Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who were the left wing fascists attacking peaceful protestors yesterday?

• 11-10-2020 11:54am
    Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/hundreds-clash-in-violent-exchanges-at-dublin-protest-1.4377808

It is inarguable that the left wing group went looking for trouble and attacked an anti-lockdown group peacefully protesting against Covid-19 restrictions. This is a fact.

Who are these violent left wing fascists? Why is there no analysis or commentary in the media on them? Any investigative journalist perhaps want to find out who these people are, and how exactly they are getting away with violence like this?

By no means do i agree with everything the protestors are saying but i respect their right to peacefully protest. The silence of the media commentariate on the topic of violent attacks by left wing fascists is very interesting, can you imagine if it was the other way around.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/hundreds-clash-in-violent-exchanges-at-dublin-protest-1.4377808

It is inarguable that the left wing group went looking for trouble and attacked an anti-lockdown group peacefully protesting against Covid-19 restrictions. This is a fact.

Who are these violent left wing fascists? Why is there no analysis or commentary in the media on them? Any investigative journalist perhaps want to find out who these people are, and how exactly they are getting away with violence like this?

By no means do i agree with everything the protestors are saying but i respect their right to peacefully protest. The silence of the media commentariate on the topic of violent attacks by left wing fascists is very interesting, can you imagine if it was the other way around.

Water cannons should have been used on both of the groups. They can protest as much as they want when this shīt with covid is sorted. Gatherings like that are just plain stupid at this time, doesn't matter what are you protesting about.

Two groups of absolute brain dead morons clash, let them at it I say and don’t treat any of them in hospitals after it. The army should be brought in to deal with the lot of them.

It'd be helpful if you could stick to terminology that you comprehend.

There is no such thing as a left wing fascist, they do not exist. Of the estimated 100,000,000,000 people that have drawn breath on this planet, not one of them is, nor was, a left wing fascist.

This is primary school stuff.

"Left-wing fascists", the ideological contradiction rears its head once more. I'm surprised you didn't bring up the Shinners as is your wont. Obviously the mainstream media is conspiring against you, start padding the walls with tinfoil so the satellites can't listen in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

There you go OP, a bit of reading for you.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fascism

• Registered Users Posts: 13,896 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Are they national socialists maybe, is that what confused you into thinking they're left wing?

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Get Real

The idea that a certain group attacked another certain group is irrelevant imo.

There were people on both sides just causing trouble and wanting a scrap. It's not as if one group were standing there as quiet as lambs and were attacked.

It was idiots attacking each other. They might have different sets of "values" but are actually very similar to each other in their behaviour.

People from both sides might care about why they were there, and what their principles are.

But nobody else does. Two groups in town, with people from both sides determined to have a pop at each other.

Vast majority of the public don't even know what each side supports, and view them all as idiots. So their respective protests achieve nothing, bar make them feel they have a purpose.

Also, people who think they know, are calling themselves names, or claiming to have values, that are the opposite of what they mean. To the average Joe public, its all very confusing, and just looks like a brawl. Nobody cares what side you claim to be on or what the hell you're allegedly there to achieve.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The new left in Ireland is funded by the government, agrees with the government, agrees with major multinational corporations, and will try to break up any dissent.

They see which way the wind is blowing and they go with it, smart, convenient and effortless.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 23,640 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Moved to CA

• Registered Users Posts: 13,896 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Left wing and right wing is such outdated nonsense. The right wing slur is thrown at the anti mask conspiracy theorists. These are lads who believe the world is run by shadowy banking corporations. You actually think these people are pro capatalist? If anything they're more left wing than right wing. Seems like everything people don't like automatically gets tagged as right wing these days.

How did being pro lockdown become a left wing concept also? Left wing and the facist term don't mix either

Well said.

A lot has to do with people having no understanding of the term capitalism.

The vast majority of western economies that people think are capitalist, are far from it, they are deeply regulated.

American oligarchs who go on and on about capitalism love nothing more than tax breaks, restricted access for competitors to their markets, and a taxpayer bailout when they fck up.

These people are not capitalists, they are conservatives.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

These ‘counter protestors’ are much worse than the anti mask cohort, and those people are awful. Finding imaginary fascism and protesting against an anti paedophile march, its just so sad to know that im probably paying tax for these people to live

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

No no guys of course, the left wing can never act like violent fascists (definition of which is the "forcible suppression of opposition").

Sure aren't they all angels, just like the Shinners.

biko wrote: »
    The new left in Ireland is funded by the government, agrees with the government, agrees with major multinational corporations, and will try to break up any dissent.

They see which way the wind is blowing and they go with it, smart, convenient and effortless.

Citation needed.

There is no such thing as a left wing fascist, they do not exist. Of the estimated 100,000,000,000 people that have drawn breath on this planet, not one of them is, nor was, a left wing fascist.

Racism has been redefined in recent times.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The National Party are fascists who believe in the abolition of democracy and are associated with neo-Nazis in Germany and Italy as well as right-wing Loyalists. As we saw with Golden Dawn in Greece they have also formed squads that have engaged in violence towards others, one of them splitting open a woman’s head with a flagpole a couple of weeks back.

