Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Tricked out tractors about to start on BBC 1 NI. restoring a Ford model F

• Registered Users Posts: 29,523 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

aren't they charged for card payments too?

Isn't there a scheme that you can claim back money spent in restaurants etc during covid?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Great news
    Would like to do same ourselves, let us know now you get on
    Have you a big chest freezer?

I think it’s a 500L one. The biggest we could get at the time with the intention of putting half a heifer in it.

I’m going to share her with two of my brothers. Both are there if I’m badly stuck. All depends how she kills out, this is more a trial this time and see how it fairs out.

My oh is Australian and loves and misses beef sausages. For her 40th she wanted a kitchen aid so I’ll get the sausage maker attachment for her for Christmas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭DukeCaboom

ganmo wrote: »
    https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/mark-goodman-to-take-step-back-from-role-in-abp/

This might seem like a non story but it can only be good for the ordinary farmer

He done work experience in our local place, he was in the lairge for a few weeks, worked the line for a bit too. Seemed alright never appeared aloof chatted away to us. He was there a week before I knew who he was.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I think it’s a 500L one. The biggest we could get at the time with the intention of putting half a heifer in it.
    Remember that the most important part of storing your own beef in a freezer/chest freezer is the fast freeze section which in most freezers is a small compartment. It cannot really accommodate the volume of meat that you need to get frozen in a short time. Can you get your butcher to label the bags and freeze them for you then all you have to do is sort them by the cuts/mince and pop them into your freezer.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Base price wrote: »
    Remember that the most important part of storing your own beef in a freezer/chest freezer is the fast freeze section which in most freezers is a small compartment. It cannot really accommodate the volume of meat that you need to get frozen in a short time. Can you get your butcher to label the bags and freeze them for you then all you have to do is sort them by the cuts/mince and pop them into your freezer.

Will do, great advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,567 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I’m going to share her with two of my brothers. Both are there if I’m badly stuck. All depends how she kills out, this is more a trial this time and see how it fairs out.

My oh is Australian and loves and misses beef sausages. For her 40th she wanted a kitchen aid so I’ll get the sausage maker attachment for her for Christmas.

We have a sausage maker here.
    Great crack to get it going with the girls.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Suckler

_Brian wrote: »
    We have a sausage maker here.
    Great crack to get it going with the girls.

I didn't think you could put that in sausages.....

• Registered Users Posts: 21,435 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Suckler wrote: »

It's called a Hot Dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

The talk of Sloe Gin on the Nature thread got me thinking and there was this on the bookshelf.
    Time to polish it off.
    I see I recycled the bottle from Sloe Gin 2014 to Whiskey 2017.

Suckler wrote: »

You’d be surprised what’s in some of the recipes

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

DukeCaboom wrote: »
    He done work experience in our local place, he was in the lairge for a few weeks, worked the line for a bit too. Seemed alright never appeared aloof chatted away to us. He was there a week before I knew who he was.

Of course he was, He does his job and does it well.
    If anything whoever replaces him will have to perform better to keep his job, not having the benefit of being son of the owner

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Anyone watching Yellowstone last night find it strange that the last episode of season 2 was played back to back with the first episode of season 3

• Registered Users Posts: 4,198 ✭✭✭orm0nd

You’d be surprised what’s in some of the recipes

I remember taking pigs to a factory In limerick some time in the 1970's . I haven't eaten sausages since

• Registered Users Posts: 10,777 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

orm0nd wrote: »
    I remember taking pigs to a factory In limerick some time in the 1970's . I haven't eaten sausages since

Was that the slaughter house in the middle of the city? Constant squeel of pigs out of it.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Was that the slaughter house in the middle of the city? Constant squeel of pigs out of it.

Funny thing is I've kept pigs here for or own use.
    They are noisy feckers :pac:

They'll squeal when they see you. They'll squeal when you feed them them. I was even tempted to use ear defenders when they get excited. The snoring is to be heard to be believed

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Without ear defenders you would suffer hearing damage, especially in a Dry Sow house when its approching feeding time.

gozunda wrote: »
    Funny thing is I've kept pigs here for or own use.
    They are noisy feckers :pac:

They'll squeal when they see you. They'll squeal when you feed them them. I was even tempted to use ear defenders when they get excited. The snoring is to be heard to be believed

Fairness it’s a great defence. When you catch a reasonable sized weaner to tag them the combination of the squealing and the wriggle would really encourage you to drop him.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Fairness it’s a great defence. When you catch a reasonable sized weaner to tag them the combination of the squealing and the wriggle would really encourage you to drop him.

You have me thinking about that famous scene from Deliverance. Squeal like a pig boy :@)

Yeah roches St. Used to draw cull ewes to another slaughterhouse in the city. The blood used to be running out the front door and down the St to a gulley.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Anyone watching Yellowstone last night find it strange that the last episode of season 2 was played back to back with the first episode of season 3
    I'm tired today from staying up to watch them. It's a good show but its totally OTT the amount of people they can go around shooting dead and not a mention of the law, even if it is America!

Aggrevated a recurrong hip injury a few weeks, ok, a couple of months ago. The "I'll walk it off" defence failed. Local GP annoyed me as I'd been sent for xray and given the big bottle of paracetemol to "save me money"... (feck the money, what about my hip?!).

Herself knows a great physio so off I went last week, it hurt, one bit hurt quite a lot. Then we got to the dry needle therepy, that was interesting, that hurt too.

Second appointment today, I practically skipped into the place. Contrast that to 8 days ago where I was holding onto furniture walking around the house!

Your health is your wealth!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

orm0nd wrote: »
    Yeah roches St. Used to draw cull ewes to another slaughterhouse in the city. The blood used to be running out the front door and down the St to a gulley.

What was the pig place called? Distant memory for me too. Still have dockets in the parent's house if I looked deep enough. Clover meats maybe?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Aggrevated a recurrong hip injury a few weeks, ok, a couple of months ago. The "I'll walk it off" defence failed. Local GP annoyed me as I'd been sent for xray and given the big bottle of paracetemol to "save me money"... (feck the money, what about my hip?!).

Herself knows a great physio so off I went last week, it hurt, one bit hurt quite a lot. Then we got to the dry needle therepy, that was interesting, that hurt too.

Second appointment today, I practically skipped into the place. Contrast that to 8 days ago where I was holding onto furniture walking around the house!

Your health is your wealth!
    Great to see you’re getting better
    No matter what happens keep that humour

• Registered Users Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

blue5000 wrote: »
    What was the pig place called? Distant memory for me too. Still have dockets in the parent's house if I looked deep enough. Clover meats maybe?

Could be this one.

https://memorylanelimerick.com/p710322907/h2BA82934#h2ba82934

blue5000 wrote: »

Omara's and Mattersons were on Roches St.

Clover Meats (owned by Shaws) was up near Limerick prison

Edit. Post above says Dominic St.

The jail was affectionately known as 'the back of Shaws'

• Registered Users Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

• Registered Users Posts: 5,066 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Panch18 wrote: »
    And hasn’t Biden openly supported the black lives matter movement who are literally holding an area of an American city hostage

You mean Seattle? That’s hardly keeping a city hostage. Closer to a rave than a war zone

the picture of mattersons on that link is where the social welfare offices are now, havent been around there in yonkers but last time there was a queue , presumily of people claiming some benefit

big changes from when perhaps a couple of hundred worked there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

You mean Seattle? That’s hardly keeping a city hostage. Closer to a rave than a war zone

really - the longest rave in history. I'm sure the residents and business owners in the area are delighted to have had this "rave" going on for months.

and the police cleared the precint in the area for "the craic"