Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Eod100 wrote: »
    France, Netherlands, Belgium all in a bad way. Might be glad of these restrictions yet.

Surely restrictions aren't worth much unless schools close? If this virus is here to stay, they need a blended approach at the very least.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭MOR316

manniot2 wrote: »
    I wonder when will he release his book?

Doing the talk show circuit. Sickening :rolleyes:

I'll lose all hope if he gets the freedom of the city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Beanybabog wrote: »
    I got a call from the contact tracers today to tell me I'm a contact, my husbands test was Monday. They just ask him who his contacts are and what their numbers are. It was actually much more efficent to do it ourselves, me, my kids and friend are already isolated and tested. He was also waiting until today to get his code to upload to the app which is a very long time in my opinion

When you say that they asked him who is contacts are, do you mean his phone contact list or the people he believes he had direct contact with. And if the latter, did they give him guidance? Thanks and good luck with the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Polar101

Unexpected scenes in my local Dunnes - didn't have to queue to enter (you would during lockdown #1) and there wasn't a run on toilet paper.

Strumms wrote: »
    No..I’m pretty sure that contracts that enable an agreement between two parties to be binding has NOT been frowned upon for, well forever.

I sign for Manchester United tomorrow, have a row with the boss on Monday, hate my teammates... I can’t walk, I’m under contract. Same should apply in medical terms here, especially when circa 300,000 grand is being shelled out for you by the public... you ‘can’ go but you owe the investment in you back to who paid for it, the people of this country.

Be in a lot healthier state re: covid if we had this.

Talk to the interns who work in our hospitals almost around the clock for peanuts before they can be fully qualified. Then talk to the graduate nurses who couldn't get a contract from the HSE. It's not as simple as you seem to think it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

Surely restrictions aren't worth much unless schools close? If this virus is here to stay, they need a blended approach at the very least.

With regard to the schools issue... when does childhood end ?

They are lumping primary school children in with 17 and 18 year old students for the sake of saying that schools are safe.

It is accepted that very young children are not major drivers of virus spread, but can the same be said of Leaving Cert students ? Or for that matter university students ?

For instance... Sweden kept schools fully open without distancing or masks, but only for children under 16, who are unlikely to be super-spreaders of this disease. Both transmission and illness risks go up with age, and Sweden went all online for higher-risk high-school and university students.

Quoting incidence figures about schools from European countries like Sweden, in order to justify our strategy, is data mining at it's finest.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

Polar101 wrote: »
    Unexpected scenes in my local Dunnes - didn't have to queue to enter (you would during lockdown #1) and there wasn't a run on toilet paper.

Worst Level 5 lockdown ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

AdamD wrote: »
    Retail should never have closed

Agreed. Its daft. Up the north they could find no evidence of infections being spread through retail or hair dressers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Reckless Abandonment

Level no one cares 5

Seems to me everyone and anyone is still open, no change. It's no where near Level 5 out there

Definitely looks like business as normal for most. The only way level 5 will work is if people stay out of each others homes. But honestly it took 2 months for the first lockdown to get the numbers low. I just can't see this one showing results in 6 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,742 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Level no one cares 5

Seems to me everyone and anyone is still open, no change. It's no where near Level 5 out there

I live walking distance to Dublin city center and go for a walk there every day at lunchtime. It was way less busy today from my experience, way less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

AdamD wrote: »
    Retail should never have closed

Our local Pound Shop seemingly agrees, fully open today

OscarMIlde wrote: »
    Yep, happened in my lab, which is a fairly small specialised service. Five people were off in our lab isolating as they work closely with a confirmed positive case until they were cleared by Occ health. We all had to try and cover as best we could, but if there are repeat situations it will have a detrimental effect on our service cover. These are the kind of knock on effects of widespread community transmission on hospital services.

Are you not considered clinical staff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Unfortunately, it looks like the last two weeks were critical and we should have listened to NPHET.

Honestly, we might as well permanently shut down, if this is the way its going to be. Shutting down and opening up every couple of months, waiting for a vaccine that is only going to be partially effective for those in the high risk category, slow take up with everyone else and which doesn't actually stop you being infected or infecting others, leaving the at risk still at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

I honestly think that this is really a level 4 restrictions situation rather than a true level 5 that we were expecting and being told. This is like may/june again rather than march/april. There's people about and that and while some stuff is closed it's definately NOT like the initial lockdown. I honestly don't know myself if the restrictions we have are going to be enough this time since alot more stuff is open and that. Hopefully it is otherwise the only thing left is the nuclear option of shutting everything down outright.

Polar101 wrote: »

Did a supermarket shop today and bought toilet paper. I couldn't help feeling all eyes were on me:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,649 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Any figures for Northern Ireland yet.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Honestly, we might as well permanently shut down, if this is the way its going to be. Shutting down and opening up every couple of months, waiting for a vaccine that is only going to be partially effective for those in the high risk category, slow take up with everyone else and which doesn't actually stop you being infected or infecting others, leaving the at risk still at risk.
    We are talking about not having enough clinical/support staff to cover acute care here. This potentially could lead to a massive increase in deaths from diseases other than COVID-19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,839 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

polesheep wrote: »
    Talk to the interns who work in our hospitals almost around the clock for peanuts before they can be fully qualified. Then talk to the graduate nurses who couldn't get a contract from the HSE. It's not as simple as you seem to think it is.

