Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Micheal Martins boots are too big .

• 15-10-2020 12:38am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭

so micheal has got his day in power , got the steering wheel of the big bus , now its on its roof and the co pilot leo is concussed and has lost his focus and talking jibberish, but micheal is upbeat , not realising his **** up ,but proud that he was captain ireland and wearing the green Jersey.
    problem is , micheals boots are over sized for him , big boots to fill , and no matter how long he has been waiting in the long corridor for power , its was all just a dream , his legacy is be written as a fail ,

confidence in this government is weaning ,
    they have blood on their hands , people have contracted covid because of their bull**** , the high moral ground ,of we are in charge doctor , and it will be level 5 when the government decide ,
    even though they were in contact with doctor before and after the recommendation , so its should have been no shock announcement ,
    but it may have up set their budget reveal .

it needs level 5 not tomorrow but last week ,

blood on yer hands , how can you sleep .
    shame on you boss .

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭nolivesmatter

Lockdown, no lockdown, he's f***ed no matter what he does.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Sure look once he can run home and say "mammy mammy look at me they made me taoiseach" isn't that all he wanted. He doesn't care once he gets that gold star on his homework.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

useless man

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

i'm no fan of his or fianna fail, but to be fair to him he didn't create the china virus.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Allinall

kerry cow wrote: »
    so micheal has got his day in power , got the steering wheel of the big bus , now its on its roof and the co pilot leo is concussed and has lost his focus and talking jibberish, but micheal is upbeat , not realising his **** up ,but proud that he was captain ireland and wearing the green Jersey.
    problem is , micheals boots are over sized for him , big boots to fill , and no matter how long he has been waiting in the long corridor for power , its was all just a dream , his legacy is be written as a fail ,

they have blood on their hands , people have contracted covid because of their bull**** , the high moral ground ,of we are in charge doctor , and it will be level 5 when the government decide ,
    even though they were in contact with doctor before and after the recommendation , so its should have been no shock announcement ,

shame on you boss .

At least you're taking advantage of the fact you can still drink as much as you want at home.

What a load of rambling rubbish.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,896 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Wanted to be taoiseach so he wasn't the first FF leader not to be.

That's pretty much it.

Even his tánaiste thinks he's useless.

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1224826375355367431?lang=en

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Wanted to be taoiseach so he wasn't the first FF leader not to be.

That's pretty much it.

Even his tánaiste thinks he's useless.

https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1224826375355367431?lang=en

He can hardly talk considering he has done everything in his power since Day 1 of the Shambles of a Govt to undermine MM and cause problems.

That's some statement out of someone you see ahem replying the shinners at every chance, unless I'm all a sudden mistaken

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Leo needs to realise FG are part of this government too and make it work.
    FG gave FF the ultimate hospital pass by giving them health and education, both of which were utterly screwed by them by the Covid crisis and cancelling the leaving cert.
    They went into coalition together. FG have done nothing but pass the book and point fingers.
    And I am absolutely no fan of FF.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Not a fan of FF, at all, but they do deserve some credit for “propping” up the government during the, initial, Brexit negotiations and for going into coalition during the Covid crisis.

Micheál Martin is one of few decent leaders FF have. Their lower “ranks” seem to be a mix of overly ambitious eejits and nobodies.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 8,743 ✭✭✭micks_address

FG gave FF the ultimate hospital pass by giving them health and education, both of which were utterly screwed by them by the Covid crisis and cancelling the leaving cert.
    They went into coalition together. FG have done nothing but pass the book and point fingers.

i think the general consensus is that Leo, Simon and co put in a good show during covid.. its a tricky balance at the moment. Leo obviously has more xfactor charisma or however you term it than Micheal.. fair play to both of them for making it work.. its definitely an arranged marriage

• Registered Users Posts: 56,305 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Lockdown, no lockdown, he's f***ed no matter what he does.

Never a truer word..

In today’s incessant hostile and combative and contrived world, people can never do right..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

That's some statement out of someone you see ahem replying the shinners at every chance, unless I'm all a sudden mistaken

So he hasnt been causing issues in Govt?

The reason SD and MM never told him about their meetings with NHEPT is because they couldnt trust him not to run his mouth off before they decided anything.
    Less than 24 hours after NHEPTs advice, Leo is on tele saying NHEPT didnt really consider what they were saying, 7 days later he had to backtrack.

MM got a lot of respect back by standing upto him during week, Leo went off on the idea of a "circuit break" (something he talked down a few days previous) only for MM to come out and say thats not been talked about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

i'm no fan of his or fianna fail, but to be fair to him he didn't create the china virus.

