Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I was going along the road earlier with the jeep and cattle trailer and met a woman driving a ford fiesta on a backroad. It was on a bit of a bend but both of us were taking it easy and I steered in on the verge to leave room to pass. I doubted by the way she stopped completely and held the road that she wasn't that intent on passing me (I don't think she had the ability but there was sufficient room).

At this stage the jeep and her car were level with each other but I could see the mudguard of the trailer wouldn't pass as she was holding the road. I attempted to back back but the hill was against me and with 1 wheel on the grass verge I had to put it into 4wd to get it moving and prevent it rolling forward. She'd crept forward a bit in the meantime and was now almost touching the steel mudguard. Just as I was about to go back she must have decided to try reversing but put a full lock on the steering wheel to the left and put the wing of the car tight up against the mudguard. Luckily I was watching in the mirror because I'd probably have pulled the wing off it if I tried reversing at the same time.

I pulled the handbrake and got out and she was apologetic about it. I didn't think she'd done any damage and told her to straighten the wheel and back straight back and it would bring them car out from the trailer. In fairness she did that and once there was a bit of room I got back into the jeep and got it reversed back 100 metres to a gateway where you'd pass an artic. She waved and kept going and I'm hopeful that's the end of the matter, there's no scuff on the mudguard so I'm assuming she didn't do any great harm to the car. How some people get by driving is beyond me, they have zero comprehension of how to handle a vehicle in those situations.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,267 ✭✭✭✭Base price

The country is full of incompetent drivers be them male or female. I can regale plenty of incidents of meeting both with the lorry and drag whilst drawing round bales of hay/straw. All you can do is be as polite as possible and in the very worst case scenario, ask their permission and get into their car and either reverse it or drive it past.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

An awful problem on narrow roads is the amount of people who constantly drive on the middle of the road around turns. It gives them very little chance of avoiding an a tip if either car is moving a bit fast.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 29,519 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Alot of people would rather hit you than drive into a pot hole. Like where are you supposed to go if they're in the middle of the road

• Registered Users Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Hit the brakes on tarmac, you stop, hit the brakes on a grass verge/middle and you skid

• Registered Users Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭kk.man

Manners on the road is reflected of society..the amount of times I let people by and no acknowledgement.

On another note I was going into a machinery parts shop in Kilkenny recently and that exact day in work two people 'let' me open the door for them in work which was obvious they were too lazy to do it (they were on the other side of the glass door). I walk fast and don't mess about. Anyway that evening machinery shop a young girl about 14 ish was on the far side I opened the door and she like the others walked through and never said a thing. I sarcastically said 'thanks' and with in a milli second she said 'no problem'.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

I'd be the same style as you, if they didn't acknowledge me opening the door, I say, your welcome, I get funny looks.

A

Although some people are so far up their own a£%# they wouldn't notice.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

To be fair on narrow roads I’d keep out a bit from the edge for fear someone is walking on the bend too. I feel the biggest issue on roads is speed and keeping the foot down all the time. If people drive 5-10miles slower or took their foot off to anticipate other traffic/walkers etc, it would cut down a lot on road incidents and make the roads a more pleasant place

Pedestrians with no hi vis is another problem

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Modern cars are too big for alot of back roads now, and their size makes people feel they are safe no matter what's around the corner

• Registered Users Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭roosterman71

See talk now that hi-viz are part of the problem as they are so common in all walks of life they don't have the same impact from a safety point of view for pedestrians

I met a man walking along a side road around midnight a few weeks ago. No hi vis. Don't know how I stopped without hitting him. No torch or nothing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

• Registered Users Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Just remember. You too were once a man living in a woman's body.

And then you were born..

Edit : it was trapped instead of living where I read that quote. Trapped works better.😀

Post edited by Say my name on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I work In a school with what might might be called tough children., I find it easy to get on with them. In a lot of cases, they want someone to believe in them.

I’ve had to step in with female colleagues who would nag a lad to the last. I always say if you back them into a corner, they will bite back.

but I do find schools tough ti work in at times... not the children, the adults.

on another note, as wrangler has sold his boat, I have bought my first. Shovel out and buried it in the lawn as a play house for the lads. The excitement is worth the hard work. Got to figure out the sails but a houseful of pirates at the moment.

