Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

wrangler wrote: »
    Every second row of trees were taken out of a local forestry here and all the trash was left so I presume that's releasing carbon now.
    I think the climate change experts may think it out again..... the idiots.
    It's ironic that most of it is going to burn for electricity, thousands of tons were stacked here locally for burning

Just updated that - roots are actually estimated at 20% carbon

• Registered Users Posts: 29,522 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I'm a real Halloween grinch. Cant wait for it to be over. Have colcannon cooking and money wrapped up to go into it. Have grapes and apples hanging off strings. Delighted there should be no trick or treaters calling around. Have pumpkin in the window too.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

ganmo wrote: »
    How much oil and coal will that wood replace?

I'd imagine a 30ton lorry of coal would last many times the length of a load of timber in the power station, They do be drawing cross country here and they have all the little roads wrecked ,

What's the story with the pheasant shooting season.?

whelan2 wrote: »
    I'm a real Halloween grinch. Cant wait for it to be over. Have colcannon cooking and money wrapped up to go into it. Have grapes and apples hanging off strings. Delighted there should be no trick or treaters calling around. Have pumpkin in the window too.

Don't forget to dust off the broomstick as well. :D

Tbh haven't seen any trick or treaters out at all. Normally we'd get the neighbours kids calling. Kids been kept at home i reckon.

Edit: Would this help :pac:

4kjtuf.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 18,567 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

gozunda wrote: »
    Don't forget to dust off the broomstick as well. :D

Tbh haven't seen any trick or treaters out at all. Normally we'd get the neighbours kids calling. Kids been kept at home.

We had reverse trick or treaters here. Came and dropped bags of sweets to the two girls and off they went to drop bags with a few other kids in the family.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Rotting wood builds up humus in the soil, not all is released as carbon.
    I think the figure given the other evening on Building Ireland was Ireland has 7% of the worlds peat.
    That programme on the building of Turough Hill power station was very good.

What's the story with the pheasant shooting season.?

Prohibited at level 5 if it involves more than 5km

https://www.garda.ie/en/about-us/our-departments/office-of-corporate-communications/news-media/what-about-pheasant-shooting-during-level-5-.html

• Registered Users Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

There was a few dog trailers being towed today around here on the roads.
    They were probably just making sure the tyres were ok..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

It's like a war zone up here.

I'd imagine a 30ton lorry of coal would last many times the length of a load of timber in the power station, They do be drawing cross country here and they have all the little roads wrecked ,

It's the trouble is there was only one point in this planet's history that that coal was made.

The Carboniferous period.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carboniferous

You can replace trees grown now.

You can't replace coal.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

And the carbon in the coal would last longer in the ground too

It's the trouble is there was only one point in this planet's history that that coal was made.

The Carboniferous period.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carboniferous

You can replace trees grown now.

You can't replace coal.

The new greens don't want anyone burning wood either

That's how the regulations with no stoves allowed in new builds came about.
    It's mostly just from the air particulate point of view.

Do they want to ban sex too?

Want and doing are two different things.
    In the country in existing builds and approved woodchip and woodpellet burners it'll continue.
    There's grants still available i believe for new housing estates to be run on a single community biomass burner. I'm not sure there's been much uptake though.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I think it's prohibited even within the 5km travel limit.
    Completely stalled at the moment under L5.
    Unless there was an 11th hour reprieve I didn't hear about.
    It begs the question... How can angling still go ahead, surely the same draconian rules would apply.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

For the day that was in it, I dressed up Texel as a ghostie :D

Pm6Q0lzl.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Suckler

Listening to Darragh Maloney comment on the hurling is hard work. Grand for the soccer but the like of Ger Canning is even miles ahead of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

For the day that was in it, I dressed up Texel as a ghostie :D

Pm6Q0lzl.jpg

He'll be glad to be sold, just for the peace and quiet:p

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Suckler wrote: »
    Listening to Darragh Maloney comment on the hurling is hard work. Grand for the soccer but the like of Ger Canning is even miles ahead of him

Somebody should tell him the "stick" has a name

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

He'll be glad to be sold, just for the peace and quiet:p

He loves it, just stood there while I was putting it on & cutting out the holes. He'll miss the attention when he goes!

I think it's prohibited even within the 5km travel limit.
    Completely stalled at the moment under L5.
    Unless there was an 11th hour reprieve I didn't hear about.
    It begs the question... How can angling still go ahead, surely the same draconian rules would apply.

Yeah should have clarified. Banned for sporting groups. I believe an individual landowner can still shoot on their own land etc.

Somebody should tell him the "stick" has a name

Want to open the debate again on whether it's a hurl or a hurley?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Suckler

Water John wrote: »

Ask Maloney if its a graip/fork/pike/sprong as well

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Hurl...... end of:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Suckler wrote: »

Even Duignan sounds very subdued.

Whatever it is, knew plastic ones were on the market but see Torpeys are making ones with bamboo. Now what will we call them?

Panda sticks.

(Copyrighted).

Ireland's call sounded terrible without the crowd

• Registered Users Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Any of ye have this type of NC sweeper or any other make of them? Are they a good job? Fairly straightforward or any issues with them?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

translate hurley to Irish = Camán (noun)
    translate hurl to Irish = caith (verb)

Is Hurl new age or historical