Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭SuperTeeJay

How much would a 2nd crop of silage be worth per acre?I have no idea tbh.
    Dont need a full 2nd cut here so might rent it out .I'd let the other lad slurry it and fertilise it.Thanks

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

His heart was in the right place.

That's it exactly although I wouldn't be overly gone on the Bristol Cream. There's one man in particular that would always insist on you coming in "for tea" after a cow calving or similar at his place regardless of the time of day or night. He wouldn't be a drinker as such and neither am I but the bottle is always produced from the press and he's not shy about pouring it out. There's something grand about a few glasses after such an event and I always look forward to it and do my best at whatever we're at beforehand.

A man I work for does often tell me about cutting hay for hire with a tractor and fingerbar mower back in the 70's. He was one of few men around with such an outfit and used to be flat out for weeks doing most of the mowing in the locality. Getting fed and watered was usually part of the renumeration and there wasn't too many kitchen's but he dined in at some stage. There'd be an odd real rough camp, usually elderly bachelor's who weren't too house proud.

One bachelor man in particular lived in desperate conditions, just himself and a few dog's with free reign throughout the house. The same man would always put up some bit of grub when the mowing was finished and wouldn't take no for an answer. The mowing time was coming near this particular year and our contractor friend couldn't face another helping of the bachelor's cooking.

He decided to get up real early and be in the meadow mowing at first light, it wouldn't take long and he'd be gone out the gate before the older man was out and about. Sure enough he set off before dawn and had all mowed before 7am and was heading for the gap when the other man appeared and beckoned him in for the breakfast which was ready and waiting. Our man was thoroughly dejected and had no choice but to relent and headed for the house. He was presented with some hairy bacon, 3 fried eggs and a heel of a soda loaf and set about eating it while being waited on by the host. When he had nearly all ingested the older man suddenly remembered he'd bought a few tomatoes in town earlier in the week specially for the occasional. Sure enough the host went over and lifted a pair of trousers hung on the back of a chair and rooted through the pockets to reveal 2 bruised tomatoes and placed them on the plate infront of the guest. He ate the whole lot to save the man's feelings and set off for the next job. The older man had went to his eternal reward by the following year and that was the finish of that annual dining experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,570 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Dont need a full 2nd cut here so might rent it out .I'd let the other lad slurry it and fertilise it.Thanks

Loss of P&K surely €8-10 a bale depending on how good a neighbor he would be.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,453 ✭✭✭✭Water John

€70/acre?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

That's it exactly although I wouldn't be overly gone on the Bristol Cream. There's one man in particular that would always insist on you coming in "for tea" after a cow calving or similar at his place regardless of the time of day or night. He wouldn't be a drinker as such and neither am I but the bottle is always produced from the press and he's not shy about pouring it out. There's something grand about a few glasses after such an event and I always look forward to it and do my best at whatever we're at beforehand.

A man I work for does often tell me about cutting hay for hire with a tractor and fingerbar mower back in the 70's. He was one of few men around with such an outfit and used to be flat out for weeks doing most of the mowing in the locality. Getting fed and watered was usually part of the renumeration and there wasn't too many kitchen's but he dined in at some stage. There'd be an odd real rough camp, usually elderly bachelor's who weren't too house proud.

One bachelor man in particular lived in desperate conditions, just himself and a few dog's with free reign throughout the house. The same man would always put up some bit of grub when the mowing was finished and wouldn't take no for an answer. The mowing time was coming near this particular year and our contractor friend couldn't face another helping of the bachelor's cooking.

He decided to get up real early and be in the meadow mowing at first light, it wouldn't take long and he'd be gone out the gate before the older man was out and about. Sure enough he set off before dawn and had all mowed before 7am and was heading for the gap when the other man appeared and beckoned him in for the breakfast which was ready and waiting. Our man was thoroughly dejected and had no choice but to relent and headed for the house. He was presented with some hairy bacon, 3 fried eggs and a heel of a soda loaf and set about eating it while being waited on by the host. When he had nearly all ingested the older man suddenly remembered he'd bought a few tomatoes in town earlier in the week specially for the occasional. Sure enough the host went over and lifted a pair of trousers hung on the back of a chair and rooted through the pockets to reveal 2 bruised tomatoes and placed them on the plate infront of the guest. He ate the whole lot to save the man's feelings and set off for the next job. The older man had went to his eternal reward by the following year and that was the finish of that annual dining experience.

