Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you be in favor of covid-19 fines in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

65% want to give up democracy
    No , people are very stressed and anxious about this and are assuming that Level 5 will do the trick. It probably won't.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,312 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

And you're sued. A jumped up little nobody has zero right to any of your medical information.

Sued ? :pac:

They wouldn’t have any of your medical information ffs.

The letter would read along the lines of...

“To whom it may concern,

The holder of this letter Mr James Fagan is exempt from wearing a mask due to a pre existing medical condition that likely can be triggered by wearing a mask.
    I’d ask that Mr Fagan is permitted to shop efficiently and safely respecting distancing at all times...”

Doctor headed paper and signed.

Shopper shows the ‘original’ letter, photo ID and the letter even has a reference number to have the veracity checked.

The preference would be non mask compliant peeps shop online or get somebody else to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,377 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Halt PUP payment for pe3oe who breach the rules. No mask...lose your payment for a week.

But as usual the govt will only fine the middle class, not the Oliver Bond St scumbag ravers.

This is what people are not getting.

Introducing fines will only effect the working class, not the scumbags.

Two sets of grandparents visiting their grandchildren on christmas morning at the same time, will constitute a fine.

This is what people are not getting.

Introducing fines will only effect the working class, not the scumbags.

Two sets of grandparents visiting their grandchildren on christmas morning at the same time, will constitute a fine.

Fines impact only those who get fined. Don’t break regs, don’t get fined. Simples.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

The guards do what we've called "drive-by policing": ie drive slowly past and are stared out of it by the local fauna who dare them to stop, which they dont.

Law should apply to all, equally, I believe. I know what you mean by drive by policing. It's f.. brilliant. Witnessed it myself numerous times and actually can't believe it. Used to go to Cork airport frequently and what was happening in Fermoy weekend nights, streets full of drunk walking between the cars in front of the cops and they wouldn't even roll down the window to tell them to fcùk of of the road..

100% of the above posters do not understand what democracy is.

Fintan, are you conflating democracy with (perceived) personal freedoms?

Introducing fines for the purpose of adherance to the current restrictions is the equivalent of a police state.

Stand within 2m of a stranger in a shop- €100 fine or jail

Journey not considered essential by a guard- €100 fine or jail

Gathering of 7 people from one family to visit grannys house - €100 fine or jail for each person

Now you will probably respond to say thats extreme but the thread title is "would you be in favour of covid19 fones in Ireland.

All restriction's are covid 19 related

Strumms wrote: »
    Fines impact only those who get fined. Don’t break regs, don’t get fined. Simples.

Oddly enough, I've always found attitudes like above are usually held by people lacking to self assess their own lack of compliance

Introducing fines for the purpose of adherance to the current restrictions is the equivalent of a police state.

Gathering of 7 people from one family to visit grannys house - €100 fine or jail for each person

Now you will probably respond to say thats extreme but the thread title is "would you be in favour of covid19 fones in Ireland.

It’s not. :)

You have similar consequences enshrined in law for people breaking red lights, people speeding, people damaging property, people doing many things that negatively impacts the heath, wellbeing and safety of others. No different here :)

Its refreshing to see the poll results pushing towards 70% in favour of fines. It just shows that there are a few posters who do an awful lot of anti-restrictions shouting and think they are the majority but the reality is quite different.

Fine are now being considered by government so hopefully it will actually happen.

And you're sued. A jumped up little nobody has zero right to any of your medical information.

Try parking in a disabled parking space and refuse to prove you are entitled to and see how you get on.

I have seen a number of shops turn people away for not wearing masks, Dunnes appear to be very on the ball about it and always have people on the door in the two stores I regularly go to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭LillySV

In any legal case, you have to prove BEYOND A REASONABLE DOUBT that the defendant is guilty.

I guess even the basics are too much for some people. If some is accused of rape, the judge doesn't say "Well, prove you didn't rape her" does he??

So you reckon rape and not abiding by restrictions are same thing ... jesas ....

