Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

They wouldnt though.....as once yous go above 35% or there abouts transfers stop coming from outside (though afaik transfer flow 65/35 ff to fg than vice versa in last election??).....hence why shinners have stepped away from the build support phase,to now sending media training etc to other left parties/indos

View paul murphy (huge time for him,says it as it is and deosnt engage in pretend politeness) social media profile over last 9 to 12 months,hes obviously been trained massively,and knocks it outta the park mostly,likely the most-improved TD this dail term so far

I can see RISE (irelands left leaning greens) appear from nowhere to match the greens over next 3 years,and likely do well off shinner/soc dem etc transfers

Great craic to see it in action

Paul Murphy and RISE have no interest of being in Government. Staying in opposition with all the easy solutions suits them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

blanch152 wrote: »
    Oh wow, Ireland is only the ninth best place to live rather than the second, so our society is a failure.

Other than inter-generatIonal life-long social welfare, our problems are relatively small.

And apart from the year on year record breaking crises which even Tory FG acknowledge.

True though, this system which creates a need for welfare dependence needs over hauling. Change the way we do business like....

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Paul Murphy and RISE have no interest of being in Government. Staying in opposition with all the easy solutions suits them.

And FF/FG/Green who spin yarns, mismanage and appoint cronies are doing it for the people? :)

Citizen_smith.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Its what they are upto with direct provision centres irks me most of all......

using state money for their mates to profit off the most vunerable...

Almost noone,even among the opposotion speaks out for the residents of these centres as there no votes in it......irish politics is a moral wasteland over refusal to sort these.....people left to rot for years on end,its pure wrong
    The people are paying for 24hour security on proposed Direct Provision flats in Letterkenny, they are owned by a company registered in the Virgin islands, so FFG are enabling exploitation and tax evasion

When they aren't evading tax themselves.

Government should be considering introducing legislation once enough vaccine has rolled out across the country to tap into this, get cash flowing back around the parts of the economy that have been badly affected by covid:

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/household-savings-remain-at-extraordinary-level-39879886.html

Perhaps something similar to the stay and spend scheme with some sort of incentive for buying local/Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Government should be considering introducing legislation once enough vaccine has rolled out across the country to tap into this, get cash flowing back around the parts of the economy that have been badly affected by covid:

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/household-savings-remain-at-extraordinary-level-39879886.html

Perhaps something similar to the stay and spend scheme with some sort of incentive for buying local/Irish.

They need to concentrate on this first, this has to be got right and as fast and efficiently as possible.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/hse-report-reveals-insufficient-resources-to-tackle-pandemic-as-staff-shortage-may-hit-roll-out-of-vaccine-39881668.html

• Registered Users Posts: 19,571 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Pull in the wedge every month, sit around waiting for an ‘open goal’ to support and.......happy days.

Surely the solution is to train the testers or similar effort??

If they had a stock of a 2 to 3 million ready to go,repurpose entire hospiteals/gaa stadium etc and get on with it (possibly take over the private hospideals for a 2 month period to provide capacity)

Really think they should look into modify the app to help track those who have had it,and send an auto reminder after 21 days for 2nd jab

I don't think its coming in that fast, at least that's the impression coming out, they're getting it in 5000 batches or so in the beginning.
    The testers are going to be needed for the testing for quite a while yet too I'd say.

I missed this article originally, but a lot more needs to be done than is being done. The government needs to cut the red tape and allow significant amounts of offshore wind to be built as a priority. As well as get on with all the other promises made. At least the Greens being at the table will keep these things on the agenda.

https://www.rte.ie/news/environment/2020/1120/1179357-ireland-greenhouse-gases/

They wouldnt though.....as once yous go above 35% or there abouts transfers stop coming from outside (though afaik transfer flow 65/35 ff to fg than vice versa in last election??).....hence why shinners have stepped away from the build support phase,to now sending media training etc to other left parties/indos

View paul murphy (huge time for him,says it as it is and deosnt engage in pretend politeness) social media profile over last 9 to 12 months,hes obviously been trained massively,and knocks it outta the park mostly,likely the most-improved TD this dail term so far

I can see RISE (irelands left leaning greens) appear from nowhere to match the greens over next 3 years,and likely do well off shinner/soc dem etc transfers

Great craic to see it in action

Paul Murphy has zero interest in going into government. Much easier shout from the opposition benches. The TDs of the left cannot agree on anything other than forming a group in the Dail and making as much noise as possible. They fight amongst themselves and break away to form another pointless “Party”.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭christy c

Paul Murphy has zero interest in going into government. Much easier shout from the opposition benches. The TDs of the left cannot agree on anything other than forming a group in the Dail and making as much noise as possible. They fight amongst themselves and break away to form another pointless “Party”.

