Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 5,559 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Car insurance renewal in the door this morning. 25% increase since last year. WTF? Are premiums not coming down due to less claims and what not? I feel violated and I only opened the letter. Thieving bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

I was putting down skirting board for a friend of mine today. Payment was lunch and a bottle of whiskey.
    Around 1 o clock he goes ‘what d’ya want for lunch? I’m gonna order it.’ He got out his phone and ordered McDonalds delivered to the house. :O
    What a world we live in haha

Since I seen that post last night I can't get mcdonalds out of my head. Large big mac meal, two extra portion of chips and a bun burger. Might pop up to the airport at the weekend and make a pig of myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,530 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

NcdJd wrote: »
    Since I seen that post last night I can't get mcdonalds out of my head. Large big mac meal, two extra portion of chips and a bun burger. Might pop up to the airport at the weekend and make a pig of myself.

And a mc flurry after and a diet coke

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Jb1989

What about a burger King, nice heavy burger.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I can't stop thinking of McD's since reading Mickey's post. I'd wolf a Big Mac, medium fries and strawberry milkshake.

Then straight to pub for few pints and abrakebabra on way home ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Car insurance renewal in the door this morning. 25% increase since last year. WTF? Are premiums not coming down due to less claims and what not? I feel violated and I only opened the letter. Thieving bastards

You may ring around, brokers and insurance companies.
    I had a similar increase with FBD. 30 years continuous cover, and lately going up every year, up to €700+ for a 12 year old Avensis.
    Tried Bank of Ireland and got better cover for about €460.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Then straight to pub for few pints and abrakebabra on way home ha.
    Feck ye :)

Thanks for reminding me of abrakebabra - I haven't had one on their juicy kebabs in five or six years.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Looks like some Russian Oligarch got there before you :D

https://www.perthnow.com.au/news/offbeat/millionaire-viktor-martynov-flies-450-miles-for-mcdonalds-ng-b881739325z

• Registered Users Posts: 6,780 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

Base price wrote: »
    Feck ye :)

Thanks for reminding me of abrakebabra - I haven't had one on their juicy kebabs in five or six years.

I used to work there years ago. Never eaten there since.

But all this longing for a burger, haven't you guys got burgers on legs out in your fields:)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I had a great lump of a burger in Supermacs lately. I cant remember the name of it , maybe 5 Oz or something but it was a fine burger.

gozunda wrote: »

And I thought I was bad. Remember years ago in Dublin City on a work doo. I worked a 14 hour shift and was smashed other than a fiver in my pocket. The boss said don't worry ill look after you. Anyway after the night had ended there was no sign of the boss. I said to myself grand ill get the bus out to the airport. As I was walking up to Eden Quay I got a fierce craving for ham & cheese jambons. It was a tough decision as if I went and got the jambons I'd end up having to walk 7 or 8 miles home due to not enough for the bus fair..

In the end my stomach won out. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 29,530 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I had a great lump of a burger in Supermacs lately. I cant remember the name of it , maybe 5 Oz or something but it was a fine burger.

Supermacs do a great chicken burger too. Love their burger sauce

• Registered Users Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭emaherx

Hard to go wrong with their 5oz bacon with cheese, would take one of them over any McDonald's/Burger King etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,144 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I got a notice too and 25% increase, they took it off when I went in, same price now as last year

Heh, just off the phone with a customer care team from a certain publication. I, for some reason, signed up to a subscription and decided to cancel. So I headed to their site and there's no online cancellation facility, red flag. I ring then number, surprised not to be put on hold. I want to cancel my sub please. Well...... how about we pause it for two months and charge you then. No, I want to cancel please. How about we give you half price for six months? No, I'd like to cancel please. OK, I'll have to pass it to out *whatever* team and you should get an email from them.

No means no folks, unless ya give them card details!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,568 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I got to se the ETTG repeat yesterday.

Social farming bit was great. Seeing the three buckos having the crack with the hose and enjoying feeding cattle.

