Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who were the left wing fascists attacking peaceful protestors yesterday?

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭Smegging hell

biko wrote: »
    Every time someone says nazi about a political opponent who isn't really a nazi, a real nazi laughs because they known that the fool that uses the word incorrectly diminishes it, and thereby the acts by nazis during their reign of terror.

If you don't want to be accused of being a Nazi, maybe don't attend a meeting in Germany where Hitler is quoted approvingly and a standing ovation is given to a former SS officer. Just a thought. https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/irish-no-spokesman-tied-to-neo-nazis-139799.html

• Registered Users Posts: 22,427 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Deshawn wrote: »
    A self described militant anti fascist organisation set up in 1991 by a since convicted paedophile who were the main anti protest protestors in Dublin yesterday.

Do they have a website, or online presence?
    What do the letters A D A stand for?

biko wrote: »
    So Irish not wearing masks = scum of the earth
    but Swedes not wearing masks = progressive heroes

You being wholly dishonest here, and you know it. There is no government obligation to wear masks in Sweden, whereas the opposite applies in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Frankie Machine

Fascism,... at any rate the German version, is a form of capitalism that borrows from Socialism just such features as will make it efficient for war purposes

George Orwell, anti-Fascist, 'Shopkeepers at War, 1941.

Smarter people than any of you could see the important similarity.

'Fascism' is never left-wing, strictly speaking - but as a descriptive epithet, it serves very well.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

FTA69 wrote: »
    The founder of what? So some lad involved in antifascism twenty years ago was a paedo therefore all antifascists and republicans are nonces? Is that your point yeah

Only the Antifa guy that was a founder and involved until he was arrested for possesion of kiddie porn, Gerry Adams brother, who was shipped around like some kind of paedo touring act, the other fella the 'RA "sent into exile" ( apparently working with kids in Dublin is "exile") and then had SF blame his vicitms for putting kids at risk by not reporting him to the Gardai

I'd say thats the full extent of it alright, no one else. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 192 ✭✭Deshawn

Akrasia wrote: »
    Do they have a website, or online presence?
    What do the letters A D A stand for?

Apologies it's Afa Ireland. They have released a statement from yesterday

https://twitter.com/soundmigration/status/1315003955768889346?s=20

They have a Twitter and Facebook page. Small enough numbers but

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Acosta wrote: »
    As far as I can tell the only trouble at any of the various anti mask or peado whatever type protests has been at ones organised by the national party.
    They've been throwing their toys out of the pram since yesterday at the apparent aggressive nature of the counter protest. I would strongly disagree with any counter protest behaving aggressively.
    The NP are utter scum, but they have the right to protest like anyone else.

That said nobody from the NP condemned the hard men that went for two women and a teenage lad at their last outing resulting in injuries to one of the women. "They came looking for trouble and got it" was the gist of the responses to that. Well that and a lot of the usual disgusting abuse we see from NP members online focusing on peoples appearance and sexuality etc.
    Nor did they condem the people who attacked a counter protest at their peodo event.

Interacting with them in any way does seem like a lose-lose situation. They react violently no matter what, and feel justified as to their sort any opposition are Soros-funded "AnTeEfA" and therefore communist pedo traitors. If they win the skirmish they post the footage online gloating, if they come off worse they play the victim.

This makes me think that just depriving them of the attention they so clearly crave is the only way, but at the same time I can see why people are rue to see this crowd of scumbags developing such a presence in their cities. Not sure what I make of the whole thing at all tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,215 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

You being wholly dishonest here, and you know it. There is no government obligation to wear masks in Sweden, whereas the opposite applies in Ireland.

He hit the nail on the head, don't know how you can call it dishonest. Were knee jerk reacting to everything based on no fact based evidence. Were doing the exact same as sweden at a slower pace with inhumane regulations placed on our citizens, what's worse were doing it going into winter.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,994 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Blue hair brigade v No hair brigade

• Registered Users Posts: 16,348 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Very worrying to see “tooled up” masked men fully seeking aggression attack a peaceful gathering yesterday.

Regardless of the message of the national party (or any other party) I support the constitutional right for them being able to assemble peacefully and have a public rally.

They'd need all the help they can get, god help their heads.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Bambi wrote: »
    Only the Antifa guy that was a founder and involved until he was arrested for possesion of kiddie porn, Gerry Adams brother, who was shipped around like some kind of paedo touring act, the other fella the 'RA "sent into exile" ( apparently working with kids in Dublin is "exile") and then had SF blame his vicitms for putting kids at risk by not reporting him to the Gardai

Right so cos some lad involved with Irish antifascism twenty years ago was a nonce and so was Gerry Adams’ brother was too therefore all antifascists and antifascism in general is therefore paedophilic? Like what is the point being made here?

As I said there’s been a load of ex-EDL types caught doing the same, does that mean I can then declare everyone on the English right as a paedophile?

It’s such total puerile nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

And as FTA already said, there are numerous instances of those of a right wing persuasion being caught up to the noncery as well.

The state of political discourse is coarse enough at the moment without the insinuation that pedophilia is some kind of left-right issue, jesus christ. Sickening how normalised this barb is becoming.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Jesus christ. What is the obsession with pedos. It's getting a bit disgusting now.

Is this stupid Q anon bull**** spreading over here? It's pathetic.

Jesus christ. What is the obsession with pedos. It's getting a bit disgusting now.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/former-civil-servant-caught-with-7000-child-porn-images-avoids-jail-29755182.html

The founder of AFA Ireland. The group who turned out to counter protest.

Don't think it has anything to do with Q Anon.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Deshawn wrote: »
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/former-civil-servant-caught-with-7000-child-porn-images-avoids-jail-29755182.html

The founder of AFA Ireland. The group who turned out to counter protest.

