Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The PDC World Championships 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

statto25 wrote: »
    If Price gets into Gary's head, he will be the champ

I'm just a very casual darts follower but wasn't there some kind of agro between them in a big final a few years ago that Price won?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

bassy wrote: »
    ?????????????????????

Anderson called him a numpty a few days ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Hope Price wins tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭bassy

D.Q wrote: »
    Anderson called him a numpty a few days ago

heat of the moment stuff,nothing to see there.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Laura Woods is excellent as presenter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭boomdocker

US2 wrote: »
    Not certain on this but I think Gary just wants to play darts.

Mouth watering final ahead
    I'm rooting for Gerwyn Price, but will have to be at his best
    I think if Price plays like he did tonight he wins, Anderson is playing well, but will have to up his game, especially finishing

I'm just a very casual darts follower but wasn't there some kind of agro between them in a big final a few years ago that Price won?

Yes, grand slam final 2018
    Price won, was very unpleasant

Hoping for a great game, bit of needle and a 3rd title for the flying Scotsman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Hope Price wins tomorrow

Wash your bloody mouth out!!
    Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    Laura Woods is excellent as presenter.

Totally agree. One of the only women on tv sports who doesn’t feel added in as the token female. Very natural, knowledgeable and gives a bit of stick to the others.

mdwexford wrote: »

Totally agree. One of the only women on tv sports who doesn’t feel added in as the token female. Very natural, knowledgeable and gives a bit of stick to the others.

poor wayne :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

What's the story with the previous presenter, Dave? I know he had an illness, has it got too bad for him to continue? He was excellent and the face of darts on sky.

Lundstram wrote: »
    What's the story with the previous presenter, Dave? I know he had an illness, has it got too bad for him to continue? He was excellent and the face of darts on sky.

Yes, Parkinson's Disease unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Lundstram wrote: »

Ya he has Parkinsons, ended up retiring because of it, very sad

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

justin will be on the sky panel tomorrow evening to replace wayne :D

who you prefer wayne or justin :D

I hope price wins tomorrow, he deserves it. Best player over the last 12 months. Wouldn't begrudge anderson either , be strange to see him have the same amount of titties as mvg despite mvg dominance for 7 years and ando only turns up when it suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

C'mon Price beat that whinger Anderson. Not enough close ups of Miss Woods, she's a tasty lady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

She’s very good.

I listen to her on talk sport a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Coneygree

She’s very good.

I listen to her on talk sport a lot.

Great, soothing voice. She'd be a damn good reader on Audible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Coneygree wrote: »
    Great, soothing voice. She'd be a damn good reader on Audible.

Probably would be actually.

It’s gas cause she’s hot af but still does radio and excels at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

Hope gary wins but think price will do it.

Dont get the hate for gary , hes honest if hes not happy , hes 50 years old and has won it all , nothing left to prove , if players p1ss him off that wouldnt tie his shoes then hes entitled to have his say.

Price has become a real top player , consistant , great attitude and hunger , i never expected him to become as good and over a long period of time.
    Its a real old gaurd again new upstarts tomorrow , i hope its a good game and remember it for good darts rather than messing on stage.

Anderson is one of the last of that generation of darts players of his age that can still play to a high standard with the younger lads, taylor , barney etc all gone , for me the golden era has passed and i dont find the newer era as interesting as it was a few years ago. Mayby thats just me. Too many tv events , same lads on it all the time , no players to cross over from bdo every january to keep it fresh after good runs in that championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

Did all the BDO players defect to the PDC back in Sept?

No, only a good few went to q school, only 5 I think won tourcard.

Lisa Ashton, Scot Waites, Jeff Smith, Wesley Harms, Nick Kenny I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

sc86 wrote: »
    Hope gary wins but think price will do it.

Dont get the hate for gary , hes honest if hes not happy , hes 50 years old and has won it all , nothing left to prove , if players p1ss him off that wouldnt tie his shoes then hes entitled to have his say.

Price has become a real top player , consistant , great attitude and hunger , i never expected him to become as good and over a long period of time.
    Its a real old gaurd again new upstarts tomorrow , i hope its a good game and remember it for good darts rather than messing on stage.

