Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

This is getting very depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

Basically it boils down to this....there are too many idiots and selfish b*stards in this country. There are always going to be arrogant pr1cks who think the rules don't apply to them. I'm not surprised it went back to level 5. We just have to wait for a vaccine before we can get back to normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Colm O'Rourke talking a lot of sense. He won't be invited back on Claire Byrne again.

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

This is getting very depressing.

I know. But try block it out and get on with life best you can. Try not wallow in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,863 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

rusty cole wrote: »
    Wasnt the tier levels 1 to 5 the grand plan? Well thought out as a regional system to surpress the virus in localities?. Wtf if i lived in a low covid zone id be feckin livid that im being shutdown and grown ups with degrees and phd's didnt factor in social habits of the rare and facinating teenager and student...for **** sake..the tier book so well thought out and paid for no doubt by the taxpayer..****t out the window with E voting and the bertie bowl amongst other brainchildren...

the same morons, who you could write a book on, over their fcuk ups! the printers that wouldnt fit in the Dail? the idiot who drove down the steps of the Dail? I hope there are serious serious recriminations in due course, for these weasels that "lead" us... dont want to make decisions and put you neck on the line, dont run for election...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,901 ✭✭✭hynesie08

any other retail outlet that operates an online or other remote system of ordering goods for purposes of collection at the retail outlet
    https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/60ecc-essential-retail-outlets-for-level-4/?referrer=http://www.gov.ie/essentialretail/

So literally every shop can open if they do click and collect??

You couldn't make this up.....

Zak Flaps wrote: »
    Basically it boils down to this....there are too many idiots and selfish b*stards in this country. There are always going to be arrogant pr1cks who think the rules don't apply to them. I'm not surprised it went back to level 5. We just have to wait for a vaccine before we can get back to normal.

Reading this pitch fork rubbish the whole time. Do you people not understand how a virus like this works? It’s virtually unstoppable once in the population.
    You don’t even understand a vaccine either if you think that’s the panacea for normality

hynesie08 wrote: »
    https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/60ecc-essential-retail-outlets-for-level-4/?referrer=http://www.gov.ie/essentialretail/

So literally every shop can open if they do click and collect??

You couldn't make this up.....

That’s what should all do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,572 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Surprised Leo didn't go for a leak before the decisions were taken.

Anyhow we are where we are.

A few weeks of discipline should enable us to move to level 4 on December 1st, fingers crossed.

Could you be more condescendingly arrogant?

Claire Byrne Live is a little get together of the establishment to sit around agreeing with each other and sniffing each others farts.

Thick as two short planks that one. I mean next level dense.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 Don keebals

So I can drive 40minutes to get to work ,spending 8 hours with 6 others also visit people's homes for work , but on my weekend off I can't drive 20mins to my local beach and go surfing with nobody around..... Don't think so ted

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    Reading this pitch fork rubbish the whole time. Do you people not understand how a virus like this works? It’s virtually unstoppable once in the population.
    You don’t even understand a vaccine either if you think that’s the panacea for normality

100% Plus there are thousands who cannot take any vaccine or anything that could provoke an unintended adverse response, what about these folks? how do they shield themselves from the deadly killer or worse LONGGGGGG COVID!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,705 ✭✭✭obi604

I Presume the gyms are closed for the 6 weeks?

“We need a vaccine next year” MM

What he means, we are broke, regardless next year we are heading down Sweden’s rabbit hole.

God he didn’t actually say that? What a shockingly dumb to come out with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,572 ✭✭✭Micky 32

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I have to turn this off. Claire sitting there having a chat on her cushy wage and taxpayer-funded job, McConkey sitting smug, and the rest specifically chosen it seems to spin the same message of "save Christmas", "do the right thing".

It's grand.. not that big deal is the whole subtext

Disgusted.

The best way to look at this is one day it will be all over and then we can give the finger to that cohort.

100% Plus there are thousands who cannot take any vaccine or anything that could provoke an unintended adverse response, what about these folks? how do they shield themselves from the deadly killer or worse LONGGGGGG COVID!!!