Don't think it has anything to do with Q Anon.

So what? There has been sports coaches prosecuted for child abuse, are all people who play that sport a pedo.

It's a stupid moral panic using children who have been abused as a way to criticize people.

And it's disgusting.

The fact that this has only started in the past few months since the stupid q anon conspiracy with stupid people in the US is more than just a coincidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,682 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

As an Irish Republican I stand by the constitutional right to free expression and freedom of assembly

Whether it is for the hypothetical “moon is made of cheddar cheese” party or who ever.

If you find yourself buying this and wearing it around the place, it's seriously time to reevaluate your life. I don't know whether to laugh or cry.

So what? There has been sports coaches prosecuted for child abuse, are all people who play that sport a pedo.

It's a stupid moral panic using children who have been abused as a way to criticize people.

And it's disgusting.

I agree.

Calling the anti mask protestors "Nazis" is equally ridiculous and is trivialising the actions of real Nazis and the disgusting acts they carried out.

Now that you have the facts hopefully you can see that it is no relation to the crazy q anon conspiracy theory.

If you find yourself buying this and wearing it around the place, it's seriously time to reevaluate your life. I don't know whether to laugh or cry.

The same as getting "plonker" tattooed on your forehead. Imagine entering a restaurant with that, cringe factor up to ten.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Fair play to the counter mobilisation yesterday and long may fascists be driven from the streets.
    Fair play to people who incited a riot, tried to assault people, threw projectiles and intimidated and tried to assault journalists?:confused:

Any other violent groups you want to condone?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Right so cos some lad involved with Irish antifascism twenty years ago was a nonce and so was Gerry Adams’ brother was too therefore all antifascists and antifascism in general is therefore paedophilic? Like what is the point being made here?

As I said there’s been a load of ex-EDL types caught doing the same, does that mean I can then declare everyone on the English right as a paedophile?

It’s such total puerile nonsense.

The EDL are bad people though, unlike the moral paragons of Post-Nationalist Republicanism.

You happily branded everyone at this anti mask protest a Nazi because Reich Boy Barret was there so thats the point being made, if proximity to Nazis makes you a Nazi, what does proximity to Kiddie Fiddlers make you?

Sauce for the goose :D

At least Antifa disowned the guy when they found out in 2013 (not 20 years ago lol) Unlike Gerry and the Belfast Brigade who covered up for their paedos

You are right though, we shouldnt bring this up, it's very inconvenient for a group so convinced of their virtuousness :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Biker79

Because it has a strong co-relation with sections of society where people rise to positions of power.

The research on this is quite clear.

So...while Q Anon dips into some fantastical territory, their gut instincts are fairly on point.

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭tjhook

Boo hoo hoo, did somebody disrupt the 'free protest' of the wannabe Irish Nazi party?

F*uck them and F*uck Justin Barrett, Gemma O'Doherty and everyone one who was at their little protest yesterday.

Time was the oghra Shinners would have put manners on these clowns but I suppose they've gone soft now aswell.

Yeah, democracy is for losers. Far better to have self-apponited hillbilly numbskulls out performing kneecappings, supported by delusional clowns on barstools who are all talk no action.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/hundreds-clash-in-violent-exchanges-at-dublin-protest-1.4377808

It is inarguable that the left wing group went looking for trouble and attacked an anti-lockdown group peacefully protesting against Covid-19 restrictions. This is a fact.

Who are these violent left wing fascists? Why is there no analysis or commentary in the media on them? Any investigative journalist perhaps want to find out who these people are, and how exactly they are getting away with violence like this?

By no means do i agree with everything the protestors are saying but i respect their right to peacefully protest. The silence of the media commentariate on the topic of violent attacks by left wing fascists is very interesting, can you imagine if it was the other way around.

What peaceful protesters?

The EDL are bad people though, unlike the moral paragons of Post-Nationalist Republicanism.

You happily branded everyone at this anti mask protest a Nazi because Reich Boy Barret was there so thats the point being made, if proximity to Nazis makes you a Nazi, what does proximity to Kiddie Fiddlers make you?

Sauce for the goose :D

At least Antifa disowned the guy when they found out in 2013 (not 20 years ago lol) Unlike Gerry and the Belfast Brigade who covered up for their paedos

You are right though, we shouldnt bring this up, it's very inconvenient for a group so convinced of their virtuousness :o

Eh no mate, I didn’t call anyone a Nazi. I said the National Party are fascists, which they are. And it was their demo under their stewardship. I didn’t say every conspiracy idiot was a fascist, just the NP.

What peaceful protesters?

Even Hermann Kelly of the far-right Irish Freedom Party has distanced himself from the NP because of their 'recent association with violence'. https://twitter.com/hermannkelly/status/1314587887116201984

Fair play to people who incited a riot, tried to assault people, threw projectiles and intimidated and tried to assault journalists?:confused:

Any other violent groups you want to condone?

Yes absolutely fair play to people who challenge fascism.

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭tjhook

Yes absolutely fair play to people who challenge fascism.

Both extremes are as bad as each other. A plague on both their houses.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The Anti-lockdown group has never turned up as a counter protest and attacked the original protest.

The Pro-Government Leftists have done it on many many occasions. They are the aggressors, always have been. They are also heavily orchestrated with football hooligans from Bohemians*

*also if you want to throw the noncery accusation at these AFA groups. Bohs had a known Rapist in their team of an underage girl. The fans chanted "He's one of our own".

tjhook wrote: »
    Both extremes are as bad as each other. A plague on both their houses.

Yeah that’s b*llocks though isn’t it when you think about it for two seconds.

One side wants to install some mad theocratic dictatorship, following a political trend in Europe that has seen violent far right parties target immigrants and the like while the other group wants to stop them from doing that.