Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 24,447 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Local primary school here has a confirmed case of covid. Full class and their family told to isolate for 2 weeks. That's some pain in the hole now. Only being "freed" on Jan 1st. Bad luck and timing

Think theres a few teachers in it too

• Registered Users Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Reggie. wrote: »
    Think theres a few teachers in it too

Inevitable to happen.

Primary teachers in particular cannot avoid contact with children.

Pity about the timing and hope all works out well but it’s like a necessary casualty of war. In years to come, the real issue will be our youth if we don’t mind them.

I’m dreading that they extend the Christmas holidays. Our students need to be in school.

I’m gone greyer from the past week- I organised a virtual Covid compliant table quiz and a pancake and hot chocolate morning. Some of our students were just so happy to have something positive and apart from the monotony.

They were delighted but the shear logistics would knock you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Local National School done a brilliant Christmas Play this year, videoed it and it's available to parents to view on line. Filmed alot of it out side around the parish, the kids absolutely loved it. Teaching is so much more the maths, reading & writing & sometimes many of us forget that.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

A nice bit of competitive live showjumping just after been on RTE2 there now.

Anto_Meath wrote: »
    Local National School done a brilliant Christmas Play this year, videoed it and it's available to parents to view on line. Filmed alot of it out side around the parish, the kids absolutely loved it. Teaching is so much more the maths, reading & writing & sometimes many of us forget that.

Same as here. There is an app call Seesaw, the teacher uploads photos, videos and lessons. It’s great for us as we get to see what our little girl is up to and send it to Oz to the grandparents.

A nice bit of competitive live showjumping just after been on RTE2 there now.

Herself had it on, I still got the full commentary despite donning my headphones and diving back into my course :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 29,530 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Same as here. There is an app call Seesaw, the teacher uploads photos, videos and lessons. It’s great for us as we get to see what our little girl is up to and send it to Oz to the grandparents.

Our secondary school upload photos daily on Facebook. Most days there's a few photos. Great to see them doing whatever. Today they did the goal mile.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Our secondary school upload photos daily on Facebook. Most days there's a few photos. Great to see them doing whatever. Today they did the goal mile.

Our boss won’t allow that. There’s about 5 of us that spend our day finding “Covid compliant” activities. Might go with 5/6 a day and she will allow one a week. Every spare wall has been converted into a handball court and every child that wants one given a handball.

I alway a say we will have more mental health issues than Covid issues in 5 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I have the alarm set for 6am so that I can get the work done and finished before heading into the house at 3.30pm to watch the football final.
    I reckon it's going to be a real cracker of a match - may the best team win.
    Up the Dubs.

Base price wrote: »
    I have the alarm set for 6am so that I can get the work done and finished before heading into the house at 3.30pm to watch the football final.
    Up the Dubs.

It's on at half 5 , I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭2018na

Fair play whelan2 up and at it. Do you milk 365 or is there any dry time

2018na wrote: »
    Fair play whelan2 up and at it. Do you milk 365 or is there any dry time

Ye 365 . Have 2 blocks for calving. Have a break in calving until the end of January . Like milking Christmas day. Gets me out of the house for a while

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Base price wrote: »
    Up the Dubs.

The real cracker could very well be the U20 final .
    Dublin vs Galway. I think it throws in at 2.30.

Ye 365 . Have 2 blocks for calving. Have a break in calving until the end of January . Like milking Christmas day. Gets me out of the house for a while

Big job milking every day.

there are times you’d miss it but just not set up for the workload.

We Must be out of it 15 years at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

The real cracker could very well be the U20 final .
    Dublin vs Galway. I think it throws in at 2.30.

Ladies final should be good Sunday too, two best teams in the country in Dublin and Cork

Told a lie, kick off at 5pm
    Btw great game for liverpool on at the minute

• Registered Users Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

More skirting boards and McDonalds lunches on the cards today. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

I think I can speak for most us here in kerry when I say. GO ON MAYOOO!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,730 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

This match has all the feeling of another "glorious defeat" for Mayo:rolleyes:

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I don’t think so. It’s a 50/50 game at the minute. Dublin have kicked a few wides whereas Mayo only had one.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Odelay

Birdnuts wrote: »

I think Mayo look very promising. Impressed so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Tileman

Odelay wrote: »

Really enjoyable final. I won’t say for the neutral as basically 31.5 counties shouting for Mayo.
    It’s a match that would create a great atmosphere from the crowd if there was one. It has everything so far including a bit of fisty cuffs at half time.
    Mayo the better team but Dublin still in the lead though.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,259 ✭✭✭tanko

Odelay wrote: »

True, can they keep it up tho?

Come on you boys in blue.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

2nd half is all Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

McBacon and Cabbage.

ganmo wrote: »
    2nd half is all Dublin

Best team won but Mayo put it up to them in the first half

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭2018na

You’ve got a great work ethic I have to say. When you enjoy what your doing it’s half the battle. At least you have a good balance with your family life as well. My neighbor has busted himself working milking 365 all his life. Never had any social life whatsoever. A nicer gentlemen you would not get. Worked there myself for a few years. All school holidays and even when doing an apprenticeship. Loved it and still buy the journal every week. Some aspects of dairy farming are a great way of life

2018na wrote: »
    You’ve got a great work ethic I have to say. When you enjoy what your doing it’s half the battle. At least you have a good balance with your family life as well. My neighbor has busted himself working milking 365 all his life. Never had any social life whatsoever. A nicer gentlemen you would not get. Worked there myself for a few years. All school holidays and even when doing an apprenticeship. Loved it and still buy the journal every week. Some aspects of dairy farming are a great way of life

It's as hard or as easy as you make it yourself. Wouldn't miss kids football or running for anything. The kids will move on so these years are precious. Finished up by 5 or half 5 most evenings.

So what did you have ?