Hi Donald.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,658 ✭✭✭Floppybits

FF were never ready for government, they didn't have the leader they needed, Martin is to wishy washy, always was and has been and the definitely did not have the talent that would inspire confidence. How they got the number of seats they did is beyond me. FG in fairness have used Martins desperation to be Taoiseach against them and have given them a few hospital passes and walked away laughing. If Martin wasn't as desperate as he was to get into the Taoiseachs seat, they could have left FG with one of health or education and left FG to clean up the mess that they created with their mishandling of these departments especially education.

All FF have done is given FG especially Varadkar and Harris a platform to undercut the government at every opportunity, you have Varadkar doing it in the media and Harris doing on social media. In fairness it just seems to be those 2, Coveney and Donahue seem to be getting on with their briefs and only seem to discuss those briefs with the media but Varadkar and Harris seem to think they are a ministers for everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭kerry cow

you can add SD to the too big boots to fill aswell . he is totally out of his depth ,
    Simon was a drift too but performed a stunner during covid , and I fairness to FG they took the advise of the doctor , its a good man that does what he's told , and foolish to go against good advise ,

and by the way I don't drink alcohol and will say it again , this government has watched over lives been lost .
    dirty hands .

FF won two more seats than FG so it wasn't exactly like FG could force FF to take health and education.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

To be fair, the Shinners are in opposition, they're supposed to be critiques of the government.

Leo is Michaél Martin's coalition partner in govt.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,683 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Did anyone else think the thread title said boobs instead of boots???

Might have been a more interesting thread perhaps..

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Did anyone else think the thread title said boobs instead of boots???

Might have been a more interesting thread perhaps..

Ah Jaysus, I am was about to have lunch.

:(:(:(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Zebra3 wrote: »
    FF won two more seats than FG so it wasn't exactly like FG could force FF to take health and education.

Well FF were awfully stupid to take both, both were obvious hospital passes and he should have said you lads take 1 of these anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 69,033 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I think Donnelly actually *wanted* Health, which is more than anyone else in the entire Dail did. Shortall may seem like she wants it but she wouldn't take it, that's for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Colonel Claptrap

L1011 wrote: »
    I think Donnelly actually *wanted* Health, which is more than anyone else in the entire Dail did. Shortall may seem like she wants it but she wouldn't take it, that's for sure.

After all the giving out he did over the years, he couldn't not take it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

The people know that SF were shafted... political shapeshifters is all we have in office right now.

The people will not forget!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭screamer

I think it’s not a case of what’s too big to be honest......

• Registered Users Posts: 12,504 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

He's sh1te at the speeches. At least Leo added a bit of Lord of the Rings or Terminator to it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Kowerski

The people know that SF were shafted... political shapeshifters is all we have in office right now.

The people will not forget!

Think you need to have a quick listen: https://twitter.com/WWinters_/status/1276987044804415492

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Jucifer

kerry cow wrote: »

shame on you boss .

With a little bit of work that could be quite a catchy rap.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

Martin is doing a good job in the circumstances, in his own quiet way.
    He has populist spinner as Tanaiste, who has tried to wobble him at every turn but people should begin to see through that now. Early easing of restrictions has been a problem of Varakers making and the former leader has tried to mask it. This stands in contrast to the support MM provided to the minority govt in the early stages of lockdown.
    MM lost 2 ministers of Ag early on but did.it make a difference to people on the ground? Not really. The new man has been making ground on big issues for his brief and thats what matters.
    Norma Foley has been dignified and unshakable in a very difficult stint in Education. Donnelly is struggling for sure but remember Simon? And Louise OReilly is MIA lately
    A reasonable budget has been delivered, even the serial whingers in the cheap seats in the Dail couldnt come with much. Pascal Donohoe schooled Doherty et al all week, a team player with maturity to boot unlike his party leader.
    The covid plan is progressing well, it has been clear for a while that a November lockdown will be needed. The trick was to sway public opinion in that direction, which there certainly was no appetite for a month ago. If they had gone too early the lockdown would have been resisted. Hit 1000 cases and then make the call. Martin even has MLM calling for this by now. SFs 'confusion' line has worn thin, the public arent as thick as their membership. If you are confused Mary, just ask for help.
    And before anyone mentions golf, that was a FG do after all. Keep it going Taoiseach, you have a mandate from the people.

McMurphy wrote: »
    To be fair, the Shinners are in opposition, they're supposed to be critiques of the government.

Leo is Michaél Martin's coalition partner in govt.

They're supposed to offer informed criticism, alternative views and options

Not pay to flood every possible online platform with pap while coming up with absolutely nothing of use in the oireachtas themselves