Its refreshing to see the poll results pushing towards 70% in favour of fines. It just shows that there are a few posters who do an awful lot of anti-restrictions shouting and think they are the majority but the reality is quite different.

Fine are now being considered by government so hopefully it will actually happen.

Try parking in a disabled parking space and refuse to prove you are entitled to and see how you get on.

I have seen a number of shops turn people away for not wearing masks, Dunnes appear to be very on the ball about it and always have people on the door in the two stores I regularly go to.

Yep, dunnes are great.

100%, if your disability parking permit isn’t visible and you park there, you get done.

Oddly enough, I've always found attitudes like above are usually held by people lacking to self assess their own lack of compliance

:) I self assess every day. Before I hit the hay I’m putting the shield and mask on the hall table, both washed and sterilized. I have a bag of disposable masks in the car should the need arise and spare rewashable ones at home. Sanitizer in the car, gym bag and hall table.

Proper Planning and Preparation Prevents Piss Poor Performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

No it isn't, and according to the poll it's in line with public opinion - so even more like democracy than a police state.

You're just shrieking hysterically in the rest of that response (not allowing for the funny typo)

Likewise.

Maybe take a picture the next time you see all this abdication of mask wearing in shops.

I've not seen it on my travels from Mayo to Dublin

And risk getting myself punched in the face to prove something to you when its been widely posted by others observing the same as I have?

Sure.

I think businesses could and should be doing more themselves.

A supermarket for example, should be making the same dosh if not more...people still need to eat, drink, buy toiletries, certain household items... cleaning products etc... so employ one extra statistic security guard per shift....”excuse me, can you put on a mask please before entering and remain with it on inside, thanks.”

Those who are giving it the poor mouth, ‘forgot my mask’ , ‘feel stressed with a mask’ ‘ I ate my mask’ get pointed to a vending machine near the entrance that is supplying masks at cost...my supermarket has one..beside the door.

Give these shîtheads zero wiggle room. You want to shop here ? Mask up here !

At the beginning my local Centra were great. Hand sanitiser at the door, and a staff member giving out free masks.

Within a week or so, it went downhill to the point where the hand sanitisers were always empty, then they disappeared. No enforcement of mask policy instore. So I stopped giving them my business, even though it causes an inconvenience to me.

I now drive a bit further away to a Mace that has a guy permanently at the door who won't let anyone inside without a mask. If they make excuses like they forgot to bring one, they are offered the option to purchase a mask for 1 euro. He is very pleasant, very polite but very firm. No mask, no entry.

I went into an Argos yesterday for the first time, and was impressed at the lady at the door enforcing masks and hand sanitising and directing the queue (reservations/non reservations).

It can be done, shops need to buy in, if they don't, they should be fined or told to close until they do.

The ones that do will get my business.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

To be completely honest I would be anti restriction but thats only because I feel that they are using the wrong restrictions to try and control covid.

Leaving your county, closing pubs / restaurants, restricting numbers at peoples homes will not help with the case numbers..See my earlier posts. I spent almost 3 weeks in Italy where the pubs were all open,restaurants were open.And their case numbers are well below most of Europe.

However I am completely pro mask wearing because I feel that this is the single most important thing we can do to keep ourselves and others safe.This incompetent bunch of idiots running things cant see that and they wont change our laws so they can enforce the regulations.

So ask each set of grandparents to visit at different times. No big.

Minimise contacts, is what people are being asked to do. Not end it completely.

It's also safer for the grandparents to minimise contacts.

At the beginning my local Centra were great. Hand sanitiser at the door, and a staff member giving out free masks.

Within a week or so, it went downhill to the point where the hand sanitisers were always empty, then they disappeared. No enforcement of mask policy instore. So I stopped giving them my business, even though it causes an inconvenience to me.

I now drive a bit further away to a Mace that has a guy permanently at the door who won't let anyone inside without a mask. If they make excuses like they forgot to bring one, they are offered the option to purchase a mask for 1 euro. He is very pleasant, very polite but very firm. No mask, no entry.

