Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 7,448 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Floppybits wrote: »
    Again what has Northern Ireland got to do with this Country?

Well SF prides itself on being an all Ireland party.

They don't differentiate themselves because of Northern Ireland , so why are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Great interview by Leo with Pat Kenny today. He really put MaryLou back in her box regarding why she wanted a meeting with the Taoiseach. Not Covid. Not Brexit. Not planning to reopen the country. No. She wants someone sacked for an unknown crime. Someone who hasn’t even been approached by the Gardai! Priceless.

"Step aside until the investigation is concluded", would you let an employee accused of stealing look after the takings while an investigation was ongoing?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭golfball37

I would have thought how SF behave is a yardstick FG would aspire to be above not cling to into desperation tbh.
    Charlie Flanagan in 2018 said all cabinet leaking was illegal and unethical. That position has certainly shifted. The unethical is the only consequence I’m interested in. Varadkars style over substance has allowed SF to grow.
    Some legacy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Great interview by Leo with Pat Kenny today. He really put MaryLou back in her box regarding why she wanted a meeting with the Taoiseach. Not Covid. Not Brexit. Not planning to reopen the country. No. She wants someone sacked for an unknown crime. Someone who hasn’t even been approached by the Gardai! Priceless.

Varadkar leaked a confidential government negotiation document to a pal. The Garda are investigating regarding any criminality and Varadkar is a person of interest.
    Most adults can deal with a number of things at once.
    MLMD is doing her job by calling out MM for shrugging off what Varadkar did and not holding him accountable.

Great to be reminded though that Michelle O Neill is under investigation by the PSNI and hasn't been asked to step aside.

The hypocrisy being pointed out was delicious.

Thanks Leo.

Did she leak a confidential government negotiation document to a pal? Can you tell me is she a TD in Offaly or somewhere? Can't find her listed in the FF/FG/Green government nor opposition? :confused:
    You wouldn't be hiding behind shinners again would you? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Think there's a big announcement coming soon, not sure what but expect someone getting position elsewhere,

• Registered Users Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Think there's a big announcement coming soon, not sure what but expect someone getting position elsewhere,

Probably who is interim Social Protection minister?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Michael Martin to become the next AstraZeneca CEO? :D

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

'Martin set to ignore McDonald meeting request over Varadkar position' RTE

First Boris, now the Taoiseach. This man-snubbing is just terrible altogether lads

• Registered Users Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

'Martin set to ignore McDonald meeting request over Varadkar position' RTE

First Boris, now the Taoiseach. This man-snubbing is just terrible altogether lads

They are sensible enough to have copped on to her agenda.

What agenda is that pray tell?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

What agenda is that pray tell?

Try and shift the focus of battling the pandemic and undermining the Govt. to a ‘poll’ for a United Ireland.

That’s how it appears to me, buddy.

Apologies if I have gotten anything wrong:P

A single issue party if there ever was one. Like yer man with the potholes up in Cavan

Try and shift the focus of battling the pandemic and undermining the Govt. to a ‘poll’ for a United Ireland.

That’s how it appears to me, buddy.

Apologies if I have gotten anything wrong:P

Well it appears to me like she is doing what the opposition leader should be doing and calling for the Taoiseach to deal with his Taniste under going a criminal investigation for the leaking of a confidential document or is that you think that this government is should not be opposed or called out for wrong doing?

A single issue party if there ever was one. Like yer man with the potholes up in Cavan

While I disagree, it seems FF/FG/Green are stay in power no matter the issue parties.

They were the only ones willing to go the last time.
    The numbers were there to change given that SF won the election.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,574 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

It was (effectively) a three-way tie, and SF did not have the numbers to form a government without FF or FG

Going on the last few polls it is going to be a 2 way split between FG and SF from now on. It would be good to have other options besides these 2 though. Not much there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

So let me get this straight.
    It is now a precedent that it's perfectly OK for a member of cabinet to leak a confidential document to a friend, then lie about it and change story a half dozen or so times.
    Make a half hearted excuse of an 'apology' to the Dail and brush the whole thing under the carpet.
    Then have a standing-in Minister for Justice come out defending it even though there's an active Garda criminal investigation ongoing?