I think it was here I read about Paul Murphy, "imagine being his age and still believing in socialism".

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I missed this article originally, but a lot more needs to be done than is being done. The government needs to cut the red tape and allow significant amounts of offshore wind to be built as a priority. As well as get on with all the other promises made. At least the Greens being at the table will keep these things on the agenda.

https://www.rte.ie/news/environment/2020/1120/1179357-ireland-greenhouse-gases/

Red tape me flute.

Isn't there a story about wind energy farm, Donald Trump and Leo Varadkar giving the Don a hand in preventing same being built?

If only the greens had of been at the table then bubb.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

McMurphy wrote: »
    Red tape me flute.

Isn't there a story about wind energy farm, Donald Trump and Leo Varadkar giving the Don a hand in preventing same being built?

It's our Nimby culture that blocks this stuff. Nimbys are both left and right and you can see it at the proposed windfarm off the Dalkey coastline right now. We don't really have national politicians, we have politicians that represent their local constituencies and thus national issues get pushed aside.

Red tape me flute.

So you don't think there's a red tape issue with renewable energy projects then? Interesting.

Also, I don't think the Ministor for Tourism contacting Failte Ireland after a call from a large hospitality business owner in Ireland is the scoop you would like it to be.

IngazZagni wrote: »
    It's our Nimby culture that blocks this stuff. Nimbys are both left and right and you can see it at the proposed windfarm off the Dalkey coastline right now.

Doonbeg is certainly not in Leo's backyard though, that was him just bootlicking the Don.

There was apartment blocks Leo objected to though, that were practically in his backyard, now that is nimbyism alright.

Doonbeg is certainly not in Leo's backyard though, that was him just bootlicking the Don.

There was apartment blocks Leo objected to though, that were practically in his backyard, now that is nimbyism alright.

Back in 2014 before the Don was President. It was Fáilte Ireland that objected to it.

Leo did indeed object to that apartment block near Blanch village, as did other local politicians in the area. Ridiculous it was and now they are getting co-living instead!

So you don't think there's a red tape issue with renewable energy projects then? Interesting.

Also, I don't think the Ministor for Tourism contacting Failte Ireland after a call from a large hospitality business owner in Ireland is the scoop you would like it to be.

The then Taoiseach admitted that when he was a tourism minister, acted, when requested to do so, to interfere in a proposed wind farm.

So not only did Leo admit he was willing to interfere, he was also stupid enough to publicly boast about it to on international television audience.

This is the same man who admitted to leaking confidential information to his pal mind you (also at request) so seems he's a fan of the auld cronyism. There's form.

IngazZagni wrote: »
    Back in 2014 before the Don was President. It was Fáilte Ireland that objected to it.
    I didn't say trump was president at the time, whether he was or wasn't is irrelevant to the story anyway.

Sorry, this is the FFG thread, I dont think its kosher to discuss FFG here?

The then Taoiseach admitted that when he was a tourism minister, acted, when requested to do so, to interfere in a proposed wind farm.

So not only did Leo admit he was willing to interfere, he was also stupid enough to publicly admit to on international television.

This is the same man who admitted to leaking confidential information to his pal mind you (also at request) so seems he's a fan of the auld cronyism. There's form.

Is that not the minister for tourisms job though? To protect tourist areas from things that could harm them?
    I'm not saying the decision was right or wrong as ultimately the decision should be made by ABP.
    I didn't say trump was president at the time, whether he was or wasn't is irrelevant to the story anyway.

It sort of is I'd argue.
    Big businessman that is a major employer in a local area and owns a large hotel that is in a major tourist area expresses his concern. I think the tourism minister should listen to that concern.