Reminds of similar: Tea and stuff to make Ham sandwiches brought out to the hay field by one of two batchelor brothers living in a mobile home beside the remains of the house they were born in.
    First job on the hosts retreat, was to scour out the mugs with traneens (spelling?) from the rank of hay.

The tea was strong enough for a fly to walk across and the sandwiches, made from a loaf and thick cut ham slices, tasted great. Five Michelin stars.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users Posts: 29,555 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I think it's great that the give you something. It shows they appreciate what you have done for them. A tradition that's dying out

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

greysides wrote: »
    Reminds of similar: Tea and stuff to make Ham sandwiches brought out to the hay field by one of two batchelor brothers living in a mobile home beside the remains of the house they were born in.
    First job on the hosts retreat, was to scour out the mugs with traneens (spelling?) from the rank of hay.

The tea was strong enough for a fly to walk across and the sandwiches, made from a loaf and thick cut ham slices, tasted great. Five Michelin stars.

Ha, a friend of the family used to do contract square baling long go. I went out one time with him for the day, when I was very small.
    The farmer we were baling at came out with the tae and sandwiches. I could hardly bite the sandwich the bread and the ham inside was cut so thick :)
    The tae was in a big teapot, and as above it was stronger than any tea I had before or since. But the milk and a heap of sugar was already mixed through it :)
    I can see the logic to it - he only had to bring the one vessel put then...
    I had never had sugar in tea before, and remember being amazed that it could taste so sweet...
    We ate it up, finished the baling and went on our way... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,447 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ha, a friend of the family used to do contract square baling long go. I went out one time with him for the day, when I was very small.
    The farmer we were baling at came out with the tae and sandwiches. I could hardly bite the sandwich the bread and the ham inside was cut so thick :)
    The tae was in a big teapot, and as above it was stronger than any tea I had before or since. But the milk and a heap of sugar was already mixed through it :)
    I can see the logic to it - he only had to bring the one vessel put then...
    I had never had sugar in tea before, and remember being amazed that it could taste so sweet...
    We ate it up, finished the baling and went on our way... :)

Unfortunately the days of farmers feeding contractors is getting rare

• Registered Users Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Reggie. wrote: »
    Unfortunately the days of farmers feeding contractors is getting rare

Is that down to the farmers or contractors always in a rush or a bit of both?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,447 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Is that down to the farmers or contractors always in a rush or a bit of both?

Hard to know but nowadays I notice its not even offered. I think its to do with more with either farms being run more like a business or lads are part time farming so not around.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭2018na

I am a carpenter/builder who is constantly in different houses. My policy is no food or drink ever in any house under any circumstance. I don’t pretend to be any great cook but it is too risky. Every one doesn’t live the same way but in some places cats up on the draining board and the like it’s just not great. There is also a wide range of food to buy in deli’s almost every town or village which was not an option 20 or 25 years ago. This image of builders having tea at every opportunity portrayed on tv programs is totally outdated in my experience. Also silage making was a couple of days event years ago on most farms not like that now

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭jd_12345

Hard to know but nowadays I notice its not even offered. I think its to do with more with either farms being run more like a business or lads are part time farming so not around.

A lot of the time its down to the work being done. If someone came to mow 15 acres or something it'd take less than 2 hours and often times you wouldn't offer so as not to hold them up. We find a lot of the time we offer and 90% of the time declined. IMO if they're there longer than 3 hours something should be offered. It does get a bit annoying though people putting halo's over their own head for feeding the contractors. A lot of our contractor work is done on an outfarm 15km away where the contractor is next door so usually don't bother offering unless they're there all day.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Silage/slurry Contractors always offered here- sometimes they’ll say yes, other times no, depending on weather/ where they had been. There are some neighbours that won’t take no for an answer so the contractors know themselves.

