Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭eggy81

This should be considered attempted murder or at the very least societal endangerment. The virus has been with us since March, there is no excuse for such behaviour.

Attempted murder? Time to switch off the computer.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,357 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

This should be considered attempted murder or at the very least societal endangerment. The virus has been with us since March, there is no excuse for such behaviour.

you must be a quivering wreck with this covid business

hang on there Maximillian Robespierre!! then shouldn't someone who fails a road side drink driving test be a potential murderer too?? or someone who allows their dog off leash in a public place maybe??

get a grip will ye and put your pitchfork down.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

ronin88 wrote: »
    Level 4 yes, level 5 no.

The GAA and IRFU will stand to lose a considerable amount if they don’t go ahead. Both would have a lot of influence over government so I’d expect even if we hit a harsh Level 5, both will be allowed to continue.

An absolute joke tbh. You cannot use the "stand to lose a considerable amount" . argument here. 75% of the country are losing considerable amounts, many losing it all. Businesses gone to the wall, any clinging on to any sort of hope will have that killed this evening, especially when the whole country panic buys Christmas from amazon.

GAA excuses like 'lifeline of a community', etc, don't hold water. Every other social outlet in the country is closed as well, don't see why certain bodies with influence should have any sort of persuasion.

It's a pandemic, this whole 'not fair' crap is tiring. Yes, it's not fair. If it's serious enough that all but essential retail is closed, then the GAA can shut up shop too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

It's such a shame that all internet comment on everything tends to extremes. One eejit encourages the childer to mix outside despite every single recommendation telling people to reduce social contact and the other wants people done for attempted murder.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Six weeks at Level 4 would cost about €1bn, with 115,000 job losses

Balancing the protection of lives and livelihoods is Government’s toughest task

"Six weeks on Level 4 would cost an estimated €1 billion in support costs (on top of the €21.5 billion deficit already left by the pandemic). This amounts to €414 million more than under the current restrictions. Four weeks would cost about €800 million, or €276 million more.

The additional cost of pandemic unemployment payment from putting an estimated 115,000 more people out of work under Level 4 closures amounts to about €39 million per week, based on analysis for the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform for last week’s budget."

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/six-weeks-at-level-4-would-cost-about-1bn-with-115-000-job-losses-1.4384461

Staggering costs even before you factor in the societal damage all the new restrictions will cause

I really hope it will be worth it

• Registered Users Posts: 38 ronin88

An absolute joke tbh. You cannot use the "stand to lose a considerable amount" . argument here. 75% of the country are losing considerable amounts, many losing it all. Businesses gone to the wall, any clinging on to any sort of hope will have that killed this evening, especially when the whole country panic buys Christmas from amazon.

GAA excuses like 'lifeline of a community', etc, don't hold water. Every other social outlet in the country is closed as well, don't see why certain bodies with influence should have any sort of persuasion.

It's a pandemic, this whole 'not fair' crap is tiring. Yes, it's not fair. If it's serious enough that all but essential retail is closed, then the GAA can shut up shop too.

I agree. I don’t think they should continue. But they will as they’ll claim they can do it safety and that people need it to get them through the winter months. I have two nephews on our own inter county team and they use a temperature gun, they don’t record players temperatures, they just quickly take them before training.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭Nermal

seamus wrote: »
    Last lockdown was very different. Everyone was convinced there was deadly infection on the loose that would randomly strike 1 in 20 people dead.

Not everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

Big GAA fans in our house but it needs to stop now. The Teams cannot go into a bubble like some other sports.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

I've never known half the country to sit down at the weekend to watch non essential retail on the television though. People physically have to be in shops, whereas you could have a million people watching the All Ireland final with only 30 people actually in contact.

I think the argument for the GAA and elite sport generally is that it will give people locked up at home something they can enjoy. It's all a bit bleak tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Where’s everyone heading away for the day for the bank holiday? Or a few day trips. Great chance to get out to the sea side.

Turn off your radio in the car and don’t listen to anything RTE and it’ll be a much needed, beneficial switch off. Bliss.

or maybe just follow the regulations for a few weeks and dont be that dick(unless the seaside is within 10k of your house and social distance

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

It's such a shame that all internet comment on everything tends to extremes. One eejit encourages the childer to mix outside despite every single recommendation telling people to reduce social contact and the other wants people done for attempted murder.

It’s a deadly virus — it’s the reason we’ve had to shut down our economy and rely on social distancing. I’m sorry, but if you’ve been tested for covid and are suspected of having it and go out socialising anyway, who knows how many people you’re going to come into contact with who may be vulnerable or elderly? And even if you only come into contact with regular people, they could still suffer long term effects that will decrease their quality of life substantially. In Irish Criminal Law there is a charge of recklessness, that’s exactly what this is and it could easily lead to someone’s death.

I’m not succumbing to hyperbole, I’m being pragmatic. This “sure look be grand” attitude that some posters seem to have is what’s gotten us into this mess in the first place.

bennyl10 wrote: »
    or maybe just follow the regulations for a few weeks and dont be that dick(unless the seaside is within 10k of your house and social distance

Their cough might be softened soon enough anyway: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/coronavirus-new-fines-for-not-wearing-face-masks-and-non-essential-journeys-by-end-of-the-month-1.4377745

Heard mention of this on the wireless again this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

I've never known half the country to sit down at the weekend to watch non essential retail on the television though. People physically have to be in shops, whereas you could have a million people watching the All Ireland final with only 30 people actually in contact.

