Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

They seem more interested in ignoring customers in the nearest Halfords to here as well, could be a culture in the company.

I just rang halfords to complain :D

• Registered Users Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    Turf will be the next thing

Every teenager made save the turf will be rejoicing

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

_Brian wrote: »
    This is 20 years coming, you can’t tell me an industry can’t develop an alternative in 20’years.

Yeah. Most commercial horticultural production here still relies on Irish produced compost for planting seeds and potting on. The fact it is produced here keeps costs down.

There's alternatives all right - most of which are imported from abroad and often of variable quality. As I said that's going cause problems especially atm.

But yeah theres definitely a business opportunity for someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

This day 74 years ago - 15 January 1947 - electricity was switched on for the first time as part of the rural scheme introduced by the Electricity Supply Board (ESB).

Saw that over on Twitter.
    A mere 74 years. It’s brought some change. I’ve often talked with my mum about this. She was 12 when they got electricity in. These people have seen change on an unimaginable scale, it’s hard to think of a generation that will see similar change in lifestyle

My mum was working in Athlone in a hotel kitchen in the early 1950's, and like many people wrote home every week, if not twice a week.
    What we have are the Granny's replies to her, which she kept.
    Every second letter tells about "so and so got the Electric" and and there is an air of suspense as the lines got closer to their part of Co. Leitrim.
    "It will be a great help to the men" was a common phrase, and talk of buying a milking machine.
    It's a great reminder of how difficult life was only a generation ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

This day 74 years ago - 15 January 1947 - electricity was switched on for the first time as part of the rural scheme introduced by the Electricity Supply Board (ESB).

Saw that over on Twitter.
    A mere 74 years. It’s brought some change. I’ve often talked with my mum about this. She was 12 when they got electricity in. These people have seen change on an unimaginable scale, it’s hard to think of a generation that will see similar change in lifestyle

https://esbarchives.ie/2016/09/21/book-launch-of-then-there-was-light/

Would recommend this book if you can get your hands on it. Some great stories in it. Excitment of what the electric could do along with fear of the unknown in alot of people

• Registered Users Posts: 6,780 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

Grueller wrote: »
    Mushrooms and onions would be my accompaniment of choice.

Had home grown spuds kale and onions.

I even knew the steak in a former life:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

• Registered Users Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭roosterman71

The most surprising thing about that story is that a lad like him would actually have a receipt :P

• Registered Users Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

What about private peat harvesting companies I wonder?
    We use peat for bedding and even though we are surrounded by BnM bogs we buy it privately.
    There's several small scale operators around.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I was told fires were lit on ground to thaw it for digging:(
    I remember as a child my Grandad recounting stories of the big freeze. Lighting fires in graveyards in order to dig the grave was common at that time but what was more common was the lads who tended the fires during the night dined on poitin supposedly to keep warm.
    My Mam told me of the time that my Grandparents got the electricity into their house in Longford in 1955 or 56. They got one light and one socket in the kitchen although my parents wanted them to get the house whole house wired. My Sister and eldest Brother can remember when Dad brought a TV (b&w) and rabbit's ears down from Dublin one weekend that they were visiting - long before my time. There was an all Ireland final on that weekend and he set the telly up in the kitchen. The house was jammed with people inside and out looking through the kitchen windows and taking their turns to come into the house to have a look.

My brother clearly remembers Granny's reaction when wathcing the telly for the first time. She ran from the kitchen to change into her Sunday clothes as she thought that the person in the telly could see her :)

What about private peat harvesting companies I wonder?
    We use peat for bedding and even though we are surrounded by BnM bogs we buy it privately.
    There's several small scale operators around.
    I think that all "commercial" harvesting of peat will be banned within the next 10 years although we should be allowed to cut turf by hand with a slain for our own use.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

gozunda wrote: »
    Yeah. Most commercial horticultural production here still relies on Irish produced compost for planting seeds and potting on. The fact it is produced here keeps costs down.

There's alternatives all right - most of which are imported from abroad and often of variable quality. As I said that's going cause problems especially atm.

But yeah theres definitely a business opportunity for someone.

There's a lad in Tyrrellspass and I'd say he'd nearly send a Fast Trak and trailer to Holland for a load.
    Meaby bring a few long-life posts back when he's at it!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,447 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    There's a lad in Tyrrellspass and I'd say he'd nearly send a Fast Trak and trailer to Holland for a load.

For the love of jaysus dont start about him

Nekarsulm wrote: »

It'll be the best stuff ever, even better stuff than when it left Holland for gracing his presence.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭148multi

It'll be the best stuff ever, even better stuff than when it left Holland for gracing his presence.

Was a captive audience in longford A+ É years ago, indigenous chap spent half an hour telling me about the fastest horse in Ireland, which he owned. When he was catching his breath, I though thank f**k that's over, only for him to start on about a faster horse which he also owned 🀣.
    Could they be related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

Base price wrote: »
    I think that all "commercial" harvesting of peat will be banned within the next 10 years although we should be allowed to cut turf by hand with a slain for our own use.

This has being going through my head all day.

I wonder how much of the 125000 acres that BNM own will be actually rewetted. Going by the press release 10s of 1000s of acres will be "rehabilitated" yet they also say that they will work to underpin Ireland's energy independence. I can't find any acreage figure of what's being rehabilitated and what's going into their new "green" initiatives.

