Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 27,983 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Yeah because the coalition are only dying to throw their jobs and pensions into the wind for the craic?

Get a grip.

Mayyyyybe , if the FG election team felt it was time for a power grab, but doubtful they would bother late next year as Tánaiste Varadker will be getting his go again at the wheel. He will be Taoiseach again next year.

Neither Fianna Fáil or the Greens are in any position to do anything about it.

I am struggling to understand the logic behind the idea that we will have an election within a short period. FG want to be the biggest party, they will sit and wait, they will have the advantage of Leo as Taoiseach in two years time. FF are so far down in the polls that they can't afford an election as they would lose seats. The Greens are in the same position.

The only chance is if there is a policy issue that causes the Greens to walk, but the climate change agenda is wanted by everyone. Even if the Greens did walk, there is a possibility that the government could continue as a minority one with independent support and Green support when it implements the Programme for Government.

Of course there will be crises when manufactured outrage may cause a Minister or two to go or a policy to be changed, but by the time an election is called, the electorate are likely to be weary of the constant whinging and moaning from the opposition parties.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

blanch152 wrote: »
    I am struggling to understand the logic behind the idea that we will have an election within a short period. FG want to be the biggest party, they will sit and wait, they will have the advantage of Leo as Taoiseach in two years time. FF are so far down in the polls that they can't afford an election as they would lose seats. The Greens are in the same position.

The only chance is if there is a policy issue that causes the Greens to walk, but the climate change agenda is wanted by everyone. Even if the Greens did walk, there is a possibility that the government could continue as a minority one with independent support and Green support when it implements the Programme for Government.

Of course there will be crises when manufactured outrage may cause a Minister or two to go or a policy to be changed, but by the time an election is called, the electorate are likely to be weary of the constant whinging and moaning from the opposition parties.

Greens couldn't risk walking, all their seats are borderline and they won't get as many at the next election, certainly Catherine Martin could not risk her seat, Dublin South is the most fickle seat in the country, ask Shane Ross.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Dear blanch.

You seem to have missed these posts/refused to comment on them.

McMurphy wrote: »
    Gavan Reilly is the first journalist I bothered my barney to copy his tweet. Shall I go on?

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1351803059781963776?s=19

https://twitter.com/PearseDoherty/status/1351787381398102016?s=19

You don't know the difference at all it seems as neither Reilly nor Doherty made any comment, they just "retweeted" the Irish times tweet.

Is this really the hill you want to perish on blanch? :D
    McMurphy wrote: »
    It isn't just a "UK website" blanch its the feckin official British Government website, based on you wilfully and blatantly ignoring the source of the website linked to, I have little interest in discussing or even reading the rest of that assumedly long winded load of shyte that surely follows.

Can you show me where the Irish government have said they've refused to cooperate/share data with the UK government, regarding sharing travel info north-south travel because of GDPR, other than you posting it here and presenting it as fact?

No?

Thought not.

Just to put an end to your complete and utter nonsense, you might find this interesting.

Chancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Greens couldn't risk walking, all their seats are borderline and they won't get as many at the next election, certainly Catherine Martin could not risk her seat, Dublin South is the most fickle seat in the country, ask Shane Ross.

Besides they don't have any line they won't cross. Heard nothing from them regarding the report on plastics in Ireland. You would think they'd have an interest. Shown up to be only interested in salaries and pensions IMO.

Bowie wrote: »
    Besides they don't have any line they won't cross. Heard nothing from them regarding the report on plastics in Ireland. You would think they'd have an interest. Shown up to be only interested in salaries and pensions IMO.

What report on plastics in Ireland?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Slightly cynical but I agree overall. Most of the Greens know fine well this could be their chance, if any, to make inroads with their manifesto. They made a hard enough bargain at the coalition's inception, but it may well be that both FG and FF have more elbow room on delivery now since Covid. Time will tell.

The review of the NDP will be key in this regard as to how well the Greens achieve their objectives. Expect more on retrofitting, renewable energy, public transport and cycleways.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Joespha Madigan having to apologise and correct the Dáil record for her use of the word 'normal' last week goes and puts her size 10's in it again this morning with a nasty ill tempered comparison of the Special Schools issue with the Mother and Baby Homes scandal.
    Between her and Foley we are in good hands are we not? Pitting parents against teachers to avoid any responsibility for their own mess. The FG FF government of chaos way.

