Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 9,730 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

NcdJd wrote: »
    This has being going through my head all day.

I wonder how much of the 125000 acres that BNM own will be actually rewetted. Going by the press release 10s of 1000s of acres will be "rehabilitated" yet they also say that they will work to underpin Ireland's energy independence. I can't find any acreage figure of what's being rehabilitated and what's going into their new "green" initiatives.

Just I see a lot of armchair environmentalists wetting themselves at the prospect of the drains of BNMs bog's being blocked up but I suspect BNM, unless someone can correct me, will be moving most of it into some form of renewable power generation involving windfarms and solar. I don't think these would sit well in wet rehabilitated bogland ?

https://www.bordnamona.ie/company/news/articles/bord-na-mona-announce-formal-end-to-all-peat-harvesting-on-its-lands/

And you wouldn't be wrong according to the link below with independent Ecologist already sounding the alarm on BNM's cynical greenwashing on the matter

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/science/bord-na-m%C3%B3na-s-big-shift-how-the-peat-giant-pivoted-to-bog-restoration-1.4438767?mode=amp&fbclid=IwAR0dn3x3PERlIm9Hyn4OmBo32DtMMbZLdGNgQM68aA8QS7LHxYhxiG7iEdE

"If extraction really has ended, what exactly will the “elephant” do now? The terms “rehabilitation” and “restoration” are often used loosely and interchangeably by policy-makers. Worse, they are used duplicitously by industries intent on greenwashing."

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭Base price

My father does often tell me about calling into a bachelor neighbour's house one evening shortly after the man in question bought his first television. The new owner was fascinated by it and showed my father the different channels ect, Top of the pop's happened to be on BBC and they watched it for a few minutes. The other man switched back to RTE after a while and commented to my father how much nicer the English girls were compared to the plainer Irish one's. Dad didn't understand what he meant until it dawned on him that BBC was broadcast in color and RTE was still black and white.
    I remember when Dad bought our first colour telly, I was about 9/10yo. The man from the shop in Malahide delivered it to the house, set it up with "extendable" rabbit ear's. The first programme that we watched was the 9 o'clock news on RTE1 - in those days RTE1 was the only station.

I nearly fell off the chair when I saw Charles Mitchell in colour.

Edit - I remember seeing Idi Amin on the BBC news in b&w and it wasn't until we got that colour telly that I actually became aware of the difference in our skin tones. The Nuns in the private school that I attended were always fund raising to help the black babies. That sort of language isn't popular nowdays but in the '70's in Ireland it was the norm.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,569 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Base price wrote: »
    I remember when Dad bought our first colour telly, I was about 9/10yo. The man from the shop in Malahide delivered it to the house, set it up with "extendable" rabbit ear's. The first programme that we watched was the 9 o'clock news on RTE1 - in those days RTE1 was the only station.

I nearly fell off the chair when I saw Charles Mitchell in colour.

Edit - I remember seeing Idi Amin on the BBC news in b&w and it wasn't until we got that colour telly that I actually became aware of the difference in our skin tones. The Nuns in the private school that I attended were always fund raising to help the black babies. That sort of language isn't popular nowdays but in the '70's in Ireland it was the norm.

Our first colour telly was smuggled across the border. As was near all our stuff at the time. The border was good to us, dad often had legitimate business across which provided a cover for illicit goods to flow in.
    We were also close enough to the border that U.K. stations were always available so I
    Never experienced the Ireland of only 2 stations.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,447 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Water John wrote: »
    A wind farm, inc roads would occupy less than 1% of a rewetted bog. Have no doubt, that's their direction.

I think that's the plan for ballivor depot. The locals will fight it tho

• Registered Users Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Reggie. wrote: »
    I think that's the plan for ballivor depot. The locals will fight it tho

They're giving a huge amount of money to the local community every year around mount lucas to get goodwill

'' Bord na Móna Powergen set up the Mountlucas Community Gain Scheme in 2014 thanks to the help and cooperation of the communities’ local to Mountlucas Wind Farm. An annual fund of €1,000/MW per installed capacity per annum for the lifetime of the wind farm was established. The annual fund for the Mountlucas Wind Farm Community Gain Scheme is €84,000 index-linked.''

