Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭davidk1394

It is but I have a feeling its coming to an end. The hard right and left wingers are as bad as each other, and the sensible people in the middle are keeping quiet

• Registered Users Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Exactly. I see on twitter every time I log on, some woman giving out about her being called one of the lads or one of the girls , going by the likes these women get, it's clear the vast majority of women want to be called women, not girls, or lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 913 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

I have the same opinion as Patsy, I think Enoch Burke is right to take a stance against this crap that has enveloped us these days. People always looking for a label or to be triggered by something. God help someone who says no.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭straight

The world tires of keeping up with the Burkes

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/commentanalysis/arid-40955927.html

• Registered Users Posts: 3,839 ✭✭✭Odelay

If someone wants to be called male or female, I’ve no problem with it. They are not interfering with me, it can’t be an easy thing to do and must take some courage to change sex, let them get on with their life.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭DBK1

That’s fair enough but that’s not the reason he’s being locked up.

He can say or call people whatever he likes, it’s irrelevant to the reason he was in prison. He was in prison for disobeying a court order, it has nothing to do with labels or being triggered.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,522 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Is he breaking the court order by turning up at the school?

• Registered Users Posts: 913 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

That's exactly the reason why he is being locked up DBK1. The court order did not appear out of thin air, it's there as a result of him not complying with a request to refer to a pupil as they/them.

The end result of non-compliance with a court order is what we agree on. What started the court order in the first place seems to be what you overlook/bypass.

No it’s not the reason and it beggars belief there are people that don’t understand that.

He can refer to any person in whatever term he likes, the same as you or I can. He was just requested not to do it in his work place. If that’s one of the rules of his employer, then if you want to be employed there you have to follow the rules. No different to any of the other rules in various workplaces such as dress code, working hours, code of conduct etc. He refused to follow his employers instructions and so he was suspended, and with full pay I might add so he faced no financial loss, which is something only a very small minority of employers would do so he should count himself very lucky in that regard.

The court order then came from him not staying away from the school he was suspended from. It has nothing to do with his free speech or his use of they/them, he was free to speak when and how he liked, just not in his employers premises.

If a doctors secretary decided to answer the phone all day every day by saying f**k off to everyone instead of hello, and the doctor asked them to stop doing that and they continued at it anyway which led to a suspension would you think the secretary should have been allowed free speech to say as they liked or would you think they should have followed the employers instructions?

If a builder turns up on site every day without any safety clothing and gets suspended after being warned not to turn up like that any more is that restricting his right to dress as he likes or would you say he’s an idiot for not following the health and safety rules that apply?

All places of employment have rules and the rules have to be followed, that’s part and parcel of life. Maybe as farmers that only ever work for themselves and therefore are only following their own rules that might not be understood, but I’m afraid to tell you that’s the way it works in the real world, you have to stick to the rules.

If Enoch Burke is not happy with the rules in place by his current employer he is 100% free to leave that employment and find employment elsewhere that don’t instruct him on how to address people and he can use any description or pronoun he likes and no one will bother him about it and there will be no suspensions.

But at present he probably faces going back to prison for turning up at a premises he’s instructed by the courts to stay away from. It’s nothing to do with his right to free speech.

• Registered Users Posts: 576 ✭✭✭GNWoodd

Fair play to him for standing up for what he believes in. If we had politicians that would do the same we might have a better country .

You were doing all right until you mentioned the farmers , the rules and the real world !

It’s all true though, and I say that as a farmer myself. We are all guilty of getting used to doing our own thing and then being shocked when we realise we can’t always get away with that!

I haven't followed the story, from a position of ignorance it appears there's a whiff of christian fundamentalism about it. The farther left and right politics go the level of pox wishing on their house rises for me, applies to the god botherers as well. I'd be with the Rick from Pawn Stars meme, best I can do on genders is 2. If people want to be different, fine but get it out of my face. The terms of employment referenced above is correct, just like if we break scheme terms. Seems he's another one off on a first world crusade.

Speak for yourself . If you are ever caught offside at an inspection you can ask to be referred to as they . With the way this country is going you will get away with doing your own thing .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭einn32

I think it's fair enough if he wants to refuse to use such a term but I think he went too far in his protest from what I read into it hence the court order.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Hope all the women got dinner served up to them tonight for Nollaig na mBan

• Registered Users Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭StevenToast

The woman in my house got served up dinner on christmas day....

