Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 27,975 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Bowie wrote: »
    Is it fully factual? Did it give the numbers of emails calling him a gilly? No. That's biased one sided spin.

As shown, when Leo isn't in the news, he doesn't appear on here.

I would never expose myself Blanch ;)

It seems, that like Francie, you didn't read the article either. It gave the numbers praising him - 55 - and the numbers criticising him - 13 - with extracts from both types.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/it-needed-to-be-said-public-praise-for-varadkar-s-criticism-of-nphet-1.4454683

"Thirteen people criticised the Tánaiste for saying he did not feel Nphet’s proposal “had been thought through” and that the leaked advice from chief medical officer Dr Tony Holohan and other members advising a move to Level 5 had blindsided them “to land something like this on a Sunday night, without prior consultation”."

Oh dear.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Posters here conveniently forgetting NHPET were gonna allow household meet ups at the start of December but the government delayed it for weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Posters here conveniently forgetting NHPET were gonna allow household meet ups at the start of December but the government delayed it for weeks.

Can you provide links to your claim? Finding it hard to distinguish outright lies now from bending the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

blanch152 wrote: »
    It seems, that like Francie, you didn't read the article either. It gave the numbers praising him - 55 - and the numbers criticising him - 13 - with extracts from both types.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/it-needed-to-be-said-public-praise-for-varadkar-s-criticism-of-nphet-1.4454683

"Thirteen people criticised the Tánaiste for saying he did not feel Nphet’s proposal “had been thought through” and that the leaked advice from chief medical officer Dr Tony Holohan and other members advising a move to Level 5 had blindsided them “to land something like this on a Sunday night, without prior consultation”."

Oh dear.

Blanch, it's a pointless 'news' item which can only bee seen as a PR spin job on behalf of Varadkar/FG.
    Earlier we had a discussion on the covid crisis and it's reporting. Your response was to shout 'look over there' or up there and SF something.
    The idea of the article reads to me as a nice little bit of PR spin. That's it. Get over it.

Varadkar was out of order, wrong and likely the leak IMO. So the lad sent the 55 emails must be getting paid.

Blanch, it's a pointless 'news' item which can only bee seen as a PR spin job on behalf of Varadkar/FG.
    Earlier we had a discussion on the covid crisis and it's reporting. Your response was to shout 'look over there' or up there and SF something.
    The idea of the article reads to me as a nice little bit of PR spin. That's it. Get over it.

Except it wasn't.

It was a journalist making a factual FOI request and reporting factually on what he discovered.

You see it as spin because it runs against your biased worldview, nothing more, nothing less.

Except it wasn't.

It was a journalist making a factual FOI request and reporting factually on what he discovered.

You see it as spin because it runs against your biased worldview, nothing more, nothing less.

...and factually spinning PR for Varadkar/FG.

It's an article showing people agreed with Varadkar taking a strop with NPHET during a pandemic. Nobody denies he took a strop. Only 55 people allegedly disagree, that we know of, yet this is considered a worthy news item?
    It's spin because it puts Varadkar's foolishness and childishness in a better light. Any article doing such can only be read as spin.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    This has happened on FF/FG/GP's watch. Bicker all ye like about whataboutSF/NI/personal responsibility etc etc etc it won't change the fact that THIS is happening now under the current FF/FG/GP policies and as we are no longer contact testing we are flying blind.

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1348631336383340544?s=20

Has blanch stopped playing his macabre pastime of pointing out covid figures now?

I'm only asking as he's been at it for weeks pointing "up there" and "over there" etc etc, and yet skipped over this article where it lists us as having highest figures in the world, due to FFG incompetence.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,271 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

...and factually spinning PR for Varadkar/FG.

It's an article showing people agreed with Varadkar taking a strop with NPHET during a pandemic. Nobody denies he took a strop. Only 55 people allegedly disagree, that we know of, yet this is considered a worthy news item?
    It's spin because it puts Varadkar's foolishness and childishness in a better light. Any article doing such can only be read as spin.

Could be all from his own FG branch for all we know, or from anonymous accounts.

FF/FG/Greens have repeatedly ignored or cherry picked advice from NPHET. We'd Varadkar taking a hissy fit over their recommendations being leaked. Varadkar :rolleyes:
    Now we've high numbers and it's public responsibility? It plays a major role no question however accountability for giving direction and ignoring advice sits with FF/FG/Greens.
    It reminds me of the last crash. Government made a balls of laxxed regulation and special deals/loans and 'we all partied' or 'went mad' depending on which civil war party you listened to. These chancers need to lead and own their decisions.