A huge injection into a small village, they've also set up an amenity area around it as well, so it's not all bad

wrangler wrote: »
    They're giving a huge amount of money to the local community every year around mount lucas to get goodwill

'' Bord na Móna Powergen set up the Mountlucas Community Gain Scheme in 2014 thanks to the help and cooperation of the communities’ local to Mountlucas Wind Farm. An annual fund of €1,000/MW per installed capacity per annum for the lifetime of the wind farm was established. The annual fund for the Mountlucas Wind Farm Community Gain Scheme is €84,000 index-linked.''

A huge injection into a small village, they've also set up an amenity area around it as well, so it's not all bad

I walked that "amenity area" with a couple of friends late last year - couldn't hear much other than the racket from the turbines. Bog still has the drains in it carrying out silt laden water into surrounding streams. Folk with me were experienced hikers and wouldn't be in a hurry to visit it again compared to the more natural sights/sounds you'd have on conventional trails like Glendalough, Lugnaquilla etc. As for the community grants - all well and good depending how near you are to the turbines and their affect on your own property in terms of noise, flicker, property values etc. At the end of the day too we are all paying ever higher energy bills so that these companies can pocket easy RESS money and throw a bit to the community for cheap PR reasons at the planning stage

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I walked that "amenity area" with a couple of friends late last year - couldn't hear much other than the racket from the turbines. Bog still has the drains in it carrying out silt laden water into surrounding streams. Folk with me were experienced hikers and wouldn't be in a hurry to visit it again compared to the more natural sights/sounds you'd have on conventional trails like Glendalough, Lugnaquilla etc. As for the community grants - all well and good depending how near you are to the turbines and their affect on your own property in terms of noise, flicker, property values etc. At the end of the day too we are all paying ever higher energy bills so that these companies can pocket easy RESS money and throw a bit to the community for cheap PR reasons at the planning stage

It's people like you that's lobbying for closure of all conventional forms of power stations that's causing them to be there at all. I'd be quite happy with burning anything to produce electricity, 100s of acres of solar panels doing very little aren't great either. I believe I'll be looking at 300 acres of them up a hill beside me soon, I'd rather those turbines

It's people like you that's lobbying for closure of all conventional forms of power stations. I'd be quite happy with burning anything to produce electricity, 100s of acres of solar panels doing very little aren't great either. I believe I'll be looking at 300 acres of them up a hill beside me, I'd rather those turbines

Sorry pal - don't assume you know what I am for or against. My landholding in Erris is a few miles from the Corrib gas project . I have no problem with NG and nuclear power stations. In fact the US has reduced its emmissions from power generation much faster than the EU via modern NG generation. No accident either that the likes of France, Czech Rep and Finland have by far the lowest per capita emmissions in the EU thanx to nuclear generation.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,447 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Happy birthday whelan

Jaysus you must be touching 60 by now :P

• Registered Users Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    Happy birthday whelan

Jaysus you must be touching 60 by now :P

None of us are getting any younger

whelan2 wrote: »
    None of us are getting any younger

You're only a child

Daughter was 17 yesterday. I still see her as being 12

• Registered Users Posts: 21,453 ✭✭✭✭Water John

She's your twin.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭Mossie1975

Belated birthday wishes whelan2. You’re only a spring chicken!
    Calving in full swing now. Despite this I’m going to keep up my daily walk. ‘Tis great for the head and meeting neighbours from afar. This morning, I met my elderly neighbour walking his retired greyhound. He was chuffed with himself. The dog, by all accounts couldn’t run to warm himself but gave Tommy many a good night out. Yesterday, the local vet needed a blood donation for a very sick terrier. King did the honours and saved a life. Tommy beaming. You’d swear he’d won the Derby!

Mossie1975 wrote: »
    Belated birthday wishes whelan2. You’re only a spring chicken!
    Calving in full swing now. Despite this I’m going to keep up my daily walk. ‘Tis great for the head and meeting neighbours from afar. This morning, I met my elderly neighbour walking his retired greyhound. He was chuffed with himself. The dog, by all accounts couldn’t run to warm himself but gave Tommy many a good night out. Yesterday, the local vet needed a blood donation for a very sick terrier. King did the honours and saved a life. Tommy beaming. You’d swear he’d won the Derby!

