Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

She has a smokin' body, that's just an ojective fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 52,009 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Anyone know if the golf courses are to close?

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭Sakana

Longing wrote: »
    An Easyjet passenger is thrown off the Belfast to Edinburgh flight after she refused to wear a face covering.

https://twitter.com/LFC_blano/status/1317948341544800258

Should be doing time for coughing on people.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

lawred2 wrote: »
    huge amount of bugs in software systems are time and time zone related
    Let's all adopt UTC, save ourselves some hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

A lad got abuse here for saying the vaccine will not prevent infection.
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/world/arid-40067709.html

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

seamus wrote: »
    The number of fines issued and enforced will probably end up being pretty small - some student answers the door and says they don't know who the homeowner is; there's feck all the Garda can do about that.

But the threat alone should probably be sufficient, as well as the the fact that people will feel like something *can* be done. Twitching curtains are a pain in the hole, but they can have the effect of putting manners on people.

Surely if that happens, they can simply issue the FCN to the address after?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭JimToken

That's not legal surely? Has to be a person

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

But probability and modelling might be wrong because NPHET cannot be certain of how many cases there will be from one day to the next. If NPHET is wrong then the damage to the economy will be for nothing and then there'll be severe cutbacks to the health service, thus causing many more deaths than Covid ever could.
    They can estimate.

If there are 500 cases today, then it is unlikely that there will be a massive deviation tomorrow. It'll be slightly more or slightly less, depending on how it's spreading. So tomorrow's number can be predicted with a high level of confidence. And then tomorrow's number can be used to predict the next day, with a high but slightly lower level of confidence.

And so. This process can be used to make predictions several weeks out. The predictions get wider as time goes on, but you can still have a high level of confidence in the prediction.

That's the absolute basics of it, but the models that they use for this kind of stuff includes a sh1tload of variables and things they know about infection spread and human behaviour.

In the absence of an equally competent body showing data that contradict's NPHETs models, then we have to assume they're right. Or they are at least the closest thing we have to being right.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,960 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Where there is a will there is a way.

Missing Operations report for the 19th found in the background
    https://www.hse.ie/eng/services/news/newsfeatures/covid19-updates/covid-19-daily-operations-update-20-00-19-october-2020.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Surely people get abuse here all the time :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

circadian wrote: »
    Seeing as I manage one of the busiest NTP pools in Europe, I can categorically say this is absolute horse****.

It was confirmed an hour ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

No he didnt. He got "abuse" for saying any vaccine will only prevent mild symptoms and do nothing else.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I don't know.

If it's a rented property, the landlord can't be held legally responsible.

Even if it's owned by someone they can feign ignorance; "I was somewhere else, no Garda ever spoke to me about breaking up a party. It must have been my son".

I'm splitting hairs on it though really; the existence of a penalty and the risk of Gardai knocking on doors will be enough to increase compliance for the most part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭AnniePowwa

Stheno wrote: »
    Have they been assimilated?

Yes they are closing
    nope

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

And half of them probably got the wrong thing, such was the panic. Wife called in to Smyths today and grabbed a catalogue so we can do click and collect in our own time

Hopefully they ll get their stock levels up. We'd ordered 2 items for collection last week and when it came to collect, one of the items were out of stock. Bit of a dose if you have to travel.

Luckily it was just an additional item. We usually have most of the kids stuff gotten before halloween in general, avoids disappointment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

I don't know.

If it's a rented property, the landlord can't be held legally responsible.

Even if it's owned by someone they can feign ignorance; "I was somewhere else, no Garda ever spoke to me about breaking up a party. It must have been my son".

I'm splitting hairs on it though really; the existence of a penalty and the risk of Gardai knocking on doors will be enough to increase compliance for the most part.

The whole house party thing was wildly exaggerated. There are far more significant factors at play in the spread of the virus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

petes wrote: »
    Surely people get abuse here all the time :pac:
    People get abused here even when they state fact all the time aswell Pete.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Neddyusa wrote: »
    Correlation is not causation.

Unfortunately sometimes even decision makers in NEPHET and the civil service don't seem to grasp this.

For example, see the nonsense Advertisement from the HSE a couple of weeks ago about a covid cluster apparently caused by one couple who went for a meal and then to two houses. They "infected" 7 people in the restaurant and went on to "infect" two other families in their homes etc etc.

There is no way on earth that you could definitively say who had been infected first and therefore who infected who. But unfortunately whoever came up with that tweet believed that correlaton = causation.

