Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 8,216 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Clocks go back!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,556 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

That a bit like saying after you lost a game you won the second half or in this case the first half

Ireland game plan was seriously flawed. The reason we got no further than the QF is we went to the WC with a 38 year old as first choice outhalf and played him to start in every game and for all the game against NZ.

That was the tip of the iceberg where we had poor rotation of players. Yes our was a bad draw with SA and Scotland in the pool two top four teams and a 5-8 ranked team.

But SA manage the winning of the WC from the same group. In the game against NZ we had another outhalf on the bench and failed to utilise him. We failed to make a decision to take penalty shots at goal that other teams took and continually kicked to the corner

NZ should have kicked to the corner for the jast penalty it was just too far out. Ireland problem was we were unwilling to kick for points 10+ meters further in. NZ played well considering they had only 14 men on the pitch for a good spell. As well SA was never even warned for repeated concession of penalties near there own line.

However they SA had an uncanny knack of winning knock out game by a single point. Ireland has an uncanny knack of losing QF's

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

@awaywithyou, maybe but there seemed to be a cuteness with SA that the just about done enough to win the games they needed to win & they didn’t need to win the Ireland so held a little back. They were lucky alright. But I would say its the last game for a lot of their players so they had to manage it like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Am I the only one who thought the game last night was poor. Very little attacking play, both sets of wings spent the night chasing kicks rather than running with the ball. Credit New Zealand, great effort to get that close with 14 but SA showed no ambition to kill off the game, happy to keep kicking their penalties.

Finals are for winning. When you win lose the quality if the game is not a factor you worry about

NZ showed the lack of exactly the same ambition in going for a penaltyate in the game and it was very far out instead of kicking into the corner and working the ball to get a penalty nearer in. When you allow for the fact that SA conceeding three penalties in an earlier play in there that was the play of the match.

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Agree the game is for winning, just not great for a neutral

• Registered Users Posts: 21,420 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Yes, thought the game was poor also, dissatisfyingly so. My son watching it with me thought Barnes gave NZ a lot, trying to make up for his wrong call on Ardea Savea, who had a good game. du Toit had a super game.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭enricoh

Never so much hype for so much tripe, too dragged out. The amount of mismatches was rediculous - there should only be 12 teams or 16 tops in it imo.

They're putting 24 teams into the next world cup, so even more turkey shoots!

Well a country can only play one match per week, it's not soccer. Simply pick the matches you want to watch. That's what I do, one match per night at most.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Jjameson

Hazel is ok for a clip but for damage a straight thick bit of seasoned blackthorn is a real weapon. Always only used as a walking stick as you never hit an animal with one as is unlucky.

If you are ever in a fight with a stick you go for the face, eyes, nose, mouth, teeth, etc short stabbing actions I not really into using it as a club, I am not a blunt force. I am a bit more subtle than that.

If I am at cattle an ash plant and a bit of a root at the end. A length of hazel makes the best multi purpose stick. It funny what you say about unlucky. An old dealer saw me with one and it's my preferred stock, he said '' you Kerry lads were always into pishoguery''

They are a great stick

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Jjameson

The length of hazel was the cattle stick of status. But I think the pishoegery has near died out.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,517 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The trial is ongoing lads, wouldn't be commenting publicly until it's over.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I was going tidying the yard today and the sisters BF wanted to go at ash trees that are destroyed with die back.

with his health, I had to go up with him and put my own job on hold.

didn’t my fathers dog run in front of the tractor and died. Not 30 meters from where the cow got injured on me this time last year and the same spot where the cows daughter broke her leg last summer.

had to tell my mam as he was my dads last dog. Tough conversation.

he would have been 10 on march and my dad will be gone 9 years in Jan.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭Jb1989

• Registered Users Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

That's hard on you @kollegeknight

Verona Murphy would really need to cop on. She can't be saying the Minister deserves a slap, just wrong.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Was never a fan of hers and this type of comment allows the Minister to play the victim and wriggle away from the bigger issue of the low payment

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users Posts: 10,774 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Anyone go to Roscrea Limousin sale today? Top price €16,500. Huge crowd there. First time I couldn't get parking in the mart itself.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Packrat

She's not wrong. Even as a hill farmer I'll agree that it's insulting. We're getting 12 a ewe this year... You'd carry a few ewes on an acre of tillage ground, and every farmer in the country benefits from a vibrant productive tillage sector.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users Posts: 9,259 ✭✭✭tanko

I think the McGees from Athlone bought that bull, what is his name?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,774 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Lot 62 Carrefour Turbo - Junior Champion €16500

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Was moving heifers on the road yesterday, busy N road that splits our land, out the gap, 50 yards up the road and into another field on the opposite side of the road. Three of us, all in high-viz, one either side and my father leading them out of the field.