One of our dogs hemorrhaged twice a week apart due to rat poison and our other dog wasn't able to donate the second time so we got a mutt off the dog pound.
    You wouldn't want to tell your neighbour that, it'd burst his bubble

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭Base price

One of our dogs hemorrhaged twice a week apart due to rat poison and our other dog wasn't able to donate the second time so we got a mutt off the dog pound.
    You wouldn't want to tell your neighbour that, it'd burst his bubble
    I was at our Vet's one time when a car drove in very quickly. Vet told me that it was a local greyhound breeder bringing a dog that they were going to draw blood from for another dog. Apparently greyhound's are universal donors as their blood is suitable for other dogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,523 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

_Brian wrote: »
    Our first colour telly was smuggled across the border. As was near all our stuff at the time. The border was good to us, dad often had legitimate business across which provided a cover for illicit goods to flow in.
    We were also close enough to the border that U.K. stations were always available so I
    Never experienced the Ireland of only 2 stations.
    There's a JVC radio in the kitchen here still in use today. That was smuggled across the border by a cattle dealer.
    Same lad used to bring down blankets and some small stuff to a few in the local Mart.
    The father here had a hankering once for a Saddleback boar. It was a bit too much for your man though and he refused that request. He didn't want to fall foul of the dept.
    That was a time when Saddlebacks or fat pigs like that weren't allowed in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

TG4 doing a programme on the big snow of 47

• Registered Users Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Belated happy birthday Whelan.

Ran my longest ever run. Just shy of 23km. Tired now but contented.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭Mossie1975

That’s some going. Well done!

Daughter went off on her new bicycle this morning. She did 30km. Fastest speed 60kmph. She's working now.
    Big game on in a few minutes. I was in Anfield at this game last year

Are you running alone atm?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

whelan2 wrote: »
    Are you running alone atm?

Yeah I run alone.

Ran about 10years ago with the Clare crusaders but found it hard to get my pace with them and lost heart.

I started back 2 years ago on my own.
    Goal in 2019 was to run a 10km but also walk/run 1019km for the year.
    Goal last year was 2020km- did 2176km.
    Goal for this year is 2500km and to run a marathon distance.

It’s handy to have a bit of time to yourself. The house is mad with the young lads and work is nonstop since remote learning started last year.

I am linked with my sister and brother on the MapMyRun app and we would meet the odd time but this lockdown it’s rare.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Mountlucas is a great spot. Wpuld rather the wind farm than the dump we got in Carbury

• Registered Users Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Yeah I run alone.

Ran about 10years ago with the Clare crusaders but found it hard to get my pace with them and lost heart.

I started back 2 years ago on my own.
    Goal in 2019 was to run a 10km but also walk/run 1019km for the year.
    Goal last year was 2020km- did 2176km.
    Goal for this year is 2500km and to run a marathon distance.

It’s handy to have a bit of time to yourself. The house is mad with the young lads and work is nonstop since remote learning started last year.

I am linked with my sister and brother on the MapMyRun app and we would meet the odd time but this lockdown it’s rare.

Theres a running challenge for farmers from twitter on at the moment called run1000. Its all done on strava if you have any interest in joining. Took up running myself last yr and did a 5k everyday In November for movember but have lost a bit of motivation the past few weeks. Would love to do a marathon

TG4 doing a programme on the big snow of 47

Grandmother had great stories about the epic snowfall in Mayo during that winter. Down the road from my place near Belmullet, 2 brothers died during one of the many blizzards that winter while on the mountain looking for sheep.

What value if any have Lakeland shares ??

I googled but couldn’t see a straight answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭forgottenhills

What value if any have Lakeland shares ??

I googled but couldn’t see a straight answer.

Those shares are private (not floated and listed on a public stockmarket) so there is no sure way of knowing the value of the shares without being privy to some specialist information. As far as I know the only way of selling those shares at present is to sell them at par value back to Lakeland. In other words sell them back to the co-op at whatever initial issue price was on them (can often be just 1c or 5c a share). However the par value does not have any correlation to what the real value would be now if the shares were publicly traded.

