Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

McMurphy wrote: »
    White noise, scutter and deflection.

No its not and that's despite the figures being in the thousands.
    It's the truth.

Have to laugh....a government that approves varadkar leading confidential info.....now has resorted to accusing others of lacking personal reaponsibility

Its hyprocrisy on a scale seen nowhere else in the western world

Describes the content of your posts perfectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

It's the truth.

They aren't responsible for anything and powerless...so when it was going well that was on the public too?
    What do we need the government for so? Should we not pay them PUP and get on with it ourselves or maybe put accountable solid leadership in? What do you think?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

It's the truth.

Of course bish, of course it's down to some people visiting beauty spots outside their 5km restriction zones, silly me of course it is.

I think the fly in your ointment though, might be the fact hundreds of thousands of folk likely visited these spots when Lockdown restrictions were eased or lifted completely and yet we weren't in the highest infected rates in the entire world bracket then.

Obviously, the fact we have recently become the country in the whole world with the highest infection rate, less than two weeks after new year, and the govt ignoring the advice given to them by NPHET in the run up to Xmas is an unfortunate and entirely coincidental fluke.

Let Michaél and Leo stand on a platform during the next election campaign and try and sell that kind of pup to the electorate and see how they get on.

You lads are unreal.

Of course bish, of course it's down to some people visiting beauty spots outside their 5km restriction zones, silly me of course it is.

I think the fly in your ointment though, might be the fact hundreds of thousands of folk likely visited these spots when Lockdown restrictions were eased or lifted completely and yet we weren't in the highest infected rates in the entire world.

Obviously, the fact we have recently become the country in the whole world less than two weeks after new year, and the govt ignoring the advice given to them by NPHET in the run up to Xmas is an unfortunate and entirely coincidental fluke.

Let Michaél and Leo stand on a platform during the next election campaign and try and sell that kind of pup to the electorate and see how they get on.

You lads are unreal.

That's just an example of it Mc.
    What happened over the last few days is the tip of the iceberg re restrictions being broken.
    It was wholesale and countrywide over the last few months.
    Man up and take the political ****e hat off.
    We are where we are because people have been looking around them and seeing that most people who get the virus get over it handy enough.
    The really sick and dying are very low compared to the percentage that just get over it.
    The fear of it that existed in the beginning is gone. That's the problem now.
    Lockdowns will never be adhered to like the first one again.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,271 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Bowie wrote: »
    They aren't responsible for anything and powerless...so when it was going well that was on the public too?
    What do we need the government for so? Should we not pay them PUP and get on with it ourselves or maybe put accountable solid leadership in? What do you think?

The same people were on here singing Leo's praises for 'handling the pandemic' when his polling went through the roof.
    Any criticism at that time was deflected by the same people saying the government were following NPHET advice and could do nothing else.

https://mobile.twitter.com/newschambers/status/1348719146893258758

Almost as gaslighting as micheal martins effort to claim.there was no bailout

Do they honestly think they can get away with saying bare faced lies to the public

That's just an example of it Mc.
    What happened over the last few days is the tip of the iceberg re restrictions being broken.
    It was wholesale and countrywide over the last few months.
    Man up and take the political ****e hat off.
    We are where we are because people have been looking around them and seeing that most people who get the virus get over it handy enough.
    The really sick and dying are very low compared to the percentage that just get over it.
    The fear of it that existed in the beginning is gone. That's the problem now.
    Lockdowns will never be adhered to like the first one again.

All you have are anecdotal tales, whereas the vast majority of people I know (there's undoubtedly some tools too) are adhering to the rules and regulations.

As I said, you cannot, no matter how much you might like to, argue with the figures.

Before Christmas, FFG completely ignored NPHET advice.

Early January, thousands of cases per day.

It's figures you need to argue with bish, not anecdotal tales, and stories about people flouting the 5km restrictions that were brought in as a response to the aforementioned ignoring of NPHETs advice.

These lads in govt would take credit for the tide going out and coming back in again, but any shyte hitting any fan is always someone else's fault, and or was like that when they got there.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

In the last few days I've messaged or talked to 22 people with covid in my family and friend circle, every one of them without exception admits they broke the rules at some stage just before or during Xmas.
    Keep the foghorn blowing.

Things that didn't happen. An inquisition of 22 family members.

smurgen wrote: »

tenor.gif?itemid=8602896

Not all family, no inquisition, just banter.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,449 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I like FFG

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Jesus if you owned a business wouldn't ya hate Varadkar too? His mismanagement of covid with the other two now mean businesses have no horizon over the end of this. He didn't have any clue on what the vaccine rollout plans were. Clearly a man with very little sense of what it's like to run a business.

McMurphy, why are you showing as banned?

Ssssssh, the admins haven't copped that I'm circumventing the ban yet cluedo!

Another day of international headlines.

"Reckless’ Christmas easing of rules blamed for Ireland Covid surge
    Country has world’s highest rate of infection with critics blaming socialising over festive period".

"Ireland’s vertiginous infection-rate swoop overtook the US on 5 January and the UK on 6 January and has continued climbing. Some 46,000 people have been infected in the past seven days – more than the total infected in the eight months from March to October."

