Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tesla Model 3 - V3.0

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭mouthful

s8n wrote: »
    anyone have a problem with reverse cameras loading slow or not loading at all (black screen) since the upgrade

No

• Registered Users Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭Kramer

s8n wrote: »
    anyone have a problem with reverse cameras loading slow or not loading at all (black screen) since the upgrade

I've had that issue intermittently, before this upgrade.

My problem with this upgrade is WTF is wrong with Tesla? :confused:
    How can I revert it back (you can't).

Almost half the screen now occupied by useless blank space, with the map area reduced. The PDNR icons barely visible & worst of all, the speed indicator shrunk to the point it needs one's eyes to refocus to read it.

I wouldn't be surprised if some future update removes the speed indicator entirely - it'll be unnecessary as the car will read the posted speed limit signs & drive within those limits.

It's mind bending that anyone, let alone a software designer, would think reducing the size of the speed indicator, was a good idea.
    It'll certainly be reverted on safety grounds alone, IMO.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Yeah, having been for another drive today, I hate the new display.

I hate that it’s so big now yet the speed indicator is so much smaller and harder to see (you need a tiny bit more time to locate it now among all the other crap beside it, whereas previously is was the dominant bolder number on the screen.

I hate that the power/regen bar has changed position and gotten smaller.

I hate that the battery is no longer green but grey.

Musk said on Twitter that soon enough we’ll be able to change it, so I’d imagine a lot of folks will simply revert it to what it was before...

Kramer wrote: »
    I've had that issue intermittently, before this upgrade.

My problem with this upgrade is WTF is wrong with Tesla? :confused:
    How can I revert it back (you can't).

Almost half the screen now occupied by useless blank space, with the map area reduced. The PDNR icons barely visible & worst of all, the speed indicator shrunk to the point it needs one's eyes to refocus to read it.

I wouldn't be surprised if some future update removes the speed indicator entirely - it'll be unnecessary as the car will read the posted speed limit signs & drive within those limits.

It's mind bending that anyone, let alone a software designer, would think reducing the size of the speed indicator, was a good idea.
    It'll certainly be reverted on safety grounds alone, IMO.

You do know you are not obliged to take the free software updates if you are resistant to change.

It might be wiser for you not to update until you have reviewed other perspectives of the upgrade to see if it is a good fit for you. If it is not then do not update this will make your life less stressful

mouthful wrote: »
    You do know you are not obliged to take the free software updates if you are resistant to change.

It might be wiser for you not to update until you have reviewed other perspectives of the upgrade to see if it is a good fit for you. If it is not then do not update this will make your life less stressful

That’s all well and good until crucial safety/security features are included in the updates..

Why would you think an early adopter is "resistant to change"?
    That's an oxymoron :P.

I thrive on stress :D.

So, do you have a Model 3? If you do, are you happy with this "upgrade"?
    I'm off to Specsavers tomorrow for some bifocals - might help anyway.

The only justification I've seen so far for this is that it's in preparation for the real upgrade, coming soon, V11.
    Elon, all but admitting it's a mistake, apparently has said you'll be able to fix it yourself, again soon, when he releases the next upgrade :eek:.

Kramer wrote: »
    Why would you think an early adopter is "resistant to change"?
    That's an oxymoron :P.

I thrive on stress :D.

So, do you have a Model 3? If you do, are you happy with this "upgrade"?
    I'm off to Specsavers tomorrow for some bifocals - might help anyway.

The only justification I've seen so far for this is that it's in preparation for the real upgrade, coming soon, V11.
    Elon, all but admitting it's a mistake, apparently has said you'll be able to fix it yourself, again soon, when he releases the next upgrade :eek:.

Yes I have the model 3 and I like the changes, thankfully I am wise enough to check out the free updates before I download them so I do not have to come on Boards to whinge about them.

I love the new visual of the car and as I have FSW I am looking forward to even more details in the near future.

If your eyesight is so poor I think it is wise for you to visit a specialist, I would be cautious about driving until you do.

Yes I have the model 3 and I like the changes

You'll be in the minority so :(.
    thankfully I am wise enough to check out the free updates before I download them so I do not have to come on Boards to whinge about them.

Hey, don't knock it till you've tried it :pac:.
    If your eyesight is so poor I think it is wise for you to visit a specialist, I would be cautious about driving until you do.

I don't drive it. Why would I? It drives itself. It's a Tesla & it has FULL Self driving :P.

Do you take every critique or criticism of Tesla, personally? I don't - perhaps that's not wise though.

We don't even get the outside fart noises in this upgrade, I'm disappointed :(.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭jordan191

Yes I have the model 3 and I like the changes, thankfully I am wise enough to check out the free updates before I download them so I do not have to come on Boards to whinge about them.