People also forget nhpet proposed allowing household visits or socialising.....but ffg decided to allow both and now we have the highest infection rates in the world

At least they made us world leaders in something

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭the butcher

Except it wasn't.

You speak about facts but in reality we cannot confirm the authenticity of the email addresses, how many can we link to real genuine people?

Are half of them FG supporters? I'd like to see the factual breakdown of that.

You speak about facts but in reality we cannot confirm the authenticity of the email addresses, how many can we link to real genuine people?

Are half of them FG supporters? I'd like to see the factual breakdown of that.

So what if half of the 55 supporting him were FG supporters?

There were 68 emails on the subject, according to the last Irish Times poll, FG had 35% support, meaning that 24 of the emails would be supportive from FG supporters - not far off the 27 you complain about!!!

Are FG supporters not allowed to have a voice?

It seems that some are trying to create an echo chamber in here, only criticism of Leo is allowed.

There were 68 emails on the subject, according to the last Irish Times poll, FG had 35% support, meaning that 24 of the emails would be supportive from FG supporters - not far off the 27 you complain about!!!

It seems that some are trying to create an echo chamber in here, only criticism of Leo is allowed.

I dont thinķ appeasing 55 random e-mailers were worth causing ireland to have worst infection rates in the world

Who said he was appeasing 55 random e-mailers??!!??

They came in AFTER his statement, not before. :)

Who said he was appeasing 55 random e-mailers??!!??

They came in AFTER his statement, not before. :)

Mate your talking up the right of FG supporters to email varadkar praising him for attacking nphet....as is your right

Just i dont think appeasing those who oppose nphet was worth it,given the size of diaster facing us over next 3 to 5 weeks......if we dont get under 2K cases a day by friday
    ,its likely our health service will.max out by 1st of feb......(the UK varient is projected to be main driver by then and cases likely rocket iirc)

it really really wasnt worth it....imo

• Registered Users Posts: 69,271 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

You have denied every criticism of Leo since the thread has started blanch and of FG's role in government.

FG are indeed allowed a voice but that still doesn't provide us with any clarity on where these emails came from and from whom. This politician has no problems pulling the wool over people's eyes if it is for party.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

You have denied every criticism of Leo since the thread has started blanch and of FG's role in government.

FG are indeed allowed a voice but that still doesn't provide us with any clarity on where these emails came from and from whom. This politician has no problems pulling the wool over people's eyes if it is for party.

Leo has several email addresses, the ones praising him were all his, the rest were two shinners with several email addresses I'm reliably informed.

Nobody tries to shut down criticism of FG/LV more than yourself. The covid rates were raised you pointed up north and to SF. The PR spin article was commented on, you've spent pages dismissing the claims.

I think FG supporters have a voice. Some of us don't have a team and want to talk issues as they arise. Today it's covid numbers and a biased spin article. Personally I'm more interested in the issues.

Nobody tries to shut down criticism of FG/LV more than yourself. The covid rates were raised you pointed up north and to SF. The PR spin article was commented on, you've spent pages dismissing the claims.

I think FG supporters have a voice. Some of us don't have a team and want to talk issues as they arise. Today it's covid numbers and a biased spin article. Personally I'm more interested in the issues.

But you and Francie and others are prepared to argue about a few emails that seem to be of the same opinion of Leo a couple of months ago.
    There's something very troubling about some perspectives on here.

But you and Francie and others are prepared to argue about a few emails that seem to be of the same opinion of Leo a couple of months ago.

I mean like the emails were the focus of . an article in todays paper

Like if this isnt current affairs,in light if what has happened since,what is??

Headline in the Indo at 1900 on the 11/01/2020

Senior hurlers of FFG allowed for this headline to be created..

IMG-20210111-190659.jpg

There's a shytstorm on the way due to these absolute cretins. Well done lads, well done.

I mean like the emails were the focus of . an article in todays paper

Like if this isnt current affairs,in light if what has happened since,what is??

:D:D

So you think Leo has no supporters?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Have the last few pages seriously been spent discussing the fact that the grand total of 55 people emailed LV after he had criticised NPHET to say he had done the right thing?