Everyone’s is offered tea/dinner. Lad that delivers bales from tipp brings his wife and they have a bit of lunch.

When our house was being build, the block layers labourer had his sandwich taken by my mams dog. He chased him down and took the sandwich out of the dogs mouth and ate it. The boys were laughing mad, I said if he called to Mam, he’d have gotten the dinner,

Silage/slurry Contractors always offered here- sometimes they’ll say yes, other times no, depending on weather/ where they had been. There are some neighbours that won’t take no for an answer so the contractors know themselves.

Everyone’s is offered tea/dinner. Lad that delivers bales from tipp brings his wife and they have a bit of lunch.

When our house was being build, the block layers labourer had his sandwich taken by my mams dog. He chased him down and took the sandwich out of the dogs mouth and ate it. The boys were laughing mad, I said if he called to Mam, he’d have gotten the dinner,

That is rough. ðŸ˜ðŸ˜

• Registered Users Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

All this talk of feeding contractors. Reminded me of being young and at silage, or more so hay with the father and uncle. Only on our own farm.
    We used to eat a picnic in the field. I still remember the taste of it all and it was all so nice. From the tea in the glass bottle, and the ham and tomato sandwiches. It was nothing really different to everyday lunch but tasted so good. I’m sure we were well hungry too and it was real nice eating out in the sun or in the shade if need be. As the video on tiktok recently said, sometimes we don’t know we are living in the good times until they are gone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,209 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Grand feed of pints last night and a few settlers again tonight, tis grand to be back to some sense of normality and have a sense of freedom all the same. However Rural Ireland is f#cked from what i can see, was in town last night and the bag was produced no surprises sure when the boys are out their out sure but tonight of a Sunday evening and lads not yet 21 are on it in a small pub in the middle of nowhere. I just cant see sense in it, maybe this new policy of no planning unless youre farming wont be a bad idea but saying that most of these young lads are from farms or working on farms/for contractors all the same.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

All this talk of feeding contractors. Reminded me of being young and at silage, or more so hay with the father and uncle. Only on our own farm.
    We used to eat a picnic in the field. I still remember the taste of it all and it was all so nice. From the tea in the glass bottle, and the ham and tomato sandwiches. It was nothing really different to everyday lunch but tasted so good. I’m sure we were well hungry too and it was real nice eating out in the sun or in the shade if need be. As the video on tiktok recently said, sometimes we don’t know we are living in the good times until they are gone

Nothing matches tea in the bog out of glass bottles.

100% tastes better!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,988 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Grand feed of pints last night and a few settlers again tonight, tis grand to be back to some sense of normality and have a sense of freedom all the same. However Rural Ireland is f#cked from what i can see, was in town last night and the bag was produced no surprises sure when the boys are out their out sure but tonight of a Sunday evening and lads not yet 21 are on it in a small pub in the middle of nowhere. I just cant see sense in it, maybe this new policy of no planning unless youre farming wont be a bad idea but saying that most of these young lads are from farms or working on farms/for contractors all the same.

Its rampant from what I hear

• Registered Users Posts: 5,220 ✭✭✭Grueller

By the bag I assume you mean the white powder. Tis a shame alright. In my day the top shelf of the bar was what gave a kick but now that does nothing for young lads so the powder it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,209 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Grueller wrote: »
    By the bag I assume you mean the white powder. Tis a shame alright. In my day the top shelf of the bar was what gave a kick but now that does nothing for young lads so the powder it is.

As a fella said to me last night "we dont mind you not doing it". I feel bad enough for smoking 5 fags since January. I always maintained if i couldnt have the craic with a few pints well tis time to give it up then. Im only 26 myself so im not long in the tooth either. These young lads are as f#cking brazen for drink driving too, we had such a value on having a licence at that age we wouldnt dream of driving after one and id still be wary of driving the following day even still.

