Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 19,596 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Govt trying to make amends for their pre Christmas fcuk now by implementing partial checks, quarantines and lock downs. Increasing cases in abbatoirs etc.
    Glad to hear all the medical experts dismiss this clutching at straws by the three amigos.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/6220021/cases-spike-level-3-mary-lou-mcdonald-covid-shopping/

Four amigos.......quatro

Hmmm

Anything other than take ownership and responsibility for their decisions it seems

Shinners arent in government,this mess is entirely ffg fault......nothing will ever change unless someone can adnit they fcuked up,instead of blaming everyone else

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Letter from May to govt followed by letters in Oct and Dec and still the govt ignore the advice.
    This baby is on FFG only.

Would not bother replying there Mary

I wouldn’t waste time replying to clickbait .

Ah, here. A gals gotta have fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

MLM isn't in govt is she?

Folk keep forgetting, the medical advice was open up or socialise, not both.

Anything other than take ownership and responsibility for their decisions it seems

Shinners arent in government,this mess is entirely ffg fault......nothing will ever change unless someone can adnit they fcuked up,instead of blaming everyone else

MaryLou wanted the populist side of things.

All there lads.....:D

indeed....but she's not in government....i know ffg believe personal responsibility is for mere plebs

But they've made decision to open up,causing our present mess,noone else.

Supported by MaryLou........?

Didn't think Brenner would lower himself to dumping articles from The Sun on here. Thought you frowned on that sort of thing!!!!

Supported by MaryLou........?

By this logic,if mary lou wanted to rename oconnell street into bobby sands avenue,the government would do it

Is it,only in ireland,that the opposition gets the blame for governent actions??....

.yous all made a big dance of the shinners unable to form a government,the attempt to then blame them for government decisions is both illogical and a bit disconserting someone could part company with commonsense to such an extent to think this a plausible line,that the public would buy

Didn't think Brenner would lower himself to dumping articles from The Sun on here. Thought you frowned on that sort of thing!!!!

No... never frown on relevant stuff Fann.Relevant to the discussion.

Just frown on scraping media for something some stult posts and leaving it up there.

A respected poster like yersel wouldn’t argue with that, would they?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Great to see the U turns on this by FFG. Although lamenting the fact that this is off the back of public calls for quarantine rather than the recommendations by CMO from May onwards.

https://twitter.com/Philip_Ryan/status/1354142209705189376?s=19

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

So Stephen Donnelly's goons trying to silence doctors now on Twitter? Colour me surprised. Professor and consultant Dr.Anthony O'Connor closed his twitter account after receiving messages from a FF loyalist and PR man.

"In a Twitter direct message, seen by Independent.ie, public relations consultant Conor Dempsey suggested to Mr O'Connor that people may see him “so stressed” on social media that they “might be concerned” if they were referred to him for treatment."

"He wrote: “I hope it does not offend you, but do you ever wonder if some of the scrapes you get into online undermine your reputation? I mean that in the sense that people may see you as being so stressed, which you are very entitled to be, that they might be concerned if they are then referred to you for treatment?

“I think you are so brave in your advocacy and understandably fraught with all that is going on, but maybe being so active online works against optimizing your clinical role? We need advocates like you to speak, but you are almost too transparent and informative one would wonder if I was referred to a doctor who appeared so distressed."

https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/doctor-quits-twitter-after-pr-consultant-claiming-to-be-close-confidante-of-health-minister-said-he-was-undermining-his-clinical-role-40015811.html?__twitter_impression=true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

smurgen wrote: »
    So Stephen Donnelly's goons trying to silence doctors now on Twitter? Colour me surprised. Professor and consultant Dr.Anthony O'Connor closed his twitter account after receiving messages from a FF loyalist and PR man.

"In a Twitter direct message, seen by Independent.ie, public relations consultant Conor Dempsey suggested to Mr O'Connor that people may see him “so stressed” on social media that they “might be concerned” if they were referred to him for treatment."

"He wrote: “I hope it does not offend you, but do you ever wonder if some of the scrapes you get into online undermine your reputation? I mean that in the sense that people may see you as being so stressed, which you are very entitled to be, that they might be concerned if they are then referred to you for treatment?