55 people?

A fraction of the number of people who have died with CV19 and this is what people are wasting time on? On the day it was announced Ireland tops the transmission charts?

Seriously?

I have to say - LV has once again managed to make all it about him and spin discussion away from what actually matters ... i.e. not him.

I found a phone yesterday. Posted it on my own FB page. Got over 150 shares and just under a 1000 likes - should I contact journalists?

McMurphy wrote: »

IMG-20210111-190659.jpg

There's a shytstorm on the way due to these absolute cretins. Well done lads, well done.

In the last few days I've messaged or talked to 22 people with covid in my family and friend circle, every one of them without exception admits they broke the rules at some stage just before or during Xmas.
    Keep the foghorn blowing.

Wha??

That isnt close to what i said,and wasnt implied...i apoligise for giving impression on this to you

That's the impression the last few pages have been giving. Not singling you out Blaaz, but it's like disbelief that a few emails might have been sent in support of him.
    Old I'll call it. Obsessive Leo Disorder. :D

That's the impression the last few pages have been giving. Not singling you out Blaaz, but it's like disbelief that a few emails might have been sent in support of him.
    Old I'll call it. Obsessive Leo Disorder. :D

Nah mate....people are complaining varadkar appeaseing his support base and causing us to highest infection rates in the world

Like call it whatever you want...peoples lives have been put at risk,by his out of control ego....is it true no extra assistance was given to homeless services during last cold.snap,how many emails did he get in support of this??

IMG-20210111-190659.jpg

Yep. Absolute cretins putting themselves and others at risk.

“ Gardaí have escalated their policing response after beauty spots across the country were packed over the weekend with visitors outside of their 5km limit.” https://www.independent.ie/news/gardai-can-now-hand-on-the-spot-fines-of-100-to-anyone-breaking-5km-travel-limit-who-refuse-to-turn-back-39956585.html
    “ PEOPLE HAVE BEEN told to reconsider travelling to the Wicklow uplands partly due to the Covid-19 risk of a rescue situation.
    A spokesperson for the Dublin and Wicklow Mountain Rescue team, Valerie Hayes, said social distancing is difficult during emergency rescues” https://www.thejournal.ie/wicklow-warning-do-not-travel-mountain-5321617-Jan2021/
    “ Kerry Mountain Rescue is asking hill-goers to be considerate of the strain being put on emergency services at this time before attempting a climb.

They urge people to avoid "high mountain terrain such as the McGillycuddy’s Reeks, sticking to lowland paths and walkways while strictly observing social distancing principles and the 5km travel restrictions recently re-imposed by the Government." https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40201829.html

Nope. I commented on the article being no more than spin. Someone else is suggesting I'm pretending to hold that opinion, for reasons best known to themselves.

I find it troubling that you accused me of an online campaign against Roderic O'Gorman with zero evidence, refused to accept it never happened and are trying to pass comment on the perspective of others.

IMG-20210111-190659.jpg

Fuppin' Gino from PBP and all them Black Lives Matter people not taking personal responsibility...obviously :rolleyes:

I take it we'll see all the same sentiment shipped up north over the past several months visited on FF/FG/Greens by the same genuine concerned posters....

Yep. Absolute cretins putting themselves and others at risk.

“ Gardaí have escalated their policing response after beauty spots across the country were packed over the weekend with visitors outside of their 5km limit.” https://www.independent.ie/news/gardai-can-now-hand-on-the-spot-fines-of-100-to-anyone-breaking-5km-travel-limit-who-refuse-to-turn-back-39956585.html
    “ PEOPLE HAVE BEEN told to reconsider travelling to the Wicklow uplands partly due to the Covid-19 risk of a rescue situation.
    A spokesperson for the Dublin and Wicklow Mountain Rescue team, Valerie Hayes, said social distancing is difficult during emergency rescues” https://www.thejournal.ie/wicklow-warning-do-not-travel-mountain-5321617-Jan2021/
    “ Kerry Mountain Rescue is asking hill-goers to be considerate of the strain being put on emergency services at this time before attempting a climb.

They urge people to avoid "high mountain terrain such as the McGillycuddy’s Reeks, sticking to lowland paths and walkways while strictly observing social distancing principles and the 5km travel restrictions recently re-imposed by the Government." https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40201829.html

White noise, scutter and deflection.