Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

mloc123 wrote: »
    Hardly a surprise... I think something like 1 in ever 150 people in the north tested positive in the past 2 weeks?

Yep - massive community spread will result in cases in schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Italy really pushing those big numbers now, even after they picked up pace in September they had some suppression, but now it's building very fast.

https://twitter.com/BNODesk/status/1319667404486619136?s=20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Kh1993

Theres still a few "non essential" shops open in Dun Laoghaire. Two shoe shops, a greeting card shop, etc.

Hows yer places?

Dunnes in Finglas being forced to close off their clothes section today by gardai according to management. You have to queue and enter the supermarket anyway to get to the clothes/home so seems pointless. Bookshop and two clothes shops open as ‘click and collect’.

Tony might tell us later why picking up a jacket in the clothes section after your shopping is so dangerous.

• Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

Yep - massive community spread will result in cases in schools.

Or Cases in schools resulting in massive community spread maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭poppers

Great site with updates on swabs and cases poitivity rate turning hopefully it continues

https://covid19.shanehastings.eu/api/swabs/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,605 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Theres still a few "non essential" shops open in Dun Laoghaire. Two shoe shops, a greeting card shop, etc.

Hows yer places?

There is a Sports Direct open

I think a lot more shops are staying open this time around or doing click and collect from shop directly

• Registered Users Posts: 29 lostintipp

RobertKK wrote: »
    Is it the public that lost control of the track and trace system?

It is not like we were warned there would be a second wave and here it is and it is clear the state did feck all to prepare and it is why we are in this lockdown.

The politicians had powers to give the Gardai more powers with house parties, they could have brought in high fines, but no lets blame the public for the state not doing anything meaningful to slow down or prevent unwanted behaviour and for not having the health systems prepared for it.

This current mess stems from both the previous and current governments.

Agree, sick of hearing from the Government and nphet about what WE have to do to sort this out and really want to hear of some plans they have to sort it.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Qiaonasen

Italy really pushing those big numbers now, even after they picked up pace in September they had some suppression, but now it's building very fast.

https://twitter.com/BNODesk/status/1319667404486619136?s=20

Germany about to explode now also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

poppers wrote: »
    Great site with updates on swabs and cases poitivity rate turning hopefully it continues

https://covid19.shanehastings.eu/api/swabs/

Hang around this thread and you might spot the man himself. Maybe even get an autograph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

babyboom wrote: »
    Local flooring shop open here. Bike shop open in the neighbouring village. My daughter works in a bookshop who are staying open as newspapers are apparently an essential service. This despite the fact that there are two supermarkets next door both selling papers. Had to bring shopping to my mother in Beaumont today and traffic was at normal volumes.

They should be made sell the essential items only and fined if they breach those restrictions. That would put a halt to these loopholes pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭prunudo

Kh1993 wrote: »
    Dunnes in Finglas being forced to close off their clothes section today by gardai according to management. You have to queue and enter the supermarket anyway to get to the clothes/home so seems pointless. Bookshop and two clothes shops open as ‘click and collect’.

Tony might tell us later why picking up a jacket in the clothes section after your shopping is so dangerous.

Don't think they have any powers to do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Jenna James

Juice bar and Newsagents open next to Dunnes today, definitely a lot more open this time.

• Registered Users Posts: 29 lostintipp

Juice bar and Newsagents open next to Dunnes today, definitely a lot more open this time.

Looks like we have really just forced hairdressers and barbers to close as everything else around me is open

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    There is a Sports Direct open

I think a lot more shops are staying open this time around or doing click and collect from shop directly

I don't care much for Sports Direct, but in general this is a great thing. The more places that stay open the better for all of us

Why is it better for "us all" if level 5 is ignored?

Weird perspective.

• Registered Users Posts: 743 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

Can't really blame places for staying open tbh. Yes we need to suppress the virus but there are so many companies who could go completely under if they're forced to close again. It's ridiculous that selling some sanitizer or work shoes makes them essential but they spotted the loopholes and worked with it to keep their business open and their staff in jobs and I can completely understand why.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,302 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

More places are deemed essential this time, more offer click and collect. If you have any product deemed essential or offer click and collect you can stay open.