This womens christmas is a thing of the past.....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Did he advance his cause, no.

Did he damage it, yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

& ur man the other night, wouldn't have needed to bring the cow dung with him.they'll never learn.only listen to a minority.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Suppose your man can expect a inspection now, for " spreading in the closed season "

• Registered Users Posts: 11,269 ✭✭✭✭Base price

TBH I'm only after catching up on the Burke story after reading comments posted here earlier today. I remember hearing about it when he was sent to jail but didn't put much pass on it at the time. IMO he is a fundamentalist junkie.

I hope that the young person (and their family) in the school that the cretin's ire was focused on are ok.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,773 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Bayeux Tapestry to be updated with the Battle at Dog Bowl.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭minerleague

I'd normally be for the little guy up against the state or others but wouldn't resigning from that school be a more noble protest?? He's free to say what he thinks of the situation ( and a lot of people would question children making these life changing decisions ) so his free speech isn't being curtailed at all.

Anyway closer to home reading in journal about cattle thefts it looks like a lot happens when cattle are housed on isolated outside blocks, making me nervous about putting in mine. Shame to have sheds available and not use. Might look other thread on cameras to see if I could put in some kind of motion sensor and get alarm at home

My 4g Reolink Go PT battery camera has a PIR sensor. Can send an alert to your phone when it detects something. I've a unique sound on my phone for the camera alerts so I know what it is before checking. I'm sure there's better options for a place where there's mains power, but you'd have to think of cables being cut.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Unfortunately not the same now.

i refer to my two girls and one boy as my lads sometimes.

you’ve to be careful the terms you use in classes now. Tbh they are looking for ways to be offended.

you’d mistaking my call the child by their original name. Some are grand about, some loose it altogether.

a colleague got pulled up by a student for using the term guys for a mixed gender class.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

For those who think Enoch Burke is in the wrong for breaking the court injunction, do ye think he is also wrong with refusal to follow the principal in calling a child they?

imo he is totally just in that. You can’t force others to call you what you want. Can I ask to be identified as 17 again and therefor say im a minor and shouldn’t have to pay my mortgage or loans? It’s absolutely bonkers. There’s bigger problems in the world. All this is just a distraction

• Registered Users Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Last point is 100% true it all really is just a distraction. Wasnt there word of some document relating to Epsteins island being released and then they arrested Andrew Tate to cause another distraction. Surprise surprise all the news headlines over those few days were domimated about Tate and how hes such a bad fella 🙄. Its brainwashing on a mass scale really, ive seen videos of one fella asking the SJW types what they think if Andrew Tate and they say the usual racist, sexist and mysogynistic however when they are asked to give reasons/evidence as to why they start stuttering and storm off. The days of free speech are very limited in the western world, Australia seems to be holding there own to be fair to them and they arent bowing down to this new regime. Re the he/she/they/them situation there was a few fellas sneering about a segment on ETTG covering the issue in the local one nighta few lads were saying how f#ckd in the head that individual was etc. I said i was told a while back that the main reason this ideology was being pushed on kids and young people was essentially just to cause mass voluntary castration/infertility across the population in order to slow down the population growth some bit, i was told i must be more f#cked in the head to believe that crap. Btw ive nothing against anyone living there life the way they want to on their own terms however i do not agree with the constant pushing of this agenda into our faces. I know it sounds like tin foil hat stuff and the like but if thats what you think it is im glad youre able to have an opinion on it just like me.

Another point to note us generally the people out in force for the SJW Brigade seem to have very little to be at just like the ban oll and militant vegan activists, a shame to see what potential could have been had those activists put it into a worthwhile excercise/cause. I reckon a lot of them are night owls too and a lack of daylight/sunshine/VitD is causing issues for them too and as Dr Jordan Peterson said the way he stopped protests at his lectures/speeched was very simple just turn up early in the morning.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Similar conversations had in Canada with Jordan Peterson.

it’s not written in law here nor highly unlikely to written in the schools code of behaviour/employment contract. It should be a constructive dismissal claim.

now him breaking a court order to stay away pending the case does deserve contempt of court but he has spent longer in Jail than some real criminals.

I don't understand the problem though as he doesn't teach the child involved so isn't going to be in the situation of having to use the term "they"