I went into an Argos yesterday for the first time, and was impressed at the lady at the door enforcing masks and hand sanitising and directing the queue (reservations/non reservations).

It can be done, shops need to buy in, if they don't, they should be fined or told to close until they do.

The ones that do will get my business.

I agree with all of that.

I’m picky as hell now where I spend my money. I’ll continue to be after too. If you ain’t playing ball during covid, you won’t be seeing my cash.

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭AUDI20

JimmyVik wrote: »
    I did the usual and answered the opposite of what I think. So you can reverse my vote. Most of my friends and acquaintances do this with polls and surveys now. Blame cambridge analytica :)

And the point your making is?

I agree with all of that.

I’m picky as hell now where I spend my money. I’ll continue to be after too. If you ain’t playing ball during covid, you won’t be seeing my cash.

Very true, I know a number of people (ourselves included) that wont be considering the station house in clifden again because they allowed golf gate to happen and its nice hotel we enjoy staying in.

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Glenomra

hope they introduce penalties. It will mark the start of serious civil disobedience. Watch the opposition to these measure become widespread and the consequent failure of the authorities to impose them.

So ask each set of grandparents to visit at different times. No big.

Minimise contacts, is what people are being asked to do. Not end it completely.

It's also safer for the grandparents to minimise contacts.

Fair point.

When does it stop though?

What is the quantifiable point when the fines stop for socialising?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Hellrazer wrote: »

However I am completely pro mask wearing because I feel that this is the single most important thing we can do to keep ourselves and others safe.

This is just regurgitation of propaganda. You people have gone insane.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Very true, I know a number of people (ourselves included) that wont be considering the station house in clifden again because they allowed golf gate to happen and its nice hotel we enjoy staying in.
    Idaho café in Cork was trolled online for being too careful with their covid measures so if you're in that neck of the woods definitely consider supporting them!

I was in yesterday (one of the very few places I've been) and they really do go above and beyond with the care they take.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

sabat wrote: »
    This is just regurgitation of propaganda. You people have gone insane.

Regurgitation of propaganda.............:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5 MartyMcFly2000

I'd be more in favour of leadership from the top.

Can't expect the peasants to behave when the captains of industry are allowed run amok.

When you say peasants are you implying lower class areas? Just curious, because it’s teens across the country , every town and village, acting this way.

xhomelezz wrote: »
    Regurgitation of propaganda.............:D

Masks keep you safe. From the danger. Utter horsesh1t and you people lap it up.

Glenomra wrote: »
    hope they introduce penalties. It will mark the start of serious civil disobedience. Watch the opposition to these measure become widespread and the consequent failure of the authorities to impose them.

It won’t, quite simply . As much as the idiot anti maskers and anti distancing people get headlines, it’s only because they are vocal, childish, self serving toys out of pram merchants. With their ‘protests’.

The vast majority of us are out there, getting on quietly with life, while adhering to regulations and keeping the transmission and spread of covid down.

The first sniff of disobedience and it would be simply the army if needed augmenting Gardai to keep law and order.

s1ippy wrote: »
    Idaho café in Cork was trolled online for being too careful with their covid measures so if you're in that neck of the woods definitely consider supporting them!

I was in yesterday (one of the very few places I've been) and they really do go above and beyond with the care they take.

There appears to be a small number of people in Cork that really have it in for Idaho for no reason at all long before covid. I'm very familiar with Cork and I've always liked Idaho and would often have got a coffee or a sandwich when I was in that neck of the woods so will certainly make it my business to pick up a takeaway coffee at the least next time I am nearby.

It won’t, quite simply . As much as the idiot anti maskers and anti distancing people get headlines, it’s only because they are vocal, childish, self serving toys out of pram merchants. With their ‘protests’.

The vast majority of us are out there, getting on quietly with life, while adhering to regulations and keeping the transmission and spread of covid down.

The first sniff of disobedience and it would be simply the army if needed augmenting Gardai to keep law and order.

More control. More punishment. More force. Shame them. Set the army on them. Fine them. Jail them. How about just fck off?