Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Late Late Show-Friday 23rd October 2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Heathers are good, don't say that about many modern groups

What?? They had an ok debut album but that was good few years ago now. They doing a cover version here. Did they even have any more albums?? How can they be good??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,154 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Saw the tracklisting of his new album, has a song called 'House of a Thousand Guitars' maybe he's being literal with that.

Yeah, I'd guess he is at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

jmlad2020 wrote: »
    €15,000 would be nice

Only need 7,500 gobshytes to cover the cost of this, maybe a few more for struggling Eir's cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,462 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,470 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Can we go back to talking about your dead father,Matthew?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭MOR316

I would say, they are both pop-rock.

Dancing in the Dark was synthesiser heavy, very of its day, unlike anything he put out before or since.

Always struck me as a pop record that album.

Nothing really like what he had done before, as you say or since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Hungry Heart is my favourite.

I've heard it a billion times, love it now as much as the first time I heard it.

Secret Garden another beauty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,321 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Oh god, this is going a bit Owen Wilson in those sofa ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,767 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Fond of the oul Charlie back in the day

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I agree with Matthew, I relied on my father for a lot of advice, and when he was gone, I had to take the step up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Tubridy talking to Americans about Ireland makes me psychically sick

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

Can we go back to talking about your dead father,Matthew?

The jar of MISERY is well and truly open, and we're quite excited about THAT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

MOR316 wrote: »
    Above the influence of AC/DC, Prince, Queen, GnR and Nirvana? Nah...

Back in Black and AFD both sold more than Born in the USA. Never heard of anyone starting a music career because of Bruce or stating him as an influence over the last 40 years

As for Michael, yeah fair enough. Although, he has a good few rock songs. But, he's like The Beatles I guess in terms of influence and importance to Pop Culture

Saw a great thing the other day.

"Your favourite band may not be The Beatles, but their favourite band probably was."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

It doesn't sound a normal set up at home to be honest -

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

RobertKK wrote: »
    I agree with Matthew, I relied on my father for a lot of advice, and when he was gone, I had to take the step up.

That's nonsense. You should never say something like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Akabusi

American Skin is my favourite Bruce song.

Tune

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

Sounds like a dysfunctional relationship to me don't know why tubs is laughing

PsychoPete wrote: »
    Tubridy talking makes me psychically sick

Fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

This is a weird fcukin interview

walshb wrote: »
    Secret Garden another beauty!

Actually, 10th Avenue Freeze Out is probably my favourite.

Well, maybe.

calfmuscle wrote: »
    Im not arguing with you or looking to debate but I'm in healthcare and a small piece of my weekly work is in a nursing home. My understanding was that there was a body representing nursing homes who wanted visiting stopped but it was HIQA who are the official representative of nursing homes on neqhet who didn't agree and the team took this on board.

On a personal level I'll say its extremely difficult, I felt a resident was moving to the final stages last Thursday and advocated for the family to come in. Which the home obliged. I spent the weekend worrying that if I got it wrong had I exposed the other 51 residents to covid. These are very complex issues. It's easy to judge but it's not easy to understand.

well I am not going to argue, just Holohan specifically went against the nursing home body at that point and it didn't help the situation.
    He was anyone could visit then - not specific to people already dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,462 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Die-Hard.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭screamer

Dude looks weird, talks weird and I’d imagine is weird. Totally inappropriate stuff here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

Tubridy laughing awkwardly is killing me. This interview is not normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Roots 2020

???

Saw a great thing the other day.

"You're favourite band may not be The Beatles, but their favourite band probably was"

It's pretty much true though, isn't it? Although, the 1950's "rock stars" deserve more plaudits IMO

screamer wrote: »
    Dude looks weird, talks weird and I’d imagine is weird. Totally inappropriate stuff here....

It makes a difference from the usual misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,186 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Now - I've been impressed by some peoples home set up. That is impressive.

But - Jaysus - Bruce brutal connection / camera for a man of his means. (As can be seen)

Metallica did a co-vid during first lockdown and outside Kirks window you could see a bleedin lake shore 🀣🀣🀣🀣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Skid X wrote: »

BINGO

Or should I say, BONGO?

Oh god, this is going a bit Owen Wilson in those sofa ads.

Never has an actor's appeal baffled me more than Owen Wilson's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Leftwaffe

McConnaghy could well be on drugs here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,028 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

He looks like one of those guys that always has wet hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

This is a weird fcukin interview

It's kind of like chatting to a lunatic drinking mate over Skype you used to go on mad sessions with about 20 years ago and this is a catchup chat :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

I still cant not but picture him beating his chest on wolf of wall street

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Sorolla

Pity the DLB didn’t ask da boss about the time he went to the restaurant with Bono and some lady asked him to take photos of herself and Bono and never realized who was taking the photos

That lady was my mother in laws daughter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

He sounds like the outcome of an abusive dysfunctional mother father relationship.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Hes not the only one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,470 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

He’s all over the place.

His eyes haven’t focused since the interview began

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Rusty Cole on speed....

Fair play to him. I probably would too if I knew Tubridy was going to talk to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Akabusi

Never has an actor's appeal baffled me more than Owen Wilson's.

Ah Marley and me is a classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭screamer

If he’s selling a book I won’t be buying it
    If he’s got a new movie out I won’t be watching it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Sorolla

Reminds me of the Pee Flinn interview

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

He’s all over the place.

His eyes haven’t focused since the interview began

McConaughey isn't much better I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,710 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Got rave reviews for True Detective..

Utter bollix. Couldn’t understand a single word from his mouth!

McConaughey would be a good interviewee on a different show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Makes a change from the usual vanilla fare.

I don't agree. I got on great with my father and he was great for advice. When he died he was no longer there and a lot of the stuff I would ask him about I had to do myself, so you do grow up more and you are in the role of the person you once relied on.