Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can't decide: PS4 Pro pre-owned or 500gb New?

• 17-10-2020 10:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 46

Hi, so my 7 year old has asked for a PS4 for Christmas. This will be his first console (other than his Nintendo switch), so he's not particularly fussy about which one he gets. My budget (at current prices) will stretch to either a 500gb new or a boxed Pro from CEX. I have no experience buying consoles, so would really appreciate any opinions - which one would you go for? Is there anything I need to be wary of if buying pre-owned (noise, overheating??)

Should I think about getting him PS now or PS plus subscriptions? I don't mind him playing online, but would want to be able to disable chat & older age games. Any advice would be great, thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Eduard Khil

If you are using a 4k TV to play the PS4 go with the Pro CeX offer a 24 month warranty so that's a plus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Terminator

I'd go with a new regular PS4. Chances are a second hand PS4 (especially a Pro) will sound like a Jet Engine when playing some graphics intensive games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭breeno

I'd go with the new 500gb and maybe get someone to gift him a 500gb usb hard drive for extra game storage. They can be picked up for next to nothing these days. Make sure its usb 3.0 for quicker loading speeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭Homelander

If you are using a 4k TV to play the PS4 go with the Pro CeX offer a 24 month warranty so that's a plus.