So the next time a TD ever is under criminal investigation, we can all just roll our eyes and remind ye of Leo, right?

They declared themselves the winners.
    Am I missing something?

“Sinn Féin has won the election. We have won the popular vote,” McDonald said 10th Feb

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

BluePlanet wrote: »
    So let me get this straight.
    It is now a precedent that it's perfectly OK for a member of cabinet to leak a confidential document to a friend, then lie about it and change story a half dozen or so times.
    Make a half hearted excuse of an 'apology' to the Dail and brush the whole thing under the carpet.
    Then have a standing-in Minister for Justice come out defending it even though there's an active Garda criminal investigation ongoing?

So the next time a TD ever is under criminal investigation, we can all just roll our eyes and remind ye of Leo, right?

There are plenty of precedents for TDs and other parliamentarians on this island for being under criminal investigation and not stepping aside. Mary-Lou herself was under criminal investigation by the PSNI and didn't step aside.

Yes, and the Greens should be ashamed of themselves.

The numbers were there if every party including indies wanted to go in together. So realistically, no. We all know this.

Back to my point, being in power seems to be the only issue for FF/FG/Green.

Am I missing something?

“Sinn Féin has won the election. We have won the popular vote,” McDonald said 10th Feb

Yes. You are confusing forming a government with getting the most votes.

Fine Gael gave Sinn Fein every chance to form a government with other parties.

It was only when it was clear that Sinn Fein were a complete failure at forming a government that Fine Gael entered talks and stepped up to the plate.

blanch152 wrote: »
    There are plenty of precedents for TDs and other parliamentarians on this island for being under criminal investigation and not stepping aside. Mary-Lou herself was under criminal investigation by the PSNI and didn't step aside.

No comparison.
    Varadkar admitted guilt.

Fine Gael gave Sinn Fein every chance to form a government with other parties.

It was only when it was clear that Sinn Fein were a complete failure at forming a government that Fine Gael entered talks and stepped up to the plate.

Look at the arrogance of that statement that encapsulates exactly why people are turning away from FG. "Fine Gael gave" since when were FG made supreme leader that they would allow SF this option and that had nothing to do with Varadkar going off in sulk for a few weeks because the electorate didn't give him the result he wanted. Unbelievable arrogance "Fine Geal gave" unbelievable.

Sinn Fein declared victory. Fine Gael said fair enough, we'll go into opposition. Sinn Fein failed miserably to persuade anyone to enter discussions with them. Fine Gael stepped back in reluctantly and came to the country's rescue and formed a government with FF, graciously giving them the Taoiseach position.

Those are the facts, spin them how you like, but anything other than a SF failure is a lie.

Sinn Fein declared victory. Fine Gael said fair enough, we'll go into opposition. Sinn Fein failed miserably to persuade anyone to enter discussions with them. Fine Gael stepped back in reluctantly and came to the country's rescue and formed a government with FF, graciously giving them the Taoiseach position.

Those are the facts, spin them how you like, but anything other than a SF failure is a lie.

It's nothing but arrogance saying what you said Fine Gael gave.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,574 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Am I missing something?

Pointless semantic quibbling. Even if SF had been a few seats clear of FF and FG it wouldn't have changed the fundamental Dail arithmetic: in practice, a government could only be formed through some form of agreement between two out of three from SF, FF and FG, and both FF and FG (the former after a bit of wavering, admittedly) ruled out dealing with SF. So there was nothing SF could do about forming a government.

It's nothing but arrogance saying what you said Fine Gael gave.

You don't like the facts so you accuse those of telling them of arrogance.

Sinn Fein failed after the election to turn a winning hand into a win. It was pathetic. Do a deal with PBP, Greens, Labour and SDs, forcing FF into another confidence and supply was a clear path to government that they were unable to take. Whether that is because they were scared or incompetent is the only question.