Wait for a break in the traffic and we start, this car comes up behind me, I’m in the middle of the road, beckon her to stop, slows to what I thought was a stop, I turn around again to concentrate on the animals which are coming out of the field at this stage. She flys up by me, doesn’t spot that I’ve a stick in my hand, whacks the widescreen and smashes it, whips the stick out of my hand. Heifers back into the field, she pulls in and is straight on the phone so we go back to our job, get it done second time round. I head up to the yard to cut a bit of silage. Guard arrives out, has talked to the lady and has clearly decided I’m guilty, I explain what’s happened and he says he’ll have to take statements from both of us. Fair enough, he’s back half an hour later, she says my father, 82, ran out of the field while she was passing and struck her car. I explained to him again exactly what happened. “I have to advise you that she is the road user and you had no right to stop traffic”, I explained that my understanding was that I had the right when I was moving cattle, he disagreed "only an officer of the court can stop traffic". I left it at that, he seemed a thick yoke. Have to go in at some stage this week and give a statement, I’ll have the rules of the road with me to show him that I was entitled to stop traffic and she was obliged to stop.

But somehow I feel like I’m going to get f**ked here, no doubt she’ll have a neck injury or PTSD by the time she's finished

• Registered Users Posts: 29,517 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

You have 3 witnesses, she has none. Traffic must stop for a person in control of livestock, guards and lollipop people or whatever they're called

• Registered Users Posts: 8,397 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

What type of stick breaks a windscreen?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Exactly. @Green&Red I hope you fight this.

You have every right to stop the traffic as you are in charge of livestock. You can even stop them for 15 minutes if needs be I believe.

She could be done for dangerous driving. If you wanted you could pursue that avenue. Once she was stopped she had no right to move again without your consent.

Have as much back up as you can muster as believe me once she got home she'll be coming up with all things to complain of to claim off your insurance.

Do this as soon as you can as she'll be putting her wheels in motion and it'll be hard to stop. I'd be 99% sure she knew the guard she called.

Sycamore stick, father brings it with him everywhere, butty end down, she hit it a right rattle

• Registered Users Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Yesterday evening a couple, in their early 70s from about 5 miles away landed at the door. I know them, but not very well. Both looked a little scared and worried. I thought they'd broken down or something. In they came for tea and biscuits. The man started talking about their only daughter, a slightly wild young one in her teens but seemed to mature in the 20s. She'd emigrated to Australia in 2020 before Covid, and hasn't been home since. Himself started on about his land, a small farm of about 50 acres and then out of the blue asked me to buy it. It's not great land but would be OK for grazing. Wouldn't be wonderfully maintained but wouldn't take much to sort it either - few fences repaired and trim back hedges would be 90% of the work. I couldn't figure out why I was been asked and it turns out they were visiting landowners all around them offering the land. A drop of whiskey after the biscuits then loosened the lips a bit and more info came out, first slowly then all the issues became apparent.

I initially thought it was because the daughter was away, and not looking like returning to inherit the farm that they'd sell up and retire. But it turned out the daughter had a drug problem, and had ran up debts heading for half a million feeding her addiction. She didn't emigrate, she scarpered before she'd be killed for not paying up. Her emigrating wasn't for want of travel, or a new life. It was necessity. With her gone though, the druggy fuckers turned to her parents and for the last 3 years have hounded and harassed them, going as far as waiting for them outside the post office on pension days to take their pension. They'd sold off some machinery to keep them at bay. But it's not enough and both now live in fear with random people hanging around their house in the evening or stealing in broad daylight things from their sheds. Gates are being left open, cattle being frightened by dogs and all sorts. Debt currently stands around 400k. They fear for their own safety. The pair of them are fairly broken by it all at this stage. I think the guards are aware but the pair are scared bringing them into it will cause even more trouble

What would you do in this situation? I won't be buying it - don't need it and can't afford it. I'll try get a few bob together to give them alright. Not sure what else can be done by me. Any ideas?

Post edited by roosterman71 on

This is what I'm worried about. I'm hoping that she'll have acknowledged that she saw me and slowed. We had no signs up, theres enough of a line of sight either direction to decide its all clear before starting the animals moving.

Its a pain in the jock having to deal with it