Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 21,421 ✭✭✭✭Water John

• Registered Users Posts: 29,518 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

In car at football Friday evenings, not alot to do. Raining most weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Where is the biggest farm in Ireland?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,556 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Even though it's a B2 energy rating it will cost a small fortune to heat. Nowadays with prime property they often get a furniture specialist in to refurnish the property for its sale. The owners( basically the furniture is rented) will be removing the furniture on sale. Fine house though, you would need a good few solar panels

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 11,265 ✭✭✭✭Base price

That depends on what you mean by a farm. I would say our marine fisheries which comprises of about 220,000,000 acres. Whereas our land farm acreage is about 12,075,051.

Other than that and off the top of my head I reckon Bord na Mona or Coillte probably have the largest acreage. John Magnier/Coolmore Stud probably the largest private combined ownership of land in various counties/townlands. AFAIK but stand corrected the Duke of Devonshire, the owner of Lismore Castle Waterford is the biggest private owner of a single plot/estate.

Post edited by Base price on

• Registered Users Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Well I meant farm in the traditional sense of land with someone farming it with crops or animals. I ask as the young lad is into farming simulator and is telling me these days of the big machines he's going to buy when he grows up. He's also going to buy the biggest field in Ireland and the biggest farm. I'm just wondering where that farm is

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Le shovelle

It used to be the Grianan estate in co. Donegal. It was somewhere in the region of 3500 acres at a time. It's called Glenmore estate now

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Le shovelle

• Registered Users Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Tell him to head for Brazil when his older or maybe Ukraine and he'll have all the acres he wants

Brought a big bag of runners, football boots and shoes to local vincent de paul. Some of them unworn. The girl said I dont know if we can take them......she took them in the end

• Registered Users Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I'd have taken them off you even, don't know are my lads hard on football boots or the quality is gone so poor, but they come back from training every few weeks looking for a new pair.

I got a pair to have in the boot of the car after one of them forgot their boots for a game, got them in vincent de paul. The ones I gave in were easily in better order than the ones i bought

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭DBK1

OH was at a concert last night, a fundraising event organised by the local motorbike club.

Best Foot Forward were the headline act, for anyone that doesn’t know them they’re a band that Ray Murphy is a member of.

She said there wasn’t a dry eye in the house when Ray sang Sweet Sixteen.

It’s horrendous to think what that poor family are dealing with and going through at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭50HX

God love them & the media are not helping with the saturation coverage of the trial

The Molly Martens trial is pretty hard going too.

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭TheClubMan

There's a dairy farmer near Blessington who walks his dairy herd from the parlour to an outside grazing block, about 200m down along the N81 during the grazing season. That's the main road linking West Wicklow to Dublin. He has the cows trained to walk in single file on the correct side of the road walking both ways. Impressive to watch when I come across them I must say but my heart would be in my mouth with all the traffic building up and the potential for an accident!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,142 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Sorry to hear that,

John Dillon did something similar and it shook him well, He's had two accidents now that should've killed him.

I try to put most of the perspex sheets on the sides now, it lasts longer and is safer

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭RockOrBog

Who are people using for house and farm insurance, I only priced FBD yet they didn't seem too bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,556 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭green daries

• Registered Users Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭50HX

Fbd this year

Previously Zurich & fbd before that

Like car insurance you need to keep moving

• Registered Users Posts: 21,421 ✭✭✭✭Water John

FBD, but I always call to the office. I have three that fall due at the same time , so I try for a package deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭I says

Beef exports to China from Ireland have been stopped after a case of atypical BSE was detected in a bovine animal in the state. RTÉ news

more bad news

• Registered Users Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

This is very strange.

Under WHO rules decided in June this year. Atypical BSE cases are no longer required to be declared.

At the same time as this announcement from China, Michael Martin is in China where they are reeling from comments he made about China earlier in the year.

So there's some possibilities.

*China has spies in Irish meat plants that informed them of the case. And used it against Martin on his visit.

*Martin is anti animal agriculture in Ireland and used this as a stick against beef exports to China and tried to save face with honesty and naivety.

🤷‍♂️

Apparently we already agreed to a protocol with the Chinese that any BSE cases in Ireland were to be notified -

"Under a protocol agreed with China, beef exports have to be suspended on discovery of any BSE case which has now happened."

Anyway, IMO that Chinese contract was a load of shite. You couldn't bring ordinary cattle on the same lorry with one's for that contract and the factory lairage had to be cleared of non contract cattle before the Chinese ones were allowed in. You'd nearly think that they were holier than thou.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Something tells me this is too convenient.

You can bet south American beef exports to China just go by WHO requirements.

This country and people continually shoot themselves in the feet. Lots behind the scenes we never know of.

I've never had a great regard for Michael Martin since he came into this government.

see my comment just above yours in case you were typing as I posted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Just looking at the volume and value of beef exported to China this year its small its 2693 tons at a value of approx €16m.

Bag of the fag box calculation leaves its it €5.94/kg leaving the the factory, so it wasn't high value cuts and was less than 10k cattle for the year.

A pain in the backside but not the end of the world. It will be interesting to see what other markets will be affected, if any

• Registered Users Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭kk.man