Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who were the left wing fascists attacking peaceful protestors yesterday?

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭larva

These so called protests are just absurd in a time of unprecedented crisis. We all want an end to this which means you should all stop throwing shapes!! Have ya nothing better to do? Its quite possible they are infecting each other and the guards and then going home to spread the word!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭landofthetree

yoke wrote: »
    Yes, thats true - however I would say "vigilantes" such as anti-racists are actually "moderates".

If you're not anti-racist, what are you, pro-racist?

By your logic the anti-bullying campaign in schools should be abandoned because its extremely against pro-bullies, they should replace it with a "let's sit on the fence against bullying" campaign.

Are the far right moderates when they complain about human rights violations and murder of political opponents in places like Cuba,North Korea,Venezuela etc?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    North Korea has " democratic " in its official title , so too had East Germany

apparently if " anti fascist " is in the title of an org , it must be all sunshine and lolipops and opposed to things which are not nice

its all in the back of my sons Ann and Barry book

Ann and Barry lol

Is that still out there

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭yoke

But they are not anti racist. They hate Jews.

No "they" don't.

Where does it say that to be an anti-racist or anti-fascist you have to hate Jews?

For the record I hate all religions, I've no time for bull****

No "they" don't.

Where does it say that to be an anti-racist or anti-fascist you have to hate Jews?

For the record I hate all religions, I've no time for bull****

They do. Talk to any of them and you will see.

North Korea has " democratic " in its official title , so too had East Germany

apparently if " anti fascist " is in the title of an org , it must be all sunshine and lolipops and opposed to things which are not nice

its all in the back of my sons Ann and Barry book

So if a bunch of pederasts called themselves the "Hello Ireland" party, its up to you to use your brain and determine if you believe they are a bunch of pederasts, or just a bunch of people who want to say hello to ireland.

Its up to you to determine if you believe that the democratic Republic of North Korea is a real democracy or not, and its up to you to determine if the Republic of Ireland is democratic or not. It's not as simple as Ann and Barry, where you don't need a brain to determine the good guys from the bad.

They do. Talk to any of them and you will see.

I'm anti fascist and anti racist, and I don't have anything against Jews, any more than any other religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I'm anti fascist and anti racist, and I don't have anything against Jews, any more than any other religion.

how do i know if im a fascist ?

will the anti fascists tell me ?

The far left in Ireland have a long history of anti-semitism.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Fascism is an existential threat to democracy.

No democrat should allow fascism to have a platform. Fascism isn’t just another “opinion” that has to be given equal airtime with everything else. This business of “I disagree with what you’re saying, but defend to the death the right to say it” is all well and good when you’re arguing about fiscal policy or something, but when it comes to fascism, it’s naive dogmatism. Blinkered ideological stupidity. It’s no different to idiotically declaring your passivism while getting the shít kicked out of you by someone who is intent on killing you. You can’t argue fascism away, because its aim isn’t to win arguments. Fascism isn’t playing the same game as democracy, so can’t be challenged using the same rules.

The fact that it’s only socialists, anarchists and republicans standing up to fascism only highlights the failure of democrats to do the job. If ordinary, decent democrats stood up to the threat the way they should, the far left would be an insignificant minority in the fight. Just because you oppose the far left doesn’t mean you should give the far right any chance. “The enemy of my enemy is my friend” is more ideological stupidity that never ends well.

It’s not mere censorship to deny fascists a voice, and it’s not fascist to oppose them. True freedom requires that we deny the opposition to freedom the chance to flourish.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,802 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I think most people overlook the fact that many of those who attend are doing so believing that they are at an anti mask/ anti paedo / take back Ireland etc.. There are most people who haven't even done a cursory google search for who Justin Barrett etc... is.

This is just an opinion though, you have no idea what the true numbers are. Its certainly not 9 people as said above somewhere.

I would agree however that a fair amount of the people protesting against masks would be mentally unstable or ignorant, quite easily lead...sheeple, as the conspiracy theorists say, rather than being far-right to the core. Those people would also be easily brought in line with what JB and his ilk think with the slightest manipulation so before you know it, anti-mask protests (still difficult to believe thats a thing) become recruitment days. Best to cut any trace of it out, like a cancer.

You'll be sitting in a shed with 8 other lads apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,839 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

So Fianna Fáil- The Republican Party must be the purest form of Irish Republicanism, it's in the name.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,117 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Do you find yourself posting on boards.ie with talking points from the Liberal or from strange US sites that your strange US Twitter friends keep sharing?

If so, there's a good chance that you're a facist.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Do you find yourself posting on boards.ie with talking points from the Liberal or from strange US sites that your strange US Twitter friends keep sharing?

I wasn't aware it was so easy to become a full blown fascist.

I think the budget tomorrow is going to have unfair increases in taxes on motorists

well look at that, I'm already planning an ethnic cleansing, what a day.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

No democrat should allow fascism to have a platform. Fascism isn’t just another “opinion” that has to be given equal airtime with everything else. This business of “I disagree with what you’re saying, but defend to the death the right to say it” is all well and good when you’re arguing about fiscal policy or something, but when it comes to fascism, it’s naive dogmatism. Blinkered ideological stupidity. It’s no different to idiotically declaring your passivism while getting the shít kicked out of you by someone who is intent on killing you. You can’t argue fascism away, because its aim isn’t to win arguments. Fascism isn’t playing the same game as democracy, so can’t be challenged using the same rules.

The fact that it’s only socialists, anarchists and republicans standing up to fascism only highlights the failure of democrats to do the job. If ordinary, decent democrats stood up to the threat the way they should, the far left would be an insignificant minority in the fight. Just because you oppose the far left doesn’t mean you should give the far right any chance. “The enemy of my enemy is my friend” is more ideological stupidity that never ends well.

It’s not mere censorship to deny fascists a voice, and it’s not fascist to oppose them. True freedom requires that we deny the opposition to freedom the chance to flourish.

The trouble is that groups like Antifa are giving ring wing groups more exposure.

The far left and far right people can all jump off of a cliff as far as I'm concerned, they are both in opposition to rational people and should be shunned from society.

Glazers Out!

Self-perspective appears to be something you are lacking. Not everyone who thinks differently to you or that has unorthodox or unpopular opinions is a "sheeple" or "ignorant". You might also want to watch that you are not being easily manipulated via your emotions.

Think differently or not at all? Would that be the refusal to wear a mask or the far-right? Both ignorant and positions I am happy to distance myself from. As are most people, thankfully. Thanks for the advice though, brand new user ;)

nullzero wrote: »
    The trouble is that groups like Antifa are giving ring wing groups more exposure.

The far left and far right people can all jump off of a cliff as far as I'm concerned, they are both in opposition to rational people and should be shunned from society.

No, that’s not the problem at all. You can’t just stand back and do nothing when it comes to fascism, out of fear of giving them more exposure. Democracy doesn’t have the luxury of being so passive. The first problem is that fascists have a platform in the first place. The second problem is that people are sticking their head in the sand when they see people standing up to them. Fascism isn’t going to spontaneously jump off a cliff. It has to be pushed.

let me guess , the far left get to define and decide who is a " fascist " ?

This is just an opinion though, you have no idea what the true numbers are. Its certainly not 9 people as said above somewhere.

I would agree however that a fair amount of the people protesting against masks would be mentally unstable or ignorant, quite easily lead...sheeple, as the conspiracy theorists say, rather than being far-right to the core. Those people would also be easily brought in line with what JB and his ilk think with the slightest manipulation so before you know it, anti-mask protests (still difficult to believe thats a thing) become recruitment days. Best to cut any trace of it out, like a cancer.

PBP and the likes of Ruth Coppinger and Paul Murphy advocate the nationalisation of all property , i view those ideas with horror and view those who vote for them as extremely naive , i dont wish to silence them however

good to know

nullzero wrote: »

the far right are shunned , the far left get regular media exposure , always have

PBP and the likes of Ruth Coppinger and Paul Murphy advocate the nationalisation of all property , i view those ideas with horror and view those who vote for them as extremely naive , i dont wish to silence them however

Good to hear, I wouldn't have much time for PBP either but its comparing apples and oranges to compare a left leaning organisation to a far-right organisation. Far-right is extremism and a dangerous hole to fall in to.

FF are left leaning

PBP are communist , nationalising private property is pretty extreme in my book

let me guess , the far left get to define and decide who is a " fascist " ?

If you read my post, instead of resorting to your usual knee-jerk reaction to anything that sniffs of leftism, you would know that I’m saying that all democrats should actively oppose fascism, and not leave it up to the far left.

the far left are anything but democrats as no way could they ever remain in power through the power of the ballot box , they need to use suppression to remain in power

FF are left leaning

Nationalising private property may or may not be pretty extreme, but it doesn't make PBP communist and it certainly doesn't make FF left leaning.

FF are more socially conservative than FG these days.

the far left are anything but democrats

Again, your one track crusade against the left is blinkering you. The enemy of your enemy is not your friend. You need to stand up to fascism, or risk falling to it, if not for it.

FF are left leaning

Well, socialist. They don't want to nationalise private property or indeed all property as you claimed though. They want to bring in a national construction company and build housing on public (wasted) land. Now that's head in the clouds stuff as far as I'm concerned (happens with all political parties) and its, again, something I wouldn't bother comparing to fascism.

Nationalising private property may or may not be pretty extreme, but it doesn't make PBP communist and it certainly doesn't make FF left leaning.

FF are more socially conservative than FG these days.

the FF leadership is as socially and economically left as the labour party or the greens right now ,the grassroots were never economically right