Madigan is a horrible thugish woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,451 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

How?

An election gets called and people vote.

The FFGG marriage is on the rocks. Once we are all Covid free, an elaction might be called.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

The FFG marriage is on the rocks. Once we are all Covid free, an elaction might be called.

Why? I can see no logical path to an election.

What report on plastics in Ireland?

This here from yesterday;
    Ireland produces most plastic waste per person in EU
    New statistics also show that this country has the fourth-lowest recycling rate of plastics in the European Union

Likely an update on this:
    Currently, Ireland is the worst offender in Europe for plastic packaging per capita, O’Brien points out, at 61kg per person per year compared to a European average of 30kg. Ireland’s 61kg is the equivalent of 25 full bath-loads of squashed plastic wrappers.

I guess the Greens had a look at FG's record on this and thought 'they're the right partners for us!'.

Do you not follow Green issues?

Its true

Not a lie,i know of school outbreaks in 5 counties,in virtually all the 2nd schools in waterford city and 1 in dungarvan

Did a mid-waterford based student,spread covid to 17 of their class mates at a secondary school,while waiting a test result?

How was it covered up?

This here from yesterday;

Likely an update on this:

I guess the Greens had a look at FG's record on this and thought 'they're the right partners for us!'.

Do you not follow Green issues?

So no report on plastics then? Just a link to two newspaper articles behind paywalls.

Why? I can see no logical path to an election.

Turn on Dail live now. The Greens are taking the rap for the repulsive mother and baby home report. The Greens! They have zero legacy with the homes unlike FFG.

It also looks like the track record of chaos will never end. FF are getting destroyed for picking all the wrong cabinet positions and putting poor candidates into them.

The FFG marriage is on the rocks. Once we are all Covid free, an elaction might be called.

Only if FG think they'll win of course. It's not about the country, it's about winning. All the talk of stability on the last albeit unofficial FF/FG government was shown to be complete guff. As is the way with this partnership. Marriage of convenience. Nothing about serving the public good about it.

Turn on Dail live now. The Greens are taking the rap for the repulsive mother and baby home report. The Greens! They have zero legacy with the homes unlike FFG.

And how does that lead to a general election?

All that does is make the Greens more likely to think that they should ride it out for the five years and get the work done.

And how does that lead to a general election?

All that does is make the Greens more likely to think that they should ride it out for the five years and get the work done.

We'll see ;)

Ye said the Bailey saga was a non story and it brought down the government.

Your saying theirs no outbreaks or risk at schools

,govt are saying theres no risk,......why are these outbreaks not notified nightly at the nphet conferences??

Ffg are trying to get people to ignore,what they are seeing with their own eyes happening in their area,for pure and utter polical gain.......

Keep the schools open over summer as the virus will likely be squeezed out by then,forcing schools reopened,with community transmisson rates at level they are is lunacy

Who said there was no outbreaks in schools?

Where there were outbreaks in schools, they were identified, and appropriate action was taken.

There have been outbreaks in hospitals, care homes, garda stations, fire stations, supermarkets, meat factories, and in general, they remain open. Only where there is a public health risk to a particular one, do they close.

So no report on plastics then? Just a link to two newspaper articles behind paywalls.

Certainly was.
    Here you go. This is visible.
    Ireland produces most plastic waste per person in EU
    New statistics also show that this country has the fourth-lowest recycling rate of plastics in the European Union

Ireland is producing the highest volume of plastic waste per person in the EU, while having the fourth worst recycling rate for the material, new European statistics show.

The data, which was released by Eurostat last week, analysed waste generation and recycling rates across 27 EU member states for 2018. Ireland was found to have the highest plastic waste generation at 54 kilos per capita, substantially more than the EU average of 33 kilos per capita.

Did you not look at the linked items? The second one is fully viewable.

Are you actually denying the report exists?

So you don't follow Green issues?
    Odd that the Greens didn't pipe up, but they seem comfortable.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Greens got in on SF transfers, that'll never happen again

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Not near as many as poor teachers!

You have a bee in your bonnet about teachers Maryanne.
    Theres little logic in a nationwide lockdown with schools drawing together the biggest crowd gathering of any type in communities across the country in the same place at this time.
    Surely our nurses and doctors and other frontline workers are hero's. Right down to the lads and lassies keeping our grocery shelves stocked and served and that environment sterile as possible for us to get our needs.
    But trying to say that a gathering of pupils together in a building or classroom for hours a day is a safe environment is ridiculous.
    If this new variant is as bad as they say then it would surely lead to virilant spread.
    Why pick on teachers especially, why not every other closed up business and worker sitting at home?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Why pick on teachers especially, why not every other closed up business and worker sitting at home?