“I think you are so brave in your advocacy and understandably fraught with all that is going on, but maybe being so active online works against optimizing your clinical role? We need advocates like you to speak, but you are almost too transparent and informative one would wonder if I was referred to a doctor who appeared so distressed."

https://amp.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/doctor-quits-twitter-after-pr-consultant-claiming-to-be-close-confidante-of-health-minister-said-he-was-undermining-his-clinical-role-40015811.html?__twitter_impression=true

That's a particularly nasty message. The bully should be fired.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

That's a particularly nasty message. The bully should be fired.
    All PR bullshitters should be fired.
    Shouldn't be allowed near politics.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Suckit wrote: »
    All PR bullshitters should be fired.
    Shouldn't be allowed near politics.

So, the doctor looking to be chairperson of the Labour Party isn't a pr Bull****ter?
    OK the tweet wasnt complimentary, but the doctor is obviously a member of a opposition party giving it large against the govt and somebody gives him a bit of stick so he says he will shut up and then says it's because of a govt Pr spinner, shocker that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Gooey Looey

So, the doctor looking to be chairperson of the Labour Party isn't a pr Bull****ter?
    OK the tweet wasnt complimentary, but the doctor is obviously a member of a opposition party giving it large against the govt and somebody gives him a bit of stick so he says he will shut up and then says it's because of a govt Pr spinner, shocker that one.

Par for the course, I would fully expect you to be in support of this kind of nastiness!

What did he say againest the government....he used only outline what was happening at his hospiteal?

So why delete his account if someone just criticises him?
    Sounds like a pr stunt by a politician to me.

Par for the course, I would fully expect you to be in support of this kind of nastiness!

Would you? Good man.
    Sure I must be nasty so.

so infact he didnt say anything againest the government?

Looks to me your blowing smoke mate,let it at that

so infact he didnt say anything againest the government?

Looks to me your blowing smoke mate,let it at that

The report implies he is accusing a pr spin Doctor with ties to the health minister of bullying him, like its the ministers and govt fault he quit twitter.

From the article.
    "Dr O’Connor, who is also running to be the next chairperson of the Labour Party, has been critical of the Government response to Covid-19 and is a contributor on TV and radio discussions on the pandemic".

Looks to.me ffg and their supporters are doing,what yous all accuse shineers of...intimidating people off social media

But sure justify it,away.......bit of me loves to see social media be toxic as fcuk :D

Shinners?

He quit because someone disagreed and questioned his motives and is trying to spin it politically.
    Looking to be chairperson of the Labour Party.

The fact this person is an ffg supporter and previously worked for donnolly is the iceing upon this particular cake.

Sorta proves my point really, thanks.

Correct Bish, roar and shout away and when he gets pushback folds up tent.

Common performance from the ‘opposition’.

Spoofer Donnelly discussing his nefarious pals now on CB live.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Spoofer Donnelly discussing his nefarious pals now on CB live.

One of my favourite politicians , he has more balls than the rest of them put together.

He should be Fianna Fáil leader in the future, top man.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    One of my favourite politicians , he has more balls than the rest of them put together.

I would have agreed with you a few years ago, he was a fairly good opposition TD, before he sold his soul for a ministerial role.

His work on dismantling the PR spin and BS on the Irish water clusterfcuk was good.

Now though, I view him as a bit of a spoofer woefully out of his depth.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,602 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

IAMAMORON wrote: »

I'm a bit surprised he doesn't seem to be in the conversation, if only because other than Jim O'Callaghan, he's the only one they have with a bit of D4 appeal...

McMurphy wrote: »
    I view him as a bit of a spoofer woefully out of his depth.

All senior hurlers get there in the end. :pac:

I actually think he made a good decision by joining a party that can potentially make a difference.

The Dáil is full of idealists who pick up loose disgruntled votes. Independents are destined to sit on the sidelines cranking away getting nothing done. Basically a waste of time. I am not saying they are bad politicians, but they are ineffectual. I think Donnelly recognised that fact and decided to step up, I respect that to be honest.

I don't care what a politician says or does, as long as they believe in what they are doing and are able to deliver on what they are saying.

I'm a bit surprised he doesn't seem to be in the conversation, if only because other than Jim O'Callaghan, he's the only one they have with a bit of D4 appeal...

He is too young yet and still has the "blow in " tag to get off his back.

Also south Dublin / north Wicklow like the same bread and butter. They are a fickle bunch. You don't get party leader until you are making your quota with plenty of spares - in theory anyway.