I understand. Very much in fact , I get it from the horses mouth, I’ve a good friend who is a doctor and another a physiotherapist in a hospital.

However, with the manner in which we communicate now and how all information is at our fingertips on a phone or iPad, whatever... due diligence and research should enable any candidate to realize if they wish to work under those conditions...or not.

Not good enough that the state plows just under 300,000 euros to train and enable you to become qualified so you can help our citizens, you instead say ‘thank you’ and fûck off almost immediately to a different country ?

By that logic we could just send the money abroad.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Paddygreen

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭MOR316

Our local Pound Shop seemingly agrees, fully open today

All pound shops were open during March, April and May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

MOR316 wrote: »
    All pound shops were open during March, April and May

Yes they were & it was down to the fact that they technically sell food.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Eod100 wrote: »
    France, Netherlands, Belgium all in a bad way. Might be glad of these restrictions yet.

Yeh it really looks like these countries may surpass or reach same level of hospitalisations and deaths as they did in their April peaks. France is already at about half of the level of hospitalisations they had during first wave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

5 deaths 1042 cases in ni

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,169 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Dublin does NOT feel like level5. Not even close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,187 ✭✭✭pauldry

Has the lockdown started yet or is it at the weekend. Everything still open as normal. Guards will probably be waving people into house parties at weekend.

If you are 5 months old this isnt a lockdown. The one back in my day was.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

ED E wrote: »

I was in town today and yesterday. Very quiet today with marked decrease in traffic. We are not going to have the April type lock down with people afraid to leave their houses.

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭Littleredcar

cjyid wrote: »
    Baggot street at lunchtime was like every other day. People everywhere going about their business.

So what’s the point in closing down businesses I despair

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

And thank **** for that. Some semblance of normality despite the Draconian measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

Are you not considered clinical staff?

I don't understand? Why does that matter or not?

I understand. Very much in fact , I get it from the horses mouth, I’ve a good friend who is a doctor and another a physiotherapist in a hospital.

However, with the manner in which we communicate now and how all information is at our fingertips on a phone or iPad, whatever... due diligence and research should enable any candidate to realize if they wish to work under those conditions...or not.

Not good enough that the state plows just under 300,000 euros to train and enable you to become qualified so you can help our citizens, you instead say ‘thank you’ and fûck off almost immediately to a different country ?

By that logic we could just send the money abroad.

You say you understand and then go on as if you don't. The HSE have not offered proper contracts to the majority of graduates for years. It is important for doctors to travel for experience. Many of them come back to work here highly experienced and bring with them the benefits of what they learned abroad... which is not paid for by the Irish taxpayer.

I don't understand? Why does that matter or not?

A poster up thread said that clinical staff don't have to isolate and get a test within 24hrs. I was just wondering if those who work in labs are considered clinical staff. I think it matters a lot given the pressure on lab services currently. It was just a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭growleaves

I consulted the oracle at Delphi. The goddess prophesied that the microbes and their human allies will be defeated in a great battle on the third day of Springtide and no longer will they trouble this land thereafter.

growleaves wrote: »
    I consulted the oracle at Delphi. The goddess prophesied that the microbes and their human allies will be defeated in a great battle on the third day of Springtide and no longer will they trouble this land thereafter.

Ah yes, magic mushroom season. I remember it well from my student days:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

https://twitter.com/NaomiOhReally/status/1319221942797373445?s=20

Hopefully she will make a full recovery. Looks like she is stable according to the article, but 1 in 4 in Brussels test positive. Bad situation there

That actually made me very sad to hear, I hope this young woman makes it through this okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

How is COVID spreading so easily in care homes, hospitals and labs, where I think a poster said 6 of his colleagues tested positive?

I know it just takes one person to bring it into the workplace, but how is is spreading amongst the staff if masks should definitely be worn in these environments - or are they? Obviously it would be easy enough for patients to contract it as they are vulnerable and not wearing masks, but i’m surprised at the level of spread amongst workers in clinical settings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

A poster up thread said that clinical staff don't have to isolate and get a test within 24hrs. I was just wondering if those who work in labs are considered clinical staff. I think it matters a lot given the pressure on lab services currently. It was just a question.

We work in quite a cramped environment so it was treated as a close contact with a positive despite everyone wearing masks. They isolated until they got a negative result whereupon they could return to work, providing they had no symptoms. The test took longer than usual, more like 48 hours, which is a sign of how mush testing is being done now. They have to monitor their temperature regularly and document it, and they will have a second test at day seven to double check. Those are the guidelines for clinical staff. The normal rules for close contact is that you must isolate for 14 days regardless of your test result, as the test can miss cases.

