Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭golfball37

Niall Collins slip of tongue on prime time said schools would be closed for 6 weeks and then when challenged claims he said 3 weeks. If they close for 6 we can’t believe anything anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,446 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Suckit wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure Leo said something in one of his Mean Girls/Terminator/Lord of the Rings etc., speeches mentioning that the pandemic was here for the foreseeable future and he also said the virus was here to stay.

I believe he said he expected a vaccine in Q1 too. How they weren't prepared to roll it out is beyond me.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

“People” have been calling for lots of things. Doesn’t mean that it’s all doable. No one could predict the pandemic lasting this long.

They're doing it so it was clearly doable.

Serious question. Why is the infrastructure for the vaccine only being put together now?

smurgen wrote: »
    Serious question. Why is the infrastructure for the vaccine only being put together now?

Cos, it’s only now being licensed.

So administration planning had to be done afterwards?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,491 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

It was put together at the start of last month.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/1204/1182350-hse-covid-vaccine/

john4321 wrote: »
    It was put together at the start of last month.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/1204/1182350-hse-covid-vaccine/

And the tracking of vaccine administration to patients? Have patients being given priority lists for vaccine delivery?

From December 15th it seems there was nothing but confusion;

"Doctors say they are increasingly frustrated over “delay and confusion” about their role in the State’s Covid vaccine plan.

Irish Medical Organisation (IMO) GP chairman Dr Denis McCauley said there was a lack of clarity on the role to be played by family doctors.

GPs want to play a role but “the longer our keenness is held on tap, the more frustration will actually develop”

"An implementation group focused on the rollout was due to have its first meeting on Monday “but that appears to have stalled”, Dr McAuley said.

He raised concerns about the development of software used to track the vaccination programme. “If they are going to develop a brand new software, let’s hope there’s no “northside Luas/southside Luas” moment".

"The Irish Pharmacy Union (IPU) also urged the HSE to engage with it about plans to roll out the vaccine. “The campaign can’t happen successfully unless the HSE sits down and talks to us about how it will work,” said Darragh O’Loughlin, general secretary of the IPU"

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/doctors-frustrated-and-confused-about-their-role-in-covid-vaccine-plan-1.4434516

Seems to be a delay at the nursing homes too :

"The first roll-out of the vaccine in care homes was due to start on Monday, however it was delayed due to issues with consent forms"

“An IT system was supposed to be developed for the administration of the vaccine, a bit like the flu vaccine one, but what we are seeing at the moment is a paper exercise.”

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/no-more-room-for-slippages-or-delays-in-vaccine-rollout-nursing-homes-ireland-1059774.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Suckit wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure Leo said something in one of his Mean Girls/Terminator/Lord of the Rings etc., speeches mentioning that the pandemic was here for the foreseeable future and he also said the virus was here to stay.

He was likely trying to work in the quotes. Clownish behaviour. He cannot and should not be taken seriously.

And the tracking of vaccine administration to patients? Have patients being given priority lists for vaccine delivery?

From December 15th it seems there was nothing but confusion;

"Doctors say they are increasingly frustrated over “delay and confusion” about their role in the State’s Covid vaccine plan.

Irish Medical Organisation (IMO) GP chairman Dr Denis McCauley said there was a lack of clarity on the role to be played by family doctors.

GPs want to play a role but “the longer our keenness is held on tap, the more frustration will actually develop”

"An implementation group focused on the rollout was due to have its first meeting on Monday “but that appears to have stalled”, Dr McAuley said.

He raised concerns about the development of software used to track the vaccination programme. “If they are going to develop a brand new software, let’s hope there’s no “northside Luas/southside Luas” moment".

"The Irish Pharmacy Union (IPU) also urged the HSE to engage with it about plans to roll out the vaccine. “The campaign can’t happen successfully unless the HSE sits down and talks to us about how it will work,” said Darragh O’Loughlin, general secretary of the IPU"

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/doctors-frustrated-and-confused-about-their-role-in-covid-vaccine-plan-1.4434516

Seems to be a delay at the nursing homes too :

"The first roll-out of the vaccine in care homes was due to start on Monday, however it was delayed due to issues with consent forms"

“An IT system was supposed to be developed for the administration of the vaccine, a bit like the flu vaccine one, but what we are seeing at the moment is a paper exercise.”

