Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the process for Mortgage Protection Re-assignment?

Options
  • 09-10-2020 12:47am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭

I'm new to this mortgage switching process so please bear with me. Letter of offer is ready and received.

My question is what is the process for Mortgage Protection re-assignment? Do I need to contact the Mortgage Protection underwriter or what is the process?

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 685 ✭✭✭luketitz

lau1247 wrote: »
    I'm new to this mortgage switching process so please bear with me. Letter of offer is ready and received.

My question is what is the process for Mortgage Protection re-assignment? Do I need to contact the Mortgage Protection underwriter or what is the process?

I'd recommend you have a quick chat with ...snip.....[/url]

No shilling or blatant advertising please.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭phormium

It's unlikely though if switching that you have the original policy document if it's assigned to bank you are switching from and you are not taking out a new one.

I thought but could be wrong that it was included in the undertaking from solicitor to new bank as old bank won't release assignment until their loan is cleared so it can't be done ahead of drawing down the new mortgage.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,711 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

If it's a classic mortgage protection policy (decreasing term assurance) it's unlikely that the original term and sum assured will fit the new loan.