Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Scoondal wrote: »
    Michael Martin is the Taoiseach with the least support in Dail Eireann and the Taoiseach with the least support among Irish citizens.

What Taoiseach has more support in Dáil Éireann?
    Is thís a # not my taoiseach post?

Michael Martin is the Taoiseach with the least support in Dail Eireann and the Taoiseach with the least support among Irish citizens.

How was he elected Taoiseach so?

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭Scoondal

How many months did it take ?
    Fianna Fail has 20% popularity in Ireland. A deal was cobbled together to give Mr Martin his life long ambition. In 12 months he will be gone, satisfied with his achievements and his pension. It's disgusting.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

At least they're honest I suppose. Happy new year all!

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1344618959170121728?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

How many months did it take ?
    Fianna Fail has 20% popularity in Ireland. A deal was cobbled together to give Mr Martin his life long ambition. In 12 months he will be gone, satisfied with his achievements and his pension. It's disgusting.

Martin was elected by a Dail majority, thats the way it works.
    What was the viable alternative?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

smurgen wrote: »
    At least they're honest I suppose. Happy new year all!

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1344618959170121728?s=19

Almost one quarter of world’s population will not get Covid-19 vaccine until 2022

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Almost one quarter of world’s population will not get Covid-19 vaccine until 2022

Well it's par for the course with FF/FG governance. As long as 'it's worse elsewhere' sure it's grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 142 ✭✭PearseCork92

Right. Which will be places like Bangladesh or Zimbabwe.

I'd rather be benchmarking Ireland's vaccine rollout performance to places like Germany, Taiwan or South Korea thankyouverymuch.

Seems you misunderstood. He said he's the least support not that he wasn't elected.

Bowie wrote: »
    Seems you misunderstood. He said he's the least support not that he wasn't elected.

Sooooo, if he had the least support, who elected him???

• Registered Users Posts: 69,249 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Callan kick the year should be good tonight. 9:25 on RTE 1 I think.

He had no shortage of material.

Sooooo, if he had the least support, who elected him???

I think you are confusing 'least support' with a Varadkar type gifting of a leadership position. Unlike Varadkar more people did vote for Martin for his leadership role.

Ending the year out of control. Here's to government upping it's game in 2021 please God.

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1344687073534631939?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Well any Taoiseach has gotten a majority of votes in Dáil Éireann because otherwise they wouldn’t be Taoiseach.

Ending the year out of control. Here's to government upping it's game in 2021 please God.

Here’s to people taking personal responsibility in 2021 and helping combat this pandemic.
    Happy New Year, Boards.ies.

Here’s to people taking personal responsibility in 2021 and helping combat this pandemic.

4000 cases yet to be reported according to NPHET whose advice was twice ignored and who are currently requesting further restrictions? When will the penny drop Maryanne...any sign of it?

What happens when a government takes assertive control of a situation. Well done New Zealand!

https://twitter.com/SiMcmanus/status/1344609498577608707?s=19

4000 cases yet to be reported according to NPHET whose advice was twice ignored and who are currently requesting further restrictions? When will the penny drop Maryanne...any sign of it?

A doctor on the radio yesterday was begging people to take personal responsibility. I’m not the only one doing so. One can take a horse to water, but cannot make it drink. People queuing up outside Penney’s and other shops that will be closed now for a month, at least. Probably the same people queuing up when it reopened. Beggars belief.

We were down to zero cases again after the public made huge sacrifices. Government left the airports and ports open with no policing. They also done zero negotiation with westminster to try to get an all Ireland approach going. Slap in the face to citizens.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Bowie wrote: »

Last I checked Martin won the vote for Taoiseach. His only opposition Mary-Lou performed dismally and had the least support for Taoiseach.

Those are the facts, simple facts, that anyone should be able to grasp.

No doubt people have to take responsibility but so too do those taking decisions. Your hypocrisy on this has been shown up many times now.

Why have restrictions at all if it is only down to personal responsibility?
    Stop Maryanne if that is all you have...you'd have more credibility.

What happens when a government takes assertive control of a situation. Well done New Zealand!

https://twitter.com/SiMcmanus/status/1344609498577608707?s=19

You can’t compare New Zealand to us and I think you know this. New Zealand for all the good things I hear about it has one very big advantage over many places. It’s in the middle of nowhere.

Thanks to the government for doing a good job in preventing the ****show up North overseen by the SF/DUP government from spreading down here.

Thankfully we don’t have the likes of Michelle O’Neill anywhere near power.

We were down to zero cases again after the public made huge sacrifices. Government left the airports and ports open with no policing. They also done zero negotiation with westminster to try to get an all Ireland approach going. Slap in the face to citizens.

We have never been down to zero cases since early March. So that’s a mistruth.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Thanks to the government for doing a good job in preventing the ****show up North overseen by the SF/DUP government from spreading down here.

Thankfully we don’t have the likes of Michelle O’Neill anywhere near power.

'4000 cases yet to be reported' and you are still pointing at the boogeymen and women under your bed?

Nothing like a bit of arrogance to end the year I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,575 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

'4000 cases yet to be reported' and you are still pointing at the boogeymen and women under your bed?

No Francie, the lads up in the high hills, amongst the windblown whins and heather.

Absolute shambles up there, lad.

Absolute.....

Just watching the serious situation up there, people will be queuing in ambulances again tonight to be admitted to hospitals. Where is the contingency planning? Health is a competency of the Stormont government, just that they are incompetent.

Sinn Fein up North make our government look like superheroes. A desperate reflection on them.

I really wish the people of Northern Ireland well and hope they are rid of the two sectarian parties as soon as possible.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Just watching the serious situation up there, people will be queuing in ambulances again tonight to be admitted to hospitals. Where is the contingency planning? Health is a competency of the Stormont government, just that they are incompetent.

Sinn Fein up North make our government look like superheroes. A desperate reflection on them.

I really wish the people of Northern Ireland well and hope they are rid of the two sectarian parties as soon as possible.

Not the first victims you have exploited and used to deflect attention from your party and this government.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

We will be queuing up here if cases keep rising the way they are and apparently being seriously under reported.
    Tough few months ahead and probably mostly avoidable.
    Govt aren't to blame in either side I believe, the human frailty of socialising is the driver.
    We all know the risks at this stage and it's just a shame we don't realise the damage this is doing.
    Happy new year all stay safe and hopefully things will get better shortly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 142 ✭✭PearseCork92

Who wants to tell the Chuckle Brothers Blanch and Brendan that the NI health minister is Robin Swann from the UUP?