Better living everyone

Grueller wrote: »

As a person who has done all these things and has no regrets the top shelf is as bad of news as anything. I recon ecstasy is one of the best inventions ever. After shock sambucca not so much

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

When we were young small squares of straw and hay were the go, as neighbours we'd row in together to draw it back to each yard. Most senior man was an older bachelor neighbour, with an awkward yard and shed and all bales of hay to load into it. In for the cup of tea and a thick slice off the loaf and a lump of butter and it would be the nicest bite to eat. Between the company and the work they were good times as a young lad not knowing the tougher aspects around it all

2018na wrote: »
    As a person who has done all these things and has no regrets the top shelf is as bad of news as anything. I recon ecstasy is one of the best inventions ever. After shock sambucca not so much

I never done anything harder than the top shelf either, simply for the fear of not know what’s actually in the stuff, you hear all kinds of stuff being used to bulk it up.
    Could have gone either way in my late teens but thankfully chose the people who were likeminded. It’s gonna he one hell of a problem for authorities and society to try get a handle on. I can only hope my own children aren’t tempted into it.

Mooooo wrote: »
    When we were young small squares of straw and hay were the go, as neighbours we'd row in together to draw it back to each yard. Most senior man was an older bachelor neighbour, with an awkward yard and shed and all bales of hay to load into it. In for the cup of tea and a thick slice off the loaf and a lump of butter and it would be the nicest bite to eat. Between the company and the work they were good times as a young lad not knowing the tougher aspects around it all

I was doing a bit of fencing in a field near the house last summer with the father. Herself brought us out a small picnic, a sandwich and bag of Taytos and a drink, and she brought the kids too. We all sat for 5 min only but it was lovely.
    Hard beat the picnic too at the likes of the ploughing or the races

I never done anything harder than the top shelf either, simply for the fear of not know what’s actually in the stuff, you hear all kinds of stuff being used to bulk it up.
    Could have gone either way in my late teens but thankfully chose the people who were likeminded. It’s gonna he one hell of a problem for authorities and society to try get a handle on. I can only ahope my own children aren’t tempted into it.
    What about the complete blackout from shots to the point you can’t remember how you got home sheepishly looking out the window to see if you bought the car home. The amount of nights out there that ended tragically in Ireland over top shelf shenanigans I would say most of us in our 40s or 50s know of people who died in this way but it’s somehow ok cause it’s drink

• Registered Users Posts: 5,220 ✭✭✭Grueller

You were one of the lucky ones. I work in addiction services. Alcoholism is a serious problem no doubt and if it arrived new to the scene today would never be legal, but the psychological impacts of drug abuse are massive. There are no harmless drugs. I have worked with kids as young as 14 that are suffering psychosis from drug abuse. I have also worked with people that actually only started on the powder in their 50s. The majority escape unscathed, but not all!!!!

What about the complete blackout from shots to the point you can’t remember how you got home sheepishly looking out the window to see if you bought the car home. The amount of nights out there that ended tragically in Ireland over top shelf shenanigans I would say most of us in our 40s or 50s know of people who died in this way but it’s somehow ok cause it’s drink

Ya true. Two wrongs don’t make a right I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Its rampant from what I hear

There was a bit of a clamp down lately in this part of the country with garda raids and seizures.
    I was passing by a garda operation a while back where completely unrelated a teenager with a car was stopped and searched.
    Passing by I heard a detective tell a guard to search his shoes. I'd say both sides know the score and where the hidey places are.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

At silage here this evening two fusions going 114 bales. I didn't offer anything.
    They weren't here (and by here a mile away from the house) that long.
    You'd nearly feel guilty but then the work is so quick now and the weather now they're bulling to get through work.
    And the contractor boss would be wondering what hold ups would be occurring.
    Pit silage is a little different usually all at the farmhouse but with bales away from the yard and in and out now they could be hungry. But most fellas now bring their own lunch at that job.