Don't know why people are surprised it means more places staying open and some offering goods and services they wouldn't have previously, trying to keep their business open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Kh1993

prunudo wrote: »

Maybe not. Only chatter from staff so how true it is you’d wonder. But they’d definitely made a start on clearing certain clothes sections

Blondini wrote: »
    Why is it better for "us all" if level 5 is ignored?

Weird perspective.

click and collect is safe and allows for companies that would otherwise fail to keep afloat, thus savings jobs and putting us all collectively in a better position when this is over.

COVID is not everything

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

prunudo wrote: »

Were Dunnes not allowed to sell clothes during Lockdown 1?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

the 25% on public transport is a joke, anybody know why it was grand to have 50% capacity few weeks ago but only 25% now?

Are any other countries in the world implementing reducing capacity to 25%?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

Just on the news now. Dunnes and the like are not allowed sell clothes and need to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭SortingYouOut

the 25% on public transport is a joke, anybody know why it was grand to have 50% capacity few weeks ago but only 25% now?

Are any other countries in the world implementing reducing capacity to 25%?

The buses driving by me have been as good as empty anyway which is strange as it's busy enough around but people don't seem as confident with public transport now maybe?

Beverly Hills, California

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭prunudo

Kh1993 wrote: »
    Maybe not. Only chatter from staff so how true it is you’d wonder. But they’d definitely made a start on clearing certain clothes sections

Unless management found people were hanging around and deciding to be proactive and use the gardai as an excuse. Or simply making space for the Christmas shop.

The buses driving by me have been as good as empty anyway which is strange as it's busy enough around but people don't seem as confident with public transport now maybe?

They seem empty as they are, they are turning people away after taking 17 customers.

Benimar wrote: »
    Just on the news now. Dunnes and the like are not allowed sell clothes and need to stop.

Am i allowed click and collect ? It is coming into winter, youd think fecking clothing would be an essential item. What a joke

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

777 cases open the pubs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Doesn't growing children need clothes all the time? How is clothes not essential?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

777 we are back back baby, let the good times roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

777 new cases and 7 deaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,605 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

7 deaths from October - RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭miece16

777. Massive decrease

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Always_Running

All the 7s. First time in 9 days to have cases under 1000. RIP to the 7 that died.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

miece16 wrote: »
    777. Massive decrease

Let's hope it continues

What was the swab total today?

Level 5 working already it seems....sigh.

What was the swab total today?

1,038 swabs

1,038 swabs

Must be saving up for a shiny new backlog!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

niallo27 wrote: »
    777 we are back back baby, let the good times roll.

Seems like a huge drop compared to our usual 1000. It's too early to tell if it's a good sign, isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Thierry12

Level 5 working already it seems....sigh.

Level 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭harr

Not bad numbers, 7 deaths is high but probably to be expected considering the high numbers the last few week that and the few nursing home outbreaks.
    Fingers crossed now that numbers will continue to fall..

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Seems like a huge drop compared to our usual 1000. It's too early to tell if it's a good sign, isn't it?

Its the effect possibly of two weeks at level 3

Blondini wrote: »
    Must be saving up for a shiny new backlog!

That whole saving the cases to spook us doesn't sit well anymore, especially when the backlog results in a relatively low case figure on a Friday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Great to see a big drop in cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Open the Dunnes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Am i allowed click and collect ? It is coming into winter, youd think fecking clothing would be an essential item. What a joke

There are literally hundreds, even thousands of clothes shops online that deliver for free

There is a 261 difference between swabs and announced. I wouldn’t be getting too excited based on today’s announced figure.

The real figure is probably about 1,000, which is a drop on yesterday, but a relatively small one.

No way would they drop that quick, especially compared to how high Northern Ireland has continued.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

mloc123 wrote: »
    There are literally hundreds, even thousands of clothes shops online that deliver for free

They're just short of physically dressing you, it couldn't be any handier and probably cheaper too.

Thierry12 wrote: »
    Level 3