Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show Finding Misery 9/10 /20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,884 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

You Should Have Left

Awful film

Awful interview

Awful host

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Blud

"Thanks man"

Kevin Bacon clearly forgot Ryan's name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Ryan, if you can survive COVID, then I can survive COVID. So f**k off with your scaremongering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,599 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

"Ryan, I'm a big fan of Irish music...especially Crystal Swing."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,175 ✭✭✭screamer

Next week there’ll be a scrolling notice on the bottom of the screen with the fines for covid rule breaking, just in case they haven’t hammered this covid ****e into us enough.... urgh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Hollow Man

Thats what I was trying to think of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,067 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Blud wrote: »
    "Thanks man"

Kevin Bacon clearly forgot Ryan's name.

He was posting on the boards thread - so only listening about 35 %

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Irish music is gick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

For balance, can we hear from some of the tens of thousands of people who had Covid and never noticed it?

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭1990sman

walshb wrote: »
    Irish music is gick!

all irish things are class. obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

That cake thing was fcukin cat malodeon.
    Who the fcuk though that was a good idea to have on and who the fcuk wasted the time and ingredients making the fcukin things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Get the hand lotion Ryan, this is your time to shine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

1990sman wrote: »
    all irish things are class. obviously.

Nail on the head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

The fawning and brown nosing.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Let's talk about when the Late Late wasn't sh1te

RIP Gay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,599 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Time for a pick-me-up... :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

Kathleen tell Ryan that poor gay would be turning in his grave at how sh1t the late late has become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,191 ✭✭✭Jeff2

She cut in and answered a load of questions he was going to ask. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,175 ✭✭✭screamer

The GB annual memorial slot. We’ll have a recital of poetry to round it off, be better if they put together a montage of a few of his best moments and showed us that to remember him

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

She's a lovely lady. A welcome guest.

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭Capt. Autumn

I'm gone over to Graham Norton on BBC1 now but my head is still spinning from what must be a candidate for the worst LLS of all time, Huberman laughing inanely at absolutely feckin nothing, that celebrity cake segment, the chunky chick in the feathers, Dara O'Brien in the most pointless, silly and unfunny segment since the last silly and unfunny segment RTE put on.

To think this was once a revolutionary show, vital, thought-provoking, sometimes causing consternation but always interesting.

Is there anybody in RTE that can see that it's a dead thing. Tubridy has basically butt-f***ed the show to death. It's not working but it keeps on chugging along. It's now a national embarrassment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

If gay Byrne was around these days there’s no chance he’d be entertaining the idea of that fcukin cake nonsense.
    He wouldn’t be long with telling them to fcuk right off

Lets not forget that RTE milked until the tit was purple . We got it for breakfast dinner and tea ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭Azatadine

I still can't get over that debacle of a segment about the cakes.....I think even the stick insect himself became aware that it was bad during the segment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I don't think I'd like the limelight of media covering a family members funeral, would be hard to grieve.

Joe Duffy would love "every gurgle, every cough" and what it meant in terms of approaching death.

It should be obligatory that get a punch in the head every time he uses the word "Gorgeous" in reference to anything other than a good looking woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭sudzs

If I'm gurgling, ramp up the morphine.

I went to Gay's one man show a few years ago, I think I was the youngest person there

It was great, he told some very funny stories - it went on for hours

Kathleen came on halfway through it and played the harp and read poetry. Which was nice.

M

Did RTE have ads on during the funeral?

Can we talk about the schitt show the late ;late has become. ffs

RIP Gay

Gay Byrne helped modernise Ireland and loosen the grip of a certain institution.

I always remember the heated debated on his show.

Great entertainment.

Jaysus she's very sharp for 85 years old. Fair play to her.

Better than I am drinking the vodka neat all the same.

Not surprising that grief would bring her health down. Happened me rapidly after my mother died.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Azatadine wrote: »
    I still can't get over that debacle of a segment about the cakes.....I think even the stick insect himself became aware that it was bad during the segment.

I was thinking earlier that you can see cracks forming in his facade like he knows the jig is up. Jedward were like Peter Ustinov compared to tonight's lineup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,574 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

You can't beat the olde school Gaybo

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭UpBack1234

RIP Gay

When Tubridy first took over I couldn't stick him cos he was so uptight and I felt so much of the interview format was forced and scripted and lacking "flow" compared to the "at ease" style that Gaybo and Parkinson et al deployed to devastating effect back in the day.

Fast forward to now and he's STILL uptight, stilted, forced etc. I can't believe he hasn't settled into it after all these years.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Carol25

At what point do you look in the mirror and think hold on a minute, I dont actually lay eggs, Ill put on a dress instead

Haha! I actually like her song & she’s a great voice.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭1990sman

ryan sycophantic tubridy - the human suppository

Gay was ahead of the curve

He wrote this article in the RTV Guide in March 1963

00094c7b-1184.jpg

There's a full link to the article in this link

https://www.rte.ie/archives/exhibitions/2112-gay-byrne/633975-gay-byrne-in-the-rtv-guide/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,453 ✭✭✭CH3OH

She is doing great for 85.. and 86 in a week

sabat wrote: »
    I was thinking earlier that you can see cracks forming in his facade like he knows the jig is up. Jedward were like Peter Ustinov compared to tonight's lineup.

I have no idea why this is so funny

Imagine tubs interviewing someone like Oliver Reed. He’d get a black eye.

M

I can imagine how Gay would have tackled Covid on the show, he would have hit it head on explaining idiotic habits give you it, his old debates were gold...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

If gay Byrne was around these days there’s no chance he’d be entertaining the idea of that fcukin cake nonsense.
    He wouldn’t be long with telling them to fcuk right off

What was the cake section about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

UpBack1234 wrote: »
    When Tubridy first took over I couldn't stick him cos he was so uptight and I felt so much of the interview format was forced and scripted and lacking "flow" compared to the "at ease" style that Gaybo and Parkinson et al deployed to devastating effect back in the day.

Fast forward to now and he's STILL uptight, stilted, forced etc. I can't believe he hasn't settled into it after all these years.

You have to like people to be a success doing this

I don't think Ryan does

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

Gay Byrne helped modernise Ireland and loosen the grip of a certain institution.

I always remember the heated debated on his show.

Great entertainment.

Was he perfect? No. He could be patronising, biased, overbearing, and all the rest of it. He had some bad shows too.

But even his worst show was better than Tubridy's best. Because he had a head on his shoulders, didn't need a cue card, could read a guest and an audience, and had the knack. RTE at the time, a more sensible institution than today, recognised this, and gave him the latitude he needed.

Kathleen is in TV since it started in this country, as gracious a lady as I'm sure she is, she must be gritting her teeth at what this spineless misery merchant is at in the studio her husband dominated for so long.

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭Capt. Autumn

Skid X wrote: »
    Gay was ahead of the curve

He wrote this article in the RTV Guide in March 1963

00094c7b-1184.jpg

There's a full link to the article in this link

https://www.rte.ie/archives/exhibitions/2112-gay-byrne/633975-gay-byrne-in-the-rtv-guide/

Great find, man.
    This is why I love the internet so much, stuff like this...

Joe Duffy 3 mentions.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭jack747

Just tuned in and there’s a woman reading a poem