Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Vicxas wrote: »

No.

There's either a translation problem somewhere there or a misunderstanding. That vaccine has just entered rolling review.

It hasn't completed clinical trials.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

If the hospitals are overwhelmed with covid cases and someone needs treatment for an unrelated matter but can't get it in time, would it still be a case of hysteria

Shut down the world because of what ifs???

• Registered Users Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭Pretzill

What are peoples experiences with Covid outside of restrictions?
    Have you or friends/family for it and how bad was it

I have 12 friends/family/co workers who have had confirmed cases and all of them were grand, all under 60, 8 who had sypmtions described it as a slight cold for 5 and 3 as a bad dose for a few days.

The hysteria around it is ridiculous!

I know someone who died in a nursing home, north of the border, back in the first wave and a couple of people who caught it, one is still ill months later.

Golfman64 wrote: »
    Dublin has gone from 1st to 11th in terms of incidence rate per 100,000 over the last 14 days.

That's well and good, but their incidence rate isn't actually dropping in any meaningful way, it's that other counties are just surging ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,358 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

quartz1 wrote: »
    There's a certain inevitability about the direction Ireland is going in this pandemic ....Reeling in the Years will certainly have a slot for Leo's clip trying to put manners on Dr Holohan.

It might be funny if it weren't for the suffering of so many people at this time.

Or the suffering when we go oybo lockdown again.

Undiagnosed deaths, businesses bust. Families destroyed.

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Str8outtaWuhan

Confirmed: Cabinet agree a ban on all household visits from tomorrow night except on compassionate grounds and essential reasons like childcare @rtenews
    8:13 PM · Oct 14, 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

Pretzill wrote: »
    I know someone who died in a nursing home, north of the border, back in the first wave and a couple of people who caught it, one is still ill months later.

What age is the one who's still Ill?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭prunudo

Pretzill wrote: »
    It annoys me that they can borrow restrictions from a higher level and still call it level 3 _ it gives the impression they don't know what they're doing :(

No impression about it, they don't have a notion what they're at and are making it up as they go along. The 5 level plan that was posted out should have come with blank squares, that way we could fill in the guidelines with pencil as they changed and rub them out when necessary.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Or that their close contacts are not deemed as such, and they are not testing them!
    In society everyone is being told to get tested and that this is the only way to stamp out / control infection, but not so in the schools.

If they are not testing close contacts in school, despite a poster on here saying some classes have been sent home for testing etc...
    Also if they were not testing close contacts, the positivity rate would be zero.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Shut down the world because of what ifs???

They are big ifs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

quartz1 wrote: »
    There's a certain inevitability about the direction Ireland is going in this pandemic ....Reeling in the Years will certainly have a slot for Leo's clip trying to put manners on Dr Holohan.

It might be funny if it weren't for the suffering of so many people at this time.
    You mean an unelected cabal bouncing an elected government into a level 5 shutdown without any discussion or notice?

The government acted well, they have ratcheted up measures and people know they are likely to be lifted in certain areas.

Going to a national level 5 would have been unretractable..

A base level 3 and upping counties as necessary is the better way and the vast majority of non government haters understand that

Confirmed: Cabinet agree a ban on all household visits from tomorrow night except on compassionate grounds and essential reasons like childcare @rtenews

Eh? Any leeway for single person households?

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭HeyV

Is that NI or here?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Aragh another made up rule with as much grey in it as a winters sky.
    How would the guards enforce that

• Registered Users Posts: 12,507 ✭✭✭✭siblers

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I hope negative again

Were all 6 tests negative?

The covid test was negative.

They did multiple temperature readings, the first one was 38.1 (38 or above is a warning sign)

Did anothter temperature reading 2 minutes later and that was 37.3, took 5 ot 6 more over the next half an hour with proper thermonetners and not the forehead scanners and they were all in the 36 region.

Anaesethist and surgeons were annoyed it was cancelled and pushed for it to go ahead but was out of their control. Even rang my doctor to arrange the covid test and she agreed it was a false reading too

Annoying but it's the world we live in so nothing to be done

Hopefully get the all clear for my covid test tomorrow!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,705 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

prunudo wrote: »
    No impression about it, they don't have a notion what they're at and are making it up as they go along. The 5 level plan that was posted out should have come with blank squares, that way we could fill in the guidelines with pencil as they changed and rub them out when necessary.
    In fairness a lot of countries are making it up as they go along.
    I have a mate in the Netherlands they had a level 1 to level 3...and had to add a level 4 at a later date

• Registered Users Posts: 10,656 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

What are peoples experiences with Covid outside of restrictions?
    Have you or friends/family for it and how bad was it

I have 12 friends/family/co workers who have had confirmed cases and all of them were grand, all under 60, 8 who had sypmtions described it as a slight cold for 5 and 3 as a bad dose for a few days.

The hysteria around it is ridiculous!

Four friends or neighbours had it. Two got it back in March/April. Both severely ill and in ICU. Aged 45 and 50ish. One is back at work and the other is still struggling to get back to her old self.

Two got it in the past month. Both over 75. One has only mild symptoms and the other has died.

This is neither hysteria nor ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭mohawk

You can still do that.

It's not illegal.

Noone is gonna tar and feather you for visiting family at Christmas.

Everyone will do it regardless of the numbers.

Let's be honest.

Really everyone will do it? Will everyone with elderly or high risk relatives visit them? You can bet many people will be having a very lonely Christmas this year.

I read something on Facebook recently about all the things you can do with your kids to make Christmas special. It didn’t mention one thing about what people living alone whose family can’t visit can do to make it special.

Let’s say we lockdown now to save Christmas. Will realistically be 6 weeks before numbers are low enough for them to want to open up again. Your into December then. Are you really going to open up shops with 3 weeks to go until Christmas? All those queues etc and then let people go visit relatives in their homes. We could end up in same place by January again.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,317 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

The ban on household visitations isn't pinned down by law. Continue as you were.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,110 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Can’t be enforced. Gardai can’t enter a private home without a warrant

• Registered Users Posts: 82,364 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Breaking news on Virgin Media, tomorrow from midnight no visitors to any homes for entire country.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,220 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Now household visits ban in all Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,453 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

The ban on household visitations isn't pinned down by law. Continue as you were.

I'm sure it will....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Breaking news on Virgin Media, tomorrow from midnight no visitors to any homes for entire country.

Haha

And Schools open

Joke

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Now household visits ban in all Ireland?

Sounds like we're in level 3 with a dash of level 5.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,364 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

A return to the Iron Curtain.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

So another rule (guideline) that is unenforceable and will do **** all, i give up.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I am personally absolutely dreading both Christmas and New Year's not just in Ireland but globally it's going to be an absolute catastrophe for case numbers.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,656 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Eh? Any leeway for single person households?

No. A household is a household.