I love the new visual of the car and as I have FSW I am looking forward to even more details in the near future.

Part 2 of the holiday update is being released in the next few weeks so I'd say hold tight lads and see how it all works together

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭jusmeig

Chillax lads, one man's upgrade is another man's hand grenade :D

I do like the car/animations when the door open/close, but from a practical perspective I can understand the frustrations above.
    I too watch a few youtube videos before I upgrade, but in relation to this upgrade I think it's probably more about what is coming after this update.

The FSD interface is far more complex, it tracks EVERYTHING. So I suspect the extra space is to cater for the fact that that will get far more advanced/busier.

I would say the speed getting smaller is a non issue for most, but I would actually prefer it a bit bigger.
    It is closer to your eyeline now tho, pushed to the right.
    All the other icons I never really paid too much attention too.
    I've started using the voice commands for about 90% of what I do, so the UI changing is not really bothering me.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Dozz wrote: »
    Does anyone know if there is an external speaker on the newer models? I thought it was an EU requirement for the car to emit a sound at lower speeds as a pedestrian warning?
    Am seeing online that newer models in the UK don't have them.

Still not on the 2021 model.

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭Dozz

jhegarty wrote: »
    Still not on the 2021 model.

From what I've read it is compulsory from July 2021

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

Tesla Model 3 2019

< 50km, € 39,822. Seems like a good price.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,967 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

€46,512 now

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. EDDI, hot water cylinder, roof rails...

Public Profile active ads for slave1 (adverts.ie)

slave1 wrote: »
    €46,512 now

No, the link is no longer valid. I posted on the facebook forum and some guy put down a deposit straight away. We'll see if it was legit.

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭JOHNNYBEGOOD 123

How do you find the SR+ RWD in icy roads.

I lost the rear end twice this morning, great craic...

How do you find the SR+ RWD in icy roads.

I lost the rear end twice this morning, great craic...

I’ve felt it going a few times in cold (but not icy) weather, but no more than my BMW would do in the same conditions.

Easing off gets it going in the right direction again...

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭finneys13

Only ever felt my SR+ slide once, on a wet muddy road on a bend. No problems this morning, went the "main roads route" though

Got my tyres rotated just before Christmas, that should be helping

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭JOHNNYBEGOOD 123

Second time I lost the rear end the steering locked up for a split second. Does it autosteer if you are losing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 430 ✭✭Geeyfds53573

Slaanesh wrote: »
    Tesla Model 3 2019

< 50km, € 39,822. Seems like a good price.

Saw it last night good deal thought it might be snapped up. I haven’t seen any online near that price and certainly not with little or no mileage

Turns out it's a car they had been using to salvage parts for other cars that they didn't have in stock.

Looks like it will also be registered as a 211 reg. If the guy who ordered it can get a more or less new SR+ with full warranty for 39K, fair dues!

• Registered Users Posts: 430 ✭✭Geeyfds53573

Slaanesh wrote: »
    Turns out it's a car they had been using to salvage parts for other cars that they didn't have in stock.

Looks like it will also be registered as a 211 reg. If the guy who ordered it can get a more or less new SR+ with full warranty for 39K, fair dues!

Hmmm interesting great deal so.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭Aph2016

Anyone bought a carbon fibre dash cover?

• Registered Users Posts: 6 dcn90

Been following this thread for a while now and has been very helpful. Just regarding the estimated trade-in value.. I sent a requested estimate for a 201 Kona Electric with 20,000km. They came back with a €15k offer. I knew and heard before that the offers would be lower than expected.. but that sure was a surprise!

I always knew I’d get more for selling privately but thought I’d check because if it was a couple of grand off then I would probably consider going with it to avoid the hassle. Offering trade in prices like that for cars with such price tags would surely put people off who aren’t interested in selling privately. Walk into any other dealer and they would easily offer double what Tesla did, and would still make 5/6k on it.

Am just wondering if it is possible to reject the car on the day of delivery if you are unhappy with build quality issues etc?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭jusmeig

Dozz wrote: »
    Am just wondering if it is possible to reject the car on the day of delivery if you are unhappy with build quality issues etc?

You can, you don't have to buy any car you are not happy with.
    They will likely assign you another VIN/car from inventory if there is one, but id not hold my breath.

Asked in a different thread but does anyone know if the Model 3 is now coming in from Shanghai to Ireland or from the US?

Would hope to receive the Chinese made version in February/March. Ordered in December.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Aph2016 wrote: »
    Asked in a different thread but does anyone know if the Model 3 is now coming in from Shanghai to Ireland or from the US?

Would hope to receive the Chinese made version in February/March. Ordered in December.

The last bunch came from the US. No one knows one the next batch.

Aph2016 wrote: »

I thought they would be coming from Freemont

Well that's disappointing.