Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I love the way you come in with the extra spin.
    An appointment on what board might that be, the now defunct nagp or perhaps the IMO?
    Last I heard it was the nagp he sent the documents to?

So you want me to tell you what form of unprovable kick back Leo might get? We have standards to protect both the taxpayer and any politician. Leo's own fault for being in this position.

No spin. Facts gleaned from the RTE news and an interview with a Maynooth Professor specialises in labour negotiations/relations.

You heard wrong.

Quick to call bare facts spin. Must be tough times over in the FG what's app group.
    blanch152 wrote: »
    Explain the bit in bold to me please.

What do you mean that they are not supposed to lobby their membership to vote one way or another?

I have been a member of three trade unions during my lifetime. Each of them have on occasions advised me what was the best way to vote on something.

The rest of your post about Leo getting personal advantage is drivel.

RTE news with Dobbo. GP's are Private contractors. You might not like my comment but you're basically asking me to repeat it.

The idea that a gaffe prone FG TD with a reputation for having a childish temperament, lack of empathy and talking out of school might have taken advantage of his position in sending confidential info to his pal...is seemingly what he done did.
    Leo engaged in cronyism. Why is unclear.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Bowie wrote: »
    So you want me to tell you what form of unprovable kick back Leo might get? We have standards to protect both the taxpayer and any politician. Leo's own fault for being in this position.

No spin. Facts gleaned from the RTE news and an interview with a Maynooth Professor specialises in labour negotiations/relations.

You heard wrong.

Quick to call bare facts spin. Must be tough times over in the FG what's app group.

Spin yes. What else?
    Bull**** maybe would be a better word as you said yourself, a comment of a kickback of a seat on a board somewhere, well where or with or by whom.
    Most of your post i responded to was OK.
    Bu you invented an imaginary future post, that's not fact, that's inventive thought and malicious too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

Spin yes. What else?
    Bull**** maybe would be a better word as you said yourself, a comment of a kickback of a seat on a board somewhere, well where or with or by whom.
    Bu you invented an imaginary future post, that's not fact, that's inventive thought and malicious too.
    Opinions stated as facts. Posting in that way for years.

tobsey wrote: »

If he wanted something to work on that might have a bearing on Leo's gaffe he could have waited for something out of the news.
    This could have a bearing on his, decision to pass on the contract, at least it makes more sense than what Bowie was on about.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/doctors-union-threatened-to-campaign-against-fine-gael-two-months-before-varadkar-leak-39699541.html

Spin yes. What else?

Well take it up with Dobbo and the Professor Bish. Or is RTE Twitter now?

The statement Blanch made was Leo didn't do it for personal gain. I merely pointed out that would be hard to prove. Calm yourself. I never said he got something. If he did or does we'll likely never know. The point of checks and balances is that some innocent ****wit, possibly like Leo, doesn't stray onto the moors. Benefit of the doubt given of course ;)
    tobsey wrote: »

Are you talking to youself? You roll out such claims every few months then crawl away when asked to back them up :)
    If english isn't your first language, apologies.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,184 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Excuse of the day - Simon Coveney: The Tanaiste as Taoiseach shared a confidential document confidentially.

If he wanted something to work on that might have a bearing on Leo's gaffe he could have waited for something out of the news.
    This could have a bearing on his, decision to pass on the contract, at least it makes more sense than what Bowie was on about.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/doctors-union-threatened-to-campaign-against-fine-gael-two-months-before-varadkar-leak-39699541.html

'Gaffe' now is it? Him giving his pal insider info...my word. FG will excuse and dismiss away anything, TBF, Youse have been doing it with record breaking homelessness and housing for several years....

Gaffe, yes.
    So far that's what we have, it may turn out to be more, if it does then it does.
    I'm no fan of Leo, but m not yet up to pointing to anything other than gaffe.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

You have invented inside your mind all sorts of possible outcomes of Leo personally benefiting from this and posted them as facts. Complete nonsense to everyone else, but I am sure that you believe you have found the holy grail.

Fair play to your imagination, no matter how twisted it might be.

Well take it up with Dobbo and the Professor Bish. Or is RTE Twitter now?

The statement Blanch made was Leo didn't do it for personal gain. I merely pointed out that would be hard to prove. Calm yourself. I never said he got something. If he did or does we'll likely never know. The point of checks and balances is that some innocent ****wit, possibly like Leo, doesn't stray onto the moors. Benefit of the doubt given of course ;)

Are you talking to youself? You roll out such claims every few months then crawl away when asked to back them up :)
    If english isn't your first language, apologies.

In your mind, I have to prove Leo's innocence about an unknown future event. However, if I was to suggest that Gerry Adams was in the IRA, despite numerous concrete statements from numerous people who would have known him, that he was, you would rely on a court never convicting him as proof of innocence. Would you get off the stage with your silliness.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Gaffe, yes.
    So far that's what we have, it may turn out to be more, if it does then it does.

A gaffe is an unintentional mistake. Leo accidentally sent the document by courier to MOT?

Gaffe my arse. :D

IMG-20201103-093009.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Nobotty

McMurphy wrote: »
    A gaffe is an unintentional mistake. Leo accidentally sent the document by courier to MOT?

Gaffe my arse. :D

IMG-20201103-093009.jpg

Well I think he might be arguing that Vradakar didn't intend this fuss over it
    In that sense it was unintended :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Gaffe, yes.

'No fan of Leo.'