Thank you.

How is COVID spreading so easily in care homes, hospitals and labs, where I think a poster said 6 of his colleagues tested positive?

I know it just takes one person to bring it into the workplace, but how is is spreading amongst the staff if masks should definitely be worn in these environments - or are they? Obviously it would be easy enough for patients to contract it as they are vulnerable and not wearing masks, but i’m surprised at the level of spread amongst workers in clinical settings.

Lunch is what I think. There isn't enough places for people to eat their lunch even with staggered lunches.

Could be spread during lunch breaks?

Lunch is what I think. There isn't enough places for people to eat their lunch even with staggered lunches.

It's why I eat my lunch outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

It spreads through aerosolization which makes it virtually impossible to supress to any great extent indoors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Observation from my lunch walk today today. Traffic on the road was very heavy in Fairview. At the height of restrictions it was very quiet. Schoolkids hanging around in groups in the park.

Definitely not a level 5 feeling.

I think levels could have been stretched out a bit because we could go to more extremes than we are currently at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,839 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

You say you understand and then go on as if you don't. The HSE have not offered proper contracts to the majority of graduates for years. It is important for doctors to travel for experience. Many of them come back to work here highly experienced and bring with them the benefits of what they learned abroad... which is not paid for by the Irish taxpayer.

Go on as if I don’t, ok.

Experience is here to gain. Lots of doctors don’t travel at all for experience. The majority in fact. If it’s AS important to travel as you allude to it would be mandatory. It isn’t.

The medical training here is amongst the best in the world. The experience to be got in the multi disciplinary teams in multiple hospitals that have multiple specialities is globally second to none almost.

So if you think fûcking off after receiving a load of training, costing 300,000 is the thing to do.... :rolleyes:

The IMO only yesterday warned that a chronic shortage of doctors here will have devastating implications if the matter is not addressed....

So yeah say if 10 doctors get trained and 3 fûck off to Australia, 2 to France, 5 to New Zealand... we are saying good luck to 3 million of an investment and 10 people we’ve equipped with expertise and qualifications.

Sound fair ? It’s not. You want to become a doctor, you want and apply to the state to finance your way... you should be legally obliged to spend time here working.

Imagine in covid county we cant rely not on trying to import doctors who we can’t get but rely on the ones here.

Go on as if I don’t, ok.

Experience is here to gain. Lots of doctors don’t travel at all for experience. The majority in fact. If it’s AS important to travel as you allude to it would be mandatory. It isn’t.

The medical training here is amongst the best in the world. The experience to be got in the multi disciplinary teams in multiple hospitals that have multiple specialities is globally second to none almost.

So if you think fûcking off after receiving a load of training, costing 300,000 is the thing to do.... :rolleyes:

The IMO only yesterday warned that a chronic shortage of doctors here will have devastating implications if the matter is not addressed....

So yeah say if 10 doctors get trained and 3 fûck off to Australia, 2 to France, 5 to New Zealand... we are saying good luck to 3 million of an investment and 10 people we’ve equipped with expertise and qualifications.

Sound fair ? It’s not. You want to become a doctor, you want and apply to the state to finance that 300,000 grand your way... you should be legally obliged to spend time here working.

Awkwardly, Scotland paid for my whole pharmacy degree. Then I moved back to Ireland. It was cheaper to study in Scotland than it was in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,647 ✭✭✭prunudo

Not quite sure why people are expecting traffic volumes to feel like April. What was introduced is level 5 in name only. Between schools and the amount of exemptions to the rules it may as well be business as usual. This is really only a hospitality and hairdresser/barber lockdown with a 5km tarvel limit for excerise thrown in for good measure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

As the tracing system has crashed, can people volunteer now to bring it up to speed? I have 4 hours ahead of me this evening with all the office facilities at home and not a whole lot to do. Would be happy to help out if needed.

I'm sure there are many in similar situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭screamer

Hospital staff in non covid wards are wearing surgical masks. They are about as useful as a paper bag to stop the wearer catching covid. To be effective for the wearer, hospital staff need FPP2 if not FPPE3 masks which they don’t have.
    Hospitals are lovely warm environments with lots of circulation of staff, carers, cleaners and porters, and have rubbish ventilation, combined with close contact and lots of patients and it’s only a wonderful environment for covid to thrive. I’d imagine care homes are pretty similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Zara Kings talks way too fast it almost makes me dizzy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭screamer

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    As the tracing system has crashed, can people volunteer now to bring it up to speed? I have 4 hours ahead of me this evening with all the office facilities at home and not a whole to do. Would be happy to help out if needed.

Oh don’t you know, vetting, training and data protection rules would all have to be complied with before anyone could volunteer to help.... one thing the HSE excel at is red tape barriers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    As the tracing system has crashed, can people volunteer now to bring it up to speed? I have 4 hours ahead of me this evening with all the office facilities at home and not a whole lot to do. Would be happy to help out if needed.

I'm sure there are many in similar situations.

I'd imagine you would have to be Garda vetted.