The other thing is all kids are different. I get phone calls here about one of the kids not doing homework etc. They are comparing him to his sister who was a model student. He is good at other things but they don't see that. Hate getting those calls about him.

Probably tunnel vision, they see /notice what effects them

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Easier to phone you than a “tough case”. We used to get the odd phone call like that about our middle lad. But then the teacher knew she’d get a good hearing from myself and herself here compared to some of the houses she could have rang.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Was reading Pat Spillanes comment there about Stephen Cluxton returning for dublin . He's dead right, surely in a county that size there's a young lad who could get his go

• Registered Users Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

As someone who often sees ok footballers just out of minor meet an ould lad on the way down at the same level i completely agree with spillane. I see loads of young lads in our club playing on the reserve team sitting on the bench as a lad almost 40 plays ahead of them. It makes no sense to me as the young lads end up going playing soccer, rugby etc. If a club or county isnt investing the time or playing minutes in young players they are shooting themselves in the foot for 3 years down the line.

Totally agree with this, I played with 3 older players where 1 guy had a son on the team. 2 of them destroyed the youth coming up. Had experience but not the fitness, wouldn’t pass as they wanted to look good in the report. The 3rd guy was fantastic, he tried putting an older head on young shoulders

When I was coaching I always a believer in getting youth into a team. One of the weaknesses in a lot of coaches is the tendancy (especially if they played with some of the players) to be slow to drop older players.

You will win nothing with young lads but neither will you win with older teams. A lot of older players are great at game management but can have poor fitness levels.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

There should be a 70km/hr speed limit on country roads, useless of course with current enforcement. Its got to the sad stage where society accepts that the motorist owns the road and and the any other road user is just an obstruction.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I do some GAA coaching in the local primary school and this guy on Twitter has loads of ideas to make sure they're all involved: https://twitter.com/ShaneSmith197

Here's a recent Tweet from him:

8 tips for coaching children that we should never lose sight of.

1. Fun games in the warm up

2. No long lines

3. Positive body language

4. Lots of ball contact

5. No queing behind a cone

6. Speaking in a positive tone

7. Smaller sided games

8. Inclusion of all

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I was amused at a 500 cow dairy farmer advertising for a manager and only offering €38000/yr, you'd wonder what planet they're on.

The marina that I had the boat in advertised for a mechanic, €50000/yr plus a new van

• Registered Users Posts: 6,678 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Going off previous write-ups on that place you'd be expected to be putting in silly hours aswell, a grand a week gross would be the start off point for a job like the above where your expected to go 8 plus milkings a week, relief milker here does 4-5 milkings a week and would be grossing 17-19k a year

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

€18/hr is the general rate for a GO unskilled on any big site these days and they cant even get lads at that rate even well good lads anyways. Youll not even clear €600/week on that package and who knows what hours are expected for that. A good friend of mine is clearing just shy of €750/week on a farm with not even half those cows hes not busted well set up but the farmer is well aware hell be up **** creek without a paddle and he reminds him of that occasionaly too, id say the next step will be a partnership or some arrangement between them. I remember when i came home and i was talking to farm solutions about going working for them while i was waiting to get started off here. Terrible nice fella i was talking to (this was the start of covid) he offered me a position of going around taking over the running of farms if a farmer went down with covid. I thought surely this would be a good number with the danger factor associated with it i cant remember whether i was grossing or netting a little bit over €400 but i tolf him id pass on it. I see they have an acd out today looking for a relief milker in one area for one farm but if youre right good theyll have you milking across 4 or 5 farms, as if lads were queing up for that kind of work.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

€38000 is an insult for the work they'd have to do, and the milk cheques that'd come in there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

For sure, gonna have to be a serious review of wages going forward on dairy operations over the next few years uf staff are to be retained. Easy enough for you and i to comment from the sidelines though. Ive met a good handful of lads through my apprenticeship who were working on farms and just got f#cked up of being in a dead end job going nowhere ended up packing it in and getting a trade instead and never looked back since.

Better living everyone

The only reason you advertise it as a management position is you literally can get away without paying for extra hours worked and any night work or emergency you would get called in.

Slava Ukrainii