Some going in fairness.

https://amp.theguardian.com/world/2021/jan/11/reckless-christmas-rule-relaxation-blamed-for-irelands-dire-covid-surge?__twitter_impression=true

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭kerry_man15

But but but....Leo told us it was the safest place to be in Europe just before Christmas.....

No doubt his ripping into Tony Holohan and Nphet over the Level 5 recommendation back in October and the above comment led to people thinking everything was great and no need to be careful. The guy is a clown. Don't even get me started on the leaks business...
    We need more competent and intelligent people in charge please.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,449 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

But but but....Leo told us it was the safest place to be in Europe just before Christmas.....

No doubt his ripping into Tony Holohan and Nphet over the Level 5 recommendation back in October and the above comment led to people thinking everything was great and no need to be careful. The guy is a clown. Don't even get me started on the leaks business...
    We need more competent and intelligent people in charge please.

Well you're not exactly electing high quality candidates down in Kerry now are ye? ;)

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

As sad as the situation is it will be interesting to see how the FG lobby deal with not being able to point up north or to use a line from Varadkar, "its worse elsewhere"...cause it ain't.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Are they still a thing?

They're not exactly vocal on these threads anyway.

Scarce as Turkey and ham at a Green party dinner dance

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

So they released emails that no one can identify the authors of? How does that work exactly? Copy and paste random pieces of text and send it on to a journalist where he or she haven't the foggiest as to whether or not it's authentic, or made up crap?

They were not allowed to release the email addresses of the people, because of GDPR.

Remember GDPR? I schooled you on it the time you thought it was legal to release CCTV footage from private property to the public.

Bowie wrote: »

Varadkar was out of order, wrong and likely the leak IMO. So the lad sent the 55 emails must be getting paid.

Just when you thought you couldn't any more Trumpian, you come out with this...

You have zero proof that this 'lad' was paid. ZERO!
    Stop bull****ting people with your conspiracy-laden inane posts.

You speak about facts but in reality we cannot confirm the authenticity of the email addresses, how many can we link to real genuine people?

Are half of them FG supporters? I'd like to see the factual breakdown of that.

This is ridiculous. How is that even possible?

Anyone is free to email the Taoiseach and Tainiste and give their view.
    You can tell them they are doing a great job, or that they are a bunch of Donkeys.

There is no requirement or box-ticking where one needs to disclose anything about who they support when doing so or while doing so.

markodaly wrote: »
    This is ridiculous. How is that even possible?

Anyone is free to email the Taoiseach and Tainiste and give their view.
    You can tell them they are doing a great job, or that they are a bunch of Donkeys.

There is no requirement or box-ticking where one needs to disclose anything about who they support when doing so or while doing so.

You'd get 55 headbangers anywhere. Sure look at all the folk that complained about rte and the religious skit. The fact they had to mention support emails to a national newspaper and there was so little it was countable is mortifying.

Which is why I find it so remarkable that you lads don't believe it or are trying to refute it, its not as if it was in the thousands.
    It will be interesting to see the new polls when they come out, see if there's a big Leo and FG drop.
    They will be worried no doubt with the latest covid figures.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,271 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Which is why I find it so remarkable that you lads don't believe it or are trying to refute it, its not as if it was in the thousands.
    It will be interesting to see the new polls when they come out, see if there's a big Leo and FG drop.
    They will be worried no doubt with the latest covid figures.

I wouldn't expect anything else from the next poll but evidence of what I predicted...Leo leading his troops back to GE levels of support.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Well you're not exactly electing high quality candidates down in Kerry now are ye? ;)

IMO anyone who thinks Micheal Healy-Rae is a fool is very much mistaken. He is a wily politician who knows his constituency and plays to it ... Danny on the other hand...

• Registered Users Posts: 27,975 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

All you have are anecdotal tales, whereas the vast majority of people I know (there's undoubtedly some tools too) are adhering to the rules and regulations.

As I said, you cannot, no matter how much you might like to, argue with the figures.

Before Christmas, FFG completely ignored NPHET advice.

Early January, thousands of cases per day.

It's figures you need to argue with bish, not anecdotal tales, and stories about people flouting the 5km restrictions that were brought in as a response to the aforementioned ignoring of NPHETs advice.

These lads in govt would take credit for the tide going out and coming back in again, but any shyte hitting any fan is always someone else's fault, and or was like that when they got there.

I think it was Tony Holohan (remember him, you know the guy you keep telling us to listen to) on television yesterday who blamed ordinary people shopping and socialising for the rise in cases.

I suppose he is wrong now.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,975 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

markodaly wrote: »
    They were not allowed to release the email addresses of the people, because of GDPR.

Remember GDPR? I schooled you on it the time you thought it was legal to release CCTV footage from private property to the public.

They don't believe GDPR applies to anyone who supports the government, works for the Gardai, or is a public servant. All need to be outed.

However, if you are a social welfare recipient working nixers, nobody should be able to identify you.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

blanch152 wrote: »
    They don't believe GDPR applies to anyone who supports the government, works for the Gardai, or is a public servant. All need to be outed.

However, if you are a social welfare recipient working nixers, nobody should be able to identify you.

Who is "they"?
    Are they the opposite to the "normal" people who apparently are defined as "do not think like Bríd Smith"?

Do you get dizzy making those giant leaps?