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/no-more-room-for-slippages-or-delays-in-vaccine-rollout-nursing-homes-ireland-1059774.html

What have either of these things you posted got to do with infrastructure?

An admin system or i.t system or basic administration plan is infrastructure.

This advice stood in my mind from the start and it seems like our own politicians were too busy quoting mean girls to pay attention at the time. A message more pertinent now than ever.

https://twitter.com/SkyNews/status/1238504143104421888?s=19

An admin system or i.t system or basic administration plan is infrastructure.

Red tape blamed for Covid-19 vaccine rollout delays

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40201029.html

"Mr Daly welcomed the commitment to rollout the vaccine seven days a week to speed up the process."

Let's try and stay positive for January and get through this without politics.

Red tape blamed for Covid-19 vaccine rollout delays

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40201029.html

"Mr Daly welcomed the commitment to rollout the vaccine seven days a week to speed up the process."

Let's try and stay positive for January and get through this without politics.

No we won't. This was political when things were rosy in the garden.now it's gone arse ways it get through without politics. December 13th ;

"Leo Varadkar reveals he regrets not calling an Easter poll when he was Taoiseach.

Leo Varadkar made the remarks at a $100-a-head online event for the Washington Ireland Programme last Thursday evening, saying he believed Fine Gael would have done better had he delayed calling the general election until April, following the initial response to the pandemic.

"Had that happened, we would have had the election after the pandemic and perhaps it would have gone a bit better for me and my party," he said at the event. "We may have had a different electoral outcome and in my mind one that would have been better for the country."

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/varadkar-regrets-not-waiting-until-april-to-hold-2020-election-39857030.html

Absolutely sickening.

No we won't. This was political when things were rosy in the garden.now it's gone arse ways it get through without politics. December 13th ;

"Leo Varadkar reveals he regrets not calling an Easter poll when he was Taoiseach.

Leo Varadkar made the remarks at a $100-a-head online event for the Washington Ireland Programme last Thursday evening, saying he believed Fine Gael would have done better had he delayed calling the general election until April, following the initial response to the pandemic.

"Had that happened, we would have had the election after the pandemic and perhaps it would have gone a bit better for me and my party," he said at the event. "We may have had a different electoral outcome and in my mind one that would have been better for the country."

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/varadkar-regrets-not-waiting-until-april-to-hold-2020-election-39857030.html

Absolutely sickening.

No problem I'm out then.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭jmcc

Sounds downright sociopathic. The only thing that Varadkar seems to be interested in is himself.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 69,257 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The gif here is gonna be how this government is seen. Hard to dispel it now after so many many cock-ups. Brilliant wee gif it is.
    https://twitter.com/thelittlegreen6/status/1346493688361451521

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

The gif here is gonna be how this government is seen. Hard to dispel it now after so many many cock-ups. Brilliant wee gif it is.
    https://twitter.com/thelittlegreen6/status/1346493688361451521

My sister, her husband and their 3 kids with husbands and wives and children all got together at Xmas at various times and all have covid now.
    My sister invited me and my Mrs my other brother and his Mrs to lunch on New year's day.
    My brother and his Mrs went, they're now in for tests today as close contacts
    We didn't go because of the restrictions, though we made a different excuse.
    That's the real maze and cause of spread, no childish cartoon, reality.
    Have a good day.

• Registered Users Posts: 973 ✭✭✭grayzer75

My sister, her husband and their 3 kids with husbands and wives and children all got together at Xmas at various times and all have covid now.
    My sister invited me and my Mrs my other brother and his Mrs to lunch on New year's day.
    Have a good day.

Hopefully they all make a full speedy recovery.

