Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

McMurphy wrote: »
    Was it a.joint Taoiseach/Tanaiste virtual meeting too?

https://twitter.com/DrHaroldNews/status/1372239900364447744?s=09

Did he shave in the dark?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Well done Norma Foley. After a world of abuse taken, some of it needlessly personal, she has stuck to her task and is delivering a calm and measured re-opening of schools. LC students have opted >90% for the interim measure of CA for themselves. A new Irish language education satellite announced for Dun Dealgan today demonstrates that her Dept is looking beyond the current difficulties.

She even has got herself de-listed from the ASTI Easter conference which is a sure sign of a good Ed Minister in my book. Keep it up

Well done Norma Foley. After a world of abuse taken, some of it needlessly personal, she has stuck to her task and is delivering a calm and measured re-opening of schools. LC students have opted >90% for the interim measure of CA for themselves. A new Irish language education satellite announced for Dun Dealgan today demonstrates that her Dept is looking beyond the current difficulties.

She even has got herself de-listed from the ASTI Easter conference which is a sure sign of a good Ed Minister in my book. Keep it up

Large outbreak in a school in the Northwest last week, not reported ,

The stats of all school cases were publicly discussed today. If you have further information you should submit it to the HSE.

Don't have to, they know

Thats it sorted then.
    Or maybe you want all the schools closed again?

Floppybits wrote: »
    Just been listening to newstalk and the spokesperson for the AGSI was on and was saying that the minster for justice could not them what group Gardai were in to get vaccinated. Which I thought was a but unbelievable, surely gardai would be prioritised. This then led to a text to say that prisoners would be vaccinated before prison officers. Fair play to Newstalk they for some representative for prisons officers and they confirmed that prisoners would be vaccinated in group 9 but when asked for prison officers they couldn't say, similar to the gardai.

Seems this vaccination roll out is a bit of mess and frontline are being ignored.

Perhaps the vaccine implementation group are working in the basis of epidemiological risk rather than some sort of reciprocity scale like you seem to be suggesting they should?

Thats it sorted then.
    Or maybe you want all the schools closed again?

Admit to the f####$# outbreak, telling lies that its community outbreak when its obvious it came from a school, hiding it and causing more cases is not the way to go.

How will FF spin continued coalition with FG when the latter announce their withdrawal of support for the GFA?

Admit to the f####$# outbreak, telling lies that its community outbreak when its obvious it came from a school, hiding it and causing more cases is not the way to go.

Who is lying? Are you qualified to determine the epidemiology of the situation from your sofa?

How will FF spin continued coalition with FG when the latter announce their withdrawal of support for the GFA?

Aldi are selling 30m tinfoil for 99cent this weekend. Should be enough to make a hat for that head of yours

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

?

Aldi are selling 30m tinfoil for 99cent this weekend. Should be enough to make a hat for that head of yours

Just watch or listen to any FGer on any show, they obviously no longer support the Good Friday Agreement, The GFA was FFs biggest achievement and the optics of them coalescing with a party that is anti the agreement

'The GFA is under threat...'
    When you hear that you know its been a bad week for the lads.

Meanwhile, the grown ups will announce positive news on AZ vaccine status today.

QAnon, Irish style.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40246190.html
    Housing Minister Darragh O’Brien signed off on a proposal to ensure councillors would not lose expenses for non-attendance at meetings during the pandemic.

The minister was told councillors were obliged to attend 80% of meetings during a year to receive full payment of their expenses allowance.

The minister subsequently signed an order giving remote meetings the same status in law as those that take place in a physical space.

Well that seems utterly logical. Our politicians have a one-track mind. Well done FFG.

No response from the FFG stalwarts to this expenses lunacy? Thankfully they have an orchard of magical money trees...

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

No response from the FFG stalwarts to this expenses lunacy? Thankfully they have an orchard of magical money trees...

Can you set out your position on that as to why you think it is lunacy?

A councillors base annual salary is about 17k a year and is topped up by allowances of around 6k which is dependent on their attendance at at least 80% of meetings. The legislation needed to be changed to ensure that remote attendance counted towards that threshold.