Isn’t it obvious? More Lockdowns

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭C__MC

You can actually see the delight in RTE all evening from george lee to mc conkey at tonight's call

Tubridy will be good crack Friday on the late late

Expect a few unfamiliar faces to appear - dermot Bannon, dricos wife, Jason byrne to name a few.

years of budget time and increasing the world class welfare. Keep the likes of margaret cash here, while doctors, nurses etc emigrate, for for better working environments, less tax, more affordable child care etc. Criminal mismanagement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,244 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

More people with no symptoms or the sniffles

Incorrect.

Perhaps Fintan to whom the question was directed can do better

I said it before..someone needs to start a national #notomontrose and finish that cespit

charlie14 wrote: »
    Incorrect.

Oul charlie14 has been binge watching a few good men...there was no 5.30 flight was there general mcluskey...

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Completely essential and justifiable. Pair yourself with them as your "bubble" or whatever they are calling it if needed.

Besides, no judge is going to prosecute anyone for going to see their daughter who is distraught and in late stage pregnancy

Thanks...... and to everyone else who said the same.
    I just felt sick to my stomach earlier. I will be going to my daughter, come hell or high water, every week between now and the end of these restrictions.... and no Garda checkpoint is going to make me turn back.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Thanks...... and to everyone else who said the same.
    I just felt sick to my stomach earlier. I will be going to my daughter, come hell or high water, every week between now and the end of these restrictions.... and no Garda checkpoint is going to make me turn back.

Good on you sweetmaggie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,107 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

livid

nothing inspired confidence in that speech, waiting for a vaccine ?

We all know 3/4 weeks from now were getting an extension

please please if anyone is suffering mentally from this, loads of services to reach out too. You are not alone and do not do something stupid. Stay safe everyone

The next hundred weeks are critical! that may sound like I am taking the piss and I am, but its actually how I see it panning it, as if they know when a vaccine would become available and even if they had a crystal ball and could tell you. You think they would? Well dear citizens, the vaccine is 21 months away, please bear with us as we continue our comedic policies! LOL!

I said it before..someone needs to start a national #notomontrose and finish that cespit

yes, but we can start the process ourselves. Stop watching the ****, and feeding them with the advertising revenue etc...

Oul charlie14 has been binge watching a few good men...there was no 5.30 flight was there general mcluskey...

At least the last poster made an attempt. You just waffled. And inanely at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,003 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

PTH2009 wrote: »
    livid

nothing inspired confidence in that speech, waiting for a vaccine ?

We all know 3/4 weeks from now were getting an extension

please please if anyone is suffering mentally from this, loads of services to reach out too. You are not alone and do not do something stupid. Stay safe everyone

I am genuinely going between disgusted with the "it's not that big a deal" message from the RTE luvvies and fuming with the stupidity and weakness of Micheal and Co here tonight.

Add to that the bewilderment of how easily the general public have surrendered their independence (thought, movement and indeed decision making) over this whole issue despite the facts now showing this virus is nowhere near as deadly as first feared and most may not even realise they have it if they do catch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,497 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Incorrect.

I wasn’t referring to the positivity rate of tests carried out Charlie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FrankC21

This is what a checkpoint should look like.

At least the last poster made an attempt. You just waffled. And inanely at that.

well Charlie, we all know you have your own angels who lap up your waffle with a sweet dose of ****e syrup.. come now, there's a good piggy..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

FrankC21 wrote: »
    This is what a checkpoint should look like.

Should look like this:

country-roads.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,208 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Under this new lockdown, will I be able to cross the border to visit my widowed 80yr old mother who has dementia?
    It's a 20km drive to get to the border, perhaps they will fine me for driving so far from home?

It's going to be a balls..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,454 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Are we really going to do this, wait around for the vaccine in rolling 6 week crazy cruel lockdowns.
    At least we know NPHET's plan now, I hope it all works out for them, sounds good won't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,208 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Are we really going to do this, wait around for the vaccine in rolling 6 week crazy cruel lockdowns.
    At least we know NPHET's plan now, I hope it all works out for them, sounds good won't work.

They'll still get their big wages, don't worry.