Shows there’s a realm of good in people outside of profit. It brought a smile to my heart.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

_Brian wrote: »
    I got to se the ETTG repeat yesterday.

Social farming bit was great. Seeing the three buckos having the crack with the hose and enjoying feeding cattle.

Shows there’s a realm of good in people outside of profit. It brought a smile to my heart.

The bit that made me twitch was when Helen asked the three lads how they thought of farming and they replied they liked/loved it and then she asked them will they be sad when ye've to leave the social farmer.

I felt she was using the lads to make the point that there needs to be something else for when their time was up.
    I'm not sure if the thought was made to the lads before that?
    Maybe it was.

Positive piece and the point was made for the need for more social farmers.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Heh, just off the phone with a customer care team from a certain publication. I, for some reason, signed up to a subscription and decided to cancel. So I headed to their site and there's no online cancellation facility, red flag. I ring then number, surprised not to be put on hold. I want to cancel my sub please. Well...... how about we pause it for two months and charge you then. No, I want to cancel please. How about we give you half price for six months? No, I'd like to cancel please. OK, I'll have to pass it to out *whatever* team and you should get an email from them.

No means no folks, unless ya give them card details!
    If they hadn't your card details.
    Either someone else is winding you up by putting your name down or it's even more worryingly the publication online team winding you up.

Hell of a way to look for an interview piece!! :rolleyes: :D

Edit: it does sound like a scam for your card number but the point you made about you phoning the publication. .hmm.
    Still very fishy.

2nd edit: is there something that when they ring you, conversation over, you hang up, they don't, you ring another phone number, instead of it going to your wanted phone number it goes to your original caller..??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,198 ✭✭✭orm0nd

wrangler wrote: »
    I got a notice too and 25% increase, they took it off when I went in, same price now as last year

you should have shopped around, most likely you'd it a good bit less than FBD

daughter was with them about 8 years , €1150 quote this year, by great begging they would throw off the 50 ,

I got her on to AXA exact same cover €675

• Registered Users Posts: 11,144 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

orm0nd wrote: »
    you should have shopped around, most likely you'd it a good bit less than FBD

daughter was with them about 8 years , €1150 quote this year, by great begging they would throw off the 50 ,

I got her on to AXA exact same cover €675

we're only paying 400 here for the car and 500 for the jeep and trailer, I can't see 500 being taken off either of those. Age could be a problem here shortly so better hang on I think

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

report on the news today on insurance telling us that companies have no loyalty and give low rates to attract new customers. would like to know how much this report cost to tell us something we all knew already

• Registered Users Posts: 9,730 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

whelan2 wrote: »
    Supermacs do a great chicken burger too. Love their burger sauce

I'm a bit of a "burger snob" - has to be gourmet or home made. On the former, the best one I ever had was in the Dubai outlet of "5 Guys". The good news is that they opened their first outlet in Ireland last year!!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I'm a bit of a "burger snob" - has to be gourmet or home made. On the former, the best one I ever had was in the Dubai outlet of "5 Guys". The good news is that they opened their first outlet in Ireland last year!!:)

Dermot Desmond's sons will be delighted at your endorsement.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Claire Byrne live show is really just a bit of craic... Claire must be pissing herself laughing that she gets paid for this rubbish every Monday night

Great program on the Belturbet bombing in 1972. Harrowing on the families.

The sealing of many of the records for 84years probably because of direct involvement of army or security forces and not just collusion.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

_Brian wrote: »
    Great program on the Belturbet bombing in 1972. Harrowing on the families.

The sealing of many of the records for 84years probably because of direct involvement of army or security forces and not just collusion.

Between sealing the NI files for 84 years ( strange number to choose?), and much of the Garda files being "lost", be hard to have confidence in either bunch.

Saw the leaked video of gmit lecturers belittling students.
    Very bad form, unfortunate that it got leaked. It could be career ending stuff for those involved.