receiving treatment, after 18 new admissions in the past 24 hours.

Yesterday saw 617 new cases of coronavirus confirmed - the most since April.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40062599.html

Jaysus examiner there showing why its a 2nd sort news outlet. Treated with covid. Treated for covid.

feck it - treat it on covid.

Absolute idiots. Its a known fact that vast majority of people in hospitals with covid are actually being treated for heart disease, broken legs and other actual conditions. Paradoxically they pick covid up (unknowingly, as covid symptom of being perfectly healthy is displayed by 90% of new cases) from careless healthcare workers who rarely wear masks or socially distance when going on lunch lols.

Living with level three: How to be a tourist in your own county
    Despite Level 3 restrictions, many hotels and accommodations across Ireland are staying open for the domestic market

https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/travel/arid-40061012.html

Last time I read Irish examiner.

The level of stupidity is over 9000

Fintan - you wanna spend 2 - 3 weeks staycation in your own county? :rolleyes:

Living with level three: How to be a tourist in your own county
    Despite Level 3 restrictions, many hotels and accommodations across Ireland are staying open for the domestic market

https://www.irishexaminer.com/lifestyle/travel/arid-40061012.html

Last time I read Irish examiner.

The level of stupidity is over 9000

Fintan - you wanna spend 2 - 3 weeks staycation in your own county? :rolleyes:

The year was 2022, Irish examiner was publishing "how to be a tourist in 5 km radius of your home" :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I went into town shopping in Cork city today not sure what to expect, and was pleasantly surprised. I was fearful that level 3 would keep people at home, but that wasn’t the case at all.

It was like Christmas week it was so busy.
    There were long queues outside every shop.
    There was groups of teens sitting on the ground outside McDonald’s (no outdoor seating) eating their food.
    There were groups of friends standing congregating drinking takeaway coffee outside most of the cafés, waiting to get an outdoor table.
    Families and other groups were sitting on the bollards on Patrick St eating food and drinking hot drinks.
    Anywhere with outdoor seating was full and had queues outside.

Sadly, I also saw a lot of bars and restaurants without outdoor seating closed. But the crowds elsewhere showed that the fear is gone and people simply want to move on with life.
    They were still out trying to socialise with family and friends despite the governments latest efforts to encourage them to stay locked in their houses.

It would arguably have been much safer for them to be sitting indoors in a controlled distanced environment, rather than leaving them congregate outside, but those in power were too narrow minded to see that.

I have an outdoor table booked at a local restaurant with some friends tonight, and then we’ll probably go back to someone’s house afterwards.
    I hope tonight is just as busy for local business owners.
    They have been held to ransom the last few months, opening and closing with very little notice.
    It’s nice to see them being so well supported, and I hope it continues.

But it’s clear now that the appetite for restrictions has pretty much evaporated, and it’ll be interesting to see how further restrictions will be tolerated.
    Patience is wearing thin among anyone I’ve been speaking to, and compliance is decreasing by the day.
    If they attempt to force level 5 on us they won’t get anywhere near the same level of adherence as last time.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,571 ✭✭✭Penfailed

rusty cole wrote: »
    absolute ****e comment...what happens if you're traveling on holidays with 3 teenager's??? you and the wife?? a grand added to that?
    What happens if you are a large family and you need to travel for a funeral abroad.

Sure loike you we've plenty to spunk on a "sesh" eh..

What would you have done years ago when flights were much more expensive? Travel is a privilege not a necessity.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

Penfailed wrote: »
    What would you have done years ago when flights were much more expensive? Travel is a privilege not a necessity.

The sort of thing Nox would say :pac:

It's true though.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

It's true though.

Freedom of movement is a privilege in the 21st century?

Are we talking about the 1920s, 1950s or 2020 here? I didn't know travel and freedom of movement was only accessible to the privileged few.

RobitTV wrote: »
    Freedom of movement is a privilege in the 21st century?

Are we talking about the 1920s, 1950s or 2020 here? I didn't know travel and freedom of movement was only accessible to the privileged.

Yeah...because that's what I meant :rolleyes:

If someone can't afford to travel somewhere, should they expect to anyway or should they reassess their expectations?

Yeah...because that's what I meant :rolleyes:

If someone can't afford to travel somewhere, should they expect to anyway or should they reassess their expectations?

Those who wish to travel can judge for themselves if they can afford it or not, i thought this was basic thinking? unless i'm coming from a position of privilege and i don't understand the financial position of the new COVID pheasant class :pac: even the minor thought of travelling abroad is unacceptable.

People should go and sit outside the nearest pub and spunk 200 euro on a big sesh, as you so often claim many people do.

SusieBlue wrote: »
    I went into town shopping in Cork city today not sure what to expect, and was pleasantly surprised. I was fearful that level 3 would keep people at home, but that wasn’t the case at all.

There was groups of teens sitting on the ground outside McDonald’s (no outdoor seating) eating their food.
    There were groups of friends standing congregating drinking takeaway coffee outside most of the cafés, waiting to get an outdoor table.
    Families and other groups were sitting on the bollards on Patrick St eating food and drinking hot drinks.

Sadly, I also saw a lot of bars and restaurants without outdoor seating closed. But the crowds elsewhere showed that the fear is gone and people simply want to move on with life.
    They were still out trying to socialise with family and friends despite the governments latest efforts to encourage them to stay locked in their houses.