All this type of discussion is doing is sowing division and encouraging people to blame others whether its young people, county finals, meat factories, travellers etc etc.

This is a highly infectious virus lads and its everywhere - nobody is to blame. Time to learn to manage and live with it.
    Trying to stop it without entirely destroying our societies and economies is akin to trying to stop the sun setting in the west or the rain falling from the sky

You can identify who started a cluster through an effective ITTIC programme (investigate, trace, test (including rapid targeted testing) , isolate and control). Using the retrospective tracing method, it's possible to identify who started the chain of transmission. This can only be achieved when cases are at a manageable level and with compliance, impossible currently.

In terms of stats, there is plenty of data to suggest that up to 20% of people are responsible for 80% of infections. Once you break the chain of transmission, the number of cases decreases dramatically as has been achieved in Eastern Countries, such as Taiwan, South Korea Japan

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭tigger123

polesheep wrote: »
    The whole house party thing was wildly exaggerated. There are far more significant factors at play in the spread of the virus.

Source?

tigger123 wrote: »
    Source?

Most ridiculous call for a source on the Internet ever.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,793 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

CMO on News At One now on RTE radio 1. Doesn't do too many media appearances besides the briefings.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

They can estimate.

If there are 500 cases today, then it is unlikely that there will be a massive deviation tomorrow. It'll be slightly more or slightly less, depending on how it's spreading. So tomorrow's number can be predicted with a high level of confidence. And then tomorrow's number can be used to predict the next day, with a high but slightly lower level of confidence.

And so. This process can be used to make predictions several weeks out. The predictions get wider as time goes on, but you can still have a high level of confidence in the prediction.

That's the absolute basics of it, but the models that they use for this kind of stuff includes a sh1tload of variables and things they know about infection spread and human behaviour.

In the absence of an equally competent body showing data that contradict's NPHETs models, then we have to assume they're right. Or they are at least the closest thing we have to being right.

OK so the thursday before level 5 was advised over 2 weeks ago when nphet said no counties needed to move from level 2, did these models not show the same problems. What data did they get in 2 days, and the only variable they are using is the r value, its not some complex algorithm believe me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

Eod100 wrote: »
    CMO on News At One now on RTE radio 1. Doesn't do too many media appearances besides the briefings.

Well this is his baby, so let him sell tbf

• Registered Users Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

polesheep wrote: »

Exactly.
    Schools being the main one.

Remember remember way back in February children were labelled super spreaders

Now it’s fine for a couple of hundred of them to mix daily whilst we try to suppress the virus once again.

No drop in numbers will be seen as long as schools remain open.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,269 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Eod100 wrote: »
    Wonder how/whether this will work in practice tbh.

''Under the new plans, gardaí can call to a door and break up a house party but they may not enter the home. Instead they will ask the owner to break up the party and if they refuse to do so they will be fined under a fixed charge notice.''

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/level-5-latest-garda%C3%AD-to-be-given-new-powers-to-fine-people-for-holding-house-parties-1.4385990

Sent it onto a mate who's a Garda in Dublin (posted a few things he's said to me before), his reply was basically changes nothing, might act as a deterrent but that those calls are bottom of a queue and get the standard we'll send a car when it's a available response, said they haven't been and won't be responding to calls all night long in relation to gatherings. He says other colleagues have said that if you wanted you could spend the whole night on just calls for gatherings and they don't.

His inspector told them this morning to police the same was as they have been throughout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

This is no proper pandemic. It’s a media and social media driven fear induced pandemic.

Most people who are tested don’t even realise they have the god dam virus.

Twenty years ago there’d be no lockdown and masks would be optional. The internet has a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭Sakana

Definite mental health issues there. Hope she got help.

Could be, but plenty of mentally healthy scumbags would do the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Nature publishing study on reinfection. Seems UK are also getting people prepared for the likelihood.

https://twitter.com/alinouriphd/status/1318299845287923713?s=21

https://twitter.com/alinouriphd/status/1318299847775092743?s=21

• Registered Users Posts: 11,793 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Well this is his baby, so let him sell tbf

Government could have suggested an alternative too. Reality is we have to have these rolling lockdowns because underinvestment and poor management of resources in health system and because government have decided zero covid not feasible. Doesn't leave many options left.

Sakana wrote: »
    Could be, but plenty of mentally healthy scumbags would do the same.

I doubt they would pay for a flight and go to all the trouble associated with air travel just to make a point about masks. The situation we find ourselves in is pushing some people over the edge. It's to be expected.