I think the argument for the GAA and elite sport generally is that it will give people locked up at home something they can enjoy. It's all a bit bleak tbh

Perhaps I'm misinterpreting? Are they talking about only inter-county without spectators present? To me that actually makes some sense

It’s a deadly virus — it’s the reason we’ve had to shut down our economy and rely on social distancing. I’m sorry, but if you’ve been tested for covid and are suspected of having it and go out socialising anyway, who knows how many people you’re going to come into contact with who may be vulnerable or elderly? And even if you only come into contact with regular people, they could still suffer long term effects that will decrease their quality of life substantially. In Irish Criminal Law there is a charge of recklessness, that’s exactly what this is and it could easily lead to someone’s death.

I’m not succumbing to hyperbole, I’m being pragmatic. This “sure look be grand” attitude that some posters seem to have is what’s gotten us into this mess in the first place.

Recklessness =/= attempted murder.

The mention of attempted murder was exactly hyperbole.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Just so we're all clear, this is what you're getting excited about, Seamus.
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=529789&stc=1&d=1603100410
    "Excited" wouldn't be word I'd use Tony.

The simple fact is that this surge, like all others for all infections, will follow a bell curve.

We won't go from 1,200 cases today to 50 tomorrow. It will rise, then peak.

It has very clearly been rising for a few weeks now.

So I can choose to either shriek about that and get myself into a tizzy, or I can watch the numbers looking for any positive indications that we're nearing a peak.

Even if this is the peak, we will continue to see 1,000+ new cases for at least a week. But that's already done, there's feck all we can do to change that now. So I'm not going to dive into doommongering over it and dismissing people who dare to suggest that the sky isn't falling.

The only thing I care about it's whether it's getting even worse than it already is.

And based on the last seven days of data, there's a good possibility that a peak is forming. Which would correlate strongly with the imposition of level 3 restrictions.

This will still get worse before it gets better. And if we haven't peaked, then so be it.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,006 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

"Lockdown" is a gigantic pain in the hole, made that much easier by having some sort of sports to look forward to.

If the GAA want it so badly, time to spend those millions they have sitting in the accounts.

Opt in system for players who want to put there lives on hold, hotels (plenty of them spare), players and staff get a wage, condense it down.

Get it done, it would be an absolute triumph.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

rob316 wrote: »
    Plenty and my business is retail. The number of people wearing masks without a legit exemption is absolutely tiny, not enough to make a difference. But you will pick the negative not the more than vast majority that are wearing masks.

It's the ones that aren't wearing masks that are going to put you out of business. Nobody said the majority don't wear masks. That's just stupid.

Go into Penney's, about 10% of people don't bother with a mask or wear it under their chin. I always see staff with no mask on neither. If retail actually enforced a mask wearing policy this year then maybe they wouldn't be getting shut down tomorrow. It's their own fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

Their cough might be softened soon enough anyway: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/coronavirus-new-fines-for-not-wearing-face-masks-and-non-essential-journeys-by-end-of-the-month-1.4377745

Its odd that non essential journeys and mask wearing is fine worthy but non adherence to quarantine guidelines is not.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

ronin88 wrote: »
    I agree. I don’t think they should continue. But they will as they’ll claim they can do it safety and that people need it to get them through the winter months. I have two nephews on our own inter county team and they use a temperature gun, they don’t record players temperatures, they just quickly take them before training.

It's not just the logistics of managing the games. It's the general public effect - people watching games in each other's houses, celebrating wins. What happens when a match is won, will people be content to raise a cup of tea in their own individual locations, to mark the occasion?

Perhaps I'm misinterpreting? Are they talking about only inter-county without spectators present? To me that actually makes some sense

Yes it would be county only with no fans. It won't be an issue until team A win a provincial or the All Ireland and there's celebrations.

That's what sank the club season. Everything was fine and minimal cases from games/training. Then teams started winning county titles and having flagrantly non compliant celebrations and it spread like wildfire.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,012 ✭✭✭eggy81

There shouldn't be any non essential journey element imo. Fines for not obeying the mask and social distancing regs and that if applied effectively should reduce the need for restrictions on travel around the country. If fines for non essential journeys come in will they be only at level 4 or 5 for example

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 192 ✭✭Deshawn

Some people would only love that.

Sure we’ll take the bank holiday anyway ;) then take it as it comes after that.

It’ll more than likely be all talk like it was before, a big song and dance making themselves seem at checkpoints the first week or two; then reality kicks in and they don’t have the money or resources for it

Print yourself out a hospital appointment letter. Itl be your passport to travel wide and far

bennyl10 wrote: »

What's your definition of a few weeks?

• Registered Users Posts: 45,626 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

How can they fine someone for breaching an advisory guideline?

If it isn't illegal, what are the grounds for a fine?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,456 ✭✭✭✭fits

Anyone else feel a bit sh1te about it all today?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

fits wrote: »

Yup. I can't focus in my college lectures at all.

Yeah the gym was the only reason I was leaving the house and it was great for the head, losing that tonight genuinely hurts.

Yes no spectators

Only players and management teams etc

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yes , you are not alone

I think it's the sense of being in limbo again with the crap communications from the government and the endless leaks

Also feeling very sorry for a friend of mine with two shops who has done everything possible to keep open, but is likely to have to close :(