It would arguably have been much safer for them to be sitting indoors in a controlled distanced environment, rather than leaving them congregate outside, but those in power were too narrow minded to see that.

I have an outdoor table booked at a local restaurant with some friends tonight, and then we’ll probably go back to someone’s house afterwards.
    They have been held to ransom the last few months, opening and closing with very little notice.

But it’s clear now that the appetite for restrictions has pretty much evaporated, and it’ll be interesting to see how further restrictions will be tolerated.
    Patience is wearing thin among anyone I’ve been speaking to, and compliance is decreasing by the day.
    If they attempt to force level 5 on us they won’t get anywhere near the same level of adherence as last time.

Have a great time! Really. I went to eddie rockets yesterday on Grafton street, they had nice outdoor seating and I was lucky with the weather. Enjoyed every bit.

Everybody should be doing this. These mad scientists from NPHET will recommend level 7 soon enough and Mehole will compromise at level 5.3 :rolleyes::mad:

RobitTV wrote: »
    Those who wish to travel can judge for themselves if they can afford it or not, i thought this was basic thinking? unless i'm coming from a position of privilege and i don't understand the financial position of the new COVID pheasant class :pac: even the minor thought of travelling abroad is unacceptable.

People should go and sit outside the nearest pub and spunk 200 euro on a big sesh, as you so often claim many people do.

You can interpret what I've said however you want. You're doing it wrong though. Just sayin'.

'A notable shock': Pandemic impact on Ireland's domestic economy worse than most other EU countries, says ESRI

Highlighting recent Oxford research in the stringency of the public health restrictions rolled out across the world in March, the ESRI report concludes that Ireland “ had one of the strictest and longest lockdowns” in Europe.

https://www.thejournal.ie/pandemic-lockdown-economic-forecast-5226321-Oct2020/

Its a good thing our covid death rate is that of NZ. oh wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

SusieBlue wrote: »

I’ve just had a similar experience. I think the shock of the possibility of a level 5 has woken people up. They want to get out & about. People are not acting worried about Covid. They’re either pre lockdown buying or Christmas shopping - not sure which. Although Smyths have so many online orders thanks to NPHET level 5 threat, they’ve had to suspend home delivery. This is causing huge queues outside their shops.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

'A notable shock': Pandemic impact on Ireland's domestic economy worse than most other EU countries, says ESRI

Highlighting recent Oxford research in the stringency of the public health restrictions rolled out across the world in March, the ESRI report concludes that Ireland “ had one of the strictest and longest lockdowns” in Europe.

I wonder what period they are referring to when they say lockdown because back in march april and may we were always allowed 2km of movement for exercise and in cities in France and Spain they weren't even allowed that. Surely that's a stricter lockdown so how could ours be the strictest? Maybe they are referring to us being slower to open up.

Thousands of anti-mask protesters are in the middle of a stand-off with Gardai as round two of protests that brought Dublin City to a standstill last Saturday take place again today.

More trouble and possible violence was feared for Dublin city this weekend as the repeat 'anti-mask' protest went ahead kicking off at 2pm.

A swarm of far right anti-maskers were met by an army of Gardai outside the Dail as the vexed protesters were halted by the officers when both clashed.

The marchers made their way through the city centre with Irish flags and banners expressing their anger about current health restrictions and rules in the capital.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/protest-dublin-city-coronavirus-lockdown-19083969

Penfailed - is this a sizeable enough protest for you? Or does army of Gardai usually patrol Kildare St?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Protesting won't make the virus go away unfortunately. But they have a right to do it and have their voices heard. The gardai should leave them alone unless they're causing trouble.

Wait till Monday in Spain - The leader of the one of the largest opposition parties is calling for nationwide demonstrations that will start at 12pm in Madrid on Monday. Madrid is suffering once again from severe government imposed measures.

The Spanish Constitutional Court has got involved today and will make a ruling on the Madrid restrictions soon

At a loss to how it is a "notable shock" to the economy when you close a lot of it down.

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭3xh

MadYaker wrote: »
    Protesting won't make the virus go away unfortunately. But they have a right to do it and have their voices heard. The gardai should leave them alone unless they're causing trouble.

And make allowances for the infiltrators there solely to create disturbances to put the protest in a bad light. RTE will of course suggest any scuffles were started by far-right, anti-mask elements. Usual spin.

3xh wrote: »
    And make allowances for the infiltrators there solely to create disturbances to put the protest in a bad light. RTE will of course suggest any scuffles were started by far-right, anti-mask elements. Usual spin.

Yes, the default response to protests is "far-right" and "anti-vaxx".

What I don't understand is why there are so few people out protesting. This is the worst interference with liberty in the history of the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭cassette50

Dionaibh wrote: »
    Yes, the default response to protests is "far-right" and "anti-vaxx".

What I don't understand is why there are so few people out protesting. This is the worst interference with liberty in the history of the country.

Stuck in traffic at needless Garda checkpoints

cassette50 wrote: »
    Stuck in traffic at needless Garda checkpoints

But even before the checkpoints the numbers were relatively small. I don't understand it. It actually reminds me a bit of the US. I find it very odd that there have been no nationwide protests in the US. There have been a few small protests, but nothing like what we've seen in Berlin and the UK.

I've been looking at Ireland from afar and wondering why there has been very little pushback.