Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭roosterman71

House locally was petrol bombed last night. Presumably over drug money. People inside were given 2 minutes to get out. Some hoors going around. Ya'd nearly want the shotgun inside the door these days

• Registered Users Posts: 11,508 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Give a machine gun to this lad and you're sorted..

Didn't like the way it just threw the bag of tools up on the scaffold though. No respect.

I was walking the farm this morning, thinking I really could do with another ton bag for putting hay into. Look there's something white on the shore 😄 Some kind of big bag anyway for Organic Rope Mussels, that'll do !

• Registered Users Posts: 8,407 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Ya'd nearly want the shotgun inside the door these days

Or don't get involved in drugs

• Registered Users Posts: 23 fattaximan

It's time for legalised state dealing , the tax payer is fleadh'd with rising insurance costs etc , as for bosco that's nothing new captain pugwash s seaman staines , 80s were creepy

Wait till they get the address wrong and incinerate an innocent family , christ , legalise now , take it out of the gangsters hands , were all paying for it now , as for perishing rocks , that may have worked for noah

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Even starting off legalising pot would probably do a fair bit without legalising the hard stuff immediately. Tis something i wouldnt mind giving a go myself only ive no idea how long it stays in the system and ive a high value placed on my job and drivers licence at least witha few pints youd have some idea of when youd be good to go. Ah sure im not missing out on anything as i dont know what id be missing out on.

Better living everyone

All drugs especially pot lasts a long time in your system , saliva tests aren't great , a hair follicle is far more accurate and will go back a lot further

• Registered Users Posts: 18,567 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Whatever about a bit of dope being legalised. I’d guarantee houses aren’t getting petrol bombed over a bit of gear.

The sort of hard drugs these massive debts are caused by can’t be legalised and so the criminality will always be there.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,522 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Local gaa club did a talk on drugs for the kids last year. They were saying don't be thinking drugs are only in scummy areas, it's the well to do that are worse

I was led to believe the more you smoked it the quicker it left the system. There was a fella in FAS with us who was a bad egg 4 or 5 years ago was caught with a wholesale amount of cocaine at 16, he was sent to jail for a week and got scared straight and found jesus while he was in there. Now hes out getting on with life doing a trade contributing to society and i think hed even be at mass every Sunday AFAIK. A big turnaround however he loves the gange and would be smoking everyday, he was caught with a wholesale amount of weed last year which was genuinely just to feed his own habit. Hes due to be sentenced soon enough i think hopefully hell get off with it however if he goes inside itll be another waste of potential and talent and a good young fella all over a little bit of harmless enough weed.

Better living everyone

Not to be a c**t but there's no such thing as harmless , I'm sure there are plenty of parents dealing with kids who've developed a psychosis from weed , this mantra that weed doesn't put people in A&E Is a phallacy , today's weed is so strong nothing like 80s grass

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

It was petrol bombed about a fortnight ago too, and only a window was burned, I suppose that was a warning.

Then it was burned properly last night.

It was the parents house

100% , but weed is the gateway , ask any crackhead and god love them but I guarantee their road to he'll began with weed not class A

Tis the kids of the all high and mighty mammys and daddys whod be at the top of mass whod be on the cocaine aroubd here. My own Aunt and Uncle would be cut from that cloth and would have a fierce high and mighty opinion of themselves and the Aunt even looked down on us over the years even though the farm were on reared and educated her. The two sons are knocking dust around for sport, i was at the afters of one of their weddings this year and it was embarrassing to see it happening in front of our eyes and not a care given and i was made feel quilty for drinking a pint at a funeral by the same aunt a few years back. Youre own wedding and you cant even keep off the nose beers for it is a bit of a joke now to be fair.

Better living everyone

This is what I mean , probably kids under the influence of groomers telling them they've a licence to terrorise and their record is esponged on becoming an adult , they've no fear of guards or the justice system , I doubt its a weed bill too , talked to a mother who paid over 5k to these animals, as a parent you'll do whatever you can to protect your child because as much as I admire our gardai they can't stop this , hence legalise it , take it out of the gangsters control

• Registered Users Posts: 22,286 ✭✭✭✭Esel

And Bingo is a gateway to becoming a gambling addict.

Obviously, any 'crackhead' or heroin user will have smoked weed. But what percentage of weed smokers end up on crack or heroin?

Probably a fair few cocaine users who never smoked weed too.

Not your ornery onager

Correct and is being pushed by none other than the Parish Priest here for years and nothing said about it.

Better living everyone

Fair point , and not everyone whose had a drink is an alcoholic , but I stand by what I said about gateways and a pound to a penny ask any class A user what their first experience was !

😄 I have to give Lenny Bruce credit for that line.

I was editing that post when you quoted it, so pasting it below.

And Bingo is a gateway to becoming a gambling addict.

Obviously, any 'crackhead' or heroin user will have smoked weed. But what percentage of weed smokers end up on crack or heroin?

Probably a fair few cocaine users who never smoked weed too.

I'm not totally discounting the gateway theory, but the culprit, if any, could equally be alcohol, or even cigarette smoking.

So, potentially your hard drug abuser started on cigarettes, then alcohol, then weed. Even if you juggle the order, same outcome.

Nevermind the Bolivian marching powder lads (is it mainly lads btw?)

Not your ornery onager

Did you ask them about alcohol, tobacco AND weed, or did you restrict it to weed? Either way your only point is the obvious fact that the vast majority of them probably tried weed before trying harder drugs.

Lots of physical gateways out there, some people are blinkered to seeing alcohol and tobacco as drugs too.

Psychological gateways such as peer pressure too.

Not your ornery onager

You're damn right about alcohol, real destruction there , the deprivation, domestic violence but its legal , despite every family in this country having at least one in their circle

The way i see it cocaine nowadays is like ciggarettes 10 years ago around the time i started venturing into town. The smoking areas used to be jammers and mighty craic and great place to socialise now there empty and dreary spots. Yed start off having a few drags back then, nowadays yed take a bump of coke, next week yed go halves on a 20 pack now ye go halves on a bag after a while i was smoking the pack by myself of a night out now some lads will pig out on a bag themselves if its there for the taking.

Only realised this evening im just over two years "off" the bastarding things id still have the odd one of a night out for my sins and like a bigger egit i bought one box since then and went halves on one box NYE just gone.

Better living everyone

Ah look , don't beat yourself up , January is the worst time to quit anything, Christmas hangover, dark **** days , and apparently nicotine is more addictive than heroin , just don't give up altogether

You need to change your username! 😃

I heard of a guy who went back on heroin from hearing the word 'cue' repeatedly while watching snooker on the telly (A 'Q' is a bag of heroin apparently).

Not your ornery onager

Im off them two years more or less, i bought 30 fags in them two years, at the time it was fairly simple give them up as i knew how, i had done it before. Thankfully the lifestyle im living now doesnt really accomodate smoking, i would look an absolute **** tool if i was seen sparking up in front of a big part of my social circle these days.

Better living everyone

I was meant to change it years ago but ended up relapsing back then. Ah i think its there as a reminder of how fucked in the head i was from tobacco addiction that even my online anonymous persona had to reflect the fact that i was cool as a breeze heading out to town with a pack of carrolls in the breast pocket of the shirt 😂

Better living everyone

I've also heard it referred to as horse 🐎 , but have yet to see any mainlining in the bookies

Is that not Special K youre thinking of? Used to get a right laugh out of lads taking that at gaff parties in oz, when youd see the state theyd be in how you could think of doingvit yourself i dont know.

Better living everyone

Like professor and ex senator John Crown , had to quit given he was head of oncology, fair play to you