Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 69,312 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The important words are “please stay at home”

People are staying at home, they always have when restrictions are in place. They respond to what the government ask them to do. That is why the curve is flattening. When the government ignored advice and lifted restrictions numbers soared. Fairly simple stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

People are staying at home, they always have when restrictions are in place. They respond to what the government ask them to do. That is why the curve is flattening. When the government ignored advice and lifted restrictions numbers soared. Fairly simple stuff.

Interesting report here too.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/amp/ireland/covid-19-no-outbreaks-in-restaurants-and-pubs-with-majority-in-homes-and-schools-1055289.html

• Registered Users Posts: 27,991 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

smurgen wrote: »
    How in God's name did michael Martin think they dodged a bullet on Covid? Looking at the reports of medical professionals on the front line it seems totally ad odds to what FFG ministers are saying.

https://twitter.com/boland_ronan/status/1353291553272455168?s=19

Another Twitter link with an unrelated throwaway comment.

How are the two different statements from two different people at two different times in two different contexts related?

blanch152 wrote: »

How are the two different statements from two different people at two different times in two different contexts related?

A plea for help is a 'throwaway comment' now? We enter the strange macabre world again.

Some hope of building trust with the north for all ireland solution,when ffg are going about spreading lies about them

https://mobile.twitter.com/newschambers/status/1353448674291032064

A plea for help is a 'throwaway comment' now? We enter the strange macabre world again.

The throwaway comment is the nonsense that the poster attached, but you knew that, and you only responded in order to bait - won’t be going there.

blanch152 wrote:

Yeh, sure, from the guy that debases twitter users whenever it suits him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Yeh, sure, from the guy that debases twitter users whenever it suits him.

You see they can't handle that twitter gives real world experience of actual professionals at the coal face. They want the narrative dictated by paid shills at the Indo and on Newstalk. The likes of Ciara Kelly and Brendan o Connor who don't have a clue what's going on.but will dismiss the concerns of teachers and health care workers.
    Here is the type of thing real work professionals are facing now.

smurgen wrote: »
    You see they can't handle that twitter gives real world experience of actual professionals at the coal face. They want the narrative dictated by paid shills at the Indo and on Newstalk. The likes of Ciara Kelly and Brendan o Connor who don't have a clue what's going on.but will dismiss the concerns of teachers and health care workers.
    Here is the type of thing real work professionals are facing now.

Twitter is real?

Best laugh this year.

Twitter is real?

Best laugh this year.

Tbf,theres some v.good contributors to it,who know,what they are talking about....and the governments half truths and mis info are shattered almost daily

Theres a lot of sh1te and gowlers on it alright,but once you retain any sort of critical thinking skills,ignore the hysterics and willing to see both sides of a discussion,its quite good for casual glance

Between there and reddit,you'll find out anything from experts (as well as high quallity memes and soccer gifs ;) )

Twitter is real?

Best laugh this year.

What was 'unreal' about that tweet? Do you generalise about all media in this way?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

What was 'unreal' about that tweet? Do you generalise about all media in this way?

All the doctors are lying about what's going on while posting on twitter using their actual names and profile picture. An anonymous person on boards told me so!This is Chemical Ali level stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Next question, how does it protect us from the UK?

Are you advocating we close the ROI/NI border Francie?

markodaly wrote: »
    Are you advocating we close the ROI/NI border Francie?

Pointless and won't protect us from outside threat. Get an atlas out and you'll see why.

Then why ask this question?

If it is pointless of course. :P

Then why ask this question?

If it is pointless of course. :P

You do know what an island is?

Part of that island is a part of the UK, so to quote you back...

How indeed Francie? Tell us.

Part of that island is a part of the UK, so to quote you back...

How indeed Francie? Tell us.

The same way as you get involved in a two island protection strategy Mark, you negociate. You answer when Ministers from another jurisdiction contact you and you support those trying to get airports closed in the other jurisdictions. It's not rocket science.

The same way as you get involved in a two island protection strategy Mark, you negociate.

So your answer to the question is exactly what the government are doing (Two Island Strategy) and what you were giving out about when you posted that comment.

Just LOL!

So, to quote you again...

So your answer to the question is exactly what the government are doing (Two Island Strategy) and what you were giving out about when you posted that comment.

Just LOL!

So, to quote you again...

So how does the 'two island strategy' protect us from England Scotland Wales?

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Mod

FrancieBrady and Blanch152, you can both take a week off from this thread. The constant bickering and sniping has got to stop.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,665 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Theres a lot of sh1te and gowlers on it alright,but once you retain any sort of critical thinking skills,ignore the hysterics and willing to see both sides of a discussion,its quite good for casual glance

There is a lot of sh1te and gowlers on here also. Same rules would apply to this place as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

I see the Govt bottled it on foreign travel again and going against NPHET advice at the same time. I wonder if Micheal has the bottle to have a go at the DUP over an All Island Approach. Quanrantine all foreign travellers and close the fecking border to save lives. Prove you deserve to be Taoiseach, Micheal and not just Leos Puppet. We alll know he is quick to have a pop at SF, is it just to score political points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    I see the Govt bottled it on foreign travel again and going against NPHET advice at the same time. I wonder if Micheal has the bottle to have a go at the DUP over an All Island Approach. Quanrantine all foreign travellers and close the fecking border to save lives. Prove you deserve to be Taoiseach, Micheal and not just Leos Puppet. We alll know he is quick to have a pop at SF, is it just to score political points.

Be impossible to close the border. The BA couldn't manage it.
    All Island is the only sensible route. The Airports should be restricted to essential travel and I don't mean someone going to Brussels. Even if the north doesn't follow suit it would help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Gooey Looey

UDAWINNER wrote: »

He won't, because it would mean he would be backing SF in the North against the DUP. Politicking as usual!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Michaél getting forced to correct his stance on getting a dig at the Shinners, tailored for Southern electorate ears inaccurate comments he made about testing in the north.

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1353711200647991296?s=19

I get the sneaky suspicion Michaél just blurted out what someone whispered into his ear to be repeated.

Either way, getting scolded by the creationist party isn't s good look.

McMurphy wrote: »
    Michaél getting forced to correct his stance on getting a dig at the Shinners, aimed at Southern electorate inaccurate comments inaccurate comments he made about testing in the north.

https://twitter.com/gavreilly/status/1353711200647991296?s=19

I get the sneaky suspicion Michaél just blurted out what someone whispered into his ear to be repeated.

Either way, getting scolded by the creationist party isn't s good look.

Kinda stings I'd imagine. We've the DUP defending the SF record up north...if we were ever to believe it's on SF and not 'personal responsibility' of the public as it is in the south :rolleyes:

This really throws a spanner in the FF/FG mantra. They'll need address criticism now.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Another week of chaos in store from the government.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Another week of chaos in store from the government.

Talking about 42 cases from another meat plant on Drive Time.
    As I say, winging it. One would have thought it would be simple enough to learn lessons from the first wave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Gooey Looey

Talking about 42 cases from another meat plant on Drive Time.
    As I say, winging it. One would have thought it would be simple enough to learn lessons from the first wave.

Don't get your hopes up! We had outbreaks in meat factories ......we closed 3 counties and let the factories stay open!