I have a relative who's household got infected and the 6 year old wee girl ended up in an ambulance and brought to A&E with breathing difficulties and she had no underlying conditions. Thankfully she has turned a corner but this virus is ripping through the country.

The government f*cked up in December but it's not the time to dwell on that now - the important thing to focus on are the actions in the next month or so to bring the numbers back down and actually learn from the mistakes.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,581 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

grayzer75 wrote: »

I have a relative who's household got infected and the 6 year old wee girl ended up in an ambulance and brought to A&E with breathing difficulties and she had no underlying conditions. Thankfully she has turned a corner but this virus is ripping through the country.

The government f*cked up in December but it's not the time to dwell on that now - the important thing to focus on are the actions in the next month or so to bring the numbers back down and actually learn from the mistakes.

the government was put under serious pressure to reopen for christmas, so they did, the rest is history....

currently quarantining here, due to direct/indirect contact, infected individuals are slowly recovering, thank god

• Registered Users Posts: 934 ✭✭✭mikep

Have a good day.

100% true.

The general population decided that socialising was more important than protecting themselves and their loved ones.

If any government had tried a lockdown over Christmas it would have been ignored.

I find it utterly depressing that so many decided that their social life was that important and now it's"the government's" fault...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,576 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

mikep wrote: »
    100% true.

The general population decided that socialising was more important than protecting themselves and their loved ones.

If any government had tried a lockdown over Christmas it would have been ignored.

I find it utterly depressing that so many decided that their social life was that important and now it's"the government's" fault...

Correct.....Pat was getting out at Xmas come hell or high water.

Then we can blame someone else.

grayzer75 wrote: »

Thanks for the wishes.
    One of the women is a diabetic, she's been hospitalised but precautionary I think.

mikep wrote: »
    100% true.

Nope. Vast majority of population supported control measures. Government defied NPHET'S advice and said socialising and visit pubs and restaurants was grand. Sure of course people thought it was going to be safe. False sense of security. Can't blame people for getting sick after they followed the advice they were given by government. And for the established media cheerleading reopening that would have added to the sense of safety.

Here's the now taken down HSE webpage :

:But from 18 December to 6 January you can:

meet with up to 2 other households
    travel outside your county
    Read advice on this page on how to stay safe this Christmas during:

Christmas Day
    Christmas visiting
    going to cafes, restaurants or pubs
    shopping.

https://web.archive.org/web/20201217073439/https://www2.hse.ie/conditions/coronavirus/stay-safe-from-covid-19-this-christmas.html

That might be true in some ways.
    But families thought it was safe to intermingle and that they were bubbles of some sort I think.
    My sister and her husband would be cautious people.
    This was going to happen at Xmas regardless of restrictions.
    Included in that family I posted about are professional working people, not what you describe as typical devil may care youngsters.
    People who should know better.
    A garda, an assistant bank manager, a health care worker, a retired health care worker, a former legal secretary, and a lab technician in a pharmaceutical company.
    If you can't get a message through to them you're in trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Have a good day.

I hope they all make a full recovery bish, that's the only thing that matters now, nothing else matters now, except they isolate and concentrate on recovering.

• Registered Users Posts: 934 ✭✭✭mikep

The reality is that many flaunted or ignored the rules, I personally know families who mixed without any consideration of their own responsibility.
    One family has 2 vulnerable elderly parents with a stream of children and grandchildren in and out of the house. Including some coming back from abroad.

No government could ever have shut the country down completely, which I believe should have been done..
    I would have totally cancelled Christmas with a strict lockdown with sanctions for those breaking the rules..

McMurphy wrote: »
    I hope they all make a full recovery bish, that's the only thing that matters now, nothing else matters now, except they isolate and concentrate on recovering.

Thanks Mc, none are very sick.
    I was at my sisters yesterday delivering some goodies and they're just having mild symptoms.
    The rest are the same they tell me with a couple showing none even.

Absolutely sickening.

So, what’s your opinion on the rest of that article? More postal voting proposed in the Greens Electoral Reform Bill?