Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 29,541 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Sold a few culls to a dealer a few weeks ago. In my postbox the other day was one of the cards. Not in an envelope just the card. The new owner had his stamp with his address on the space at the back. He posted a few letters the other day and the cards were in the middle . The other cards arrived at his house yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,453 ✭✭✭✭Water John

People mentioned the Mother and Baby appalling history a few days ago. I became aware of this and see it's public today. The dead infants have no burial place or records because they simply were put secretly into coffins of adults and also amputated limbs:
    https://www.thejournal.ie/burials-cork-county-home-5338417-Jan2021/

Really the story does get worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Water John wrote: »
    People mentioned the Mother and Baby appalling history a few days ago. I became aware of this and see it's public today. The dead infants have no burial place or records because they simply were put secretly into coffins of adults and also amputated limbs:

A relation of mine got a shock 2 years ago.
    He was a sales man in the 60s and 70s travelling the country. Met a girl a few times. She fell pregnant and disappeared didnt tell this man she was with child. Anyways fast forward 50 years. This woman tracked him down and told him she got pregnant in 1972 and was sent to a home in dublin. She had a baby boy and was told the baby died. She stayed in this home for 6 years and got out when her father died. Her mother came to her senses and brought her home.
    In 2019 a man arrived an American man arrived at her door. It was her son, he had not died he was adopted to a couple in America. The son had always thought he was born to this American couple. But when his mother died the truth came out. He tracked his birth place back to the home in Dublin with the help of his father. Eventually he managed after years of trying to get his birth mothers name but no address. Another year passed before he could track her down. My relation was shocked and saddened. The son was not ready to meet his biological father at the time. Unfortunately he never will as he died last year. But I have his details so I might contact him in the near future.

Last tub of Christmas sweets opened there now. Celebrations

• Registered Users Posts: 10,784 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Without being too specific with details - we had a tragedy at a family event a while back. We had someone hired for the event and when we went to pay him, he wouldn't take anything. Said we had enough to worry about. Very decent of him.
    A few months later I'm watching TV and there he is. Telling his story about been adopted out of one of these homes. A lot of people effected by all this.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I bury my head in the sand about these things. I know it’s wrong but I can’t stomach them. The oh would watch documentaries about trafficking etc and I’ve no interest.

I did read that article and am beyond shocked and disgusted. Those poor babies. The responsible people were/are worse than animals.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

jimini0 wrote: »
    A relation of mine got a shock 2 years ago.
    He was a sales man in the 60s and 70s travelling the country. Met a girl a few times. She fell pregnant and disappeared didnt tell this man she was with child. Anyways fast forward 50 years. This woman tracked him down and told him she got pregnant in 1972 and was sent to a home in dublin. She had a baby boy and was told the baby died. She stayed in this home for 6 years and got out when her father died. Her mother came to her senses and brought her home.
    In 2019 a man arrived an American man arrived at her door. It was her son, he had not died he was adopted to a couple in America. The son had always thought he was born to this American couple. But when his mother died the truth came out. He tracked his birth place back to the home in Dublin with the help of his father. Eventually he managed after years of trying to get his birth mothers name but no address. Another year passed before he could track her down. My relation was shocked and saddened. The son was not ready to meet his biological father at the time. Unfortunately he never will as he died last year. But I have his details so I might contact him in the near future.

Thanks for sharing, it is of a truly awful repressive, insecure, and unloving culture.
    There was an article in a local paper recounting a victims story last week, and it repeatedly used an awful expression that also features in your account above, ie "fell pregnant", which was obviously in common parlance,
    The condescension of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,730 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

A very toxic and twisted society - found out recently that my mothers grand uncles children ended up in Letterfrack sometime just after WW1 due to their mother dieing in childbirth. The only info we have is that one of them died homeless in Dublin sometime in the late 60's. No idea if the other 2 made it out of the home dead or alive. I'm trying the get my hands on the book "Founded on Fear" which chronicles the experience of one young lad who was there in the late 20's and early 30's when the notorious Br Covax and others were running rampant with savagery and perversion. Actually on my Fathers side something similar happened to his father who was in a Christian Brother industrial school in the 30's with his 2 brothers in the SW. Thankfully he managed to get out in one piece(but never spoke about it) while his 2 brothers died homeless and destitute in the UK during the 70's

• Registered Users Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Odelay

Birdnuts wrote: »
    A very toxic and twisted society - found out recently that my mothers grand uncles children ended up in Letterfrack sometime just after WW1 due to their mother dieing in childbirth. The only info we have is that one of them died homeless in Dublin sometime in the late 60's. No idea if the other 2 made it out of the home dead or alive. I'm trying the get my hands on the book "Founded on Fear" which chronicles the experience of one young lad who was there in the late 20's and early 30's when the notorious Br Covax and others were running rampant with savagery and perversion. Actually on my Fathers side something similar happened to his father who was in a Christian Brother industrial school in the 30's with his 2 brothers in the SW. Thankfully he managed to get out in one piece(but never spoke about it) while his 2 brothers died homeless and destitute in the UK during the 70's

Have you visited the graveyard for Letterfrack? No marked graces but one monument with the names, age and death of death. Always struck me just how many died so close together, even in the summer months.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

One of my favourite things about the Covid lockdown is no “Mandatory weekend family drives”

Pre Covid- Usually dragged to limerick or Galway to stand outside penny’s every few weeks. The trips to beaches and woods were great but the shopping ones were soul destroying.

