Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 18,568 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It’s this sort of Monday night.

33081699-96-E6-4620-8377-2-A1-BA07-C3-FF6.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

The illustrations and descriptions would certainly make you think of it. The opening had our beach on it, people left to be taken out by the tide.

Map of vanished villages had the name of a crossroads a few miles away. Never heard of a village there before

• Registered Users Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Going watching on +1
    Some finale to Yellowstone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

I’m no SinnFein supporter.. would never vote for em but I have to say the way Claire Byrne and Kate O’Connell (is she best buds with Claire??) are ganging up on Matt Carthy is scandalous...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

I’m no SinnFein supporter.. would never vote for em but I have to say the way Claire Byrne and Kate O’Connell (is she best buds with Claire??) are ganging up on Matt Carthy is scandalous...

As my mother would say about Kate, "she's a bit of a raw mouth".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

New cooker ordered for Christmas tonight. One of the rings not working. Noticed my father hadn't got the frying pan on the usual ring over the last few days and started wondering why I was standing at the cooker for 30 minutes stiring scrambled egg that was going nowhere.

Oulfella said sure three is enough but there's 4 pots for the Christmas dinner so said to myself dont want that complication on Christmas day or it might throw me out of kilter when I'm concentrating on not burning things.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Water John

If the numbers in the house, esp this year are small, people should consider halving the turkey. It cooks really quickly as there is no large cavity. We've done it here for years, freeze the other half and cook for St Patrick's Day or Easter.

NcdJd wrote: »
    New cooker ordered for Christmas tonight. One of the rings not working. Noticed my father hadn't got the frying pan on the usual ring over the last few days and started wondering why I was standing at the cooker for 30 minutes stiring scrambled egg that was going nowhere.

Oulfella said sure three is enough but there's 4 pots for the Christmas dinner so said to myself dont want that complication on Christmas day or it might throw me out of kilter when I'm concentrating on not burning things.

Throw out a good cooker for the want of a replacement ring. I replaced a ring earlier this year. I was having difficulty unscrewing the old one, rang the supplier, €70 call out charge, ring only cost €23. Put a drop of easing oil on the screws, went off and cut the lawn. Came back and screws off - new ring on, €70 spared.

I don't know the brand of easing oil, something I got off my brother years ago - no label - orange colour, brilliant stuff. I must ask him when I see him.

Throw out a good cooker for the want of a replacement ring. I replaced a ring earlier this year. I was having difficulty unscrewing the old one, rang the supplier, €70 call out charge, ring only cost €23. Put a drop of easing oil on the screws, went off and cut the lawn. Came back and screws off - new ring on, €70 spared.

I don't know the brand of easing oil, something I got off my brother years ago - no label - orange colour, brilliant stuff. I must ask him when I see him.

Didn't know you could do that. It's a plate rather than a ring limetree.

Jjameson wrote: »
    Electric job?

Yeah standalone unit. I can fit the cooker but don't really want to be fluting around with it. Wary of cookers that are on the blink!

Out of warranty.

Didn't know you could do that. It's a plate rather than a ring limetree.

Better off with the new cooker, plates are a no no, they are heaviest users of electricity.

Will be getting a cheap and cheerful one. My father is fairly deaf at this stage so he doesn't realise how rough he is with the pots and pans. Like when he drives a car, revs the site out of it. Used to annoy me but now I just laugh ha. I'll be probably like that someday myself :)

• Registered Users Posts: 29,530 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Will be getting a cheap and cheerful one. My father is fairly deaf at this stage so he doesn't realise how rough he is with the pots and pans. Like when he drives a car, revs the site out of it. Used to annoy me but now I just laugh ha. I'll be probably like that someday myself :)

My sister is like that with the driving. Reving this ****e out of car and grating the gears. Ate the head of the garage owner when the car needed a new clutch....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

For all our more senior members, for the day that's in it.;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Passed three yokes on the road earlier.

Low loader with ex120 behind tractor, all rear lights smashed, dump trailer behind another, all lights smashed, low loader loaded with shuttering, all lights smashed.

Three of them in convoy on a narrow enough road not one rear light visible.

I can see why the guards are cracking down on this rubbish. Lights on these yokes looked like they were broken ten years ago.

Obviously a fairly rough crew.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Does anyone know anything about Ad blue increasing ammonia emissions?

Just a thought that it seems to me it was a bonkers move to add fertilizer from gas and fertilizer plants to diesel combustion engines to reduce nitrogen oxide emissions.
    It's like it was a thought from Yara and the likes just to increase turnover.

Does it increase ammonia emissions from the tailpipe?

Does anyone know anything about Ad blue increasing ammonia emissions?