So not only did Leo admit he was willing to interfere, he was also stupid enough to publicly admit to on international television.

Don't want to derail the thread by going on about an old story, but that's an interesting thought process. I would see it as entirely within the remit of the Minister of Tourism role to forward concerns of a business owner in the Irish tourism industry of a proposed development to the Irish Tourism board (Failte).

Trump wasn't US President at the time, and was well over a year away from even making his candidancy known at that time. So not sure what you think Varadkar had to gain from apparently doing something untoward for him as you seem to imply he did.

Don't want to derail the thread by going out about an old story, but that's an interesting thought process. I would see it as entirely within the remit of the Minister of Tourism role to forward concerns of a business owner in the Irish tourism industry of a proposed development to the Irish Tourism board (Failte).

Trump wasn't US President at the time, and was well over a year away from even making his candidancy known at that time. So not sure what you think Varadkar had to gain from apparently doing something untoward for him as you seem to imply he did.

Let's back up a bit here bubbs. You were saying something about the greens being at the table now, I said if I only they'd been at the table when Leo interfered on the Dons behalf, at the Dons request.

Did you read anything from the story at the time?

Seems the leader of the Greens would be sitting on the same side of the fence as I on it.

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan accused Mr Varadkar of having "privately interfered in the planning process" while Labour Party leader Brendan Howlin said the intervention was extraordinary and inappropriate.

**Sound of reverse beeper alarm going off**

Let's back up a bit here bubbs. You were saying something about the greens being at the table now, I said if I only they'd been at the table when Leo interfered on the Dons behalf, at the Dons request.

Did you read anything from the story at the time?

Seems the leader of the Greens would be sitting on the same side of the fence as I on it.

**Sound of reverse beeper alarm going off**

Opposition would always be shocked and appalled at such a Trump revelation. That's politics 101.

You should probably ride the story of the time to its conclusion though. The anger from opposition came out at the time when Trump made one of his "great man, best man, great leader" standard ramblings that he does and had claimed Varadkar had sorted it all out for him. It all died down once what Varadkar had actually done became known.

Anyway, the fact it took ABP so long to ultimately turn down the planning for it shows that there is a red tape issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Almost noone,even among the opposotion speaks out for the residents of these centres as there no votes in it......irish politics is a moral wasteland over refusal to sort these.....people left to rot for years on end,its pure wrong

Bríd Smith -PBP - utterly condemning Direct Provision
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Cjq86kDLIY

Soc Dems on Direct Provision
    https://www.socialdemocrats.ie/government-must-act-on-advisory-groups-report-to-reform-direct-provision-system/

Sinn Fein call for end to Direct Provision
    https://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/51736

Labour calls for abolition of for-profit model of Direct Provision
    https://www.labour.ie/news/2020/05/08/covid-crisis-in-direct-provision-centres-shows-urgent-need-f/

I'm confused - which part of the Opposition is being silent on this?
    Apart from the likes of the Healy-Rae Party who profit directly seems like the Opposition is united in speaking out against Direct Provision.

Used to be a time the Green Party were very vocal about it too - but they seem to be slippery when it comes to their belief as stated vs PfG https://www.greenparty.ie/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/Green-Party-Asylum-Policy.pdf

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Used to be a time the Green Party were very vocal about it too - but they seem to be slippery when it comes to their belief as stated vs PfG https://www.greenparty.ie/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/Green-Party-Asylum-Policy.pdf

The PfG the Greens signed up to commits to ending Direct Provision also.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Watching the review of 2020 on the Week in Politics. It's a great summary of all the FFG screwups. Worth a watch. What a year!

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Jim O'Callaghan on RTE: "I am not a critic of Michael Martin".

:D:D:D

How can you tell such a bare faced lie and be taken seriously?? He hates MM! In fact it's downright dishonest to say that. Not surprised though.

Watching the review of 2020 on the Week in Politics. It's a great summary of all the FFG screwups. Worth a watch. What a year!

They went through an election and ended up back in govt, who screwed up there?

:D ok

Did the Government ever issue a revised budget deficit estimate for 2020? I assume the estimate of 22bn deficit referenced in October is far too pessimistic, given it was only 9bn for the first 11 months of the year.