Anderson is one of the last of that generation of darts players of his age that can still play to a high standard with the younger lads, taylor , barney etc all gone , for me the golden era has passed and i dont find the newer era as interesting as it was a few years ago. Mayby thats just me. Too many tv events , same lads on it all the time , no players to cross over from bdo every january to keep it fresh after good runs in that championship.

He's a whinger, no one likes that. Remember him pulling on RVB saying he was walking to close to him after recovering his darts. Video evidence proved otherwise. Used to like Ando, but not so much now, say he's unbearable to live with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

I think Ando is worth a flutter at 11/10 on Paddy Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

Like the...

Each player to have 10+ 180s
    Each player to have 1+ finish on the bull
    Each player to have a checkout greater than 140

10/1

Should give a sweat throughout the match at least. You also have to think that if they finish on the bull there is a decent chance that the outshot was greater than 140 which would satisfy two aspects of the bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

7-0 ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭champchamp

7-0 ...

To who? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Price to shade it 7-5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I hope Anderson wins 7-0 but I think he'll win 7-3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

What time is it starting tonight, the actual match?

boomdocker wrote: »

Coverage is 7.30 so the game is probably 7.45 or 8 though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

US2 wrote: »
    No, only a good few went to q school, only 5 I think won tourcard.

Lisa Ashton, Scot Waites, Jeff Smith, Wesley Harms, Nick Kenny I think

Is their any talks of the rest moving over? Is Barry Hearn tempted to buy out what’s left of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Toughest final to call in a long time. I'll go Price to win 7-5.

Expect plenty of aggro from Price.

Should be a tight game, for the first half anyway
    All things being equal, Price has shown better scoring power and finishing
    But who says all things will be equal, it's a world final after all
    I'm rooting for Price, consistently the best player for the last 18 months
    And regardless of what you think of him, it's a great sporting story - pro rugby player to possibly World Champ and World No 1 in 6 years, jeez you'd have to give him credit for that
    he's not there yet though and Anderson is well capable of winning
    Fair play of he does, but please Gary, don;t friggin moan in the post game interview..

Price 7-3 for me

Is their any talks of the rest moving over? Is Barry Hearn tempted to buy out what’s left of it?

I don't think there is anything left to buy out! Everything to do with the BDO is gone AFAIK.

Maybe there's match footage that could be bought.... maybe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

champchamp wrote: »
    To who? :confused:

Whoever wins first set :)

Suprised to see Fifa official tweet about darts..

https://twitter.com/FIFAcom/status/1345759592886759425?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Hope Gary does it. I just don't like Price and his attitude tbh

All i hope for is a cracker of a game!

If Gary comes out of it as the winner i'll be a tad bit happier.

It’s very hard to call.

Price will surely feel nerves tonight and he can’t get as many ton plus checkouts as the last match. He is very hard to beat though and his tops and d10 are the best in the world.

Gary has the experience of four finals and better scoring power. If he’s at his best and hits his doubles well I think he wins. Needs to not let Price rattle him as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Price for me. Better under pressure and I think he’s got the measure of Anderson

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,600 ✭✭✭✭siblers

The guy doing the introduction said Price was
    'The world's number 3 and the world number 1' just before he walked out. Don't really understand that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,600 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Gary threw that set away

Way too many loose darts from Anderson.
    Threw that set away, can’t afford too many of those. Price will mop up every time.

siblers wrote: »
    'The world's number 3 and the world number 1' just before he walked out. Don't really understand that

He said Welsh no 1 I think, pretty meaningless haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Way too many loose darts from Anderson.
    Threw that set away, can’t afford too many of those. Price will mop up every time.

Hopefully not too one sided, can’t see past Price winning it. Anderson certainly can’t afford to be so wasteful

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Thought Anderson might settle the quicker but Price looks really ensured

• Registered Users Posts: 4,312 ✭✭✭munster87

siblers wrote: »

Didn’t see the walk ons but Price goes number 1 in the world if he wins this