To begrudge a Councillor on 17k a year their allowances for attending meetings seems a bit off to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

'The GFA is under threat...'
    When you hear that you know its been a bad week for the lads.

Meanwhile, the grown ups will announce positive news on AZ vaccine status today.

Let's sum up where we are currently with complaints about this government

(1) Something about councillor expenses, not really sure what the point it
    (2) Waiting on a garda investigation that is going nowhere
    (3) FG have withdrawn support for the GFA, but nobody anywhere in public life seems to have realised this
    (4) They are hiding information about cases in schools so all our teachers are going to die

Must be the worst government ever :rolleyes:

https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/0318/1204784-living-wage-varadkar/

Great to see the government standing up for those who go out and work for a living.

Important to reward those who work more than those who don't.

Who is lying? Are you qualified to determine the epidemiology of the situation from your sofa?

Know where and who, school asked for permission to close for 2 weeks and were refused,

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    QAnon, Irish style.

Look at .MM face when Biden mentioned the GFA, he was panicking, FG have abandoned the GFA in every thing but name and hes scared to be pulled up on it

You've descended into a world that is clearly devoid of reality. You need to get yourself out of there.

Can you point to any public figure who has confirmed this view of FG abandoning the GFA?

To date, the only party I have seen abandoning the GFA are Sinn Fein with their incessant calls for a border poll when the conditions set out in the GFA haven't been met. They have been called out on this by many sources.

Know where and who, school asked for permission to close for 2 weeks and were refused,

Where and who?

Look at the figures for Buncrana

A secondary school in Ballaghaderreen, Roscommon had a few cases last week but the media ignored them

• Registered Users Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Can you set out your position on that as to why you think it is lunacy?

A councillors base annual salary is about 17k a year and is topped up by allowances of around 6k which is dependent on their attendance at at least 80% of meetings. The legislation needed to be changed to ensure that remote attendance counted towards that threshold.

To begrudge a Councillor on 17k a year their allowances for attending meetings seems a bit off to me.

I see. Did you read the article?

The payment is intended to cover the costs of travel, subsistence, and miscellaneous expenses involved in attending local authority meetings.

So now they get the same expenses when there are zero costs?

Can you imagine that happening in any organisation in the private sector?
    Officials said it was their view that councillors should not be “financially penalised” for circumstances beyond their control, and particularly when acting “in line with the public health advice for the common good”.

Half a million on PUP and the government decide to pay expenses that are not incurred??? Just think about the optics for 1 second.

You folks are even more brainwashed than I thought...you will reap what you sow.
    Fine Gael’s New Politics tackles all of these weaknesses head-on and will restore people’s
    trust in the political process by delivering real, tangible change. The Irish people are rightly
    outraged at the way in which their country has been misgoverned.

Yeah right

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

I see. Did you read the article?

The payment is intended to cover the costs of travel, subsistence, and miscellaneous expenses involved in attending local authority meetings.

So now they get the same expenses when there are zero costs?

Can you imagine that happening in any organisation in the private sector?

Half a million on PUP and the government decide to pay expenses that are not incurred??? Just think about the optics for 1 second.

You folks are even more brainwashed than I thought...you will reap what you sow.

Are you being serious or on the wind up here? You know your argument has become a damp squib once the claims that others are brainwashed start appearing.

Councillors receive an annual salary known as a Representational Payment and also a monthly allowance for attendance at meetings as part of their representational role. The representational payment is €17,060 gross per annum, and the monthly allowance is €5,158.85 per annum, subject to having an attendance record of at least 80%. The law needed to be updated to ensure virtual meetings counted.

Look at the figures for Buncrana

All published. Nobody hiding anything.
    Health and Education authorities implementing the agreed protocol.
    Non story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I'd find that having a genuine stance, however it's the lowest form of politics all designed to attack or damage shinners, with a disregard for any Irish people not 'their own'. It's plain they are willing to insult the Irish people with a Black and Tan commemoration, a whitewash of the 1916 centenary and cuddling up with the DUP while inviting a racist member to their conference. They use the same PR firm the British Tories use so maybe that plays a roll.
    And yes they'll speak like the GFA never happened when it suits, which is disgraceful, FF not much better. The Greens napping on the fringes.