Just a thought that it seems to me it was a bonkers move to add fertilizer from gas and fertilizer plants to diesel combustion engines to reduce nitrogen oxide emissions.
    It's like it was a thought from Yara and the likes just to increase turnover.

Does it increase ammonia emissions from the tailpipe?

I'll just leave this here.

Happy reading SMN, I couldn't finish it. :D

https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1352231014005809#bib19

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

blue5000 wrote: »

For all our more senior members, for the day that's in it.;)

Program on TG4 tonight on his time in New York

• Registered Users Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Base price wrote: »
    A reminder that the second part of The Hunger - The Story of the Irish Famine is on after the nine o'clock news tonight on RTE 1.

One of the best history documentaries in a good while, the relatively short road from the famine to independence is something we don't seem to hear about much.

The bit about farmers using the famine to expand their holdings while their poorer neighbours were starving to death is a black mark on a lot of our ancestors.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

One of the best history documentaries in a good while, the relatively short road from the famine to independence is something we don't seem to hear about much.

The bit about farmers using the famine to expand their holdings while their poorer neighbours were starving to death is a black mark on a lot of our ancestors.

Thats the thing- It wasn't just some - many traders and merchants did very well during the famine. Theres one town that I know off where a number relatively small shopkeepers improved their premises with some seriously fancy shop fronts during the famine years. Also some areas were much worst hit than others. Chances are if you and your family were able to survive the famine years and weren't put on the road or forced to emigrate - you probably were one of the luckier ones ...

gozunda wrote: »
    Thats the thing- It wasn't just some farmers. Many traders and merchants did very well during the famine. Theres one town that I know off where a number relatively small shopkeepers improved their premises with some seriously fancy shop fronts during the famine years. Also some areas were much worst hit than others. Chances are if you and your family were able to survive the famine years and weren't put on the road or forced to emigrate - you probably were one of the luckier ones ...

Even up to the 1930's and 40's and probably closer to present day. Shop owners took land in lieu of clearing accounts.
    Merchants with not an acre to their name ended up with hundreds.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

As my mother would say about Kate, "she's a bit of a raw mouth".

But what about the flue-ride Matt?

Covid vultures hovering about these times making low ball dodgy offers to businesses too. It's human nature... or just greed

• Registered Users Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Thats the thing- It wasn't just some farmers. Many traders and merchants did very well during the famine. Theres one town that I know off where a number relatively small shopkeepers improved their premises with some seriously fancy shop fronts during the famine years. Also some areas were much worst hit than others. Chances are if you and your family were able to survive the famine years and weren't put on the road or forced to emigrate - you probably were one of the luckier ones ...

yeah should have included the gombeen men, they had rural ireland by the bollocks until the 50s

one side of my family came from kerry to limerick during the famine and were of the class of people worst effected, the othe side were relativly comfortable publicans/farmsers so probably weren't effected by it much.

Mad to think how relatively recent all of it was

In my family, well one branch of it, for the two successive post famine generations,most emigrated in their teens to the USA, bar the one for the small farm or a girl who got married.
    All did well abroad, in tough circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭straight

I picked that bit up as the government saw it as an opportunity for bigger farms. I doubt the majority of farmers were happy to see people suffering so much. Mad times, just all about survival. It's hard to imagine how horrifying it must have been. The mothers picking out children to save, etc. I still can't really understand it. The streams, rivers, lakes were full of fish back then. I'd eat the dog or cook rats no problem of I was in such a situation.and there was rats everywhere. It looks more like the poor were totally downtrodden and overworked. They were building famine roads around here that were never finished. The lads were just climbing over the bank and dying of exhaustion. Some of the roads were never finished. Most of the churches around here were built in the 1840's. It puts alot of our current problems into perspective.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I was reading on line a bit about the poor laws and famine relief. Within about a 2 mile radius of the local village there were over 3,600 people living here before the famine, now I reckon there wouldn't be 360 in the same area. It must have been a living hell.

What struck me about the tv program was for years after the famine there were very few children.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Before the famine and still relatively after compared to rest of the country there was a high density of people living from Lough Neagh to Cavan, Monaghan.

Why was this?
    Was it hemp, flax and linen?

https://twitter.com/Limerick1914/status/1333354185874677761?s=20

Before the famine and still relatively after compared to rest of the country there was a high density of people living from Lough Neagh to Cavan, Monaghan.

Why was this?
    Was it hemp, flax and linen?

https://twitter.com/Limerick1914/status/1333354185874677761?s=20

The Cootehill area which spans the Cavan Monaghan border was a major flax hub and Cootehill was for a time the largest linen market in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    Did your cow calve yet?
    She calved herself this afternoon - a heifer calf. I'm at home since early morning cleaning the house for youngest arrival from Galway. I will take a pic of her tomorrow.