Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Danny healy ray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭Odelay

Spent a few days on holiday in the country. restaurants were noticeably quieter than the exact same days last year, and the spell of weather we had this year was noticeably better. And I don't believe the VAT rate from 9% to 13% is the reason. €4 on top of a €100 bill is stopping no one. People just don't have the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭zetecescort

are kids in doing more days in school these days to be going back earlier than before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,603 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Think of the increase in many things in the last 5 years and thats probably less of an actual spend than 5 years ago, or not a significant increase anyway… Costs of existing is just banannas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭visatorro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,731 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I'd say they take extra days during the year. I remember when mine were in primary they used to have a week off at the beginning of June so parents could bring their kids on cheaper holidays. No use if your other kids were sitting state exams and primary would go on then until last day of june while other schools were off ages before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭Odelay

The Brian May video here for those that may not have seen it. Just starting viewing it now.

BBC2 Brian May The Badgers, the Farmers and Me 23Aug24 (youtube.com)

Edit. After watching it, it is very poor. All one sided. Very poor from the BBC. Thought there would be some bit of balance to it. That is my opinion.

Post edited by Odelay on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,752 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

This government appears to have wasted more money then the rest put together thanx to their mismanagment of health, housing, emigration etc. The next down turn is going to be very ugly indeed…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Great day here, good to feel the heat again, and with a good forecast ahead for the week, it should help keep growth up into September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,311 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I've been flat out recently (actually for most of my working life) and the weather continues to be shite. It's been more or less pissing rain since June of last year and as I posted recently we've only had four dry days in a row since. This afternoon, after pelting rain last night & this morning the Sun arrived so this evening I dug up some worms, dusted off the fishing rods, made a few boiled egg & onion sandwiches and with a bottle of MiWadi we both walked down to the lake for a couple of hours fishing. We caught a few small perch & roach and as dusk drew in we got eaten alive by midges. Any of us living on farms/rural areas really need to appreciate how lucky we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Funny year here around, I'd say we'd a dry enough summer in total rainfall but no fine spell or heat.

Wet land, especially black ground is wet, and dry land has been crying out for rain for a bit. Even average land east of here that didn't get the morning mists has been short of rain for growth.

Your even see it bone dry and brown under ash trees and it wet out in the field 10 yards away.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭older by the day

There's no fecking way it takes 30 mins to get a man's haircut. Waiting to get sheared here. Young lad looks the same walking out as he did when he got into the chair. At least ladies get washed and coloured etc. Country is fecked if this is what I'm depending on to pay my pension.

Ha, thought my brother was bad for smashing the lego display at santa in arnotts years ago

My Lad has a mop on the top of his head and a fade under it. €20 and he still comes out with a mop on top. Was a different barber there one day and he took too much off the top and there were tears. I was thinking finally got his money's worth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,947 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Add in they have hammered SMEs into the ground, there is a real crisis among vast swathes of our economy around costs of doing business now.

That's where the very very most of people work but the govt parties only care about multi nationals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

They'll have to take it to Jay Blades , 'The Repair Shop'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Jesus, those peaky blinders haircuts are awful. At a time when their hair is in peak condition and colour. What's wrong with them, or as my father used to say, 'do they feel they may as well be dead as out of fashion at that age'.

My lad has curls on top, my mother asked had he got a perm and he was asking what's that.

Amazing the way the trends come and go. If I landed into school with a mullet I'd say I would have been beat up!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭older by the day

I often wonder, does every person in Turkey or the middle East know how to cut hair. Every one seems to be a barber.

My lad has a notion to be a barber, he's not academic but you'd always get work.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I’d encourage any of our 3 lads to do it as well. Honest work, recession-proof, and you could travel the world on it. Except Turkey maybe - they have so many there they’re exporting them 😂

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

The place he goes to are running a barbers course, one evening a week. €2500 includes clippers, scissors etc but you'd have a trade at the end of it. He has cut a few lads hair already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,586 ✭✭✭kk.man

The problem with hairdressers etc is very few last. It's not great standing all day especially when you get up in the years. Very few female hairdressers stay the full course till retirement. A barber could go the full term if the shop wasn't overly busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭148multi

Definitely seems to be more Barbers around and busier, was on a trip with a couple of lads. One fella gets into a panic about missing an appointment, whips out the phone to tell the barber he can't make it, you'd think he missed open heart surgery.

Fashion was always a thing to follow, but young lads are having their pockets harvested now too. Sure the economy only works if money is spent, that's why food is kept cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭roosterman71

A lot of barbers are fronts for more dodgy dealings involving money laundering. Same for car washes. Anything really that's plentiful around the country and predominately cash business

Has anyone actually gone to the turkish barbers, one of the lads here had to go to another barber on the way home to fix what they'd done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,026 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Good lad in town near here, always lads there as he's slow and takes his time