ROTFLMAO

• Registered Users Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭Floppybits

As the FG Leader prepares to defend his actions in the Dail this afternoon back at FG HQ Richard Bruton is baking scones. :)

https://twitter.com/FineGael/status/1323550485115072512

Floppybits wrote: »
    As the FG Leader prepares to defend his actions in the Dail this afternoon back at FG HQ Richard Bruton is baking scones. :)

https://twitter.com/FineGael/status/1323550485115072512

:D:D

https://twitter.com/RocheEamon/status/1323579224972791808

Fann Linn wrote: »
    'No fan of Leo.'

ROTFLMAO

LOL, it's true though.
    Dilligaf.

Gaffe, yes.

He passed on confidential documents to his pal. We know this. let's concentrate on that alone.
    That's not a 'gaffe'. That's cronyism. That's breaking protocol. That's putting trust in government during negotiations into question. These are the facts we know.
    You have invented inside your mind all sorts of possible outcomes of Leo personally benefiting from this and posted them as facts. Complete nonsense to everyone else, but I am sure that you believe you have found the holy grail.

Fair play to your imagination, no matter how twisted it might be.

Your usual brand of made up ****e talk.
    You stated he did not do it for personal gain. That's made up, you don't know.
    I said if he did gain from it we would likely never know as it would be hard to prove/show.
    That's it.
    Now you are making up claims based on nothing to once again personalise things and attack people looking to discuss the latest FF/FG/Green **** up.

In your mind, I have to prove Leo's innocence about an unknown future event. However, if I was to suggest that Gerry Adams was in the IRA, despite numerous concrete statements from numerous people who would have known him, that he was, you would rely on a court never convicting him as proof of innocence. Would you get off the stage with your silliness.

Not at all. You're making stuff up to get annoyed about, just to personalise and attack. You are being dishonest again.
    I think Gerry was in the 'RA. Now what? Can we get back to Leo?
    You said Varadkar didn't do it for personal gain. That's a statement of fact based on nothing more than your PR for FG.
    I said if he had or did it would be hard to prove. That's it.
    Cut out the lies and try have an honest chat comrade ;)

He passed on confidential documents to his pal. We know this. let's concentrate on that alone.
    That's not a 'gaffe'. That's cronyism. That's breaking protocol. That's putting trust in government during negotiations into question. These are the facts we know.

Your usual brand of made up ****e talk.
    You stated he did not do it for personal gain. That's made up, you don't know.
    I said if he did gain from it we would likely never know as it would be hard to prove/show.
    That's it.
    Now you are making up claims based on nothing to once again personalise things and attack people looking to discuss the latest FF/FG/Green **** up.

If Mary-Lou became leader of SF for personal gain, that would be terrible. If Bowie posted on boards.ie for personal gain, that would be terrible. You see you can say that without any evidence about anything, just throwing slurs about.

It is different when there is some evidence, e.g. money going into a personal account instead of a party account for example, as we saw last week. That is evidence. You can put forward a reasonable case of wrongdoing when you have at least some evidence.

If Mary-Lou became leader of SF for personal gain, that would be terrible. If Bowie posted on boards.ie for personal gain, that would be terrible. You see you can say that without any evidence about anything, just throwing slurs about.

It is different when there is some evidence, e.g. money going into a personal account instead of a party account for example, as we saw last week. That is evidence. You can put forward a reasonable case of wrongdoing when you have at least some evidence.

Surely we then need an investigation of whether or not he personally gained?

Why? I explained in simple terms in the last post, but there is no evidence of any criminal wrongdoing, there is no prima facie case, there is nothing.

In another case, where we had strange money actually going into a personal account only last week, you know, some real evidence, you actually said there was nothing to investigate.

Why? I explained in simple terms in the last post, but there is no evidence of any criminal wrongdoing, there is no prima facie case, there is nothing.

In another case, where we had strange money actually going into a personal account only last week, you know, some real evidence, you actually said there was nothing to investigate.

Have you jumped the gun here yet again? A criminal complaint has been made to the Gardai.

*Where did I say there was 'nothing' to investigate in the other case? I have at all times placed the responsibility for investigating these things where it belongs. With the various Revenue services and the police forces. I have even asked you if you have any criticisms of these for not investigating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Nobotty

Both issues are being blown out of proportion IMO for political football as I see it atm
    Especially the SF resignations
    They shouldn't have happened over a clerical error
    But SF decided to not allow the distraction
    Hopefully when its investigated, they can come back

On Vradakar, I don't think the document is classified top secret or subject to cabinet confidentiality so the criminal complaint is just an extension of the village campaign ,they were bound to do that
    Vradakar has a number of things to put to bed tonight though other than just the legal issue

So Gerry didn't work, throw in Mary Lou? Pathetic.
    Doubling down on your making up stuff to give out about.
    Never said Leo did it for personal gain. However you stated he did not. I said it would be hard to prove if he did. Very clear and simple.

Why do you bother quoting people when you make up your own idea of what you pretend the comments state, to have a go and divert? Very dishonest and transparent.

He put himself in a position where he acted inappropriately. We should find out why? Is he an idiot? Is he ego driven? Is he crooked? It's at least one, maybe two, possibly three.
    You might be more than happy to accept what he says, but due diligence on behalf of the public should be carried out.

At the moment it looks this thread has a few more years in it. Opposition have landed zero blows on Varadkar, just striving to see who can be the most apoplectic for the nine o'clock news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Solutionking

At the moment it looks this thread has a few more years in it. Opposition have landed zero blows on Varadkar, just striving to see who can be the most apoplectic for the nine o'clock news.

Oh he is in trouble, big big trouble. Pearse doesn't accept it.

What did you expect? Played out pretty much as I expected. FG don't do accountability.
    Be interesting if the legalities are being looked at.

What did you expect? Played out pretty much as I expected. FG don't do accountability.
    Be interesting if the legalities are being looked at.

Toibin nailing it. The precedent for this behaviour is being set. The man is more important than principles.