Because that's the narrative set by govt, and that narrative has now to be stuck by, regardless of how obvious it is that it's complete and utter nonsense.

You have a bee in your bonnet about teachers Maryanne.
    Theres little logic in a nationwide lockdown with schools drawing together the biggest crowd gathering of any type in communities across the country in the same place at this time.
    Surely our nurses and doctors and other frontline workers are hero's. Right down to the lads and lassies keeping our grocery shelves stocked and served and that environment sterile as possible for us to get our needs.
    But trying to say that a gathering of pupils together in a building or classroom for hours a day is a safe environment is ridiculous.
    If this new variant is as bad as they say then it would surely lead to virilant spread.

Its maddness.....keep them open over summer,if necessary to make back time

By end march/early april....the virus will be under squeeze,between lockdown & vaccinations.....the tide will turn......

rush in and open up again,will just cause another lockdown....i dont think expodential growth can be outrun by vaccine alone

Certainly was.
    Here you go. This is visible.

Did you not look at the linked items? The second one is fully viewable.

Are you actually denying the report exists?

So you don't follow Green issues?
    Odd that the Greens didn't pipe up, but they seem comfortable.

Both are behind paywalls, the second one is only free if you haven't used up your Irish Times articles for the week.

From the article "The data, which was released by Eurostat last week,", that doesn't mean there is a report. You made a claim, in black and white that there was "the report on plastics in Ireland".

(1) Claim that there was a report on plastics in Ireland
    (2) Claim that there was a Eurostat report
    (3) Close examination of the newspaper article reveals mention of data release by Eurostat
    (4) Still no sign of any report on plastics in Ireland.

You would hardly expect the Greens to comment on a non-existent report or on a routine data dump by Eurostat?

By end march/early april....the virus will be under squeeze,between lockdown & vaccinations.....the tide will turn......

rush in and open up again,will just cause another lockdown....i dont think expodential growth can be outrun by vaccine alone

The teachers won't go in over summer either.

Surely to goodness arrangements could be made to reopen schools for young special needs children and Leaving Cert students. It CAN be done. IF there’s a will to do it. Listening to families with autistic children is heartbreaking. There’s plenty in the media about the wrongs done in baby and mother homes. Yet, nothing thought of the plight of the unfortunate families watching their very vulnerable children lose what few skills they have learned.

Both are behind paywalls, the second one is only free if you haven't used up your Irish Times articles for the week.

From the article "The data, which was released by Eurostat last week,", that doesn't mean there is a report. You made a claim, in black and white that there was "the report on plastics in Ireland".

(1) Claim that there was a report on plastics in Ireland
    (2) Claim that there was a Eurostat report
    (3) Close examination of the newspaper article reveals mention of data release by Eurostat
    (4) Still no sign of any report on plastics in Ireland.

You would hardly expect the Greens to comment on a non-existent report or on a routine data dump by Eurostat?

You are playing silly beggars with wordplay.
    There was a report on plastics in Ireland. I mentioned it. You hadn't seen it. That's okay. The Greens, whose whole gimmick is the environment didn't comment. I remarked on that.

Hope this helps:
    re·port
    /rəˈpôrt/

verb

1. give a spoken or written account of something that one has observed, heard, done, or investigated.

You'd be better off ignoring things if you don't want to comment on them. Treat it like you do a direct question posed to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Listened earlier to Niall Collins FF saying teachers were selective in picking NPHET health advice to suit their needs.
    He was reminded however that this very Govt is also very selective in picking health advice to suit their needs.

People in glass houses....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Surely to goodness arrangements could be made to reopen schools for young special needs children and Leaving Cert students. It CAN be done. IF there’s a will to do it. Listening to families with autistic children is heartbreaking. There’s plenty in the media about the wrongs done in baby and mother homes. Yet, nothing thought of the plight of the unfortunate families watching their very vulnerable children lose what few skills they have learned.

They'd need to be vaccinated, all staff and students

Are you comparing the horror born on women by the Church, FF/FG state and it's institutions to teachers not wanting to risk their lives during a pandemic? Shame on you.