Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Bowie wrote: »
    If you heard the survivors on the report you'd know the blind eye is still being turned by the state today.
    We are talking generations of complicit behaviour from successive FF/FG governments. IMO that's why they refuse to tackle this issue in a complete manner. They are worried about votes.
    What other parties may or may not have done doesn't come into it IMO.
    Sorry maybe quote from the commission findings if you want to be taken remotely seriously.

blanch152 wrote: »
    You are using victims in a shameless way to try to score cheap inaccurate political points on an anonymous internet site.

So why would you be bothered with what-if navel gazing?

Pseudonymous, remember that they're super easy to unmask with court orders, particularly after they make defamatory statements.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,284 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

You are using victims in a shameless way to try to score cheap inaccurate political points on an anonymous internet site.

So why would you be bothered with what-if navel gazing?

What is shameless about justice for these victims blanch?

They died because nobody in power cared enough.

Pseudonymous, remember that they're super easy to unmask with court orders, particularly after they make defamatory statements.

Who have I defamed?

I am not bothered imagining another party into the situation to dilute the blame of the two parties who swapped power between them while nothing, absolutely nothing changed. The two of them are equally culpable.
    I think you're probably correct, but I don't see any evidence that any other party in power would have done anything differently do you?
    Well yes I do.

Ok.

Who have I defamed?
    Freudian Slippers and others attempts to dilute the responsibility here is to be complicit in it IMO.

You called me and others "complicit". I could genuinely let a trainee draft this one up for me it's such an easy one.

Edit: Actually, simply saying I'm attempting to "dilute the responsibility" is pretty bad.

What is shameless about justice for these victims blanch?

They died because nobody in power cared enough.
    I just want to point out that despite the faux outrage and concern, this poster has not once ever posted in the Mothers and baby homes thread.

Not.
    A.
    Single.
    Post.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod:

Can we move on from the usual willy waving contest folks and discuss the topic at hand. There is a seperate thread for the Mother and Baby homes discussion which you can all knock yourselves out in. Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

We are on the FF/FG/Green thread. None of them correspond to your description.

I blamed the exclusionary nationalist and republican viewpoint of the FF party of the 1930s and 1940s for much of what happened. They wanted to create a self-sufficient Catholic little island, they veered differently from an economic perspective once Lemass became Taoiseach, but they never really lost their societal viewpoint of Catholic nationalism which lingered right up until Michael Woods did the disgraceful deal with the Church.

I am very wary of that type of ideology. Nationalism in its various forms, be that fascistic, racist, socialist, or republican is the biggest threat to peace and human rights.

When I said: "rebrands and has a councilor today who admires their fascist roots" I was talking about Fine Gael and Councilor O'Leary.

So if I'm following here, terrorism was okay because it was so long ago therefore FG/FF links to it are fine...but the state being complicit in what the religious orders engaged in is on the republican views of FF/FG at the time but not today, even though we are talking 30/40 years ago and present day with state road blocks put up and a not fit for purpose report. Is that right?

Where do the church/Garda/FF/FG fit in? Are they the fascistic, racist, socialist, or republican?

Who have I defamed?

Like the topic at hand FF/FG are unlikely to open any can of worms puts them in the spotlight.

It would be amusing to see any lawyer to the stars try make some legal case because a person made a valid comment on political parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Great to see the vaccine rollout going so well, one of best in the EU so far and indeed globally. Once we have enough vaccine supply we will start to hopefully see real differences in hospitalizations with this virus.

To add to this post, we are 2nd in the EU currently out of the EU27:

https://twitter.com/redouad/status/1349748336404869123?s=19

To add to this post, we are 2nd in the EU currently out of the EU27:

https://twitter.com/redouad/status/1349748336404869123?s=19

Well done to the healthcare frontliners.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,588 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Necro wrote: »
    Mod:

Can we move on from the usual willy waving contest folks and discuss the topic at hand. There is a seperate thread for the Mother and Baby homes discussion which you can all knock yourselves out in. Thanks

You can sit back and absolve yourself from that criticism,Mary.

No wonder you threw in a thanks.:p

Rest of us have to ‘suck it up’

(No pun intended)

You can sit back and absolve yourself from that criticism,Mary.

No wonder you threw in a thanks.:p

Rest of us have to ‘suck it up’

(No pun intended)

I was thanking the “Willy waving contest” Haven’t laughed so much in some time. There’s little in my life to encourage laughter at the moment!

It's a shame we can't roll out this in some comfort. It is now a race against time and shouldn't be.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,588 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I was thanking the “Willy waving contest” Haven’t laughed so much in some time. There’s little in my life to encourage laughter at the moment!

Sorry to hear that..... lookit.... don’t take things to seriously.

Back on topic now.....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I'm sure if we were slow you would be the first one blaming the government and the HSE.

No mention of them now we're doing well.

All about politics with you lads, never about the good of the country.

I'm sure if we were slow you would be the first one blaming the government and the HSE.

Who's fault would it be if we were slow JJ...the people's probably, not queuing up properly or something something :)

Yet here you are cynically attacking my support for frontline workers to get a political dig in.

Who am I missing, the lad who got 14 million to order substandard machines from China or the ministers who flouted their own regulations or the ministers who took the hump with NPHET or the ones over saw us being worst in the world?

Can I not just commend the frontline workers?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Absolutely agree on that.
    We will get vaccinated hopefully sooner than might have been planned with more vaccination types getting approval.
    Sad that we are where we are now and unfortunately for hundreds if not thousands it will come too late in the day.

Absolutely agree on that.
    We will get vaccinated hopefully sooner than might have been planned with more vaccination types getting approval.
    Sad that we are where we are now and unfortunately for hundreds if not thousands it will come too late in the day.

Agreed. This going well is in everybody's interest.
    The mistakes are hopefully behind us.

Josepha getting foot stuck in mouth again.

https://twitter.com/RobOHanrahan/status/1349780241556926466

Josepha getting foot stuck in mouth again.

https://twitter.com/RobOHanrahan/status/1349780241556926466

Proving that a good education is no guarantee of intelligence.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Interesting. So when you felt the vaccine rollout wasn't going so well, and you made these posts in this thread (a thread about the government), you actually meant it about frontline healthcare workers?
    'Piss up in a brewery' comes to mind.
    Like Brexit, (just you wait) the vaccinations are arriving and they are dithering and talking about 'safety' when we know that's code for 'organising'. Incapable of being organised or prepared.

A bit inconsistent there Bowie.

Interesting. So when you felt the vaccine rollout wasn't going so well, and you made these posts in this thread (a thread about the government), you actually meant it about frontline healthcare workers?

Important use of your time?
    Can you tell me which frontline workers make policy or organise the logistics of importing and purchasing the vaccines or organising the red tape required before vaccines can be used? If you can, I was talking about them.
    Alternatively if you can point to any policy makers who are risking their own health to ensure we get people vaccinated I'll praise them too.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Ya we need to be more like Leo. We pay double European mortgage rates over Bobby Storey :)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

When did sourcing and securing vaccination doses become the responsibility of front line healthcare workers? I thought they could only distribute what was provided to them through govt procurement processes tbh?

Maybe they can use these new powers invested in them to source some of the astrazeneca vaccine before it has been approved by the EU, and start administering it too.

I for one will put more effort into my next clap for them.

Holly Cairns destroying FG Colm Burke on Tonight show. He's floundering around in waffle on the M&B issue

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Floppybits wrote: »
    Is Denis still in the country availing of the tax free exemption for exiles that Leo set up in March, so he could stay here with the better care system?