The fact these people are now crying about free speech and democracy and all the things they seek to remove if they ever touch power is laughable.

Fair play to the counter mobilisation yesterday and long may fascists be driven from the streets.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,996 ✭✭✭Cordell

the left wing can never act like violent fascists
    No, because when they do, because the did it in the past and they will do it in the future, they act like violent communists. They are very much alike, the fascists and communists that is, but they are called differently.
    So yeah, no such thing as left wing fascists, their proper name is socialists and communists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭440Hertz

Meanwhile the 98-99% of sane people just want to get on with keeping the country working, doing a bit of shopping, not getting COVID from loons adopting little bit of American insane politics.

The reality is Ireland is very boringly centrist. None of that mad conspiracy theorist politics is actually happening. It’s a very flat, open, proportional representation democracy with easy access to running for office.

It’s a bunch of internet trolls who’ve escaped from Twitter and Facebook somehow and went outside.

All those protests have done is damage an already damaged city centre by driving away footfall from shops and cafes, annoyed most people who encountered them, spread plenty of COVID.

A bunch of muppets. If you want to go fight American nut job politics & street wars go there!

A huge majority of the Irish population does not care or engage with them and they have almost zero electoral support, as demonstrated in 2020 GE.

"Left-wing fascists", the ideological contradiction rears its head once more. I'm surprised you didn't bring up the Shinners as is your wont. Obviously the mainstream media is conspiring against you, start padding the walls with tinfoil so the satellites can't listen in.
    No no guys of course, the left wing can never act like violent fascists (definition of which is the "forcible suppression of opposition").

Sure aren't they all angels, just like the Shinners.

Fifteen whole minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,347 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Organisers on both sides should be fined, that'd soften their coughs. No love of flag waving tits or their have-a-go hero opponents.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

FTA69 wrote: »
    The National Party are fascists who believe in the abolition of democracy and are associated with neo-Nazis in Germany and Italy as well as right-wing Loyalists. As we saw with Golden Dawn in Greece they have also formed squads that have engaged in violence towards others, one of them splitting open a woman’s head with a flagpole a couple of weeks back.

The fact these people are now crying about free speech and democracy and all the things they seek to remove if they ever touch power is laughable.

Fair play to the counter mobilisation yesterday and long may fascists be driven from the streets.

The same shower of muppets and their ilk have been marching around Dublin making a nuisance of themselves for weeks, violently many times, while the state did absolutely nothing. The Gardaí have more interest in bringing every motorway in the country to a standstill than tackling fascists. So I'm not surprised that some people had the guts to stand up to these wingnuts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

LAZYIRISH wrote: »
    I can't understand why more people aren't out protesting, have the Irish really lost their spirit, unbelievably docile? Your businesses are literally falling apart and still you remain silent. Jobs are being lost and yet you stay quiet?

I see on the journal and rte comment section calling these people idiots, useless scroungers and to take their dole off them?
    To the people looking down your noses , in a few months you will be on the dole too.

Maybe we don't believe in the whole "government made covid to control you" conspiracy theory.
    Maybe I wear a mask to protect other people, as I consider that to be a responsible, simple step to help during a pandemic.
    If my job goes and I am on the dole I will still think these people are a bunch of dole scrounging professional protesters, but I will also stand up for their right to protest.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

Lol. I could say one only, Bombacci. And all the rest of the RSI government. It just depend what do you consider left wing.

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Mullaghteelin

The whole counter protest thing is dubious anyway.
    By counter protesting a protest you are attacking someone else's right to be heard. You may not like who they are, or what they have to say, but you should not have the right to silence them.
    Otherwise, you can just as easily be silenced too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 192 ✭✭Deshawn

The counter protest side is ADA Ireland. A group who describes themselves as a militant, anti fascist organisation who were founded in 1991.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Deshawn wrote: »
    The counter protest side is ADA Ireland. A group who describes themselves as a militant, anti fascist organisation who were founded in 1991.

Isnt that the one that was founded by the guy from indymedia who had hundreds of child porn images on his computer...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 192 ✭✭Deshawn

Isnt that the one that was founded by the guy from indymedia who had hundreds of child porn images on his computer...

That may be where the chant "peado scum off our streets" originates from.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

On the one side Antifa, cancel culture, BLM, black thieves getting arrested shouting hands up don’t shoot in Cork Etc etc

The other side Anti-mask, Soros, Clinton, Epstein, Pizzagate, HSE death panels + euthanasia, communism, socialism Bill Gates, new world order, Irexit, lizard people, Trump 2020, scanmdemic, plandemic etc etc etc

What else am I forgetting?

ALL THESE THINGS HAPPENING IN IRELAND!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,347 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Deshawn wrote: »
    That may be where the chant "peado scum off our streets" originates from.

Pot, kettle, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭Smegging hell

s1ippy wrote: »
    Are they national socialists maybe, is that what confused you into thinking they're left wing?

I believe Mr Barrett has spoken alongside many national socialists on the continent in his time. Perhaps that's where Fred's confusion is coming from. https://www.irishtimes.com/news/far-right-rally-had-welcome-for-irish-no-activist-1.1098691