Just I see a lot of armchair environmentalists wetting themselves at the prospect of the drains of BNMs bog's being blocked up but I suspect BNM, unless someone can correct me, will be moving most of it into some form of renewable power generation involving windfarms and solar. I don't think these would sit well in wet rehabilitated bogland ?

https://www.bordnamona.ie/company/news/articles/bord-na-mona-announce-formal-end-to-all-peat-harvesting-on-its-lands/

• Registered Users Posts: 21,453 ✭✭✭✭Water John

A wind farm, inc roads would occupy less than 1% of a rewetted bog. Have no doubt, that's their direction.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Water John wrote: »
    A wind farm, inc roads would occupy less than 1% of a rewetted bog. Have no doubt, that's their direction.
    They have about thirty windturbines near here already

wrangler wrote: »
    They have about thirty windturbines near here already

The concrete companies and bottle truck lads will be rubbing their hands at the new direction so !

NcdJd wrote: »
    This has being going through my head all day.

I wonder how much of the 125000 acres that BNM own will be actually rewetted. Going by the press release 10s of 1000s of acres will be "rehabilitated" yet they also say that they will work to underpin Ireland's energy independence. I can't find any acreage figure of what's being rehabilitated and what's going into their new "green" initiatives.

Just I see a lot of armchair environmentalists wetting themselves at the prospect of the drains of BNMs bog's being blocked up but I suspect BNM, unless someone can correct me, will be moving most of it into some form of renewable power generation involving windfarms and solar. I don't think these would sit well in wet rehabilitated bogland ?

https://www.bordnamona.ie/company/news/articles/bord-na-mona-announce-formal-end-to-all-peat-harvesting-on-its-lands/
    I stand corrected but I reckon the main area that is going to be rewetted is actually the large lake/reservoir that will be constructed in the Midland bogs to hold the water from the Shannon to provide drinking water to Dublin City and the surrounding areas.
    Edit to add - a fella that we buy straw from has been bailing and selling round bales of wheaten straw to BnM in the past 2 years so that they can block up drains in the bogs.

I stand corrected but I reckon the main area that is going to be rewetted is actually the large lake/reservoir that will be constructed in the Midland bogs to hold the water from the Shannon to provide drinking water to Dublin City and the surrounding areas.

Hopefully they'll stock it with trout so :D

I think it's where a concrete company is digging out of at the moment,the hole they're leaving was supposed to be a lake when they had enough dug out of it, Water for Dubin is probably going to be prioritised now..... whether the lake will be allowed used for recreational use is uncertain

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,024 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Drinking water from the bog... doesn't have a good ring to it!

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

NcdJd wrote: »
    Hopefully they'll stock it with trout so :D
    Poulaphouca is a great angling lake/reservoir especially for pike.

greysides wrote: »

Where they are there's only about a foot or less of peat or less, they have it harvested down to that, going after the gravel now.........

Poulaphouca is a great angling lake/reservoir especially for pike.

Never fished it. Was up in the liffey at Leixlip worming a few times but was didn't catch anything. That's where our water comes from.

greysides wrote: »
    greysides - our mains water comes from a lake that is partial bog via a old treatment plant. The shorelines are not fenced off so every farmer's cattle/sheep can drink out, piss and **** into it.

Jeez, I sound like some sort of fookin eco vegan warrior yoke.

greysides - our mains water comes from a lake that is partial bog via a old treatment plant. The shorelines are not fenced off so every farmer's cattle/sheep can drink out, piss and **** into it.
    eez, I sound like some sort of fookin eco vegan warrior yoke.

Are you talking about longford, are you referring to lough Owel

wrangler wrote: »
    Are you talking about longford, are you referring to lough Owel
    Yep, Longford but not Lough Owell.
    I mentioned earlier last year about the problem that we had here on the farm with the calves getting sick and dying due to high levels of coliforms in the mains drinking water. We are still battling with Irish Water over it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I remember as a child my Grandad recounting stories of the big freeze. Lighting fires in graveyards in order to dig the grave was common at that time but what was more common was the lads who tended the fires during the night dined on poitin supposedly to keep warm.
    My Mam told me of the time that my Grandparents got the electricity into their house in Longford in 1955 or 56. They got one light and one socket in the kitchen although my parents wanted them to get the house whole house wired. My Sister and eldest Brother can remember when Dad brought a TV (b&w) and rabbit's ears down from Dublin one weekend that they were visiting - long before my time. There was an all Ireland final on that weekend and he set the telly up in the kitchen. The house was jammed with people inside and out looking through the kitchen windows and taking their turns to come into the house to have a look.

My brother clearly remembers Granny's reaction when wathcing the telly for the first time. She ran from the kitchen to change into her Sunday clothes as she thought that the person in the telly could see her :)

My father does often tell me about calling into a bachelor neighbour's house one evening shortly after the man in question bought his first television. The new owner was fascinated by it and showed my father the different channels ect, Top of the pop's happened to be on BBC and they watched it for a few minutes. The other man switched back to RTE after a while and commented to my father how much nicer the English girls were compared to the plainer Irish one's. Dad didn't understand what he meant until it dawned on him that BBC was broadcast in color and RTE was still black and white.