Put them on the PUP too, see how long they continue with their recommendations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭questionmark?

NIMAN wrote: »
    Under this new lockdown, will I be able to cross the border to visit my widowed 80yr old mother who has dementia?
    It's a 20km drive to get to the border, perhaps they will fine me for driving so far from home?

That's allowed. Caring for a relative is called out in the rules.

They have published what is deemed essential retail. This really stood out to me. So any shop could stick in a tea machine and open as normal.

outlets selling food or beverages on a takeaway basis, or newspapers, whether on a retail or wholesale basis and whether in a non-specialised or specialised outlet.

I wasn’t referring to the positivity rate of tests carried out Charlie

"1 in 100 had a positive test"

What was it this 1 in 100 tested positive for Fintan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭FrankC21

funnydoggy wrote: »
    Should look like this: country-roads.jpg

Well i wish we could go back to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,208 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Exactly what I'm doing next week and I've got to take the ferry over to the UK.

Will have to isolate for two weeks when I get back but I'm getting used to that will be the third time.

Wake me up when it's all over.

I just stick a bag of non perishable food in the car. If I get stopped I say I am looking after family member’s. Which is technically true.

If they give me hassle, I’ll hand them the bag of food and demand that they deliver it themselves if they won’t allow me to.

Worked during lockdown 1.

well Charlie, we all know you have your own angels who lap up your waffle with a sweet dose of ****e syrup.. come now, there's a good piggy..

Now rude can be added to your contributions containing nothing other than bitching and moaning.

They have published what is deemed essential retail. This really stood out to me. So any shop could stick in a tea machine and open as normal.

outlets selling food or beverages on a takeaway basis, or newspapers, whether on a retail or wholesale basis and whether in a non-specialised or specialised outlet.

Think retail will have to get together and work around the stupid rules...we've a long, immature history of this as a nation (thanks to idiotic useless leadership) of doing this. I said that last time- stick in a shelf of "essential items" and keep your doors open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Think retail will have to get together and work around the stupid rules...we've a long, immature history of this as a nation (thanks to idiotic useless leadership) of doing this. I said that last time- stick in a shelf of "essential items" and keep your doors open.

I said it before and I still believe it..... government won’t get us out of this, a public mutiny will! We’re going to go the way of Sweden... we just don’t know it yet! And I can’t wait to gloat about it when it happens

Strange as it may seem to you, Sweden is now considering going the same way as everyone else on lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Strange as it may seem to you, Sweden is now considering going the same way as everyone else on lockdown.

They are considering targeted localised restrictions..... not a national lockdown like us

RTÉ admitted that lockdown doesn’t work. Even if this lockdown brings case numbers down, they expect them to start rising in January.

So what will we do then? Level 5 again in February?

That's fairly optimistic IMO. I had hoped differently, but 7 months of observation and experience have me now convinced that this stop/start will roll on until we have a vaccine widely available.

So I would guess the current plan is...

Hope to get those daily case numbers down in the next 6 weeks to about half of what they are now...open up enough industries in early December to be able to carve out some kind of Christmas for the kids/political gain...heighten restrictions once again in the first half of January.

Also, in case anyone hasn't copped yet, Bank Holiday weekends are a big 'nope'. I expect the 'lockdown/open' up pattern to follow this trend next year once again.

The longer this goes on, the more I honestly believe that this is all fúcked until 2022. Remember 'Phase 4' and the plan for it? Ah, the good aul days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭46 Long

I doubt that distance regulations/confinement are legally enforceable. They've intentionally blurred the lines between 'advisory' and 'backed up by legal framework' rules since day one of this nonsense.

They are considering targeted localised restrictions..... not a national lockdown like us

So when is a lockdown not a lockdown ?
    When it`s in Sweden.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,498 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

That's fairly optimistic IMO. I had hoped differently, but 8 months of observation and experience have me convinced that this stop/start will roll on until we have a vaccine widely available.

Problem being that stop/start technology works for engines, it doesn't work for businesses.

I believe the pattern will be stop - start - stop...

Speaking in general terms, the level of ignorance in this country about economics is quite staggering, its frightening actually.