You could do a rough calculation of what the price would be by looking at the turnover and if you know exactly how many Lakeland shares are in circulation. Enterprises usually sell at a multiple of annual profit or often at a price related to their turnover. It depends on several factors, including the industry, how good their markets is and how modern their current plants are, borrowings etc. I don't know precisely how co-ops are valued - you would have to look at the last takeovers of co-ops to see how they were valued and I'm not sure there has been one in a long while for comparison. So how co-ops are valued in 2021 is something that perhaps only a few investment banks would be able to ballpark for sure as its not an exact science.

But for instance if dairy co-ops can be roughly valued at A times turnover and Lakeland has an approx turnover of 1bn, and if you can find out the number of Lakeland issued shares B in circulation, then in theory the value of each share should roughly be (Ax1bn)/B. But you would need to some research to find out the current values of A and B to perform this calculation.

And don't get too excited either as you will likely find that Lakeland could have 10's of millions of issued shares (B) as it took over many co-ops and acquired many new shareholders along its path of growth. Also if Lakeland never goes public itself, or is never taken over for cash or shares in another publicly listed business, then you may never be able to realise the true value of the shares in the way that has happened at some other co-ops that went public in the past. But at the same time I wouldn't advise anyone selling the shares back to the co-op at par value either. At some point the real value may be realised in a takeover or flotation. Lakelands has always seemed like a well run outfit.

Those shares are private (not floated and listed on a public stockmarket) so there is no sure way of knowing the value of the shares without being privy to some specialist information. As far as I know the only way of selling those shares at present is to sell them at par value back to Lakeland. In other words sell them back to the co-op at whatever initial issue price was on them (can often be just 1c or 5c a share). However the par value does not have any correlation to what the real value would be now if the shares were publicly traded.

You could do a rough calculation of what the price would be by looking at the turnover and if you know exactly how many Lakeland shares are in circulation. Enterprises usually sell at a multiple of annual profit or often at a price related to their turnover. It depends on several factors, including the industry, how good their markets is and how modern their current plants are, borrowings etc. I don't know precisely how co-ops are valued - you would have to look at the last takeovers of co-ops to see how they were valued and I'm not sure there has been one in a long while for comparison. So how co-ops are valued in 2021 is something that perhaps only a few investment banks would be able to ballpark for sure as its not an exact science.

But for instance if dairy co-ops can be roughly valued at A times turnover and Lakeland has an approx turnover of 1bn, and if you can find out the number of Lakeland issued shares B in circulation, then in theory the value of each share should roughly be (Ax1bn)/B. But you would need to some research to find out the current values of A and B to perform this calculation.

And don't get too excited either as you will likely find that Lakeland could have 10's of millions of issued shares (B) as it took over many co-ops and acquired many new shareholders along its path of growth. Also if Lakeland never goes public itself, or is never taken over for cash or shares in another publicly listed business, then you may never be able to realise the true value of the shares in the way that has happened at some other co-ops that went public in the past. But at the same time I wouldn't advise anyone selling the shares back to the co-op at par value either. At some point the real value may be realised in a takeover or flotation. Lakelands has always seemed like a well run outfit.

OK.
    I’ll feed that back so.

Something between FA and nothing would be the summary

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭forgottenhills

OK.
    I’ll feed that back so.

Something between FA and nothing would be the summary

I did not say they were not valuable, they could be quite valuable but there is no open market available at present to realise the true value of Lakeland shares.

For instance Lakeland has a turnover of €1 billion and has lots of plants etc and is profitable. You could argue that the open market value of it as an enterprise if it was sold tomorrow might be in the €500-1 billion range.

How many issued shares does it have? A shareholder should be able to see that on its annual accounts, or work it out from the accounts.

So if Lakeland has 100m shares in circulation and had a value of €500n-1bn then its shares are in theory worth €5-10 each. But the shareholder needs to find out the number of shares in circulation to work out this rough share price calculation. If Lakelands has 1 billion issued shares that would mean that the shares could be worth €0.50 to €1 each in that scenario.

Whatever the calculation turns our to be based on the number of issued shares, I would guess its a lot more than the par value of the shares so I would advise holding on to them, rather than selling back to the co-op at par, even to pass down to the next generation. At some point the true value of the shares will be unlocked by an event.