Yesterday: No rushing, got to clear sheds, prep calving area and still had time for a family walk, family dinner and movie. Even the OH admitted there was far more contentment from it that traipsing around. Saves a fortune too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

One of my favourite things about the Covid lockdown is no “Mandatory weekend family drives”

Pre Covid- Usually dragged to limerick or Galway to stand outside penny’s every few weeks. The trips to beaches and woods were great but the shopping ones would destroying.

Yesterday: No rushing, got to clear sheds, prep calving area and still still time for a family walk, family dinner and movie. Even the OH admitted there was far more contentment from it that traipsing around. Saves a fortune too.

100%. Herself would often run to the city to pick up maybe one thing, and browse. Could do the same again two days later. It’s more laid back now and nice

• Registered Users Posts: 5,220 ✭✭✭Grueller

Pre Covid- Usually dragged to limerick or Galway to stand outside penny’s every few weeks. The trips to beaches and woods were great but the shopping ones were soul destroying.

Yesterday: No rushing, got to clear sheds, prep calving area and still had time for a family walk, family dinner and movie. Even the OH admitted there was far more contentment from it that traipsing around. Saves a fortune too.

Mandatory family drives that include shopping centres are only for the benefit of one member of any young family. Any time we ever went they were herself in a shop and myself and the chaps waiting outside, me on peace keeping duty that the UN wouldn't even attempt. Pure hardship. Like KK said, we now walk up one of the foothills of the Wicklow mountains every Sunday. Kids love it and myself and herself walk along after them and have a right auld chat. Has done wonders for us as we never really spent time like that together without stress of parking, traffic, travelling etc since the kids arrived.

Was just saying here yesterday our car hasn't been moved in a week. Would normally be on the road in jeep and car bringing kids to training, games or whatever. It's grand at the moment not rushing to get to places with cows calving etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,453 ✭✭✭✭Water John

It's in our genes really, women were foragers and gatherers whilst men were hunters. Shopping and browsing is the modern, foraging and gathering.
    Of course if it was totally a foraging and gathering society, the men did feck all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

It's in our genes really, women were foragers and gatherers whilst men were hunters. Shopping and browsing is the modern, foraging and gathering.
    Of course if it was totally a foraging and gathering society, the men did feck all.

A lot of men like the browsing and shopping too.
    Exhibit A - Donedeal.
    Exhibit B - LSL.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,447 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

A lot of men like the browsing and shopping too.
    Exhibit A - Donedeal.
    Exhibit B - LSL.

Dont forget the hunting in machinery yards

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

whelan2 wrote: »
    Was just saying here yesterday our car hasn't been moved in a week. Would normally be on the road in jeep and car bringing kids to training, games or whatever. It's grand at the moment not rushing to get to places with cows calving etc.

One of the knock on effects of us all driving less is that mechanics and garages in general aren't as busy.

I think I only did about 5000 miles in the jeep last year.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭The Rabbi

Filled the car with diesel last January,fuel warning light came on in November.
    Two fills for the Jeep.

I wonder are road death numbers down?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

think they were slightly up if anything last year, maybe more pedestrians and cyclists in accidents?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I'm still paying the price for browsing.
    Edit. Pic taken just now! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,784 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Jack Russell here has puncture wounds from labradoor next door. Which would be better on the open wounds, aluminium spray or iodine?
    I'm thinking aluminium.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

Jack Russell here has puncture wounds from labradoor next door. Which would be better on the open wounds, aluminium spray or iodine?
    I'm thinking aluminium.

A bullet for the labrador, sudocreme for the jack Russell

• Registered Users Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭dzer2

whelan2 wrote: »
    I wonder are road death numbers down?

No was looking at Crime watch a few weeks back. Think it was up by 20

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

The Rabbi wrote: »
    Filled the car with diesel last January,fuel warning light came on in November.
    Two fills for the Jeep.

That's incredibly little usage, did you get shopping delivered or how did you get by with doing so little driving? I've only the jeep here and would nearly always fill when it would be at the 1/2 way mark. This would usually mean 4-7 days between top ups but it depends on what I've been up to for the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Jb1989

I'm thinking aluminium.

Aluminium will seal all. Would u be better with alamycn spray to still let air in but also antibiotic it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

I'm thinking aluminium.

Is it somewhere the dog will lick it off? Would you be as well off to leave it to alone for a while?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,260 ✭✭✭tanko

I'm thinking aluminium.

That happened to a neighbours dog, infection set in and his dog died.
    I'd bring the dog to a vet to get some antibiotics to prevent infection.
    Better be safe than sorry.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭Base price

tanko wrote: »
    That happened to a neighbours dog, infection set in and his dog died.
    I'd bring the dog to a vet to get some antibiotics to prevent infection.
    Better be safe than sorry.
    One of the dogs (terrier) got a puncture wound on it's neck a couple of years ago from a stray dog. I washed it with savlon and the Vet told me to give her 1.5mls of Betamox under the skin. She healed up perfectly.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,730 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Odelay wrote: »
    Have you visited the graveyard for Letterfrack? No marked graces but one monument with the names, age and death of death. Always struck me just how many died so close together, even in the summer months.

No - but I intend to get down once the lockdowns are eased a bit. Will be contacting the Christian Brothers too to get more details of these cases(not that I have high hope they will co-operate much if the nuns are anything to go by:(